Good Coffee

TSukbnu28q
post Feb 6 2018, 09:41 PM, updated 7y ago

Hi to all. Anyone know of any good coffee on Malaysia ?
SUSsam60
post Feb 6 2018, 09:56 PM

594 posts

aik cheong
babybobby
post Mar 17 2018, 03:49 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(ukbnu28q @ Feb 6 2018, 09:41 PM)
Hi to all. Anyone know of any good coffee on Malaysia ?
Depends on how much of effort ur willing to spend. If ur lazy type then go for any 3in1 which i strongly dont recommend.

If u dont mind to take a little time, try essenso microground colombian blend. Each sachet has fresh microground coffee. Just add milk and sugar. Tastes pretty close to real espresso latte.

Here's a little hack. Use room temp water instead of hot water to make the coffee base before adding cold milk. It will taste much better.

This post has been edited by babybobby: Mar 17 2018, 03:52 AM
babybobby
post Mar 31 2018, 02:11 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(wildrestark @ Mar 28 2018, 08:46 AM)
Thanks for the tips. One thing i like about 3 in 1 is because its less hassle to brew the coffee. Usually layman like me prepare coffee only after my food is prep up. Coffee always last, so the 3 in 1 is pretty quick. I will look for essenso this time. Any other coffee in sachet thats quick to prepare beside essenso ?
Essenso also has 3in1 and 2in1 instant coffee, they are quite good. But for coffee lovers who dont want to spend money on expensive espresso machine, the essenso colombian blend is good to go.

Essenso is well known for its roasted note. U can buy the small packing with 10 sachets for trial.

kharizmisg
post Mar 31 2018, 02:15 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(sam60 @ Feb 6 2018, 09:56 PM)
aik cheong
one of my friend ketagih this coffee
cllee86
post Mar 31 2018, 02:27 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(sam60 @ Feb 6 2018, 09:56 PM)
aik cheong
My favorite 3-in-1 white coffee rclxm9.gif
SheepGeeks
post Mar 31 2018, 12:36 PM

628 posts

Aik-cheong is pretty aromatic and good, if you want something sweet and creamy thingy, probably you can try Ah Huat White Coffee.

That's the last 3-1 coffee I up to before moving to self brew.
babybobby
post Mar 31 2018, 04:14 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(wildrestark @ Mar 31 2018, 02:40 PM)
For this kind of coffee 3 in 1. I always found that if i follow 1 cup of water, the coffee became watery. Do you think half cup water is ideal? Thanks
When i last had my 3in1 i usually use hot water less than suggested. And i double the sachet for one cup.
SheepGeeks
post Apr 1 2018, 06:43 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(wildrestark @ Mar 31 2018, 02:40 PM)
For this kind of coffee 3 in 1. I always found that if i follow 1 cup of water, the coffee became watery. Do you think half cup water is ideal? Thanks
For me, ah huat sachete on my ikea cup 350ml is just nice. Probably the water level should stop at 1cm before the cup fully filled.

It still depend on your preference I guess, I prefer strong aromatic and creamy, not sweetness.
Baconateer
post Apr 1 2018, 06:46 PM

Meh..... (TM)
4,874 posts

check out chek hup colombian 3in1 coffee also.. also nice...
watabakiu
post May 26 2018, 04:10 PM

1,484 posts

QUOTE(babybobby @ Mar 17 2018, 03:49 AM)
Depends on how much of effort ur willing to spend. If ur lazy type then go for any 3in1 which i strongly dont recommend.

If u dont mind to take a little time, try essenso microground colombian blend. Each sachet has fresh microground coffee. Just add milk and sugar. Tastes pretty close to real espresso latte.

Here's a little hack. Use room temp water instead of hot water to make the coffee base before adding cold milk. It will taste much better.
Based on your hack, do you mean room temp or warm water? Methink room temp for coffee base would make the powder clumpy?
babybobby
post Jun 9 2018, 02:22 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 26 2018, 04:10 PM)
Based on your hack, do you mean room temp or warm water? Methink room temp for coffee base would make the powder clumpy?
Room temperature water, literally. Like water from your table jug or mineral water straight from the bottle.

Not really, if you give it a stir it won't be that clumpy. There will be some little lumps but it will dissolve easily.

This hack by far works for milk coffee. If you wanna make black coffee or kopi-o then use hot water instead.

For my milk coffee i use 2 sticks of essenso colombian blend/mandheling, sugar, 150ml water and 150ml dutchlady full cream milk. I've tried other brands of milk but dutchlady tastes best.
watabakiu
post Jun 9 2018, 10:14 PM

1,484 posts

QUOTE(babybobby @ Jun 9 2018, 02:22 AM)
Room temperature water, literally. Like water from your table jug or mineral water straight from the bottle.

Not really, if you give it a stir it won't be that clumpy. There will be some little lumps but it will dissolve easily.

This hack by far works for milk coffee. If you wanna make black coffee or kopi-o then use hot water instead.

For my milk coffee i use 2 sticks of essenso colombian blend/mandheling, sugar, 150ml water and 150ml dutchlady full cream milk. I've tried other brands of milk but dutchlady tastes best.
Didn't turned out too well for me. Used the temperature water, but it was clumpy. Even stirred, still got clumps left... a real turn off! And it was made worse when I poured in the milk. may have done it wrong, but will stick to using hot water in the future tongue.gif
babybobby
post Jun 11 2018, 09:56 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jun 9 2018, 10:14 PM)
Didn't turned out too well for me. Used the temperature water, but it was clumpy. Even stirred, still got clumps left... a real turn off! And it was made worse when I poured in the milk. may have done it wrong, but will stick to using hot water in the future tongue.gif
Are u using essenso colombian/mandheling microground coffee?

For my case these microground coffee are very fine powder so they dissolve quite easily together with brown sugar and water.

This post has been edited by babybobby: Jun 11 2018, 10:00 PM
.:zaxiao:.
post Jun 18 2018, 11:04 AM

470 posts

I know Nescafe is bad, but I didn't know they've gotten THIS bad.

I haven't had it in a while, so I made it as usual (I like it more kaw so less water and more creamer)...

It doesn't even taste like coffee! No bitterness no taste at all. Just taste like caffeinated water no matter how I make it. Horrible.

Will try Aik Cheong and Essenso as recommended in this thread.
babybobby
post Jun 19 2018, 06:19 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(.:zaxiao:. @ Jun 18 2018, 11:04 AM)
I know Nescafe is bad, but I didn't know they've gotten THIS bad.

I haven't had it in a while, so I made it as usual (I like it more kaw so less water and more creamer)...

It doesn't even taste like coffee! No bitterness no taste at all. Just taste like caffeinated water no matter how I make it. Horrible.

Will try Aik Cheong and Essenso as recommended in this thread.
Both aik cheong and essenso offer the pure microground series. They are as good as if you take it straight black, if chilled, taste much better than kopi-O ais.

babybobby
post Jun 19 2018, 06:24 AM

90 posts

Why i like essenso colombian/mandheling blend because the microground coffee is individually packed. Most pre ground, instant or other microground filled inside a container and once you opened the lid it will start to lose flavor.
.:zaxiao:.
post Jun 19 2018, 09:38 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(babybobby @ Jun 19 2018, 06:19 AM)
Both aik cheong and essenso offer the pure microground series. They are as good as if you take it straight black, if chilled, taste much better than kopi-O ais.
QUOTE(babybobby @ Jun 19 2018, 06:24 AM)
Why i like essenso colombian/mandheling blend because the microground coffee is individually packed. Most pre ground, instant or other microground filled inside a container and once you opened the lid it will start to lose flavor.
Do you take them with milk/creamer?
babybobby
post Jun 24 2018, 12:50 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(.:zaxiao:. @ Jun 19 2018, 09:38 AM)
Do you take them with milk/creamer?
Sometimes make a bit concentrated then put ice in it, like iced americano.

While mostly with milk, i only use dutchlady full cream milk. It goes well with both coffee and tea.

0.0160sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:25 AM