The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V5, Say hello to the future
fabianz03
Feb 11 2018, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Feb 10 2018, 05:03 PM) Here are some tips to save battery from my prespective 1) turn off location service (optional, on when needed) 2) turn off bluetooth (optional, on when needed) 3) turn off app background refresh 3) turn off tap to wake (main culprit, i turn this off and major improvement of battery life) Lower brightness level might help as well Can we disable tap to wake? I can’t find the settings anywhere
fabianz03
Feb 11 2018, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Feb 11 2018, 11:01 AM) I've never seen Tap to Wake option too. Raise to Wake, yes. That’s what I thought. Anyway don’t have to turn off anything, this is not android where you have to micromanage everything, it’s pathetic. It’s a smart phone, use it like one.
fabianz03
Feb 11 2018, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Feb 11 2018, 01:37 PM) Android? Lol. Even in my android i turn off those when not in need. Gladly save my android’s battery life as well. Again i shared in general, dont like it just ignore it lah haha Modern Bluetooth receivers and Wi-Fi receivers are extremely power efficient. One user on reddit tested a Bluetooth receiver lasted 15 hours on a 100mAh battery. The mobile OS plays an important role in power management as well, iOS in particular is fantastic in power management. Just like another forumer stated above you can share your ideas and suggestions as you wish but always expect replies.
fabianz03
Mar 2 2018, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Mar 2 2018, 01:52 PM) Yes initially I thought it was SwiftKey but then again changed to stock keyboard then the chin still existed. But I'd just stick with SwiftKey still. I just got mine today at good discount off the RRP and everything is good with this except the big bottom chin below the keyboard. Lol I guess you can never have it close to perfection at all these days. The design choice was intentional to leave some space at the bottom. With the phones nature being a little bit taller, having to move both arms down every time to type is very troublesome, and it risks dropping the phone as it might get a little top heavy.
fabianz03
Mar 3 2018, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Mar 3 2018, 10:10 AM) LOL but you've gotta be kidding. There are thousands of other phones that are tall, if not more, as this iPhone X and I never heard of them being top heavy just because the keyboards are down there at the bottom. People will need to adapt accordingly, as physically the iPhone X is the first one to adapt the new aspect ratio hence making it thinner so it does feel different, regardless of the position of the keyboard. Should've given the options for us to opt for the bottom chin or not as of now it's really a wasted space. Way too BIG, and I laughed when you told me it's a design choice by them as to make the phone more 'stable' as if it's true then that's really funny. Anyway thanks for the info. I personally felt that the choice to elevate the keyboard away from the bottom a wise choice. So every time I type I won't have to do the awkward arm sliding down to reach the keys. But with that being said I also hope that they'll better utilise the space on the bottom. Are there any third party keyboards that eliminates the bottom space? Or did Apple make it a guideline for third party keyboards to follow?
fabianz03
Mar 30 2018, 04:00 AM
Updated to iOS 11.3, my battery health shows 99%, phone bought in November. Pretty good I guess? lol
fabianz03
Mar 30 2018, 04:27 AM
QUOTE(ZenXL @ Mar 30 2018, 04:08 AM) How do you check the battery health? Settings> Battery> Battery Heath (beta)
fabianz03
Mar 30 2018, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(attw @ Mar 30 2018, 08:49 AM) Battery health not applicable to iPads? I updated my iPad Air 2 and there’s no battery health feature  Will probably update my X tonight. No, because Apple did not implement CPU throttle on iPads. My partner’s 3 year old iPhone 6 is at 91% and is currently supporting peak performance. Pretty good I must say. Mine is at 99% though, not ideal but I’m not worried.
fabianz03
May 2 2018, 06:00 AM
QUOTE(yankiat @ May 1 2018, 07:45 PM) Is it fine to charge the phone using iPad charger? Will it shortens lifespan of battery? It's fine.
fabianz03
May 17 2018, 07:46 AM
Apple adding the battery health indicator is one of the worst decisions ever.
Everyday sleuths of threads on Reddit people asking whether or not their percentage is normal. Truth is there's no definite answer. The feature is in beta, some people's iPhone 6 is still in 98% whereas some people's iPhone X is already at 91%. The numbers don't add up.
Just enjoy the phone and only charge when need to.
fabianz03
May 17 2018, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(dino89 @ May 17 2018, 09:07 AM) The battery health was added because of the iPhone processor throttling fiasco, if not I dont think they will bother to add it in the settings It’s a very non-Apple thing to do. It actually makes people micromanage their phone based on the battery percentage.
fabianz03
May 17 2018, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(kmrdeva @ May 17 2018, 09:53 AM) I used to micro manage these settings on android. Moved to iOS hoping I don’t have to do it anymore. Lazy user already - so I just use and charge as and when I like. Exactly, apple doing this only makes the user more aware of this tiny little detail. Very similar to screen on time on Android, every second counts and they look at it every day, turn off GPS, lower brightness and use shitty ‘phone cleaner’ apps to get that few minutes more of screen time. It’s pathetic and it defeats every purpose of a smartphone. But then Apple’s hands are tied, they’re facing lawsuits on that whole throttling fiasco so they have no choice.
fabianz03
May 17 2018, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(claudetan @ May 17 2018, 02:18 PM) the battery indicator .... not accurate. my phone 8+ ios show 97%, but when use 3rd party app on app store or windows, it showed 100% There you go. If you’re using a Mac, use Coconut Battery. Apparently it’s the most accurate out there.
fabianz03
Jun 5 2018, 04:51 AM
So.
WWDC iOS 12 I’m most excited for is just performance improvements lol Also no need to press and hold before closing apps, just swipe up will close the app straightaway.