12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

coolguy99
post Oct 11 2019, 07:29 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Oct 11 2019, 06:50 PM)
With current market situation, retrenchment can happen anytime. Contract is definitely on the higher risk category but better returns.

I haven't found a permanent job which can pay me more than 3 months bonus even when my performance is outstanding. The reason cited is very lame.

Current salary already factor in the safety factor as well as my own target for bonus based on my own calculation.

My market rate should be around RM 9,000 to 10,000 a month 😉
I have never received a 3 months bonus despite being on permanent positions on different companies for more than 7 years.

I only look at the basic salary, which is the main factor for me in choosing my next job.
coolguy99
post Oct 17 2019, 08:03 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(Reonix91 @ Oct 17 2019, 06:13 PM)
Job Title : Sales Executive
Job Desciption : Sell Watches/ Luxury Time Piece
Years spent in company : 4 Year Plus
Company :
Industry : Retail (Watch Division)
Tenure :
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining (years) : 1 Year in Retail
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Diploma In Pharmacy
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 10 hours for 20 days only

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : MYR 1870 + 500
Contractual Bonus (months):
Commissions (months) : MYR 2000-9000

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Medical Card
Transport Benefits : No
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : No
Flexi Working Hours : Yes for me (10 days off work per month)
Other Benefits :
Is the commission based on the sale price of the watch? The more expensive the watch is, the more commission you get?
coolguy99
post Oct 17 2019, 09:52 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(Reonix91 @ Oct 17 2019, 08:47 PM)
Yes, i steadily sold 5-10 units on a good month, on a great month it could be more than 15.
Nice. Sounds like a steady job you have there. biggrin.gif
coolguy99
post Oct 20 2019, 08:07 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(nufan @ Oct 20 2019, 02:16 AM)
Job Title : Project Manager
Job Description : Project Management
Years spent in company : >5 yrs
Company : MNC
Industry : O&G
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Manager
Experience before joining (years) : >12 yrs
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40hrs

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 38K (no allowance)
Contractual Bonus (months): 1 mth
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : ave 2/3 of monthly salary

Transport Benefits : N/A
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : Mobile Phone is provided
Flexi Working Hours : Yes
Other Benefits : Cool working environment, good colleagues & bosses

Wouldnt sure if i like my current job, wish i could jump ship to enjoy work-life balance. :-)
Are you working in Malaysia?
coolguy99
post Oct 20 2019, 06:43 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(jflee @ Oct 20 2019, 04:44 PM)
Hi, would like to seek your advise. I am currently in a MNC firm, not actively looking but open to explore options. Had went for an interview, how should I approach the salary question?

1) Not stating my expected salary and wait for the company to offer?

Or

2) State expected salary? If I do state, generally how much is the norm? I am thinking of 30-40% considering I am going into a risky situation (from current permanent to new job which needs to go thru probation period)
Normally HR is going to ask your expected salary once you passed the interview, and it will be based on your current. Normally I will ask for at least 30% increment from my current, and sometimes higher to leave some room for negotiation. Do give it some thought before the day comes and you want to be prepared with a number that you are comfortable with.
coolguy99
post Oct 21 2019, 07:17 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(MGIB99 @ Oct 21 2019, 04:12 PM)
Does anyone know Maybank GMAP's salary? I'm thinking of applying
I don't think starting salaries varies that much for fresh graduates. The company that I started with has a RM200 difference if you have a first class honors that is all.
coolguy99
post Oct 22 2019, 12:31 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(MGIB99 @ Oct 22 2019, 11:01 AM)
Yeah I asked quite a few of the people I know, and it's generally known that most of the biggest MA's in big banks are paying above 5k

CIMB TCB: 5K
Standard Chartered: 6k
JP Morgan: 6k
HSBC Global Graduate: 5k

The only thing that i was getting mixed answers are Maybank:

I have heard of 3.5k, 3.7k, 5k, 4.5k.

One of the Maybank employees told me 3.5k but she was an MA quite a while back, and I expect Maybank, the biggest bank in Malaysia, to have more competitive basic salaries, seeing their competitors are paying so high.

Just wanted to see if anyone on lowyat knows anything haha
Wow I didn't expect it to be this high. I thought in the range of 4k only. Guess it is pretty competitive then.
coolguy99
post Oct 22 2019, 01:10 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(pysh @ Oct 22 2019, 12:59 PM)
Job Title : System Analyst
Years spent in company : >10 years
Industry : IT
Employment Level : Experience
Experience before joining (years) : 3
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 48hours++ (4 days)

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary: RM7200
Contractual Bonus (months): 1.5 months
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Quarterly profit sharing and yearly performance bonus. Stock units

Health Benefits : Dental, optical and medical card.
Transport Benefits : None
Other Benefits : Meal allowance, vehicle interest subsidy

hmmm.. looking at others, i think i have to buck up alot
For Penang is the pay considered at the upper range? I think it varies by location too?

I think it is unfair to make a direct comparison on salaries from KL and Penang.

This post has been edited by coolguy99: Oct 22 2019, 01:11 PM
coolguy99
post Oct 24 2019, 08:43 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(UsopSontorian @ Oct 24 2019, 05:02 PM)
Yeah, higher salary but lower benefits. Same like my company, for new intake higher salary but changed benefits policy from unlimited medical to flexible plans
Higher salary is better? If I would have to choose I rather have higher salary than giving me benefits which I may or may not use.
coolguy99
post Oct 25 2019, 12:05 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(rebecca_choo @ Oct 25 2019, 09:47 AM)
Job Title : System Admin
Job Desciption : Managing windows servers + projects
Years spent in company : 2 years+
Company : IT
Tenure :
Employment Level : Senior / Team Lead
Experience before joining (years) : 9 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelors in IT
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 42.5

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM9400 + (RM300 allowance)
Contractual Bonus (months): -
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1.5 mths

Health Benefits : Medical card for spouse and kid, yearly RM900 medical checkup
Transport Benefits : Free parking
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : For standby, latest iPhone with dedicated line
Flexi Working Hours : Yes, can WFH 2 times per week
Other Benefits : Annualy flexi benefits of RM3000 which can be used on computer accessories, mobile phones etc.

Am I doing okay?
Yes very okay. That annual flexi benefit is good, and the WFH can be very handy at times.
coolguy99
post Oct 26 2019, 10:46 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(chenz9 @ Oct 26 2019, 04:51 PM)
Job Title : Data Analyst/Engineer Services
Job Desciption : Validate the items before open/sell to customer and other IT related job like created simple automation (excel) or write query (sql) to internal team
Years spent in company : 5 years+
Company : IT
Tenure : Permanent (contract 2 years then convert to permanent)
Employment Level : Senior/Lead
Experience before joining (years) : this is my first job lol
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelor of Computer Science
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45 hours

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 4300+ (no allowance)
Contractual Bonus (months): 1 mth (13th mths bonus)
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : depends on business, so far less than 1 mth

Health Benefits : Corporate Medical Card
Transport Benefits : -
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : -
Flexi Working Hours : Yes, Friday WFH
Other Benefits : Dental, Optical (RM600 per year)

Feel like jumping.....but i have a good manager and team and where can i go.... unsure.gif
Is the after 2 years conversion to perm staff a sure thing and is stated black and white in your offer letter? I just wonder why do they hire you in contract when they are going to convert you to perm after 2 years anyway.
coolguy99
post Oct 27 2019, 08:22 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(CareerSifu @ Oct 27 2019, 07:27 PM)
Between a higher salary and better benefits always care about salary rather than benefits, especially earlier in your career.

Remember that base salary is the basis of EVERYTHING: your annual increment, your employer's contributions to EPF, promotions or raises that you might want to ask for in the future, your contractual/fixed bonus, your target variable bonus, and your offer at the next company that you might want to join.

Whereas with side perks and benefits, if they are cushy, good for you. Remember though that while you can use it as a basis for comparison and negotiation for your next offer when you decide to change jobs, most HR won't take these side perks/benefits into account. It's impossible to monetise every single benefit right in a way that's fair to both parties?

With benefits and perks, only care more for these when you are mid-to-senior level, eg. when you have family and it matters that they come under company insurance and coverage, or when you'd like work from home rights once a month because of childcare or whatever.
Good explanation. This should be pinned in front page as I see this question a lot in this thread.
coolguy99
post Nov 1 2019, 12:22 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Nov 1 2019, 12:05 AM)
Update:

Job Title : Software Engineer
Job Desciption : Develop embedded system of frequency radio, working on connectivity related items like Bluetooth, AT commands.
Years spent in company : 2 year 3 months
Industry : Frequency Radio
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Junior Engineer
Experience before joining (years) : First Company
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM4000
Contractual Bonus (months): 1.5mths
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1mths + -

Transport Benefits : none
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : Internet claim RM90 per month
Flexi Working Hours : yes
Other Benefits : RM600 for glasses, dentistry and medical checkup

slowly losing interest in what I am doing now.  yawn.gif  yawn.gif  yawn.gif
Feel like want to change environment, or perhaps working in KL. But as I know KL has very slim chance for embedded software engineers, the jobs there more towards high-level programmer / application developers.
I don't mind trying different field of job though.

My target is have at least RM6000 salary before age of 30, not sure if that is possible for now  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Need some advices from all the HR sifus here  notworthy.gif
Yes I think you are right to say that KL has more chances for application developers, demand is pretty high here. Maybe you can try banking industry? With banks competing nowadays to go digital, opportunity is there for software developers with such skills.
coolguy99
post Nov 1 2019, 09:38 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(rzl.j @ Nov 1 2019, 01:28 AM)
Update:

Job Title : Software Developer
Job Desciption : Typical programmer stuff
Years spent in company : Just started
Industry : IT/Cybersecurity
Experience before joining (years) : almost 4 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Diploma
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): Not sure. Flexible

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM7000
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Performance bonus (6%-8% from annual salary)

Health Benefits :
- RM 4000 outpatient limit each for family member and employee.
- Life insurance 36 x monthly basic salary
Transport Benefits : -
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : -
Flexi Working Hours : Yes
Other Benefits :
- RM 800 combined Dental/Optical
- AL 18 days
You are doing very well at your age. Congrats!

coolguy99
post Nov 2 2019, 06:42 PM

7,349 posts

removed.

This post has been edited by coolguy99: Nov 3 2019, 12:26 AM
coolguy99
post Nov 6 2019, 09:57 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Nov 6 2019, 08:01 AM)
They will try to low ball u on your diploma but back it up with your experience and projects that u did. 9 years is a long time and should already not look at your qualifications. But who knows.

Convince u have the skills( hard sell if u need to) and ace the interbiu
Usually after you have accumulated enough experience they do not look at your academic result already, normally they just look at how relevant your experience is to the advertised job and how you fare in the interview.
coolguy99
post Nov 11 2019, 09:27 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Nov 10 2019, 11:55 PM)
Whats the average salary for software developer with 4 years of experience?

Any sifu can help me out?
Should be around the range of 4-5k. I have seen some of my colleagues who are getting up to 6k too.
coolguy99
post Nov 15 2019, 09:37 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(KeithWhis @ Nov 15 2019, 09:28 AM)
Will be hard to command higher salary than MNC if jump to SME, but the growth and exposure will be more in SME in terms of work. A good gauge would be 3-5 years can consider jumping  drool.gif
SME is good for fresh graduates as you get to learn as much as you can, after that you can jump to MNC to get a different perspective, and a better salary too.

coolguy99
post Nov 23 2019, 09:24 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(bagok @ Nov 23 2019, 04:26 AM)
Job Title : IT Security Architect
Job Description : Design &  Deploy IT security Solution
Years spent in company : 11 years
Company : Local Company
Employment Level : Senior Engineer
Experience before joining (years) : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : B Sc. Computer Science
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 18000
Contractual Bonus (months): 2 months
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 0.5

Benefits is minimal
That basic salary is dope man. How did you get to this point at such a young age?

coolguy99
post Dec 2 2019, 08:25 PM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(max22233 @ Dec 2 2019, 05:42 PM)
Your starting pay in SG is really good!!
Sometimes seeing how much people make in SG makes me sad. Haha.

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1577sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:54 PM