Xiaomi Xiaomi Redmi Note 5/5 Pro Discussion Thread, Snapdragon 636.

locomania
post Apr 16 2018, 10:52 AM

127 posts

https://www.lowyat.net/2018/160464/xiaomi-r...ia-launch-date/

According to this report, is the RN5 with 13MP front camera, so is the China version instead of India version with 20MP.

Actually hoping for the India version to come. What you all think which version is better or you all hope for which version?
locomania
post Apr 16 2018, 05:30 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Apr 16 2018, 03:37 PM)
any reason why you prefer the indian version?
Well, now seem like getting more n more use of the front camera for wefie. Also sometimes print out to hang on wall frames. Yes, AI with China version should give extra edge but the general consensus is front camera is still better overall in India version as it is.

Will it be too far fetched if Xiaomi to offer AI features for India's version thru updates?
locomania
post Apr 16 2018, 05:48 PM

127 posts

https://technave.com/gadget/Could-the-Xiaom...1149-11877.html

This gives you an estimated M'sia price base on Indonesia pricing....so likely 4gb version only for M'sia as well...hmmm
locomania
post Apr 17 2018, 02:09 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Apr 17 2018, 11:34 AM)
The back camera yes. But the front camera is still debatable since India variant got 20mp len. Although China variant have advantage for having Al algorithm.
Is not just MP diff. Is the sensor design, lense type, aperture size, pixel size etc

Redmi Note 5 China
Rear: Samsung 12MP S5K2L7,
1.4μm Rear Camera, f/1.9 Aperture +

Samsung 5MP S5K5E8
1.12μm, f/2.0 Aperture

Front: Omnivision 13MP OV13855
1.12μm, f/2.2 Aperture

Rear: 12MP Sony IMX 486
1.25μm, f/2.2 Aperture +

5MP Samsung s5k5e8
1.12μm, f/2.0 Aperture

Front: 20MP Sony IMX 376
1.0μm, f/2.2 Aperture

As you can see especially the Sony IMX 376 camera is a proven camera used in Samsung (don't support their own camera???)
and other brands flagship phones. China version use the Samsung and OV sensors, although you can argue pixel size and
aperture slightly favorable here.

Real-life results most likely negligible with each version has it own pros n cons. So don't really matter, but I think likely M'sia
will get the China version.

This post has been edited by locomania: Apr 17 2018, 02:13 PM
locomania
post Apr 20 2018, 10:49 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 20 2018, 04:57 AM)
Isnt it better to have higher storage like 128GB then higher RAM of 6GB?
Depend on individuals. Normal use 3-4GB ram, 32-64GB storage is more than enough. 6GB & 128GB combinations just overkill for the normal use. Don't forget this is suppose to be a mid-range phone, cost will jump with that combi to lower high end pricing. Furthermore ppl who daily use rely heavily the need for a 6GB ram power & big storage probably will not select a mid-range phone anyway. Plus there always the SD card option to expand storage anyway.

This post has been edited by locomania: Apr 20 2018, 10:51 AM
locomania
post Apr 20 2018, 12:52 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(ghostshell @ Apr 20 2018, 12:16 PM)
slightly drop of rm100 each?

i guess this will be the prcing for incoming official price
If the local set price is similar to AP set, it will drop. Probably AP sellers will have more intel on what will be the local price set. If they aggressively lowering their AP set price just before the launch date to clear stock, then is an indicator.
locomania
post Apr 21 2018, 01:10 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Apr 21 2018, 07:43 AM)
im not surprised
xiaomi used to use camera called Sonny
With Xiaomi to have so much at stake on its reputation, international market, lawsuits, etc I would give the benefit of doubt and trust more on xiaomi than some youtuber. If it come from say androidauthority, dpreview or some reputable source that made test/experiment report claim then sure got further follow-up. Just some youtuber....hard to swallow
locomania
post Apr 25 2018, 01:10 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Apr 25 2018, 08:43 AM)
Checkout this page https://www.chinahandys.net/en/xiaomi-redmi-note-5-review/

Don't know how accurate is it. primary lens is f2.2 and it supports band 20 as well. And screen with better contrast it seems.

QUOTE(soulz69 @ Apr 25 2018, 09:14 AM)
hmm.
maybe they combine both spec, take here and there and kaboom.
global set. lol  biggrin.gif
I don't think that review report on global set has different spec from china's version. At least not on the camera sensor. Look at the below site with the picture of camera spec for malaysian launching of RN5. In clearly stated the sensors spec. If they really swap the sensor to the more inferior one as in the report, then really can't trust xiaomi anymore.

But don't think xiaomi that stupid to shoot own foot, when it clearly state the spec during launching. Moral of the story, internet is full of 'fake news' or at least wrong info. doh.gif rclxub.gif

https://www.soyacincau.com/2018/04/24/redmi...u-need-to-know/

This post has been edited by locomania: Apr 25 2018, 01:11 PM
locomania
post May 5 2018, 11:14 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(dtdw @ May 5 2018, 10:38 AM)
can someone clarify what is the difference now that there is china, india, and the MY set?

someone also reported that last minute MY changed the spec for the camera from f2.2 to f1.9.

like, ive seen reviewrs about the pro version with better camera, no focus hunting, good EIS.

then suddenly MY set launch and call it AI version. like, WHY ?

getting more and more confusing. which one is the superior version?
MY set never change. You confused yourself because you reference inaccurate info from someone who also got it wrong. Never want to check your source..go see the picture of the camera spec below. I posted this b4, some1 reported MI official shop also display the wrong camera spec n just corrected recently, but as usual ppl here use change the display n some poor dudes assume MY set change spec.....

https://www.soyacincau.com/2018/04/24/redmi...u-need-to-know/
locomania
post May 5 2018, 11:25 AM

127 posts

anyone can run a same video on MY RN5 side by side with another similar screen quality phone and record the test or take some pictures to compare the screen quality that some ppl reported unsatisfactory for whatever reasons/definitions of under-saturated, less vibrant or some called it washed-out colour?

Also is tweaking the colour warmness settings help?

Thanks in advance
locomania
post May 5 2018, 11:32 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(ultraportable @ May 5 2018, 06:14 AM)
AP set has known problem with gps
Currently and previously I used AP set. GPS is super fast locking (normally 10-15 seconds). More likely is the hardware n the OS working seamlessly.
locomania
post May 5 2018, 12:19 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(dtdw @ May 5 2018, 11:40 AM)
xiaomi naming scheme has always been confusing since the beginning, its not something new. i have done plently of research into this to know that even official staff also gets it wrong.

https://www.facebook.com/XiaomiMalaysia/pos...2%3A%22R0%22%7D

cant be blaming the staff, distributor or even the importer though, xiaomi themselves made things this way. see even satu gadget got it wrong.

https://www.satugadget.com.my/xiaomi-redmi-...iginal-malaysia

directd smart abit, leave out the aperture, but that means also get ppl questioning.

http://www.directd.com.my/redmi-note-5-ori

basically, calling it "pro" in india,
calling it just "note 5" in china,
and calling it "AI" in MY
I think another poster here put it in a very nice way to explained, if not wrong is something like this:

What's for India, stay in India, and the China's version is the global version...so basically only 2 versions ONLY (regardless of all the different names used by different countries is still 2 versions) AND regardless all those sellers put all those inaccurate spec info, you just need to know 2 versions spec only. I think I listed both versions camera spec including the camera sensors part number before.
locomania
post May 16 2018, 07:46 PM

127 posts

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/xiaomi-r...Os25Ph&search=1

RM786 Below RRP price for local MY set??
locomania
post May 19 2018, 12:57 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ May 19 2018, 12:17 PM)
good to hear  biggrin.gif
no sifu, but you can use alternative sms app, like textra which has ads unless you pay. another alternative app is android messages by google. changing the text size in display settings will have an effect.
not going to be long winded, the RN5 edges out the nova 2i on everything except the selfie cam.
Wow, that is so dinosaur for MIU Oreo on the SMS font size option. I am on Lenovo with Nougat and I can just stretch/pinch my finger on the screen to enlarge the SMS fonts just like zooming-in on a photo.

Guess you cannot have it all....
locomania
post May 21 2018, 10:29 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(4lt4ir @ May 20 2018, 03:38 AM)
OOT, but...which Lenovo?
Lenovo note 5 on (global rom)
locomania
post May 22 2018, 06:03 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ May 22 2018, 03:21 PM)
1 for wife

1 for mistreses ...stress teh S
Don't la say that...I also use (called open/secure zone). Very convenient for ppl that need separate accounts (like FB, Whatsapp, etc) for their business tasks, couple with 2 sims in a phone.

..........best of all, my wife can open both zones coz she knows both zones secret pattern.......
locomania
post May 28 2018, 09:29 AM

127 posts

There are many used RN5 sellers dy and the phoned just launched not long here. Wonder why. Is it the performance a disappointment for these sellers?

Friday I went watch a movie in cinema, and saw Vivo, Oppo, & Huawei all advertise their phones camera with AI features...of course you pay arms n legs for a selfie camera with 24MP, or Leica lens etc and is not apple to apple comparison here. Just saying....
locomania
post May 31 2018, 10:25 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Gamerjim @ May 31 2018, 09:48 AM)
Hi, anybody experienced network issue with rn5? This morning I woke up realising no network.. tried reboot, toggle airplane mode on and off still the same.. then after about 20 min it got its signal back itself..
Did you check your network provider live outage status website? Umobile for example past weeks had major outages n during the outage my phone will show x on the network icon on the phone. Luckily I have another sim from different provider in the phone, so I know immediately is not phone.

Currently umobile got outage...ppl complaining in their FB n the outage website down due to overflow traffic or purposely made it down lol..

https://www.facebook.com/umobile/?hc_ref=AR...3jNDz1s&fref=nf

http://outagereport.com.my/umobile

locomania
post Jun 28 2018, 12:53 PM

127 posts

Anyone successfully apply ZEROGST12 for 12% off and then use RHB credit card code RHBS12 for 12% off from Go Shop to purchase RN5?

Or we cannot stack discount codes like lazada? So max saving only 12%? cuz so far see only RM640-670 cheapest we can get currently
locomania
post Jul 9 2018, 03:13 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ Jul 9 2018, 02:06 PM)
It is Xiaomi Malaysia set but condition is must pay by Cash term and valid til today only.
But according to their FB this promo till yesterday only...extended meh? But with that price can get nova2i..dropped from RM1200 (better front n back cameras, & GPS, rest performances not as good as RN5)

https://www.facebook.com/satugadget/posts/1745766782158160

This post has been edited by locomania: Jul 9 2018, 03:14 PM

0.0915sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:57 PM