What do you do with Computer junks?

TShackwire
post May 4 2007, 03:54 PM, updated 19y ago

4,256 posts

I have some computer junks that i need to clear off like casing, cd-rom , motherboard etc. where and what i should do with them?
hsienming
post May 4 2007, 04:04 PM

Homer
963 posts

sell it at a very cheap price la.... at least u can get some cash out of it rather then throwing it into the dustbin
waynelyp90
post May 4 2007, 04:09 PM

Nonsense Hater
1,141 posts

If it is still functional or repairable, sell it off at a low price. LYN Trade Zone will be a nice place also... tongue.gif
SephirothX
post May 4 2007, 04:12 PM

345 posts

You can send it to me. I'm currently trying to find old parts to do some research. brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
phas3r
post May 4 2007, 04:12 PM

1,206 posts

garage sales mate
arjuna_mfna
post May 4 2007, 04:44 PM

**Towards Justice World**
1,496 posts

if those items still working maybe u can try to sell it.. earn some money rather then try it
AceCombat
post May 4 2007, 04:51 PM

5,434 posts

mostly i will keep all the parts and use it as spare parts to replace lo....
kmarc
post May 4 2007, 05:22 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ May 4 2007, 03:54 PM)
I have some computer junks that i need to clear off like casing, cd-rom , motherboard etc. where and what i should do with them?
Curious to know what parts are you talking about? Care to tell?
Thunderbolt
post May 4 2007, 05:32 PM

Tonight We Dine In Penang!
1,191 posts

Dump it in tong sampah of course biggrin.gif
yu_wang
post May 4 2007, 09:51 PM

144 posts

So sorry for hijacking, but what about spoilt (burn halfway got error) CD/DVD-R's? Is there any way other than the dustbin?
badguy86
post May 4 2007, 10:20 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(yu_wang @ May 4 2007, 09:51 PM)
So sorry for hijacking, but what about spoilt (burn halfway got error) CD/DVD-R's? Is there any way other than the dustbin?
Hey bro, I saw ppl selling those faulty hardware at garage sales also. smile.gif But don't know got ppl buy or not la? hmm.gif
campsol2k
post May 4 2007, 10:23 PM

1,214 posts

throw them away into the river... har har har... just kidding. i think u can send them to recycling center.. maybe they will give you some $$ in exchange...
Kataro
post May 4 2007, 10:23 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

can use to put your cup mar... then no spoilt for the desk mar... besides, can use it to decorate too... try figure it out... wink.gif
vobboblogs
post May 4 2007, 10:25 PM

200 posts

hmm interesting topic....coz i was about to upgrade my pc so old stuff need to be get rid of....i was planning to sell it at buy, sell and trade or cash converter or something like that. but not sure they will take or not...or they only take full system(casing and everything inside)...
afosz
post May 4 2007, 10:30 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

If in desperate of needing cash and you didn't use it anymore, sell it. Otherwise, keep them and setup a new one tongue.gif
soulfly
post May 4 2007, 10:37 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(vobboblogs @ May 4 2007, 10:25 PM)
hmm interesting topic....coz i was about to upgrade my pc so old stuff need to be get rid of....i was planning to sell it at buy, sell and trade or cash converter or something like that. but not sure they will take or not...or they only take full system(casing and everything inside)...
aluminium/steel parts may have some value if u sell em at recycling centre
williamlee_1985
post May 4 2007, 10:38 PM

The Red Devils wear Nike
2,006 posts

frisbee! cup saucer. decorations
LExus65
post May 4 2007, 10:40 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

call some guy in the garage sales section .yuri or something, he's doing recycle PC
CKC_1
post May 4 2007, 10:44 PM

552 posts

step on it
SUSdattebayo
post May 5 2007, 12:36 AM

5,366 posts

donate it.
afosz
post May 5 2007, 07:38 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

Give 'em to me for free rclxms.gif
kmarc
post May 5 2007, 10:28 AM

14,576 posts

Donate to our computer muzeum?

Errr.... do we have one in Malaysia? hmm.gif
himmler
post May 5 2007, 11:04 AM

54 posts

Hmm... what are these junks you are talking about? I am looking for some old parts to set up another computer. You care to share what it is?
Are_keem
post May 5 2007, 11:19 AM

I'm riders, not rempit
2,123 posts

I've sold 3 old casings (all with old/faulty motherboards) to recycling aka kedai besi buruk and they gave me rm10 only.. sad.gif

-adios-
TShackwire
post May 5 2007, 07:33 PM

4,256 posts

i want to donate to those who can assemble back as refurbish and donate to the spastic children or salvation army.

anyone who is doing it?

I find them very pity for not having it.
amd_hardcore
post May 5 2007, 09:48 PM

Pening
848 posts

ya lor... i hav one pentium s...

can use lagi maa....
vixxiee
post May 5 2007, 10:50 PM

Super size me!!
1,294 posts

try ask some shop in lyt that take pc...my friend can get rm300 fot the whole systm
kmarc
post May 6 2007, 08:13 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(vixxiee @ May 5 2007, 10:50 PM)
try ask some shop in lyt that take pc...my friend can get rm300 fot the whole systm
Not really worth it. Was thinking of selling my old AMD K6-2 rig but after searching the net, concluded that it was too cheap to sell.

It can still run windows XP but only for internet, word processing, downloading, etc....
Skylinestar
post May 6 2007, 09:14 AM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

i have a useless 486 system in my house...collecting dust
skylinegtr34rule4life
post May 6 2007, 11:35 AM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

sell it lo...i m oso selling my old parts now 4 my upcoming C2D system brows.gif
AceCombat
post May 6 2007, 11:58 AM

5,434 posts

the problem is....hard to sell those parts la....
ronaldjoe
post May 6 2007, 01:30 PM

3,569 posts

I sold mine off as junk. doh.gif
TShackwire
post May 6 2007, 03:58 PM

4,256 posts

i dont want to sell to dealers and than they sell out again expensive. Is there a center where good people actually collected old junks and refurbished it for charity.
kevyeoh
post May 6 2007, 04:53 PM

4,721 posts

hey bro...do the environment some favour and send it to dell for PC recycling..
if you're at penang...they have a collection booth every tuesday or thursday at Farlim Sunshine Hypermarket

or you can go straight to dell factory guard house and drop off the junks there...

wink.gif

oh yeah...that is if you're planning to dump them...if wanna sell...can try lowyat or lelong website...

QUOTE(hackwire @ May 4 2007, 03:54 PM)
This post has been edited by kevyeoh: May 6 2007, 04:55 PM
vixxiee
post May 7 2007, 11:11 AM

Super size me!!
1,294 posts

so hard to sell very old part...should recycle then
Joseph Hahn
post May 7 2007, 12:22 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

If still functional, sell or give to your family/friends. If rosak, throw away. Easy. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: May 7 2007, 12:22 PM
AceCombat
post May 7 2007, 12:33 PM

5,434 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ May 6 2007, 04:53 PM)
hey bro...do the environment some favour and send it to dell for PC recycling..
if you're at penang...they have a collection booth every tuesday or thursday at Farlim Sunshine Hypermarket

or you can go straight to dell factory guard house and drop off the junks there...

wink.gif

oh yeah...that is if you're planning to dump them...if wanna sell...can try lowyat or lelong website...
dell pay us for the junk?
MechaHerc
post May 7 2007, 01:19 PM

アルファ ソニ
1,967 posts

well, we can use for decoration on our comp desk. u'all have received an email showing an aquarium made by old crt monitor? some flower made by mouse n keyboard?
skydna
post May 7 2007, 01:55 PM

236 posts

collect the parts may be few more year
can build a com for ur children for free
pizzaboy
post May 7 2007, 10:02 PM

9,495 posts

I'm actually helping to assemble old PC's for underprevilledged children, especially the poor and orphants. I usually collect parts and setup a pc, and give them to Tzu Chi, or orphant associations in Melaka.

You guys in the klang valley can do the same, it's much harder here because of teh lack of contacts, but so far i've managed to setup about 18 computers already.

For the children with physical and mental disabilities, it's quite difficult because we don't know what they need. I gave a kid a mouse once, and he banged it. Then I found out he loves banging things. So these guys have to ask their caretakers what they need la.

Do it for free of course, don't charge. It hardly takes much time to snap a RAM in, thermal paste don't cost that much.
- L e O -
post May 8 2007, 11:04 AM

No Music No Life
1,995 posts

i use it as decoration and i even made ram necklace and processor necklace out of the old junks. rclxms.gif
synn
post May 8 2007, 09:45 PM

420 posts

if ur home got some extra place just keep it...
else u can sell it or just giv it to ur relative lo...

Added on May 8, 2007, 9:46 pmby the way...
if u r interesting in DIY
u can find many parts that can be do DIY for something... hehee

This post has been edited by synn: May 8 2007, 09:46 PM
cwd8769
post May 9 2007, 12:01 PM

Scott
927 posts

Need a recommend here, i have one Samsung SyncMaster 753DF 17" monitor. Suddenly can;t working. i replace with ViewSonic 19" LCD. but that samsung monitor just put there, look very new, scratchless. so, how do i settle it? throw away? trade in? prepare, "Indian bottle" or take for recycle haha... i really have no idea!!! but it can change money is better la... RM50 also not bat, i purchase at RM700++ rclxub.gif
rifle_m16
post May 9 2007, 12:03 PM

Mr. Legis Exsequor
1,016 posts

Take it to repair?
alhardy
post May 9 2007, 12:06 PM

296 posts

yes, send for repair, might coz u RM100+ maybe. Better ask them to quote u the price 1st before they repair it, sometimes repair also not worth, theres something inside might need to be change ...

This post has been edited by alhardy: May 9 2007, 12:07 PM
TShackwire
post May 11 2007, 08:41 AM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 7 2007, 10:02 PM)
I'm actually helping to assemble old PC's for underprevilledged children, especially the poor and orphants. I usually collect parts and setup a pc, and give them to Tzu Chi, or orphant associations in Melaka.

You guys in the klang valley can do the same, it's much harder here because of teh lack of contacts, but so far i've managed to setup about 18 computers already.

For the children with physical and mental disabilities, it's quite difficult because we don't know what they need. I gave a kid a mouse once, and he banged it. Then I found out he loves banging things. So these guys have to ask their caretakers what they need la.

Do it for free of course, don't charge. It hardly takes much time to snap a RAM in, thermal paste don't cost that much.
honestly, i like to give my old motherboard, keyboard, casing etc to you since u have a good heart to assemble old pc for this children.

where can i meet u to pass it to u.

Dell is in Penang. I hope they have a center here to collect this thing also because our malaysia govt is busy making money from middle class at this moment,
toughnut
post May 11 2007, 08:52 AM

3,239 posts

collecting dust. sometimes as mosquito, cicak or spider's home. some old ram as keychain.

if possible, wanna sell it off. pentium 200mhz anyone? can donate to museum if they accept it lol
Najmods
post May 11 2007, 02:19 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

I just bought A64 X2 3800+, I think I'll donate my Sempron to my cousin along with other parts too, since its heavily overclocked, I don't think people will buy it. I don't throw all the junk, I keep it. I still have 9600XT which died because of a voltmod, GeForce4 Ti 4200 died because heavy overclock, DFI Infinity nF4X died because lightning strike, and ASUS K8N4-E s754 still functioning
jcliew
post May 11 2007, 02:45 PM

Retired Enthusiast
889 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ May 11 2007, 02:19 PM)
I just bought A64 X2 3800+, I think I'll donate my Sempron to my cousin along with other parts too, since its heavily overclocked, I don't think people will buy it. I don't throw all the junk, I keep it. I still have 9600XT which died because of a voltmod, GeForce4 Ti 4200 died because heavy overclock, DFI Infinity nF4X died because lightning strike, and ASUS K8N4-E s754 still functioning
wow u hardware killer... shakehead.gif
i'm pity on ur hardware due to ur hardcore torture against ur hardware... sweat.gif
jolipoli81
post May 11 2007, 03:37 PM

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

QUOTE(jcliew @ May 11 2007, 02:45 PM)
wow u hardware killer... shakehead.gif
i'm pity on ur hardware due to ur hardcore torture against ur hardware... sweat.gif
some ppl are rich, you cannot blame them...we might never have the chance to do that....
overclocking is so fun....and they know the risk already...
well i guess i'll keep all my junk stuff in my store room
yoongkeen
post May 15 2007, 11:36 AM

247 posts

give it to me..haha..
emilz
post May 16 2007, 12:09 AM

1,377 posts

i gave lot of computer junks n normally will leave it there and used for emergency purpose and repair if got problm liao laugh.gif

0.0271sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:00 PM