Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

[ Standard ] · Linear+

> how much can Twin 13A socket take?, for each socket?

views
     
advocado
post Feb 8 2018, 11:46 PM, updated 3y ago

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
Schneider technical spec says 13A, i'm skeptical. means you buy a more expensive 13A twin socket that is half the capacity of a single socket?

or based on BS1363-2:1995 it should be able to support 20A?

i'm not sure SIRIM follow what standards.

since Schneider (or any other brand) never specify how much current each socket can take or combine current, i'm assuming it's 13A.

Same question goes for 20A twin gang switches. are they total rated 20A or what? notice the holes are 1mm smaller than the Single gang 20A switches. not sure it's the plastic hole infront of metal hole or what (single gang don't have plastic hole just direct metal hole)
kurangak
post Feb 8 2018, 11:49 PM

certified /k addict
*****
Senior Member
927 posts

Joined: Apr 2011
From: here and there



13A combined

/kolos
alextan99
post Feb 9 2018, 12:02 AM

Wassup
*******
Senior Member
2,492 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Somewhere in the world
brand or not does not really matters its the fuse, our wall socket in Malaysia all have a 13 amp fuse and if the load goes over 13 amps it will cut of the power to avoid electrical fire.

Of course buy a more well known brand with sirim tested sticker is better than China brand that does not go through the test
stupiak07
post Feb 9 2018, 12:04 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
241 posts

Joined: Oct 2007
From: broken heart land, single forever~
13 amp is the fuse
Once over 13 amp the fuse will burn

Two socket combine must lower than 13A

This post has been edited by stupiak07: Feb 9 2018, 12:05 AM
bloodchow2
post Feb 9 2018, 12:06 AM

On my way
****
Senior Member
664 posts

Joined: Mar 2013
this 1 must be miner
advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 12:06 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
QUOTE(stupiak07 @ Feb 9 2018, 12:04 AM)
13 amp is the fuse
Once over 13 amp the fuse will burn

Two socket combine must lower than 13A
*
i'm not sure the fuse is in the plug or in the socket?

for a 13A twin gang socket, do both socket share 1 13A fuse?
advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 12:07 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
QUOTE(stupiak07 @ Feb 9 2018, 12:04 AM)
13 amp is the fuse
Once over 13 amp the fuse will burn

Two socket combine must lower than 13A
*
hmm, so Sirim don't follow international standards then?
slimey
post Feb 9 2018, 12:08 AM


*******
Senior Member
6,183 posts

Joined: Apr 2007
ts bodo.

fuse in plug

thus each = 13A
assuming the wires are up to it.
Vervain
post Feb 9 2018, 12:11 AM

Scathach
*******
Senior Member
5,351 posts

Joined: Mar 2005
i think TS confused. if use a multiple socket on a single wall socket is it 13amp individual on multiple socket or combine. The answer is combine because the fuse in the multisocket plug will burn first.
Rusty Nail
post Feb 9 2018, 12:12 AM

Why am I still here?
*******
Senior Member
4,682 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Petaling Jaya



if the circuit breaker is 16A and ti's shared with other outlets, it doesn't really matter if the wall socket is rated 13A. you won't be able to maximize 13A on all sockets.
advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 12:12 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
1st time i hear socket have fuse. am i reading it wrong?

you guys sure it's socket not PLUG that has the fuse?

also i don't know how the internal wiring of twin sockets are. what size wire they use.
advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 12:14 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
QUOTE(Vervain @ Feb 9 2018, 12:11 AM)
i think TS confused. if use a multiple socket on a single wall socket is it 13amp individual on multiple socket or combine. The answer is combine because the fuse in the multisocket plug will burn first.
*
ok to avoid further confusion i'm talking about this:

user posted image

13A 2gang twin socket.
Rusty Nail
post Feb 9 2018, 12:15 AM

Why am I still here?
*******
Senior Member
4,682 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Petaling Jaya



QUOTE(advocado @ Feb 9 2018, 12:12 AM)
1st time i hear socket have fuse. am i reading it wrong?

you guys sure it's socket not PLUG that has the fuse?

also i don't know how the internal wiring of twin sockets are. what size wire they use.
*
the sockets themselves don't have wires, just copper sheet metal shared between the 2 sockets. normally just one set of terminal in for L N Gr
slimey
post Feb 9 2018, 12:16 AM


*******
Senior Member
6,183 posts

Joined: Apr 2007
QUOTE(advocado @ Feb 9 2018, 12:14 AM)
ok to avoid further confusion i'm talking about this:

user posted image

13A 2gang twin socket.
*
bodo ppl only buy and use multiple gang socket.

1 spoil then have to change all.......lel
advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 12:17 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Feb 9 2018, 12:12 AM)
if the circuit breaker is 16A and ti's shared with other outlets, it doesn't really matter if the wall socket is rated 13A. you won't be able to maximize 13A on all sockets.
*
MCB is 20A nowadays. for 3 or more sockets usually they run on 2 sets of wires with 32A MCB.

welp electrician telling me twin socket easy spoil so i'm wondering is it because they have combined 13A support or the built quality. since twin gang have own internal wiring i don't know what size wires they use also.
advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 12:19 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
QUOTE(slimey @ Feb 9 2018, 12:16 AM)
bodo ppl only buy and use multiple gang socket.

1 spoil then have to change all.......lel
*
normally if 1 spoil the other can still use. because internal wiring split to 2 sockets. unless the connector at the main entry spoil, then change the twin socket lo. not that expensive also.

however i'm asking about the maximum current support for each socket.
Rusty Nail
post Feb 9 2018, 12:20 AM

Why am I still here?
*******
Senior Member
4,682 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Petaling Jaya



QUOTE(advocado @ Feb 9 2018, 12:17 AM)
MCB is 20A nowadays. for 3 or more sockets usually they run on 2 sets of wires with 32A MCB.

welp electrician telling me twin socket easy spoil so i'm wondering is it because they have combined 13A support or the built quality. since twin gang have own internal wiring i don't know what size wires they use also.
*
most likely due to overloading, if both plugs drawing 10A each, that's a total of 20A on the entire wall socket, wire and trip fuse.
normally the plastic will give way first in poorly manufactured sockets.
advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 12:21 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Feb 9 2018, 12:15 AM)
the sockets themselves don't have wires, just copper sheet metal shared between the 2 sockets. normally just one set of terminal in for L N Gr
*
so both combine max 13A then? since 13A is what Schneider wrote.

however i'm wondering what standards Sirim use if they don't use BS.
slimey
post Feb 9 2018, 12:22 AM


*******
Senior Member
6,183 posts

Joined: Apr 2007
QUOTE(advocado @ Feb 9 2018, 12:19 AM)
normally if 1 spoil the other can still use. because internal wiring split to 2 sockets. unless the connector at the main entry spoil, then change the twin socket lo. not that expensive also.

however i'm asking about the maximum current support for each socket.
*
more than 13A is the answer.
the metal sheet is rather broad.

obviously ts bodo never open up a socket before.
Vervain
post Feb 9 2018, 12:23 AM

Scathach
*******
Senior Member
5,351 posts

Joined: Mar 2005
normally when the spoilt is due to contact and built quality. a slight contact means you're going to heat up due to increase resistance and arc.

Normally twin sockets do not have fuse in the unit. I think you can ask the electrician to explain to you why he said so. The fuse is there to protect the circuit as well as to sacrifice itself. Its easier to replace the fuse than changing the whole wiring inside the wall.
Rusty Nail
post Feb 9 2018, 12:26 AM

Why am I still here?
*******
Senior Member
4,682 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Petaling Jaya



QUOTE(advocado @ Feb 9 2018, 12:19 AM)
normally if 1 spoil the other can still use. because internal wiring split to 2 sockets
*
bad idea. when one side of the socket is fried, it's the matter of time before the other part goes too. the melted plastic will cause loose connections and probably arching or short circuit
slimey
post Feb 9 2018, 12:28 AM


*******
Senior Member
6,183 posts

Joined: Apr 2007
QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Feb 9 2018, 12:26 AM)
bad idea. when one side of the socket is fried, it's the matter of time before the other part goes too. the melted plastic will cause loose connections and probably arching or short circuit
*
nope.

that's not the reason
advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 12:31 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
QUOTE(Vervain @ Feb 9 2018, 12:23 AM)
normally when the spoilt is due to contact and built quality. a slight contact means you're going to heat up due to increase resistance and arc.

Normally twin sockets do not have fuse in the unit. I think you can ask the electrician to explain to you why he said so. The fuse is there to protect the circuit as well as to sacrifice itself. Its easier to replace the fuse than changing the whole wiring inside the wall.
*
are we sure sockets have fuse? we are talking about wall socket. not those square plug into wall socket (extension socket).

as far as i know plug & extension socket have fuse but not wall sockets.

i don't know how thick the connectors inside are, but surely thicker than 2.5mm2? just wire uses copper not sure connector uses what.

according to BS the total consumption should be no more than 20A combined. the test is runned based on 1 socket on 14A and 1 on 6A for 4 hours.

but Schneider says 13A rated so i'm not sure what they mean.
advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 12:33 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Feb 9 2018, 12:26 AM)
bad idea. when one side of the socket is fried, it's the matter of time before the other part goes too. the melted plastic will cause loose connections and probably arching or short circuit
*
without knowing the spec i don't know. if the connectors are thin temperature will rise with higher load, which thens melts the plastic.

so i'm asking how much can each socket (or combined) actually take?

because i believe this has never been stated by any manufacturer. it has Sirim stamp so only people know Sirim requirements knows how much the twin sockets are rated.
slimey
post Feb 9 2018, 12:35 AM


*******
Senior Member
6,183 posts

Joined: Apr 2007
QUOTE(advocado @ Feb 9 2018, 12:31 AM)
are we sure sockets have fuse? we are talking about wall socket. not those square plug into wall socket (extension socket).

as far as i know plug & extension socket have fuse but not wall sockets.

i don't know how thick the connectors inside are, but surely thicker than 2.5mm2? just wire uses copper not sure connector uses what.

according to BS the total consumption should be no more than 20A combined. the test is runned based on 1 socket on 14A and 1 on 6A for 4 hours.

but Schneider says 13A rated so i'm not sure what they mean.
*
of course they say rated for 13A because it is meant for use with 13A plug
advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 12:39 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
QUOTE(slimey @ Feb 9 2018, 12:35 AM)
of course they say rated for 13A because it is meant for use with 13A plug
*
hi if you don't have the answer then don't putar halim.

what you say is just like how manufacturer states it, 13A, but what? 13A per socket? 13A total? can't be any clearer huh?

i also know it's rated for 13A because they wrote 13A.

do you know what you say means each socket is designed to use with 13A plug meaning the twin gang socket is designed to support 26A? do you know twin socket cannot be rated to 26A?
slimey
post Feb 9 2018, 12:47 AM


*******
Senior Member
6,183 posts

Joined: Apr 2007
QUOTE(advocado @ Feb 9 2018, 12:39 AM)
hi if you don't have the answer then don't putar halim.

what you say is just like how manufacturer states it, 13A, but what? 13A per socket? 13A total? can't be any clearer huh?

i also know it's rated for 13A because they wrote 13A.

do you know what you say means each socket is designed to use with 13A plug meaning the twin gang socket is designed to support 26A? do you know twin socket cannot be rated to 26A?
*
lel..........

go ahead and find any 13A socket no matter how many gang that give a different number.

bodo is bodo.

of course it will not quote 26A because it is for 13A plug.

duh.
advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 12:52 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
QUOTE(slimey @ Feb 9 2018, 12:47 AM)
lel..........

go ahead and find any 13A socket no matter how many gang that give a different number.

bodo is bodo.

of course it will not quote 26A because it is for 13A plug.

duh.
*
do you even know what you are typing?

do you know what is a twin gang?

twin gang = 2 sockets.

if you say the socket is meant to support 1 13A plug, do you mean we can only use 1 plug at a time on the twin gang meaning 1 plugged in while another empty?

if not then i have to assume the twin gang socket is designed to fit 2 13A plug. this technically means there will be a maximum 26A current flowing into the twin gang socket 13A per socket.

note Schneider did not specify rating 13A is for per socket or twin socket as whole. do you even know what rating means?

slimey
post Feb 9 2018, 12:55 AM


*******
Senior Member
6,183 posts

Joined: Apr 2007
QUOTE(advocado @ Feb 9 2018, 12:52 AM)
do you even know what you are typing?

do you know what is a twin gang?

twin gang = 2 sockets.

if you say the socket is meant to support 1 13A plug, do you mean we can only use 1 plug at a time on the twin gang meaning 1 plugged in while another empty?

if not then i have to assume the twin gang socket is designed to fit 2 13A plug. this technically means there will be a maximum 26A current flowing into the twin gang socket 13A per socket.

note Schneider did not specify rating 13A is for per socket or twin socket as whole. do you even know what rating means?
*
yes yes i know my way and gangs.

does it even matter?

26A current will trip the mcb anyway. lelz
advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 12:58 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
QUOTE(slimey @ Feb 9 2018, 12:55 AM)
yes yes i know my way and gangs.

does it even matter?

26A current will trip the mcb anyway. lelz
*
you don't know answer don't need to putar halim do 1 big turn back to same spot.

you are assuming sockets all use 20A MCB. do you know 32A MCB is used for 2sets of wires running to multiple sockets?
slimey
post Feb 9 2018, 01:02 AM


*******
Senior Member
6,183 posts

Joined: Apr 2007
QUOTE(advocado @ Feb 9 2018, 12:58 AM)
you don't know answer don't need to putar halim do 1 big turn back to same spot.

you are assuming sockets all use 20A MCB. do you know 32A MCB is used for 2sets of wires running to multiple sockets?
*
blablabla.

all i know is mcb used should be according to the wire.
you bodo bodo electrician wire stupidly is your problem.
kamfoo
post Feb 9 2018, 01:12 AM

Casual
***
Junior Member
309 posts

Joined: Nov 2010


scheinder also canot trust?
slimey
post Feb 9 2018, 01:13 AM


*******
Senior Member
6,183 posts

Joined: Apr 2007
QUOTE(kamfoo @ Feb 9 2018, 01:12 AM)
scheinder also canot trust?
*
lots of fakes on the market for scheinder
UnknownH
post Feb 9 2018, 01:58 AM

Enthusiast
******
Senior Member
1,272 posts

Joined: Mar 2009
From: ME TO YOU



I see TS hasn't done venturing into the world of socket and electricity.
Lazy_MF
post Feb 9 2018, 08:40 AM

New Member
*
Newbie
2 posts

Joined: Jul 2010


As far as I understand, could be wrong though as I'm not certified electrician.
1) It means each socket is meant to support 13A plug
2) There is no fuse in normal socket (there is also fused socket)
3) Total Amp is determined by the MCB
4) It should be copper connector/plate instead of wire in the socket

You should first determine what kind of electrical items you intend to use for that particular socket in order to plan your wiring works. Household appliances mostly draw low current nowadays based on my checking...
amxpayne67
post Feb 9 2018, 08:43 AM

The Coon
****
Senior Member
697 posts

Joined: Mar 2010
From: Puchong Extreme




not this shit again. let bingding go google the obvious answer.


Vervain
post Feb 9 2018, 08:59 AM

Scathach
*******
Senior Member
5,351 posts

Joined: Mar 2005
QUOTE(advocado @ Feb 9 2018, 12:31 AM)
are we sure sockets have fuse? we are talking about wall socket. not those square plug into wall socket (extension socket).

as far as i know plug & extension socket have fuse but not wall sockets.

i don't know how thick the connectors inside are, but surely thicker than 2.5mm2? just wire uses copper not sure connector uses what.

according to BS the total consumption should be no more than 20A combined. the test is runned based on 1 socket on 14A and 1 on 6A for 4 hours.

but Schneider says 13A rated so i'm not sure what they mean.
*
If you're running heating appliance then this is a major concern. If just electronics house hold appliance rarely hit the limit of the fuse. They are efficient nowadays.

QUOTE(leonis80 @ Feb 9 2018, 01:03 AM)
user posted image

If cannot over 13amp, then i combine few more extension then safe or not? example combine 3 or 4 extension together is that ok and safe?
*
Depends on cumulative load. Modern circuit breaker is sensitive.
advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 09:17 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Feb 9 2018, 08:43 AM)
not this shit again. let bingding go google the obvious answer.
*
google doesn't show anything about 2 gang wall sockets for malaysia.

for western countries they follow BS which 1 socket run 14A the other 6A total 20A for 4 hours temperature should not exceed certain limit.

but Sirim doesn't use that rule. and schneider website showed a few standards but not the BS standard.


advocado
post Feb 9 2018, 09:23 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,948 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
QUOTE(Lazy_MF @ Feb 9 2018, 08:40 AM)
As far as I understand, could be wrong though as I'm not certified electrician.
1) It means each socket is meant to support 13A plug
2) There is no fuse in normal socket (there is also fused socket)
3) Total Amp is determined by the MCB
4) It should be copper connector/plate instead of wire in the socket

You should first determine what kind of electrical items you intend to use for that particular socket in order to plan your wiring works. Household appliances mostly draw low current nowadays based on my checking...
*
how thick are the copper connectors? are they really less reliable than a 2.5mm2 copper wire? since electricians saying 2 gang wall socket easy spoil.

if you read Schneider website it just states rating: 13A. that is a really unclear datasheet.

https://www.schneider-electric.com/en/produ...wnload-pdf/KB25
Lazy_MF
post Feb 12 2018, 08:19 AM

New Member
*
Newbie
2 posts

Joined: Jul 2010


Which electrician? I'm using twin gang more than 10 years and no issues till now, just a PDL brand. One of my electrician told me he does not use because it's not common, he keeps only 1 gang socket. And for twin gang it's like you need to have twin gang base box too.

I never figure out the thickness of the copper, cause I don't think there will be an issue as long as your appliances are less than the rated 13A.

Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0293sec    0.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd July 2020 - 02:52 AM