Is there "ORIGINAL" anime in Malaysia ?
May 5 2007, 03:00 PM
93 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Ya...i don't expect the mangaka to know where his manga is going to anyway since its his publisher's job to do this. Wasn't there some controversy about the HK movie version of Slam Dunk that was going to be filmed and the mangaka knew nothing about it?
May 5 2007, 04:20 PM
4,670 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Thank God for the Chinese?
May 5 2007, 06:27 PM
May 20 2007, 01:38 PM
161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Shah Alam |
QUOTE(mr lappy @ May 4 2007, 05:55 PM) if u want a link to sites that does resonably priced dvd's i have them, in a thread in the hobby section I have been using Robert's Anime Corner Store for my R1 purchasing.http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=9870456 im using dvdpacific massively atm for all my dvd orders. http://www.animecornerstore.com/ Haven't been let down so far and I'm quite happy with the level of service. Plus, they tend to get their stocks in earlier than the release date (Solty Rei vol. 4 is already available for ordering while other sites like Amazon still places it as pre-order status till the 29/05 release date) which is a plus for the impatient. What I would like to know is are there any advantages purchasing from Dvdpacific. I noticed that the ex-stock prices are lower than RAC but is it significant enough to warrant a switch? |
May 20 2007, 05:02 PM
98 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Getting Gunslinger Girl Original DVD from Japan. Cost me a bomb but I don't mind since it is an awesome anime. Will save up $$$ for Crest of the Stars series.
The Gunslinger Girl Boxset cost me about close to 300 RM. |
May 20 2007, 05:13 PM
Anime-tech has R1 rips. Just look for those with ONLY English subs.
May 20 2007, 05:31 PM
398 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: boring melaka |
QUOTE(Dias @ May 20 2007, 01:38 PM) I have been using Robert's Anime Corner Store for my R1 purchasing. well besides the price for me(which is still cheaper fo me to buy from them even after shipping from a uk dealer) they also get the stock before the release date.http://www.animecornerstore.com/ Haven't been let down so far and I'm quite happy with the level of service. Plus, they tend to get their stocks in earlier than the release date (Solty Rei vol. 4 is already available for ordering while other sites like Amazon still places it as pre-order status till the 29/05 release date) which is a plus for the impatient. What I would like to know is are there any advantages purchasing from Dvdpacific. I noticed that the ex-stock prices are lower than RAC but is it significant enough to warrant a switch? anyway, i tired all their shippin method and i find that SAL is a little too long for my lilking but its darn cheap(took about 3-4 weeks to arrive dunno bcoz of customs issue or something). int priory mail is resonably quick which is 3-5 days and DHL is obviously fast. mind you i ship it to the uk (US > UK ) so im not sure how it would be like to the m`sia. and i ship my stuff individually now as it comes out after learning a lesson on customs tax where u will get taxed for stuff declared more than 30 pounds or something like that. |
May 21 2007, 01:21 PM
904 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Penang (Mainland) |
btw, neone knows where i can buy Gunslinger Girl (english translated manga)? i tries Border (Penang) and my fren (KL) Kinokoniya (or watever u called it) and got no luck though. if im not mistaken its distributed by ADV. or our country doesnt permit this kind of comic in Malaysia?
p/s: i dun wan to mail order since im goin to collect them 1 by 1 rather than whole batch. Before u can recomend me to d/l, i had the soft copy, i just feel like collecting the original hardcopy one. |
May 21 2007, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(Fyonne @ May 21 2007, 01:21 PM) btw, neone knows where i can buy Gunslinger Girl (english translated manga)? i tries Border (Penang) and my fren (KL) Kinokoniya (or watever u called it) and got no luck though. if im not mistaken its distributed by ADV. or our country doesnt permit this kind of comic in Malaysia? KL kinokuniya had it. I bought my 3 volumes from there. If they don't have a copy, you can order it through the phone with them. There's nothing wrong with GSG manga and never heard of any ban for it. If you're from penang and near to borders you can ask them if they will order it for you.p/s: i dun wan to mail order since im goin to collect them 1 by 1 rather than whole batch. Before u can recomend me to d/l, i had the soft copy, i just feel like collecting the original hardcopy one. Bear in mind though that the GSG manga has been on hiatus and so are other titles by ADV manga. We were stuck at volume 3 since 1 year ago. >_< |
May 21 2007, 02:15 PM
904 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Penang (Mainland) |
QUOTE(wolfx @ May 21 2007, 01:41 PM) KL kinokuniya had it. I bought my 3 volumes from there. If they don't have a copy, you can order it through the phone with them. There's nothing wrong with GSG manga and never heard of any ban for it. If you're from penang and near to borders you can ask them if they will order it for you. dang, on hiatus and upto volume 3? well thats explain they never put em in the shelf or instock. Thx for tellin, goin to try order them then. Really need volume 6, though thing has already calm down in volume 5 against Padania Mafia. heard japan GSG already release volume 6 this year. wonder when ADV gonna catch up with it.Bear in mind though that the GSG manga has been on hiatus and so are other titles by ADV manga. We were stuck at volume 3 since 1 year ago. >_< |
May 21 2007, 09:16 PM
http://bookweb.kinokuniya.co.jp/guest/cgi-...7%65%72&AREA=05
I have always wanted to try Kinokuniya's book delivery service but I tend to end up going to Borders (Times Square) and buying them physically. |
May 22 2007, 01:57 AM
108 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Your Backyard |
just wondering; I've seen a lot of shops (including legit stores like Speedy video) selling anime DVDs of this variant myanime dvds. Note the "original anime" stickers and the holographic Tulen stickers.
I've only bought FMP:TSR of this type of dvds, and i have to say I'm not quite happy with the overall quality of the discs. The most obvious is the picture quality. It's not up to DVD standard. It looks as if the resolution has been shrunk down to fit a VCD format, and the only difference is that they managed to stuff the entire season into one DVD. The Japanese release had two disks, if i'm not mistaken. The subtitles are, well, bearable. They tend to misspell some of the names and the mechs, but the grammar is at least intelligible. no omake videos, no extra content. what is your verdict? did this company actually licensed the anime before they sell them? |
May 22 2007, 06:14 AM
sorry that you bought them. its not original.
1 look at the prices you would know its all 'original' check the link on my sig for stuff like that. |
May 22 2007, 07:02 AM
1,067 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: おさか |
May 22 2007, 07:09 AM
oh common, u should have the link in your sig as well !
arent you proud of your little thread? |
May 22 2007, 10:59 AM
108 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Your Backyard |
QUOTE(mr lappy @ May 22 2007, 06:14 AM) sorry that you bought them. its not original. no harm done, it's just 13 ringgit i spent on a whim.1 look at the prices you would know its all 'original' check the link on my sig for stuff like that. normally i buy box sets for the American release, by licensing companies like ADV. (region-free dvd players ftw) but it's rather sad though, If you go to Low Yat or Sungei Wang Plaza, the fansub rip divx-dvds are no longer sold, but these dvds which are just as illegal are sold openly. I wouldn't mind paying for an original release as long as they maintain their quality and I get my monies worth. Now you don't have a choice but to spend more, and get no improvement in quality. Just because they paid some people in Penapisan to get the stickers. The corruption runs deep. Just hoping a credible licensing company would open here in Malaysia to cater for our little niche here. can someone tell me which shops sell the Odex animes? thx |
May 22 2007, 05:52 PM
I believe any shop selling videos (and having an anime section) should have some Odex releases.
I did saw a game store in Sunway Pyramid (the IT section) having Odex released Fullmetal Alchemist DVDs. |
May 22 2007, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(Dias @ May 22 2007, 05:52 PM) I believe any shop selling videos (and having an anime section) should have some Odex releases. those shops are few and inbetween, and we don't get the special edition odex box collections =\I did saw a game store in Sunway Pyramid (the IT section) having Odex released Fullmetal Alchemist DVDs. |
May 22 2007, 06:05 PM
yes its a sad case. the 'tulen' sticker i thnk its not due to corruption but a loophole in licensing law in HK and taiwan.
anyway, bootelgs are not only a problem in m`sia. but in the uk ppl are also openly selling bootlegs of anime stuff not so much on dvd since all major places(virgin,HMV ect) carries them. but stuff like figures,posters and misc stuff) in the europe however, its a massive problem(like m`sia) fans there buys bootlegs like mad, figures dvd soundtrack, all of them u name it. This post has been edited by mr lappy: May 22 2007, 06:05 PM |
May 22 2007, 06:07 PM
speaking of which, niko niko doh in jusco has been selling animu OST which looks authentic but are really taiwanese knockoffs
| Change to: | 0.0214sec
5 queries
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:42 AM |