Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Training center PC setup, for programming courses

alvincks
post Feb 4 2018, 01:07 AM, updated 9 months ago

Regular
Group: Senior Member

Guys,
Thinking to setup training center for programming like Java, Python, let assume setting up for 10 sets at beginning, what are your advice to keep the cost in minimal level ?

What kind of machines spec, notebook or desktop and etc for consideration ?

Thanks

PzGman
post Feb 5 2018, 10:08 PM

Casual
Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(alvincks @ Feb 4 2018, 01:07 AM)
Guys,
Thinking to setup training center for programming like Java, Python, let assume setting up for 10 sets at beginning, what are your advice to keep the cost in minimal level ?

What kind of machines spec, notebook or desktop and etc for consideration ?

Thanks
FYI, I'm no expert but for coding purposes, desktops offer better value from an economic standpoint as compared to laptops as you can buy a faster desktop (or one with better specs) for the same amount of money IMHO. The other advantage of a desktop is upgradeability―laptops are notoriously limited in this regard. As for the specs, you should spec it out with at least 8 GB RAM and an i3 (or an i5 class processor if you can afford it). You should look into incorporating SSD drives into the build as they help greatly in reducing boot times and offer faster loading of previously saved projects. The choice is up to you. For the OS, you can either go for Linux (which is excellent for Python) or MS Windows because it supports most of the programming languages out there.

Good luck! biggrin.gif
alvincks
post Feb 7 2018, 11:18 AM

Regular

Thanks man for the advice ! someone suggest to take a look into Intel NUC ...i think it is good which make room for spacious...but the price is expensive if not mistaken, any alternative that you know of ?

QUOTE(PzGman @ Feb 5 2018, 10:08 PM)