International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

blackrobin
post Aug 5 2008, 02:08 AM

semi-hardcore mobile enthusiast!!
998 posts

Nah.. Prospective med students of average-income family wont be even thinking of pursuing the programme in countries like Oz,NZ,Can., or the US. They may dream bout it. Unless they have overabundance of money or maybe one or two is able to secure a scholarship.(Getting foreign scholarship is harder than JPA coz it's extremely competitive, it's a well-known fact smile.gif)

Different countries have entirely different policies on registering doctors to their respective medical council. For instance, even if you're a Harvard fresh-graduate, you'll still need to take the PLAB test to apply to the GMC. Weird,huh

So, whether it's from MMMC or IMU, we will still be the future doctors contributing to the healthcare industry of Malaysia. (I dun wana think Malaysia is a screwed up country just yet). Some may spend more to get an overseas degree, but it's always up to them to decide where they want to practice eventually.

This post has been edited by blackrobin: Aug 5 2008, 02:15 AM
blackrobin
post Aug 15 2008, 07:56 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(Evyn @ Aug 15 2008, 06:48 PM)
I am trying to decide between IMU twinning and Moscow Medical Academy(MMA) in Russia. I'm now very confused as some are throwing insults at Russian graduates and yet some are saying how MMA is the one of the best medical schools in the world. As for IMU, a few said that IMU is a crappy university and should not study medicine in IMU. On the other hand, some people seem to think that IMU twinning is the best choice one can ever make. Some help please?? cry.gif
What qualification are you using?
blackrobin
post Aug 16 2008, 12:49 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(hhkonghh @ Aug 16 2008, 10:45 AM)
I have a son wanting to do medicine and here are my thought on IMU-PMS.

1. By having the clinical year done in '1st World", it's recognized by Singapore. By the same token, because Penang MC's clinical isn't being done in Ireland, it's not recognized. Based on definition posted on official Singapore website.

2. While IMU-PMS route is still cheaper than having the entire course done in UK, the cost is not as great as you might expect. Reasons being
a) You do 2.5 yrs Pre-Clinical in IMU whereas it's only 2 yrs overseas. The extra 1/2 yr negates part of the IMU saving.
b) All the really expensive part of the course aka Clinical are all done in UK anyway.
c) Doing part time work in KL pays you peanut. Doing the same part time work in UK can have significant contribution towards your cost.

Roughly speaking, the differences between doing the entire cost in UK (cheaper place like Leeds ) vs IMU-PMS is not more than RM 80- 90K spread over 5 years. And part of that can be covered by working part time in UK. The pay in UK is about £5/hr or RM6.3. Do your own math.

Of course, if you wanted to study at Imperial (fees are ~ RM70K/yr more expensive than other UK med school) and staying in London, the above calculation fly out of the window.
Source

Even if you graduate with IMU-PMS degree (overseas degree), SMC will not grant you immediate registration. They will assess the program if required. Click Source for more info.

Australia is a good choice as the fees are cheaper than UK.

And being a doctor is not about money. It should be the last thing in your list of "why do you wan to be a doctor" reasons
blackrobin
post Aug 16 2008, 01:03 PM

998 posts

Don't forget also the heft living expenses in UK especially London.

Don't aim for overseas first. If your son is doing is STPM, push him to work hard. Get a 3.9 to 4.0 cgpa, and try his luck in IPTA. The fees for medicine in UM is just 9k.

But if 800k is a breeze for u, well, go ahead:)
blackrobin
post Aug 16 2008, 01:17 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(hhkonghh @ Aug 16 2008, 01:06 PM)
https://www.smc.gov.sg/html/MungoBlobs/268/...0programmes.pdf

IMO. Not able to work is more of an attitude issue rather than 'no time'. I am sure nobody study solid weekend and Christmas/Easter. Able to work mere average 5 hrs per week can contribute 30% of that extra RM90K.

My friend's kids still doing medicine in UK and he only pays for the tuition fee. But I am sure his kids are truly exceptional rather than the rule.
Well, attitude is one thing. But i have never heard med students doing part time with the intention to lighten the school fees.
All med students study hard and play hard.
U must have a preparatory large sum of money if your intention to read medicine is clear.(in this case, your son smile.gif )
Med students while being loaded with stress during med training years, shudn't be burdened with part time work..
blackrobin
post Aug 16 2008, 02:12 PM

998 posts

no doubt one of the best choices available.
If you think you're the right person for medicine, go for it.

Added on August 16, 2008, 2:14 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 16 2008, 02:11 PM)
by that i presume that finance is not an issue, and you do have an offer from imu, and your a-levels results recently released meets the cut off.........

still begs the question, why consider russia at all.....? most people go there because 1. they cannot afford better places and/or 2. their results are too poor to get in anywhere else.........
yea, the two reasons say it all

This post has been edited by blackrobin: Aug 16 2008, 02:17 PM

0.0379sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:38 PM