International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

zltan
post Aug 4 2008, 12:01 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 1 2008, 04:52 PM)
I seriously doubt that Melbourne U will take in people like you.  doh.gif
Have you been to Manipal? Any evidence from your side to support your claim? You should know what's evidence based medicine right?  shakehead.gif Pls apply this concept before making any claim or statement.
They did, so deal with it.

I base my argument on the degree of recognition of a university. The more globally recognized it is, the better it is.
Take the Malaysian Matriculation for example, will you agree with me that it is shit compared to something like STPM or A-levels?
linkeong
post Aug 4 2008, 12:48 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 1 2008, 04:52 PM)
Insulting Manipal again kid?
Kid, pls grow up.
Seriously, did you bribe your way into Melbourne U or are you even in medical course in Melbourne U? Your behavior is freaking childish. I seriously doubt that Melbourne U will take in people like you.  doh.gif
Have you been to Manipal? Any evidence from your side to support your claim? You should know what's evidence based medicine right?  shakehead.gif Pls apply this concept before making any claim or statement.
I think he didnt mean to insult manipal. He just trying to say at manipal, the lecturers teach you more(longer lecture hours and I heard from my friend in manipal that they teach them how to pass the exam and etc, not saying its easy to pass the exam) where else in IMU you have to fend for yourself (even though not totally as lecture notes are given). If the style has changed please update me. I am from UCSI and the style is about the same as IMU but there is no lecture notes given.
hypermax
post Aug 4 2008, 05:02 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Aug 4 2008, 12:01 PM)
They did, so deal with it.

I base my argument on the degree of recognition of a university. The more globally recognized it is, the better it is.
Take the Malaysian Matriculation for example, will you agree with me that it is shit compared to something like STPM or A-levels?
Well, both IMU and Manipal degrees are only recognized in Msia, and Sri Lanka. So tell me, how valid is your claim? shakehead.gif

QUOTE(linkeong @ Aug 4 2008, 12:48 PM)
I think he didnt mean to insult manipal. He just trying to say at manipal, the lecturers teach you more(longer lecture hours and I heard from my friend in manipal that they teach them how to pass the exam and etc, not saying its easy to pass the exam)  where else in IMU you have to fend for yourself (even though not totally as lecture notes are given). If the style has changed please update me. I am from UCSI and the style is about the same as IMU but there is no lecture notes given.
Well, this boy here clearly holds grudge against me as we had a disagreement on WIKi in the "CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS" thread. In fact, he bashed both UM and Manipal just because another forummer (from UM) and I disagreed with his opinion. Also, as he has stated, he based his claim on the 'degree of recognition of a university', which is not valid as i have stated above.
limeuu
post Aug 4 2008, 05:17 PM

12,290 posts

i think one has to differentiate between the imu local degree, and the twinning PMS option.....the local mbbs(imu) is only recognised in msia and srilangka......but the pms med schools have wider recognition, depending on where one twins to.......one actually becomes a student of the recepient uni, and nobody will know which pathway you came from once you graduate........
stevanistelrooy
post Aug 4 2008, 10:06 PM

Ten seconds you won't believe what's gonna happen.
2,450 posts

zltan and hypermax, this is not the first time I remove both of your posting in this thread. I don't mind the debate/discussion here as long as it is within the line, but going to insulting, personal attacking is not the way to do it. I don't think I need to advise both of you as I guess both of you are mature enough to differentiate between those 2.
blackrobin
post Aug 5 2008, 02:08 AM

semi-hardcore mobile enthusiast!!
998 posts

Nah.. Prospective med students of average-income family wont be even thinking of pursuing the programme in countries like Oz,NZ,Can., or the US. They may dream bout it. Unless they have overabundance of money or maybe one or two is able to secure a scholarship.(Getting foreign scholarship is harder than JPA coz it's extremely competitive, it's a well-known fact smile.gif)

Different countries have entirely different policies on registering doctors to their respective medical council. For instance, even if you're a Harvard fresh-graduate, you'll still need to take the PLAB test to apply to the GMC. Weird,huh

So, whether it's from MMMC or IMU, we will still be the future doctors contributing to the healthcare industry of Malaysia. (I dun wana think Malaysia is a screwed up country just yet). Some may spend more to get an overseas degree, but it's always up to them to decide where they want to practice eventually.

This post has been edited by blackrobin: Aug 5 2008, 02:15 AM
onelove89
post Aug 6 2008, 05:26 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

can i ask something, if ur MBBS degree is only recognised in malaysia, can u go overseas to specialize in an area (like ENT, cardiac etc.) thanks.
limeuu
post Aug 6 2008, 06:04 PM

12,290 posts

postgraduate medical training usually is a hands-on work based programme, with both supervised work and exam components........and means actually treating patients.....

if you cannot register as a medical practitioner in a country, you cannot treat patients.....

therefore, in general, if your degree is not recognised, you cannot work and train in that country.......

exceptions would be exam-only qualifications, eg mrcp(uk).......or special limited registration for fellowships on a gov-gov or uni-uni basis which is usually for sub-specialty training......

alternatively, you can get yourself recognised, usually through exams, eg umsle (us), amc(oz), plab (uk)........before starting on the lowest rung and try work you way up, and hopefully get a training job (yes, working there does NOT mean you are training, you need to be in a recognised training job for that)...........

Added on August 6, 2008, 6:06 pmp/s, latest news from uk, international medical graduates (ie people who did NOT graduate from UK or eu countries) are now barred from training jobs......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Aug 6 2008, 06:06 PM
onelove89
post Aug 6 2008, 08:37 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

thanks for sharing =)
hypermax
post Aug 6 2008, 10:41 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 6 2008, 06:04 PM)
postgraduate medical training usually is a hands-on work based programme, with both supervised work and exam components........and means actually treating patients.....

if you cannot register as a medical practitioner in a country, you cannot treat patients.....

therefore, in general, if your degree is not recognised, you cannot work and train in that country.......

exceptions would be exam-only qualifications, eg mrcp(uk).......or special limited registration for fellowships on a gov-gov or uni-uni basis which is usually for sub-specialty training......

alternatively, you can get yourself recognised, usually through exams, eg umsle (us), amc(oz), plab (uk)........before starting on the lowest rung and try work you way up, and hopefully get a training job (yes, working there does NOT mean you are training, you need to be in a recognised training job for that)...........

Added on August 6, 2008, 6:06 pmp/s, latest news from uk, international medical graduates (ie people who did NOT graduate from UK or eu countries) are now barred from training jobs......
Seriously, what's wrong with UK nowadays?
limeuu
post Aug 6 2008, 10:48 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 6 2008, 10:41 PM)
Seriously, what's wrong with UK nowadays?
it's to do with complying with european union laws and rules.....many aspects affected, including working time restrictions, making it difficult to gather enough work time experience needed for training......the nhs trusts, profession and patients are not happy with this either........

in any case, the vestiges of the british empire ala the commonwealth is crumbling, and their commitment to their former colonies is waning, with new commitment to europe........really now, why do they need to offer jobs and training to us now?.......they have no more obligation........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Aug 6 2008, 10:52 PM
hypermax
post Aug 6 2008, 10:56 PM

2,524 posts

IC. Thanks for the explaination.
Btw, a friend of mine is about to choose his twinning schools in IMU. He wants to know what are the chances of getting into foundation year training in UK if he graduates from a UK school? Also, in order to get full registration with GMC, one has to at least complete FY1 and FY2 right?

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 6 2008, 10:58 PM
limeuu
post Aug 6 2008, 11:04 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 6 2008, 10:56 PM)
IC. Thanks for the explaination.
Btw, a friend of mine is about to choose his twinning schools in IMU. He wants to know what are the chances of getting into foundation year training in UK if he graduates from a UK school? Also, in order to get full registration with GMC, one has to at least complete FY1 and FY2 right?
all international students graduates of british med school will be allowed to stay for the 2 foundation years........beyond that, it gets hazy.......the rules are being litigated at the moment.......

a likely outcome is that these students will be considered 'home' students, and allowed to compete for work beyond the 2 fy's.......and probably also considered 'home' doctors, allowed to undertake numbered (ie training) jobs.......but don't take my word for it........i can't foresee the future.........
hypermax
post Aug 6 2008, 11:10 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 6 2008, 11:04 PM)
all international students graduates of british med school will be allowed to stay for the 2 foundation years........beyond that, it gets hazy.......the rules are being litigated at the moment.......

a likely outcome is that these students will be considered 'home' students, and allowed to compete for work beyond the 2 fy's.......and probably also considered 'home' doctors, allowed to undertake numbered (ie training) jobs.......but don't take my word for it........i can't foresee the future.........
According to a doctor who graduated from Nottingham currently working in Melaka GH, he was unable to secure FY after he graduated. But according to a friend of mine in Aberdeen, one has to leave UK after FY, if he/she is able to secure a place in FY.

So if that's true, what's the point of studying medicine in UK? In addition, the tuition fee is shocking.gif
limeuu
post Aug 6 2008, 11:47 PM

12,290 posts

there was a lot of confusion when the new policy was announced in april 2006........and i guess your friend from notts got caught in the confusion......it is now clear that all be allowed to stay at least for the 2 fy's........beyond that, like i said, it's at the appeal courts at the moment..........so yes, there is much uncertainty......

breaking news.......uk trained doctors with the full 2 fy's and gmc registered are now allowed to apply for work in oz, and need NOT sit for the amc exams.....how long this window of opportunity will remain open, time will tell.....my guess, another 3-4 years, when increased oz med school intake will graduate and a slowing economy will result in surplus again, and the door will close again......
hypermax
post Aug 6 2008, 11:57 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 6 2008, 11:47 PM)
there was a lot of confusion when the new policy was announced in april 2006........and i guess your friend from notts got caught in the confusion......it is now clear that all be allowed to stay at least for the 2 fy's........beyond that, like i said, it's at the appeal courts at the moment..........so yes, there is much uncertainty......

breaking news.......uk trained doctors with the full 2 fy's and gmc registered are now allowed to apply for work in oz, and need NOT sit for the amc exams.....how long this window of opportunity will remain open, time will tell.....my guess, another 3-4 years, when increased oz med school intake will graduate and a slowing economy will result in surplus again, and the door will close again......
I guess this is a vicious cycle huh?
The OZ thing is actually not new. They have it since 2007. A few bloggers graduated from UK school actually went there already, ever since the new ruling is announced. Apparently, the ruling also affects those who have already secured a post.
limeuu
post Aug 7 2008, 12:02 AM

12,290 posts

announced august 2007.......

people getting into uk med schools now will likely miss the boat......
hypermax
post Aug 7 2008, 12:04 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 7 2008, 12:02 AM)
announced august 2007.......

people getting into uk med schools now will likely miss the boat......
So i guess the best/cheapest route to study medicine is to stay back in Msia, then get MRCP later, although not easy.
Btw, is the local master program good?
limeuu
post Aug 7 2008, 12:14 AM

12,290 posts

cheapest is get into ipta........

mrcp is one of the easiest postgrad exam to do........

masters is the only option left for surgical postgraduate in msia........you have no choice.....
chika138
post Aug 7 2008, 04:30 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

tonight is the finale night for Chinese singing Competition
pls do come to support us

147 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:55 PM