Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

Quang1819
post Sep 24 2018, 01:11 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(louzie @ Sep 23 2018, 03:40 PM)
Shell huh , do you have experience there?

Whats the requirement and hows the OAG life dude.
Nahh... Just know some friends in that industry.

Requirement wise I'm not sure. But oil n gas life? It's bittersweet I can tell. Most that in 30's and single already driving their dream cars (GTR, Lotus, M3... You name it) but remained very playful, if you know what I mean. But those thay can't withstand the lifestyle will resign quite early or move into management if they are qualified.

Those offshore fellas are legit work hard play harder. They have money anyway. But ever since crude oil crisis, might not be enjoyable anymore for them.

Perhaps some OnG fellas here can comment abit about their lifestyle laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Quang1819: Sep 24 2018, 01:16 AM
jetblast
post Sep 24 2018, 01:23 AM

1,039 posts

Just curious how many year is the longest anyone has worked in the same company. I worked more than 20 years before I left the first company.
louzie
post Sep 24 2018, 08:39 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(jetblast @ Sep 24 2018, 01:23 AM)
Just curious how many year is the longest anyone has worked in the same company. I worked more than 20 years before I left the first company.
Pray tell whats your job and pay when u left your company .
jetblast
post Sep 24 2018, 01:26 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(louzie @ Sep 24 2018, 08:39 AM)
Pray tell whats your job and pay when u left your company .
Specialise Engineer (Airlines) . Left because of turnaround plans in the company. 20k plus.
mcr342
post Sep 26 2018, 12:38 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(starvinder @ Jul 21 2018, 02:23 AM)
Job Title : Financial Analyst
Job Desciption : Analyzing derivatives and fx
Years spent in company : 1 month
Company : American Investment Bank
Industry : Finance
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Analyst
Experience before joining (years) : 0. Considered a fresh grad
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Masters in Finance. Working on my CFA level 1 now.
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 50+ hours

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 3800
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : don't know

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Insurance + Medical
Transport Benefits : none
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : none
Flexi Working Hours : none
Other Benefits : STRESSSSSS AND NO SLEEEEP
Considering you've got a master but the pay isnt too high arh... Im graduating next year in Finance degree and will be taking cfa1 this Dec, and is super lost right now...
Was thinking to continue to master but now im not so sure.....
May I ask where you finish your master? local?
party
post Sep 26 2018, 04:20 PM

811 posts

QUOTE(mcr342 @ Sep 26 2018, 12:38 AM)
Considering you've got a master but the pay isnt too high arh... Im graduating next year in Finance degree and will be taking cfa1 this Dec, and is super lost right now...
Was thinking to continue to master but now im not so sure.....
May I ask where you finish your master? local?
Master in finance is useless. Unless u decide to go thru education line but need continue to phd.

Take cfa only if u really decide to walk finance industry path and work in invesment bank, analyst etc.
eddydo
post Sep 27 2018, 05:29 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(party @ Sep 26 2018, 04:20 PM)
Master in finance is useless. Unless u decide to go thru education line but need continue to phd.

Take cfa only if u really decide to walk finance industry path and work in invesment bank, analyst etc.
This post has been edited by eddydo: Jul 10 2020, 02:50 PM
party
post Sep 27 2018, 06:00 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Sep 27 2018, 05:29 AM)
It's not useless per say. A TOP msc finance will land you more interviews for sure. That being said, you'll most likely be going overseas (though I recommend sg for networking purposes if you intend to work in malaysia/singapore). Most buy side firms has a minimum requirement of cfa level 1, and a msc finance would make you stand out among the rest of the candidate.

But to pay a bomb for it, some may not be able to afford. Keep in mind that an msc finance is only worth it if and only if you have an excellent track record since ur high school etc. It is not a magic certificate, a person who barely passes degree will not gain from having a msc finance (in fact he will not even be admitted into the school)
Have u study msc in finance before??? I can tell u in reality it does not worth anything anywhere. Unless its oxford/cambridge level.

As an employer, just bcoz u have msc will not made u stand out even if amongst all the resume everyone have cfa1. If u follow the thread since the start of v1 as an example here, there are alot master holders but it did not bring any extra benefits that correspond to the cert.
eddydo
post Sep 27 2018, 07:26 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(party @ Sep 27 2018, 06:00 AM)
Have u study msc in finance before??? I can tell u in reality it does not worth anything anywhere. Unless its oxford/cambridge level.

As an employer, just bcoz u have msc will not made u stand out  even if amongst all the resume everyone have cfa1. If u follow the thread since the start of v1 as an example here, there are alot master holders but it did not bring any extra benefits that correspond to the cert.
This post has been edited by eddydo: Jul 10 2020, 02:47 PM
mcr342
post Sep 27 2018, 10:00 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Sep 27 2018, 07:26 AM)
I have a msc finance top 30 in the world, tho not oxbridge. Currently in sell side equity research, fresh without any internship. No cfa.

Sorry I didn't follow since v1, but those masters holders you're referring to, curious how many with first class honours and from top uni? Did they network their balls off? Hold overseas offer when looking for job?

I'm not saying a msc finance is going to work like a magic cert, but it adds value if you know how to use it. I might just be lucky, who knows.
Yeah i’ve heard my senior who went to leeds that he reached out and went yumcha with alumni every weekend & got an bain internship.

I’ve applied for warwick and other target uni few days ago... didnt go for oxbridge or lse bc i think they are far out of my reach.....but my aunts (the few quite successful one) suggested me to defer 1 year to work/intern for a year first....

mcr342
post Sep 27 2018, 10:06 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(party @ Sep 26 2018, 04:20 PM)

Okay i’ve submitted my application but are still thinking whether to continue.....

Yes Im sure i wanted to take the ib path and have prepared my cfa since july.
FieryNyan
post Sep 28 2018, 11:07 PM

Job Title : Associate
Job Description : Form partnerships and organize events
Years spent in company : 1
Company :
Industry : Finance
Employment Level : Associate
Experience before joining (years) : 2
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Diploma
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 60 hours

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 5000
Contractual Bonus (months): /mths
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : /mths

Benefits (where relevant) : /

TechnoG
post Sep 29 2018, 01:41 PM

9,337 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Sep 27 2018, 07:26 AM)
I have a msc finance top 30 in the world, tho not oxbridge. Currently in sell side equity research, fresh without any internship. No cfa.

Sorry I didn't follow since v1, but those masters holders you're referring to, curious how many with first class honours and from top uni? Did they network their balls off? Hold overseas offer when looking for job?

I'm not saying a msc finance is going to work like a magic cert, but it adds value if you know how to use it. I might just be lucky, who knows.
This post has been edited by TechnoG: Nov 7 2018, 09:06 PM
eddydo
post Sep 29 2018, 03:06 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Sep 29 2018, 01:41 PM)
I did my bachelor with a top 30 uni in the world as well, graduated with below average results, no internship and landed a forex front office job at a local bank.
funny thing is, I know of candidates with msc finance that got rejected and they went for risk management roles instead.  sad.gif
This post has been edited by eddydo: Jul 10 2020, 02:49 PM
TechnoG
post Sep 29 2018, 03:45 PM

9,337 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Sep 29 2018, 03:06 PM)
Like I said, it is not a magic cert.

You know alot of people with Msc finance from where? Did you know if they got more interview than you?
I would say a majority got their msc finance certs from UK unis.

Not too sure about their experiences on landing interviews, but theoretically speaking I would say that it wouldn't be much of an obstacle compared to bachelor degree holders like me? I’m pretty sure landing one for you is a piece of cake haha

Interestingly, my views on going for further finance education changed a lot ever since I joined the workforce and I am more biased towards professional certifications now biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TechnoG: Sep 29 2018, 04:01 PM
eddydo
post Sep 29 2018, 04:23 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Sep 29 2018, 03:45 PM)
I would say a majority got their msc finance certs from UK unis.

Not too sure about their experiences on landing interviews, but theoretically speaking I would say that it wouldn't be much of an obstacle compared to bachelor degree holders like me? I’m pretty sure landing one for you is a piece of cake haha

Interestingly, my views on going for further finance education changed a lot ever since I joined the workforce and I am more biased towards professional certifications now biggrin.gif
This post has been edited by eddydo: Jul 10 2020, 02:49 PM
contestchris
post Sep 29 2018, 09:27 PM

5,523 posts

Job Title : Executive
Job Description : Risk Management
Years spent in company : 0.5 yrs
Industry: Finance
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining (years) : 1 yr
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelor's Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (excl. lunch hours): 40 hrs
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance: RM4,000/month
Benefits: 22 days AL, unlimited medical insurance coverage (individual), other misc benefits such as flexi hours, dental etc

-----------------

I love my work. I didn't do well in university at all (got a < 3.0) but I have a good job at a good company, with a really great team and the environment all around is positive.
BravoZeroTwo
post Sep 29 2018, 11:18 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Sep 27 2018, 08:26 AM)

Would like you to share where are you working now. Thanks.
SUSJasonLeeX
post Sep 30 2018, 12:13 AM

468 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Aug 30 2018, 11:12 PM)
It is a fair pay for fresh graduate in a mid tier accounting firm. Just focus on gaining experience first and the rewards will come later.
dream on bro... experience means nothing... more experience you are more work..they are still gonna low ball you anyway..

the smart way is to build connections..

jaycn67
post Sep 30 2018, 08:48 AM

46 posts

Job Title :Senior System Administrator
Job Desciption :
Years spent in company :2
Company :MNC
Industry :Outsouce
Tenure :
Employment Level :Senior
Experience before joining (years) :3