Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

badguy93
post Mar 5 2019, 02:36 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 5 2019, 12:43 PM)
Supply and demand.

If you are jobless for a year already, do you think you are in the position to reject any offer?

Of course, if you have a secure job and just lurking around trying to get a better offer, the scenario is totally different.
This is another scenario, this situation will make me no choice but to accept their offer. Of course, my doing is risky and good if you want to try it out. Only if you are still working with the company.

QUOTE(55665566 @ Mar 5 2019, 01:16 PM)
Not wrong, if you are having a job now or just want to hop job.
But what if you had been fired/removed from your position due to economy?
You had never went through those, that's why youngster nowadays tend to take things for granted smile.gif
whistling.gif
Don't judge any individual person when you do not know how is their past life. I have been struggle in my past, being terminated by an employer. Do you know how desperate for me that time to secure a job. Yes, the desperate moment to secure a job is indeed to obey and follow.

When a person is successful in their life, they can make their decision. When a person is unsuccessful in their life, they can't make their decision. How do I define a person that is unsuccessful (or so called, they yet to reach that level), the person is afraid to expose to new challenges, afraid to escape from his comfy zone, afraid to do anything that the person is comfortable with their current life style.

When you put in a lot of effort and bring revenue of your company, you are being treated unfair in a company. I have been gone through all this. I dare to challenge you by requested such amount as well saying this that is because I will not disappoint you.

I think you judge too quickly, have you ever gone through this stage? Being jobless? hmm.gif You never know me nor I know you, we are nobody. You never know one person's life but judging the overall of youngsters lifestyle, you are very wrong at first. There may be 2 out of 10 are struggling to climb higher than those laid back and take things as granted. These scenario mostly gave people a bad impression, and people tend to start judge from there.

Stand in the middle and judge front and back, not by the absolute answer by overall people agreed.

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Mar 5 2019, 01:30 PM)
Were they panic and came up with a counter offer when you resigned?
Yes, but I don't take counter offer, nothing is good from counter offer lol. New environment, new culture, new learning, and new opportunity is always the best. Money cannot buy knowledge. Staying long term in a company is no good, your skill set eventually will becoming swallow, especially for youngster like me mid 20's is the best time for the person to hop and expose to new environment. Of course, mid 30's can do, if you think you are able to do it, why not? Some of them are concern with their family and convenient, so they find a company to plant their nest there until they pension.

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 5 2019, 01:58 PM)
Is illegal but people still doing it, people still allowing it. Why? Economy is bad. If you are out of job for few months without income, that scenario is scary enough to imagine when you have commitments due. Thus many people are give in when comes to showing their previous salary slip.
Indeed. It really depends on what situation you are in and how desperate the company want to replace the resigned candidate.
Yes this is true. The candidate to choose whether reject or accept depending their situation.

badguy93
post Mar 6 2019, 03:15 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Mar 6 2019, 02:21 PM)
How so it is illegal to ask prospective application to show his pay slip to confirm what his latest salary remunerations ? If an applicant refuses to show his salary in order to ask for a higher package during interview, how does the interviewer going to believe or even justify to company policy ?
Once current salary is disclosed, there is no trust between employer and candidate. The unfairness will continue to press. Since the employer is looking for potential candidate and willing to offer the remuneration package, then why ask to disclose? You get my point here?

If the applicant refuse to show his payslip in order to ask for higher package, then go evaluate the candidate skill. It is no use to gauge the candidate just for that purpose.

Like I have mentioned in above scenario, a working experience vs skill set vs bad company performance affected loyalty employee.

If you are the boss, who you want to hire to bring revenue to your company? HR is greedy, so they are evil lol. In your very own perspective, which is better?

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 6 2019, 02:43 PM)
I wouldn't mind if everything is in final stage where we are discussing on salary package. I believe you shortlisted me because I fit into all your category, including the asking salary. Early stage to ask for salary slip to prove you are speaking the truth is like not giving trust to the candidate you are about the hire. Then why bother to hire in the first place? Bare in mind I can forge my own salary slip too if the candidate not being truthful to their current salary package.

If everything fits into the category and I am in the last stage where the salary is the last part between me or another candidate(s), yes I am more than willing to share. Reason being I have nothing to hide. I speak the truth when comes to salary. I don't hanky panky. For those who play hide and seek, nothing much I can comment about that la. laugh.gif

As for if is illegal, PDPA section 6 page 19 as quoted by badguy93 brows.gif Please correct me know if I am wrong.

Yes, you got the point. Talk about trust between the company and the candidate. Why am I being shortlisted? That is because the company see me fit into their role. And the company is offering the package for that role, so the company should go with that package, otherwise don't offer.

Under PDPA section 6, it is illegal trying to gauge the private and confidential data without the candidate consent. Look, talk about unfair and trust, when a company request you to disclose your current salary, meaning they have no confidence and no sincere to the new candidate. If that is the case then don't offer such "attractive package" initially. sweat.gif

A proper hire process should evaluate the candidate performance and skills, then from there, a skilled interviewer should evaluate the candidate skill set by test given during interview instead gauge current pay slip. The past salary has nothing to do / no relationship at all to the new company. Same goes to your old company, no relationship between 2.
badguy93
post Mar 6 2019, 03:49 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Mar 6 2019, 03:33 PM)
Your case could be an exception as you are referring to your previous bad company and you attended an interview and you got a go offer without showing your last pay but told them your performance, if I read you correctly. Is this what you are trying to tell us here ? How many companies out there in Malaysia practice this by not having the need to show pay slip just make an offer base on interviews ? Or, this is just an one time off scenario ?
Evaluate the candidate skill set by practical not just by mouth or even portfolio, although portfolio provided what the candidate experienced. You can see whether this is a potential candidate or the joker. I have gone through 50+- company for interview, only 5 of them accepted me without the need to disclose pay slip. Although, you need to do your home work why you must not disclose the current salary. I cannot tell you unless you interview me next time thumbup.gif

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 6 2019, 03:36 PM)
I have secured job without revealing my salary slip before. But that's with a MNC. Local companies, usually it's in their policy. I was at the last stage of the interview, they wanted to hire me but tell me that i will have to share my payslip, else they won't be able to produce the management paper for hiring. I provided my payslip. lol!
Good for you thumbup.gif Did they lower down your remuneration package once they knew about your pay slip at your final stage where both you and employer already handshake on the agreed expected salary?
badguy93
post Mar 6 2019, 04:27 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(eltaria @ Mar 6 2019, 04:09 PM)
just to add my 2 cents to this, I think it's such a common request that when asked to provide our pay, we never even considered the probability that we have the right not to provide....

To a certain extent i can understand why they're asking past pay slip also, if u're paid 5k and you're asking for 20k... it doesn't make much sense for such a jump.
The candidate have rights not to disclosed only for the current pay slip. Other data is required to disclosed as they need to ensure the applicant is applied to the correct position. Yes, it don't make sense from 5k jump to 20k, normally I guess a phone call interview would be good in this situation whether they are being shortlisted for face to face interview after the finalize through phone call interview. This approach would be the best solution whether the candidate is apply the right position by requested some ridiculous amount. At least the amount has to be reasonable, that's my point of view.

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Mar 6 2019, 04:11 PM)
Bro, share with us here how to do it.
Unfortunately, I cannot share how. But, this is all about the candidate skill, whether by practical, convince, impression etc. The research is solely I created, so I know how it works. At most, I would say, please do your home work. biggrin.gif
badguy93
post Mar 6 2019, 05:18 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 6 2019, 05:03 PM)
Lower than asking, higher than expected. So i took the job.

I always have 3 benchmark for my salary:-
Asking Salary - If this is offered, no need to think, straight away say YES
Acceptable Salary - If this is offered, can consider to take the job
Nothing less than Salary -  If this is offered, I'll only take this job is the current job has other issue apart from remuneration
I do have benchmark for my expected salary too, let the interviewer evaluate your skill from there. Preferable the interviewer doing the same job scope as you, provided the interviewer would be your senior or your future superior. Otherwise, no point talk to HR, their job scope is to lowball the candidate.
badguy93
post Mar 7 2019, 09:42 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Mar 6 2019, 07:07 PM)
I believe with financial institutions, and possibly GLC and major conglomerates, where everything is structured and HR reigns supreme, it is impossible to choose to not disclose your salary. They will just move on to the next candidate. They also tend to have rules like max 30% increment. Yes, they can have exceptions, but exceptions are rare...less than 5% of new hires will come from the exception list.

To me, just don’t worry about the salary. Ask what you really want. Or 10% premium to that. Then go to the interview, excel and wait for their offer. If they lowball, reject outright respectfully. They will either say kthnxbai or come back with an improved offer. Key is...you need to have options. Do not be or appear desperate. And the most powerful negotiation tool you will ever have is the willingness to walk away. This is why it is important to continue interviewing periodically (say once a year) eve though you are happy in your current job. Cause then your negotiating hand is super powerful and this will show through during the interview as well.
For me, knowledge is priority as well as it must be tally with salary paid too. Phone interview actually helps both whether convenient proceed for an interview of face to face, if the employer learn the candidate not to disclose the current salary, then we shouldn't waste each other time. Although I am the guy like you described, I willing to walk away than showing my desperate to you during the negotiation.
badguy93
post Mar 7 2019, 02:06 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Mar 7 2019, 11:38 AM)
Good practice company have a set of salary range for every position.

So if you are at a certain level, they have a range they can pay you, nothing above and nothing below that range.
This concept is good. Some MNC uses this pattern then later on low ball upon candidate reveal current salary, lel. sweat.gif
badguy93
post Mar 7 2019, 04:13 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Mar 7 2019, 03:10 PM)
Willing buyer/Willing seller... no such thing as lowball or no... dont like the price walk lor.

Then again my last "interview" I nego $$ with the MD and not the HR...
Depends.. Normally, the interviewer can be HR, MD, Director, or the superior. If they understand you then no problem rclxm9.gif
badguy93
post Mar 8 2019, 04:00 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(hyperbelt7 @ Mar 8 2019, 11:38 AM)
Job Title : Software Engineer
Job Desciption : Widget Animation developer
Years spent in company : 1.5 year
Company : Continental
Industry : Automotive
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Engineer
Experience before joining (years) : 4 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Master in Computer Engineering
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 9.5h per day mon-fri

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 7.85k
Contractual Bonus (months): mths
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 2-6 mths

Benefits (where relevant) : Specs+Dental rm200,
Health Benefits : Full insurance
Transport Benefits : None
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : None
Flexi Working Hours : wfh 2 days per month, exit pass 2h per day
Other Benefits :
Jumped company once because how little the increment is. Previously worked in a semiconductor company where they value circuit designer more than software, despite the technical capability I have.
Hopefully I can reach your salary at your age, or even higher. lol drool.gif
badguy93
post Mar 11 2019, 02:47 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Mar 11 2019, 10:19 AM)
Same company salary revised

Job Title : Cloud System Engineer
Job Description : Building cloud infra, Backup as service (BaaS), Networking, Linux, System architecture, Virtualization Machine
Years spent in company : 1Y2M | exp before joining 1 year
Company : Cloud Service Provider
Industry : IT - Cloud
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Technical
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in ICT
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45hours - 60hour (ongoing project)

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary: RM 2700 (no allowance) upgrade to RM3500
Contractual Bonus (months): -
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1 month (performance)

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Inpatient (up to RM60,000/year)
Transport Benefits : -
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : -
Flexi Working Hours : 9.30-6.30pm
Other Benefits : -
Do you write program? If yes, your salary is lower than average. I only know programming field. lols.

3500 for your age... is a bit low... (Maybe you are in engineer field, then I don't know about that)
badguy93
post Mar 11 2019, 03:07 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Mar 11 2019, 03:04 PM)
how much should we expect for that age range?
Also have to depends on what field you are.
badguy93
post Mar 11 2019, 05:25 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Mar 11 2019, 04:04 PM)
No i dont write any program
im system enginneer. (involve in Networking, Security, Hardware)
I think its better for you to refer here to check if your salary is within the range.
badguy93
post Mar 12 2019, 10:00 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Mar 11 2019, 05:32 PM)
I don't think we should judge a person's earning capability based on their age.

Some people could be helping out their family / personal reasons / financial issues, hence they start end finish their college later than the rest. Everyone have their unique scenario and circumstances in life and some may not be as fortunate as the others.

Personally, I think his salary is perfectly fine for someone with slightly more than 1 year experience. Could even be higher than some.
Im one of your description here...

QUOTE(contestchris @ Mar 11 2019, 10:34 PM)
Don't consider age lah. Some people graduate and working at 21...by 26 of course they should be earning ~RM5k. Contrast with someone who graduated at 24...by 26 to earn RM3.5k is considered OK.

So yeah, more important than age is the years of experience.
Im graduate at 24,,..

Thats why alot people still taking "years of experience" to compare which is bad approach. I know these day younger generation like my generation, always being compared in "years of experience". If you would stand in the middle compare the skill set vs years of experience, who will you prefer?
badguy93
post Mar 12 2019, 10:11 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Mar 12 2019, 10:07 AM)
I strongly agree your point of view here, some ppl doing the same routine job for 10 years doesn't mean he/she deserve higher salary, provided he/she never upgrade and learn new skills.
There are 2 types of people
1. Grow yourself and value
2. Makan gaji
badguy93
post Mar 12 2019, 10:18 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Mar 12 2019, 10:14 AM)
IT professional cannot survive if he/she is type 2..
Regardless of field. They can grow themselves if they wanted to. I think... (I don't know about other field) sweat.gif
badguy93
post Mar 12 2019, 04:25 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Mar 12 2019, 03:32 PM)
Those MNC/SME should change the hiring mindset if they want to hire talent..

"I'd rather work with a professional and motivated "beginner" than a lazy "expert" who is unwilling to learn or listen to new perspectives."

"20 years of experience does not mean much if you have no understanding. I have known people with many years of experience who could only do something from memory. If a new issue showed up they were lost."

I saw a CEO wrote this in LinkedIn

"Experience is good but should not always be the criteria.

I worked with a fresh graduate with no vast experience in the labour market.

I'd have written him off but thank God I never did.

I chose to work with him because he was hungry and had an eagle eye.

He was also an avid reader and a fast learner.

It took him just six months to solve a major technical problem in our company.

I was blown away.

The problem had cost us a lot of money.

We were already thinking of replacing the machine.

He came on board and showed it's not the number of years every time but how much you are willing to learn.

He changed my mindset to see beyond years and experience.

I felt guilty I had written him off but at the same time, I was happy I gave him a chance.

Give people a chance because we all started with no experience.

Someone saw and believed in us.

Why not do the same."
This is a good one, and this is what my perspective is.

There is not much candidate you can find in the market. Although speak of 'years of working experience' then that is not the right way to judge a person like the scenario above.

These day, a lot of youngster tend to take this opportunity as granted. There is so many entertainment outside, they do not seek to improve themselves, yet they waste their time onto this.

I went to interview last time, when I being asked "What is your hobby", my answer were self learning to grow value, guess what, he say you must have at least one or two entertainment hobby.

Let me quote my own word:
"If you willing to take 5 minutes daily to improve yourself, your knowledge will eventually be expanded within a month"

I know these day, less to no youngster will think the same like my mindset does. Most of the so called "Experienced" employee is afraid to escape from their comfy zone, they are afraid the new changes and the challenges. Its you should change with no excuses.

badguy93
post Mar 13 2019, 10:48 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Mar 12 2019, 05:48 PM)
You have a solid point which I agree.

But when I'm hiring a software project manager to manage a large scale project involving integration from multiple channels and platform, I'd still want someone who have experience & managed similar projects before. In this scenario, talent almost have no role to play, but experience and exposure speaks loudly here.

My 2 cents.
Managerial post is different, they would required exposure and experience as compared to technical staffs. I not talk about whether get to a managerial position at young age will conflict with his subordinates or any political issue. I have seen people at my age became ASM (Assist. Senior Manager) in corporate.
badguy93
post Mar 13 2019, 11:02 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ Mar 13 2019, 10:51 AM)
Job title : Analyst
Salary : RM5k (Fixed + Allowance), Bonus 5-10 months
Years spent in company : 0
Industry : Corporate and Investment Banking (CIB), Financial Sector
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining (years) : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week: 60 hours
Fresh graduate? that salary amount is high drool.gif
badguy93
post Mar 13 2019, 11:11 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ Mar 13 2019, 11:03 AM)
yea...banking normally higher than average...
No lei... banking i heard about 2.8-3.5k, and they follow chinaman culture for increment sweat.gif

Did you just write 5k in your expected salary as a fresh graduate? I believe they would ask you "How did you come out with this amount"

Btw, 5k is not consider average for fresh graduate... its too high.. even 4k consider high lol

This post has been edited by badguy93: Mar 13 2019, 11:12 AM
badguy93
post Mar 13 2019, 11:24 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ Mar 13 2019, 11:14 AM)
i think it depends on what position and program applied.

If you go for their flagship programs like Management Trainee or Graduate Trainee programs, you can easily get above RM3.5k+ for banking. Like Hong Leong paid RM5k for their Management Trainee program, but of course competition is tough...

If direct entry, then lower.
Your luck is with you biggrin.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1492sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:00 AM