International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

limeuu
post Feb 22 2014, 08:29 AM

12,290 posts

they will just be closing the backdoor pathway, which has never been look upon favourably amongst many direct entry medical students...

having said that, the record shows that such students, while entering via the back door, has done quite well competing with direct entry students.....it was a successful programme...
BravoZeroTwo
post Feb 22 2014, 08:50 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 22 2014, 09:29 AM)
they will just be closing the backdoor pathway, which has never been look upon favourably amongst many direct entry medical students...

having said that, the record shows that such students, while entering via the back door, has done quite well competing with direct entry students.....it was a successful programme...
may I know why would IMU want to shut down the PMS programme ? thanks.
Yaoni
post Feb 22 2014, 04:50 PM

=( If I get admitted this August will IMU still let me graduate in one of the PMS? Or will things just balk mid-way and suddenly I won't get to go to the PMS?
limeuu
post Feb 22 2014, 05:02 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Feb 22 2014, 08:50 AM)
it is not imu but the pms that may have reservations...several have left, particularly the canadians ones, and both nz partners...
limeuu
post Feb 22 2014, 05:03 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Yaoni @ Feb 22 2014, 04:50 PM)
=( If I get admitted this August will IMU still let me graduate in one of the PMS? Or will things just balk mid-way and suddenly I won't get to go to the PMS?
it will not be retrospective....
podrunner
post Feb 22 2014, 07:22 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Feb 22 2014, 08:50 AM)
It is my understanding that for the UK, it is to do with international student quotas. The first years and IMU-PMS students are now lumped together. Previously the IMU-PMS students were not taken into account as part of the quotas. It effectively now means that for every one IMU-PMS student they accept, they will have to decline one first year candidate.
It does make sense for the medical schools to accept international students from first year.

This post has been edited by podrunner: Feb 22 2014, 07:23 PM
cckkpr
post Feb 22 2014, 08:45 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 22 2014, 07:22 PM)
It is my understanding that for the UK, it is to do with international student quotas. The first years and IMU-PMS students are now lumped together. Previously the IMU-PMS students were not taken into account as part of the quotas. It effectively now means that for every one IMU-PMS student they accept, they will have to decline one first year candidate.
It does make sense for the medical schools to accept international students from first year.
When will this take effect in UK? So sorry for the IMU students. Maybe it's time to look into other European countries.
mudkipryan94
post Feb 22 2014, 08:47 PM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

ehh no new version??? hmm.gif someone go to do V2 version.. and it over 2500+ post liao haha..

give u guys the campus link n self-service to do V2 thread.. biggrin.gif
limeuu
post Feb 22 2014, 11:38 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 22 2014, 08:45 PM)
When will this take effect in UK? So sorry for the IMU students. Maybe it's time to look into other European countries.
why should you feel sorry for them?....like i said, it will not be retrospective.....those already enrolled will all still get a match if they complete phase 1 successfully.....

but as the pms starts to drop out, the pms programme will shrink, as they take in less students, in tandem with the number of places available in the remaining pms....if uk completely exit the partnership, imu may shut down the whole programme permanently, as it then remains the few pms in oz, 2 in the us, and one each in canada and ireland....
Yaoni
post Feb 23 2014, 12:42 AM

When we get accepted into YEAR 1 in IMU, do they show us the list of the PMS straight away and say that they will guarantee that these PMS won't go anywhere and will stay till YEAR 2.5 when we get to choose??

Or some of them will drop one by one and by the end of my 2.5 YEAR only (eg.)2 UK unis may be left???

How can we know when the contract of each uni will end? That way, I can see which uni might not be there by the time I'm in the 2.5th YEAR

Thanks!!

This post has been edited by Yaoni: Feb 23 2014, 12:43 AM
Jckc
post Feb 23 2014, 08:19 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(Yaoni @ Feb 23 2014, 12:42 AM)
When we get accepted into YEAR 1 in IMU, do they show us the list of the PMS straight away and say that they will guarantee that these PMS won't go anywhere and will stay till YEAR 2.5 when we get to choose??

Or some of them will drop one by one and by the end of my 2.5 YEAR only (eg.)2 UK unis may be left???

How can we know when the contract of each uni will end? That way, I can see which uni might not be there by the time I'm in the 2.5th YEAR

Thanks!!
They can't guarantee which universities would remained since its up to the PMS to decide whether to withdraw or still allocate the place for IMU students.

I can say the unis would not drop one by one THAT soon in 2 and a half years until minuscule number of unis are left.

I can't comment on contract as i'm not sure about the existence of it. wink.gif

Btw, my university has withdrawn out as a PMS just recently last year. So, anything can happen in the near future. smile.gif
limeuu
post Feb 23 2014, 09:15 AM

12,290 posts

you can assume that most of the list, if not all, will be taking in students when you complete phase 1....however the actual list, how many each will take, and the actual matching will only be known and take place in sem 5....
Yaoni
post Feb 23 2014, 11:20 AM

Thank you very much Jckc and limeuu!

Assume that it happens to be what Jckc says(one PMS will drop one by one until like 2 unis in the UK are left), how would IMU to about allocating their 100++ students to such few numbers of PMS? What could happen?

Thank You!
podrunner
post Feb 23 2014, 11:45 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(Yaoni @ Feb 23 2014, 11:20 AM)
Thank you very much Jckc and limeuu!

Assume that it happens to be what Jckc says(one PMS will drop one by one until like 2 unis in the UK are left), how would IMU to about allocating their 100++ students to such few numbers of PMS? What could happen?

Thank You!
I would assume that the PMS will inform IMU of their intention to cease the arrangement including the time frame. Say two PMS ceases the arrangment by 2016, with an estimate of 24 usual intake, the the rational step would be for IMU to offer less 24 seats in their next PMS intake, all other things being equal.
cckkpr
post Feb 23 2014, 12:13 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 22 2014, 11:38 PM)
why should you feel sorry for them?....like i said, it will not be retrospective.....those already enrolled will all still get a match if they complete phase 1 successfully.....

but as the pms starts to drop out, the pms programme will shrink, as they take in less students, in tandem with the number of places available in the remaining pms....if uk completely exit the partnership, imu may shut down the whole programme permanently, as it then remains the few pms in oz, 2 in the us, and one each in canada and ireland....
The number of students going overseas for medicine would be drastically reduced. Looks like we are losing our bargaining power.
Monash and Numed may benefit.
limeuu
post Feb 23 2014, 06:30 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 23 2014, 12:13 PM)
The number of students going overseas for medicine would be drastically reduced. Looks like we are losing our bargaining power.
Monash and Numed may benefit.
why should it be reduced?....just go for direct entry....

what bargaining power?....

monash and numed will not benefit, the group looking to go overseas, will not be looking at them.....

the nett effect is closing of the backdoor, for less than excellent students.....a significant portion of imu-pms students got in with less than stellar results, and would never have managed direct entry.....
cckkpr
post Feb 24 2014, 08:59 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 23 2014, 06:30 PM)
why should it be reduced?....just go for direct entry....

what bargaining power?....

monash and numed will not benefit, the group looking to go overseas, will not be looking at them.....

the nett effect is closing of the backdoor, for less than excellent students.....a significant portion of imu-pms students got in with less than stellar results, and would never have managed direct entry.....
If they managed to get direct entry, most of them will not be in IMU. Whichever way we look a it, without PMS, many with money will not make it overseas.

We dont get as much concessions as we used to be in bilateral talks now including in the fields of education. Those countries prefer to export their knowledge to us now including Numed, Reading, Southampton and even Epsom.
limeuu
post Feb 24 2014, 11:06 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 24 2014, 08:59 AM)
If they managed to get direct entry, most of them will not be in IMU. Whichever way we look a it, without PMS, many with money will not make it overseas.
you don't see that is a problem?...that money buys education?....

my stand on this has never changed.....while we accept the inevitability of commercialisation of education, the selection of students into critical courses should NEVER be based on money (or race/religion for that matter)....but on the best available candidates....

cckkpr
post Feb 24 2014, 03:48 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 24 2014, 11:06 AM)
you don't see that is a problem?...that money buys education?....

my stand on this has never changed.....while we accept the inevitability of commercialisation of education, the selection of students into critical courses should NEVER be based on money (or race/religion for that matter)....but on the best available candidates....
There is a pathway in IMU and it has allowed many to do med overseas, esp those with money.

You said they can match up with their university mates, so effectively they are there on merit. Unfortunately UK is going to change the quota for internationals.

I also believe that gaining direct entry into UK med can be considered as a game of chance. For Malaysians, many are equal in academic performance and PS. Whether you make it or not is at the interview and this depends on the interviewer, though he has a guideline.

When I conduct interviews, if you have a pleasant personality, you will have a more than even chance. That's life.
podrunner
post Feb 24 2014, 05:41 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 24 2014, 03:48 PM)
There is a pathway in IMU and it has allowed many to do med overseas, esp those with money.

You said they can match up with their university mates, so effectively they are there on merit. Unfortunately UK is going to change the quota for internationals.

I also believe that gaining direct entry into UK med can be considered as a game of chance. For Malaysians, many are equal in academic performance and PS. Whether you make it or not is at the interview and this depends on the interviewer, though he has a guideline.

When I conduct interviews, if you have a pleasant personality, you will have a more than even chance. That's life.
It is the discretion of the medical school to pick the most suitable candidate for their school. As we already know, there are OTHER international students fighting for those 20+ spots. I am sure experience would lead them to select one whom they think will make for a decent medical student. PLUS, there is the possibility of the intl student then practicing in the NHS after graduation. Like you said, everything else being equal, a candidate with a likeable character and personality will very likely be a shoe in. Why do you think some parents spend huge sums of money For a levels colleges to prepare the applicants. To a certain degree, I believe an applicant need to display properties of being able to "assimilate". My two cents.

147 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:49 PM