Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

LokhonSporrow
post Mar 21 2019, 06:03 AM

35 posts

Job Title : Process Technician
Job Description : Control everyday process according to target, assist engineer for improvement in process efficiency and experiment, conduct problem solving and correction action
Years spent in company : 1 year+
Company : Chinese Company
Industry : Manufacturing
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Entry level
Experience before joining (years) : 6 month ( practical )
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Diploma In Engineering
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 72 hours (shift)

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary +Fixed & Oher Allowance : basic RM 1650( got bump up from RM 1400) + fixed & other allowance = RM 2450 - RM 5000++(if rajin and many public holiday)
Contractual Bonus = Once every year ( equal to basic )

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Clinic Pannel ( RM 50/month )
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : RM 20/month
Work From Home : Non
Other Benefits : can ot anytime but need to tell engineer/supervisor and bonus if got any achievement to process quality increase contribute

My department very friendly and fill with nice people. Working environment in here not bad at all(no so much pressure from supervisor and engineer) . I start taking diploma quite late (19 y/o) because i earn money first to support myself for study( before i be able to take study loan on second year). I going to start PJJ on Bachelor in Information Technology this May. To be honest i really like IT, especially on software. My passion in that area. I do self learning basic PHP, C++, C#, Pyhton, and many more due to my motivation and passion to learn it for myself. Even for my final project related to IOT and mobile apps( just basic interface).

So i want to ask for opinion :

Should i find a job related to IT to gain experience first during my study or just start after finishing my degree ? And would company even hire me even i just learn my it skill by self learning ?

I hope someone can give me some opinion and advise for me to have some guidelines which direction should i take.

This post has been edited by LokhonSporrow: Mar 21 2019, 09:17 AM
LokhonSporrow
post Jun 10 2019, 03:46 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(k3et @ Jun 10 2019, 09:59 AM)
Job Title : Sales Manager
Job Desciption : Sales & development
Years spent in company : 11years
Company : MNC
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining (years) : 3years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Diploma

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM8500
Bonus (months): 2.5~4months
Average commissions : RM3000~5000/mth
Special commissions : RM10000~20000/annum

Health Benefits : RM500/annum, Family Insurance RM80k coverage for hospitalization
Transport Benefits : RM750 petrol card
Mobile : Claimable up to RM250/month
Dental/optic/family : RM750 subject to appraisal

2018 annual payout about RM170k
Wow you really get a high pay although with diploma. Congrats. Most people with degree also really hard to get that kind of figure
LokhonSporrow
post Jun 11 2019, 01:16 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(enteraname1 @ Jun 10 2019, 11:48 PM)
Im freshie,
But i curious, am i underpaid or smtg?
I think you're doing fine. Most of fresh engineer start with 2700 in penang.
LokhonSporrow
post Jun 12 2019, 02:23 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(flumx91 @ Jun 11 2019, 08:38 AM)
I don't think that's the case for sales related job. As long as they know their products well and can sell, sure can get a lot of money.
Oh really ? I don't really know much about sales related job. I don't really have friends in that sector.
QUOTE(k3et @ Jun 11 2019, 08:55 AM)
glad to hear that. just wondering is my income relevant against my 14 years experience in the same industry.
I think you quite well paid as manager with your experience. Most of people in will agree with me i think. If you have a degree maybe get more higher paid but you should proud with yourself. Well done
LokhonSporrow
post Jun 13 2019, 01:48 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(ferros @ Jun 12 2019, 09:37 AM)
Am i the only one that feel demotivated after go through this thread?? Comparing what i get now with what people earning out there. cry.gif
Then it's time to make your life change bro. I used this thread as motivation to build a plan for my better future( I hope so). Just don't sit there and envy with all this people who have what u ever dream of. Make sure someday come back here and show some of your result. Best of luck
LokhonSporrow
post Jun 29 2019, 12:26 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(beng10w @ Jun 28 2019, 03:57 PM)
Job Title : Process Engineer
Job Desciption : Manufacturing Process
Years spent in company : 3
Company : Longi
Tenure : -
Employment Level : Junior Executive
Experience before joining (years) : 3
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 57h

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : Basic RM4500 + OT RM 500
Contractual Bonus (months): 1 mths
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 2~3 mths

Health Benefits : -
Transport Benefits : -
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : -
Flexi Working Hours : -
Other Benefits : OT
I think you should try too aim for next upper position in process department like supervisor or assistant supervisor. Then you can aim for assistant manager or go for manager.

OR....... you can go for Project Engineer for Process . But be warning this scope may be stressful.

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Jun 28 2019, 08:12 PM)
average workings hours? We can't tell whether that is underpaid or not, because I heard process engineers work almost 9-9-6 a week.
I think that working hours are pretty normal for manufacturing side. Mostly engineer need to standby and stay back to solve some issue especially if have production that running 24/7. Like in my Process Engineer, they usually came early around 7 a.m. and leave around 7p.m. and sometime even more than that.
What I want to say is it depend on operation hours of their production working time and their SOP. Usually if they running 24/7 then their sop also type of need to analyze and solve the issue fast.
LokhonSporrow
post Jun 30 2019, 08:41 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Jun 29 2019, 07:27 PM)
People in Kuching are really underpaid, kena press gao gao by the companies there. 6 years of exp, 12hours a day, 6 days a week, still getting less than 5k. that is really saddening (from someone escaped from Kuching to work in West Malaysia  cry.gif
Oh ya I understand that, one of equipment engineer at my place jump ship from sabah to penang to earn more income and he say it worth it. Hey you can try apply in here if u want to have high salary with your experience, but it up to u. Maybe there're something that might holding u back at there making u dont want to come to west Malaysia.
LokhonSporrow
post Jun 30 2019, 08:49 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(beng970804 @ Jun 30 2019, 04:46 PM)
Job Title : Full Stack Web Developer
Job Description : Develop web page, mobile app for client (mcd etc)
Years spent in company : Start to work next week
Industry : Solution Provider (Digital Marketing)
Experience before joining (years) : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in Computer Science major Software Engineering
Basic Salary : RM 3200...

Do you guys think worth it for fresh graduate? BTW, i need to rent room also, i am from melaka..
It your first job, I think you already grab a good opportunity to built up your's skill and experience. Salary can increase while you spend in company and with experience.
LokhonSporrow
post Jul 1 2019, 08:51 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(beng970804 @ Jun 30 2019, 10:51 PM)
This is what i think of, build my skill first.. just my parent keep saying with that salary, after rent house etc, not much left for saving..
Don't worry about saving, after get some salary increment you will be able to save up some money. Plus you still 22 and just finished study. Try to enjoy first for a while.
LokhonSporrow
post Jul 24 2019, 02:27 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Wackamancer @ Jul 23 2019, 05:31 PM)
Job Title : Production Engineer
Job Desciption : jaga production
Years spent in company : 1
Industry : manufacturing
Experience before joining (years) : 11 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in Engineering
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): Weekday 8.30-6pm

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary = 7000
Contractual Bonus (months): 1 mths
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1 mths

Feel like I'm very underpaid.
I don't think you're underpaid imo because some of production engineer that i know who working at penang( island side ) get paid for less than what you already earn. Maybe can apply for manager position with that experience if you wanted more higher paid ?
LokhonSporrow
post Aug 7 2019, 07:12 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(dragonlinux @ Aug 6 2019, 01:39 PM)
Job Title: Senior PHP Developer
Job Description: Architect, plan, design, coding, etc, full software life cycle
Years spent in company: 6 months
Company: Telco (one of TM's)
Tenure: 2 Years Contract
Employment Level: Senior Executive
Experience before joining: 9 years mixed of employment experience + freelance experience
Highest paper qualification/ education background: SPM + Professional Cert
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 9am-6pm, flexible however.

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance: 7k
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months): None

Health Benefits: None
Transport Benefits: None
Food/Entertainment: None
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : None
Flexi Working Hours: None
Other Benefits: None

Anyone can share some insight, how much does a full-stack developer with over 9years++ exp earned monthly? I kinda feel my current package is quite weak, just salary, no benefits at all.  rclxub.gif
Man I admire you. Seriously with SPM + professional certificate can earn that much. But for you I dont know what holding you for earn more than 5 figure. Most of the people in here (base on their post) who have more than 5 figure are degree holder with experience. Or maybe their get luck with company who see their potential to give them what they deserve. I think you deserve more than what you earn right now. Maybe try survey other company who you can nego with what you salary you desire. Who know maybe you can earn 5 figure or more.
LokhonSporrow
post Aug 10 2019, 05:09 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(flumx91 @ Aug 8 2019, 08:22 AM)
For me personally, the person programming skills and professional cert are more important than degree cert.
Having a degree cert doesn't guarantee the candidate can perform well.
But I notice the standard JD when searching for job is looking for someone who has Degree, so not sure is it really compulsory and they do check on it or just putting it there as it is the standard here in Malaysia.
Yah man i think skill in programming and professional certificate are more important than degree certificate because what you learn from the lecturer are usually can learn outside. And the programming language they taught mostly are like bare bone for student know what the basic knowledge for the to program something. But in malaysia mostly giving salary base on certificate and experience( including skill). That the trend are mostly what i see in our job market. But at least we can try to nego with them. If they really want us and with our skill, they blind they eyes about the certificate and give salary base what we already demand. But it hard and base on luck for finding that kinda company. But hey at least we're try rather than nagging about it

This post has been edited by LokhonSporrow: Aug 10 2019, 05:12 PM
LokhonSporrow
post Sep 14 2019, 01:23 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Sep 13 2019, 08:45 PM)
You just stream and can get 12k per month? How is that possible lol.
I thing that what in their contract. Most of the pro gamer need to stream and certain of amount of time and get paid what they already offer per month. Other than that if they get donation from other people while steaming.
LokhonSporrow
post Sep 15 2019, 12:01 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Sep 14 2019, 10:46 PM)
Do you stream on twitch? Share me your channel link I am interested to follow!
Nah I don't stream anymore now-day because it hard to success in stream world especially on twitch(that why most of our Malaysian streamer stream on FB). And I type of guys who play game for own entertainer. blush.gif
LokhonSporrow
post Oct 25 2019, 05:16 PM

35 posts

[quote=Askzra,Oct 25 2019, 11:56 AM]
Job Title : Process Engineer
Job Desciption : Study/improve production process, data making/analysis, assist other dept if applicable.
Years spent in company : 2 years+
Company : Manufacturing party balloons (MNC company)
Industry : latex
Tenure : Permanent full time
Employment Level : junior exec
Experience before joining (years) : 8 months (first job)
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelors in manufacturing engineering
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM2512
Contractual Bonus (months): -
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 2-3 months.

Health Benefits : Annual medical checkups, Subsidies on Gym membership (annual)
Transport Benefits : Free parking
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : -
Flexi Working Hours : -
Other Benefits : Annual trip local or overseas depend on budget. Overtime available if go office during weekend.

is it ok? should i plan to jump another place next year?

[/quote
Just jump to another place bro. I'm work as process technician but earn slightly more than you without ot. 2 years of experience more than enough to earn more than 3k. Either you can try to ask for increase your salary or jump ship.
LokhonSporrow
post Feb 24 2020, 04:50 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(kindaicheese @ Feb 24 2020, 02:13 PM)
Job Title : System Engineer
Job Desciption : Designing and developing softwares and applications for the company 
Years spent in company : 3 years
Company : Chinaman
Industry : Information Technology
Tenure : -
Employment Level : Junior
Experience before joining (years) : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : BSc
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40 (no overtime)

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 3200 + RM 100
Contractual Bonus (months):
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) :

Health Benefits : Basic medical card + insurance
Transport Benefits : NA
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits :  company phone * laptop
Flexi Working Hours : Yes
Other Benefits : 24 days annual leave per year + low stress work
I think my salary is too low. Should I jump ship?
Just jump. Working on china base company only good went you're fresh graduate and need a job. For long term it not health to stay there( both your salary and your health too)

0.2596sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:33 AM