International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

zeng
post Feb 8 2012, 11:08 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 2 2012, 02:37 PM)
i should add that i suspect there is also a 'black list' by some pms, particularly the oz ones.....although they never say so explicitly or implicitly.....

ie, if you have ever applied directly to the pms, and rejected, you will automatically be dropped from consideration by the uni.....as that would be considered a back door entry.....something taboo in oz.....(see the uq vc fiasco).....
My relative's AS results are 3 A's (Maths/physics/Bio) and B in Chemistry. Now working hard to get A for Chemistry in coming May 2012 A2 exam. If finance and A level results permits, the relative intends to apply UCAS for September 2013 UK Medicine intakes.

I would like seek all and sundry's advice and opinions on the following:

1) While awaiting applicaton results for direct entry in September 2013, in the meanwhile the relative plans to apply and do IMU pms if possible.

2)In case the relative can proceed to UK medicine in September 2013 intake...... are there any UK universities that may consider 'credit transfers' for the two IMU semester studies..... Or none of UK varsities have 'credit transfer things' for medicine course ??

What are the scenarios ? Appreciate your guidance..... smile.gif

This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 8 2012, 11:10 AM
zeng
post Feb 8 2012, 01:39 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 8 2012, 12:29 PM)
why did not apply for Sept 2012? Doubtful credit transfer available.
Why ? many factors actually ..... unknown AS performance ; hesitancy whether to do medicine... ; hesitancy whether do local or overseas medicine programmes ... and the No 1 reason is whether can sustain 5 years of funding for overseas medicine. cry.gif

Actually aiming for SMC recognised degrees ..... currently applying U of Hong Kong which is very very competitive.... rclxub.gif

Added on February 8, 2012, 1:47 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 8 2012, 12:47 PM)
there are never any 'credit transfers' for partly done medical courses by any respectable unis.....

however, there are several full phase 1/preclinical credit transfers arrangements, imu-pms being one of them.....others include uni brunei, and a uni in egypt with manchester.....
Thanks for valuable input and prompt response . Too bad this 'credit transfers' pathway is off in terms of 'salvaging' one to two semesters of IMU studies. smile.gif

This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 8 2012, 01:47 PM
zeng
post Feb 8 2012, 02:59 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 8 2012, 02:13 PM)
the difference between imu-pms to uk, and direct entry, in terms of total fees, can be small or even cheaper in uk.....eg, 5 sems at imu is rm200k, or 40k pounds......whereas 1st 2 years pre-clinical in most uk med schools is less than 20k pounds a year.....
You are right . rclxms.gif

Comparing against IMU fees for 5 semesters at rm 200k, it IS definitely cheaper to pay UK fees for first two years, at current exchange rates.

ALL of Russell group universities are charging 27k to 35k pounds for first two years of medicine studies ...... way cheaper than IMU fees for 5 semesters.

The one and only exception being Edinburg,for first two years, charging highest fees at 41k pounds only against IMU's 40k pounds.

For those who can gain direct entry to UK medicines and have DECIDED to do medicine in UK anyway..... it sounds very odd and funny to take IMU pms pathway ....... rclxub.gif
zeng
post Feb 8 2012, 03:50 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 8 2012, 03:32 PM)
It is 27K to 35K pounds PER year in UK and IMU is charging abt RM200k for 5 semesters!
No, no.

Per Year in UK pre-clinicals is 13xxx pounds for Aberdeen and about 18xxx pounds for Leeds smile.gif .

Added on February 8, 2012, 3:54 pm
QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 8 2012, 03:24 PM)
Our respective "relatives" will be the "deaths" of us! *collective groans"

Good Luck! You're basically doing what I was doing last year, just not the IMU route.
Not sure if i'm getting at what you mean..... hahaha... blush.gif

This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 8 2012, 03:54 PM
zeng
post Feb 8 2012, 04:24 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 8 2012, 04:08 PM)
Not ALL Russell Group.
Yeah... sorry.

But almost....... for undergraduate programmes smile.gif

Aberdeen is not Russell ...... but Cardiff is .....at 13xxx pound per year

Omg... Imperial is 55k pounds for two years... my bad. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 8 2012, 04:28 PM
zeng
post Nov 9 2013, 08:31 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(kane_WWE_07 @ Nov 5 2013, 11:37 PM)
is it true that keele uni and brighton-sussex uni are not recognized by Singapore Medical Council?
SMC Second Schedule -- http://www.healthprofessionals.gov.sg/cont...lifications.pdf

zeng
post Jan 2 2014, 07:33 PM

1,810 posts

Do you have pending application to UK med schools ?
Meaning ..... awaiting interview prior to offer .... smile.gif
zeng
post Jan 3 2014, 10:01 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Yaoni @ Jan 2 2014, 09:50 PM)
No I have not heard any replies from the UK unis yet. Might have to possibly wait till Feb/March sad.gif
For those applying UK medicine before Oct last year , with UKCAT/BMAT and Personal Statement satisfactory to some Schools, interview may be conducted in KL/Singapore by Jan/February of following year. Offer could have been sent out by February onwards.

If one is not called for interview by end March ........ one more or less kisses goodbye to UK medical schools for coming September intake ......

Best wishes to your application. hmm.gif

Btw Kiwi med schools are six years, if ever you managed to be accepted into Medicine in Year 2 ..... supposely base on your Year 1 performance and interview etc... and its fees are rclxub.gif

IMU PMS (Uk) would be 2.5 years + 3 years.

UK direct entry would be 5 years. smile.gif

zeng
post Jan 4 2014, 09:32 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Jan 4 2014, 07:55 PM)
i thought even recognised university graduates need to take conversion test in order to work in a particular country? say, two graduates  from UK and IMU, how are they different in terms of gaining accreditation and eventually being able to work in Singapore?
Graduates of most , but not all, of UK medical schools which are listed in SMC Second Schedule (including Malaysia's UM and UKM full time graduates) need not undergo qualifying exam in order to work in Singapore.

Graduates of 'certain' UK medical schools (such as Warwick etc) and all local ipts (such as IMU, Monash malaysia etc) which are not listed in SMC Second Schedule are required to undergo qualifying exam in Spore. sweat.gif

zeng
post Jan 4 2014, 09:50 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Jan 4 2014, 08:36 PM)
means there IS a qualifying exam? which applies for many other countries. otherwise how do you explain so many graduates with unrecognised qualification being able to work in places they intend to?
There is a qualifying exam for graduates of foreign medical schools generally in 2 scenarios -
a )in countries that do not have such thing as 'recognition list' such as US, Hong Kong(?) etc ;
b )in countries where there is a 'recognition list' ,such as Malaysia, Singapore etc , that the related medical school in not part of the list. smile.gif

zeng
post Jan 10 2014, 09:33 PM

1,810 posts

You don't need Personal Statement (PS) in order to get into IMU , whether PMS programme or local programme.

However for a typical English medical school or Scottish med school such as Aberdeen in this case , one of its entry

requirements includes PS from applicant ....... whether by direct entry through say, A-level route or (IMU) PMS

stream. smile.gif

Here we are talking about 2 different entry requirements by 2 individual medical schools ...... from 2

different countries ...... under 2 different sets of rules ....... blush.gif

This post has been edited by zeng: Jan 10 2014, 09:41 PM
zeng
post Feb 24 2014, 08:15 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 24 2014, 03:48 PM)
There is a pathway in IMU and it has allowed many to do med overseas, esp those with money.

You said they can match up with their university mates, so effectively they are there on merit. Unfortunately UK is going to change the quota for internationals.

....Would appreciate your further clarificatons on quota change for internationals ..... smile.gif 

I also believe that gaining direct entry into UK med can be considered as a game of chance. For Malaysians, many are equal in academic performance and PS. Whether you make it or not is at the interview and this depends on the interviewer, though he has a guideline.

When I conduct interviews, if you have a pleasant personality, you will have a more than even chance. That's life.
Tends to agree with you on this, as its selection processess/procedures are really demanding ..... having money only

is not enough to confidently gain entry. sweat.gif
zeng
post Feb 25 2014, 08:43 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Feb 25 2014, 01:08 AM)
I'll say out that money should the least deciding factor when pursuing medicine overseas, especially in UK. The number of international applicants to places in each medical university is roughly about 20 to 1. The selection process itself is highly evaluated and the decision to select a particular individual has to be reviewed a couple of times before being made.

The typical evaluation includes personal statement, UKCAT (not all), grades and the interviews themselves. In my university, the interview has been recently changed to the newer MMI (multiple-mini interviews), which i found more suitable in deciding one's ability to do medicine. The individual himself is tested upon basic common sense, empathy, passion, arithmetics and communication skills. These are highly important in regarding to being a doctor later.

So, overall the selection is really demanding and I'm really glad to be able to get into one at all. smile.gif

Just my 2 cents. wink.gif
I know of cases a typical successful applicant to UK medical schools,say in the last 2 years, only received ONE offer

from among the Ucas choices of 4 Uni's.

Generally it fits in well with what cckkpr says, i.e "that it can be considered as a game of chance" , as far as I am

concerned.

Would be glad to hear from you , if yours is another real life case of receiving ONE offer only ..... blush.gif

This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 25 2014, 08:46 PM
zeng
post Feb 25 2014, 08:55 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 25 2014, 09:24 AM)
Since you have one offer, what do you think happened to the others.

I would assume that some of your answers to the questions posed were more acceptable to the successful one than the others.

Even those who made it to Oxbridge may not get offers from other universities.[cool.gif
Though I do not come across one personally , I do expect your statement in bold above applies to some , if not the

majority of successful entrants to Oxbridge medical schools . tongue.gif
zeng
post Feb 26 2014, 08:46 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Blue2u @ Feb 25 2014, 11:05 PM)
Unfortunately, it's a discrete matter but, if you must know. I can only tell you that there is a certain group of sponsored students who are only match to unis in the UK, hence, filling up the space meant for other students.

Every uni has a certain local:international students ratio. Most people just look at the limit of international students numbers for a uni, many don't realise that there is such a ratio between local and international students and as well as, between international students. This is just to satisfy the local students. Well, of course, most unis want higher international student intake, since they pay a higher amount for fees. But (as a local)would you feel happy, if >80% of your class are foreigners.
I suppose the above statement in bold is very clear and self-explanatory to most of us here, no?

Thanks for your enlightening points ..... biggrin.gif
zeng
post Feb 26 2014, 08:56 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Feb 26 2014, 04:50 AM)
Mine was a one offer case BUT it was mostly down to my bad selection of universities, I'm afraid.

I had two interviews, with one successful and the other,  a rejection.
For one university, I wasn't able to attend the interview due to the fact that they had change their selection procedure from not interviewing to an MMI in UK itself. At the point when I was applied, the information at which I knew of did not state about the interview but it was recently implemented AFTER the UCAS closing date.

The final university rejected me the earliest, which was about early December. Furthermore, my fellow peers from the same college who applied to the same university were also rejected around the same time. I did not manage to find anyone who went to the university directly. I could only speculate that it was due to the IMU credit transfer which limited the number of places available for direct entry. (Just a guess~)

( I know I shouldn't be lamenting about it but it's not an excuse to deny that it was my incapability which denied me more than one offer. It could be due to chance though but I can only guess)
I can imagine your fluctuating heart beat counts moments before you received the ONE AND ONLY offer ...... while

discussing about it with those who show concerns ..... sweat.gif

Thanks for sharing . blush.gif

zeng
post Feb 26 2014, 09:07 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Blue2u @ Feb 26 2014, 04:59 PM)
Yeah, I'm struggling to get you to see my point of view.
Do accept the situation or fact that sometimes some of the people cannot see some of your points of view. sweat.gif

Don't worry about it and just move on ..... whistling.gif

We are here to share experiences and opinions, not to seek converts. blush.gif

zeng
post May 6 2014, 01:08 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ May 2 2014, 10:49 AM)
Effective this Sept 2014, IMU students transferring to Liverpool U will pay 3,750 pounds additional per year and next year onwards it will be raised to 10,000 pounds.

Wow, another additonal RM200K and we hope the Ringgit at least maintain its current value.
Even excluding the newly introduced transfer fees of about RM 4000 per semester for PMS programs, without a

teaching hospital of its own , IMU is charging higher pre-clinical fees than majority of UK medicine schools who owns

one or more teaching hospitals.

Malaysia truly Asia, and

IMU truly BOLEH! cry.gif

CRONY lagi Boleh! rclxub.gif

Note: Transfer fees of ALL PMS during pre-clinical is RM 4000 per semester x 5 semesters = RM 20000. On top of this,

transfer to Liverpool will incur extra over charge of GBP 3750 per year*

* =per year of preclinical of 2.5 years or Liverpool clinical of 3 years ........ any clue???

This post has been edited by zeng: May 6 2014, 01:32 AM
zeng
post May 6 2014, 01:51 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(mmsbr @ May 5 2014, 10:00 PM)
haha, spot on.

I am not picky in my choice of medical school. My only 2 criteria are accreditation and costs. Tuition fees of Med schools like UCD in Ireland can reach upwards of SGD 500k or above RM1.2mill. Scary figures.

Why do you say 'chance of getting uk is very high'? Is that based on the sheer number of UK PMS compared to Auzzie PMS? What other factors play a part in the allocation of PMS?

Yep, i understand that unis like Keele and BSMS are not recognised by the SMC according to the SMC second schedule.

How difficult is it to adapt to UK teaching styles after 2.5 years in bukit jalil?

Btw, IMU uses prosections instead of dissections?

Also, is it an urban legend or a truth that August intakes have higher cut-off ? And how much higher? Would AAB be enough?
If you can afford SGD 500 K and above, Ireland is your best bet. As SMC recognition is taken care of. blush.gif

Otherwise, IMU-PMS is the way to go -- for your scenario ......

as I am afraid you have NO chance in UK med schools with Singapore AAB,

if only you have taken CIE, you would have met the AAA requirements of typical UK/Oz med schools, thus having

wider choices than now. cry.gif

This post has been edited by zeng: May 6 2014, 01:59 AM
zeng
post May 6 2014, 01:07 PM

1,810 posts

Some UK med schools are now charging GBP 158xx per year of pre-clinicals.

0.0490sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:18 AM