International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

randywang
post Apr 20 2009, 02:09 PM

56 posts

hello hello!!!
I'll be starting at IMU in august for medicine..anyone starting medicine in august intake??? anyone???? i'm pretty excited for the course..wanna make friends with my future classmates here...

My name is Randy and I'm from Myanmar..see you all there in August!
randywang
post Apr 20 2009, 07:12 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Apr 20 2009, 12:38 PM)
Welcome to IMU lol, "enjoy" ur lovely orientation week  wub.gif
Hey there!

I heard the orientation week is horrible! The seniors ask us to do all sorts of ridiculous activities, from throwing eggs at us to asking us to wet our shirts with smelly liquids. Is it true??

Are there any international students in IMU? especially from which countries???
randywang
post Apr 20 2009, 11:59 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Apr 20 2009, 09:41 PM)
we even have some professors and lecturers from myanmar here
u're doing pms rite?
Are you serious about Burmese lecturers??? lol..are they any good?? i wanna avoid burmese lecturers that's why I plan to go to IMU and i'm also gonna see them in IMU..omg..
yea..PMS of course.. how about u?

btw, IMU mostly got chinese (malaysian) over there is it?? i went there for interview and all i saw was chinese..no malays, indian or any other races.
randywang
post Apr 21 2009, 01:22 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Apr 20 2009, 10:49 PM)
Haha, at least he's a nice guy. Do you mean he bad at pronunciation or the teaching method?
most of the burmeses suck in terms of pronunciation.. they speak wif burmese accents!!! haha.apart from me...lol..cos i have been living in singaore for a long time alr..lol
randywang
post Apr 21 2009, 01:55 AM

56 posts

Do Malaysian Chineses speak in Mandarin or Cantonese when they are together?? lol..Mandarin, at least I can still understand...or do they use English???
randywang
post May 14 2009, 02:08 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(V286 @ May 13 2009, 07:45 PM)
umm..has anyone been accepted into IMU to do med this August yet?just curious smile.gif
yep! i've been accepted alr!!! u also joining IMU?

Added on May 14, 2009, 2:27 amhey guys,
i'll be joining IMU this august! so, do u have any suggestions on what i should prepare??

By the way, can guys wear short sleeve shirt at the IMU?? it sucks that we need to wear formal clothings at IMU

This post has been edited by randywang: May 14 2009, 02:27 AM
randywang
post May 14 2009, 11:59 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ May 14 2009, 06:29 AM)
yes short sleeve shirt without tie is fine
what to prepare?
find ur room earlier la, unless u staying somewhere else in kl
YEP! alr asked my friend to find room for me! but it's too early to find room now, isn't it? cos uni is only gonna start in aug and now its only may! lol!

Added on May 15, 2009, 12:03 am
QUOTE(ShaneNg @ May 14 2009, 09:37 PM)
Hi, I might be entering the August Intake.

But Before that, can I know briefly about the things which Semester 1 students study? like Books?

And any books which give a rough guide to the knowledge required for A Medic student? I mean, we're not like Professors of Anatomy who stuff a brainful of Anatomy book right?

I'm asking this because I really need to understand more about the academia.

hey there! have u received ur offer for joining August intake? cool..

umm..as for me, I have started reading this "human anatomy and physiology" by marieb or smth.. that was my sis's book (she was an ex IMU student) now in UNSW..yep..haha...and there is this book named "medical microbiology" published by ELSEVIER, and one book called "immunology"..are these books taught in semester 1???

This post has been edited by randywang: May 15 2009, 12:34 AM
randywang
post May 15 2009, 12:27 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ May 14 2009, 10:16 PM)
ur sister from m206?
haha not too early la, as some batches are moving out soon, like M107 and P107
only marieb needed in 1st sem, lippincott biochem we only used for 1st 2 weeks
yep! she's from m206
randywang
post May 15 2009, 12:51 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ May 14 2009, 10:38 PM)
haha i can recognize her but i cant recall her name
i'm sure she doesnt know my name as well though haha
mostly met her during buddhist society activities
should not disclose further tongue.gif
YEP! yep!
She told me she was the vice president of IMU's Buddhist society!! hehe..
aiya! she dunno anything about buddhism lah! i know better..she poser only! btw, her name is sandy
randywang
post May 16 2009, 12:00 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ May 15 2009, 04:19 PM)
Okay next friday i will tell you how well i will do from just studying from notes. i hate taking in extra stuff that is not used in the exams like my batch mates. but studying from lecture notes alone can already get you to pass according to my seniors.

Marieb is more than enough for first semester work. cause it teaches alot more extra stuff. but the anatomy pictures are very usefull. and almost all your lecturer will just copy off marieb onto your slides !

Added on May 15, 2009, 6:22 pm
the cut off point remains the same through out the year. just that most of the stpm/alevels will be in august intake, so its an assumption that m2 is always smarter or better prepared.

no i dont think the rejected seat or not increases or decreases your chance of staying in. just come in and study your hearts out.
are u sure it is enough by just studying from study notes??? my sis said the notes are so basic that she needs to read everything from the books! dunno! she also said that some of the notes are incomprehensible..

Added on May 16, 2009, 12:06 am
QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ May 15 2009, 04:41 PM)
my fren is applying for dentistry and got 3A1B for forecast and probably 4A's for the upcoming final A2 exam,, the downside was she did quite teribble in her interview.. considering the cost of the course, she will definitely get in 1 rite?
sure get into one lah! i think academic results carries a much greater percentage compared to interview result! correct me if i m wrong

This post has been edited by randywang: May 16 2009, 12:06 AM
randywang
post May 20 2009, 12:16 AM

56 posts

got a question for you guys!
What is the schedule of medicine semester 1 like, apart from two hour lecture a day?
randywang
post May 20 2009, 12:44 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ May 19 2009, 10:21 PM)
some 1-hour mms and lab sessions
and that's it
usually u wont have more than 2 of those sessions a week
so sem 1 is party sem tongue.gif

my turn for another question then
i'm sure many of us have seen Uni of Sydney in our PMS list, but we've seen no one getting transferred there
when will it really start to take in imu students?
thinking which 1st ten choices to put for the 1st pre-matching
PMS sydney offers MBBS PhD right?? not sure..
btw, got another question..will university of melbourne be still in undergraduate pathway for M209 intake??? i wanna go there!
randywang
post May 22 2009, 11:32 AM

56 posts

hey guys,

do you know if uni of melb will still be in PMS unis for august 2009 M209 intake?
randywang
post May 22 2009, 11:54 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 22 2009, 02:42 PM)
as i understand, they have stop taking imu students from next year, so that means both 1/08 and 2/08 will NOT be about to twin there, even though they can still fit in the last undergraduate intake of 2008........
NO!!!!!!! i want my melbourne!!
aiya! sad lah. now undergrad aus uni only have UNSW, UWA, uni of adelaide, uni of newcastle and utas! sad.gif
randywang
post May 23 2009, 01:03 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ May 22 2009, 10:27 PM)
Then I suppose you should do the additional year for BSc.Medical Science then.... enter Melbourne via Grad.Entry...
Well, i have alr chosen the undergrad pathway, since application, and i can no longer change it back to grad pathway!
randywang
post May 23 2009, 01:47 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ May 22 2009, 11:14 PM)
well, who wants to wait 8 years when you can do it in 5-6 years!

yeah randy, i feel you. Melbourne's my top choice too. guess if limeuu's correct I'll be a bit bummed.

and randy, lecture notes + very lazy med student= B- for me smile.gif
u must be smart, CR 7 ! lol
randywang
post May 23 2009, 07:55 PM

56 posts

2 singaporean guys and I are renting a private accommodation at savanna condo in august when we come down to KL to start our medicine course at the IMU. Well, we are searching for another 1 or 2 housemates. Anyone interested can pm me or send email to "randywon@gmail.com"...it will be better if you are in our intake! Details will be discussed in email smile.gif thanks!

This post has been edited by randywang: May 23 2009, 08:03 PM
randywang
post May 24 2009, 12:01 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ May 23 2009, 08:42 PM)
just curious. how much to rent a unit in savana?

Added on May 23, 2009, 10:44 pmwhat on earth is student attributes? haha, so if i'm stellar in PBL would that boost my attributes?
around RM2000 or 2100!
randywang
post May 24 2009, 12:16 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ May 24 2009, 08:32 AM)
well i would say
it depends on what a person wants
if u're from somewhere near bukit jalil hence u dun mind getting a house in worse condition because u can go home during weekends
for them they gonna stay here most of the weekends, and they're paying the rent using singapore dollars
though i think yes savannah bit too far for me
you are right! we are staying here 24/7, including the weekends and weekdays..so yea..we want a better place..my friends don't like vista at all..
and, in one savanna unit, there are 4 rooms, while vista has only 3 rooms, so i guess the price is higher!
randywang
post May 25 2009, 11:06 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 25 2009, 07:59 AM)
you will need to get yourself weaned off the bottle and spoon feeding........
does anyone know if fully furnished savanna condo "small room" got air con or not?

This post has been edited by randywang: May 25 2009, 11:13 PM

0.0514sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:43 PM