Earning Salary More than RM 5K, Those below 28, share ur tips here!!

chess_gal
post Jun 9 2007, 01:13 AM

1,006 posts

Just a quick question, can an accountant go offshore? Haha.. I know O&G is a cash cow industry so thought of getting into this field but, hmm what can an accountant do on oil rig? ahaha.. a dumb question I assumed. Sigh, hope I can be one of you guys soon enough. Am already 22 and still earning very little...
chess_gal
post Jun 9 2007, 01:27 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(erisu90 @ Jun 7 2007, 10:17 PM)
Any difference in pay for graduate in malaysia and overseas? or is it the same?
Doesn't matter, made in Msia or Imported product...

Just make sure you know where ur talent lies.. (am still searching for mine too)
chess_gal
post Nov 12 2009, 06:36 PM

1,006 posts

Going back to the topic, In my opinion, earning 5k isnt that hard for ppl below 28 years BUT it depends on how much you can save at the end of the day that matters. I have yet to earn 5k cause am just 24 biggrin.gif (unless you want to convert my current S$ to RM, thats different story all together). So just wondering, how much do you guys roughly save up till now? Be it unit trust, shares or investment?

chess_gal
post Nov 15 2009, 09:48 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(izdyharz @ Nov 14 2009, 03:26 PM)
I save roughly rm3.5K to rm4K permonth. I still trying to reduce my monthly expenses.
3.5k per month * 24 months - RM84K. Wow! You can easily buy a house now!
chess_gal
post Nov 16 2009, 11:03 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Nov 16 2009, 07:41 PM)
its all depends on how much u can save in the end..

those earning 10k might not necessary save more compare to 5k..

human nature... needs vs wants!!
Precisely, the more you earn, the more you'd want to show off, buy new car, buy new house, but everything will be on loan/credit. Once kena retrenched, habis...
chess_gal
post Nov 17 2009, 01:17 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Nov 17 2009, 11:02 AM)
but new house is investment ma wink.gif
A house can only be called as an investment if you hold it for capital appreciation or for rental purpose. But most of the time, young executive stays in, so indirectly it becomes a 30 years liability rather than asset. It can only be called an asset when your monthly rental income > your monthly installment or when your Selling price > cost (House + Reno). However, it is everyone's dream to own a house including myself, so only buy within your means.
chess_gal
post Nov 27 2009, 01:50 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(acad615 @ Nov 23 2009, 10:08 PM)
maybe i do have bad financial planning, I am feeling the effects of it, but I don't work in sales line..
Just saw that you are working in airline, well the airline industry is scalling back, better have a proper budget planning.

This post has been edited by chess_gal: Nov 27 2009, 01:51 PM
chess_gal
post Dec 5 2009, 06:42 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(accitzone @ Dec 5 2009, 02:54 AM)
started work back in 2000, rm2.5k. doubled the amt in 2004. now tripled the amt... just change to newer co with rm15k... btw i m an architect
Pretty good pay, 9 years of experience. Based in Msia?
chess_gal
post Dec 31 2009, 11:39 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Jackie7 @ Dec 31 2009, 10:56 AM)
Is working in oversea counted in this thread?
910 British Pound have achieved RM 5000
or
USD 1500 have achieved RM 5000
or
SGD 2100 have achieved RM 5000

Added on December 31, 2009, 11:01 am

depends on which oversea country
Purely local, you cant possibly convert your foreign earnings into local currency for comparison, in that case every Malaysian working oversea would have exceeded that benchmark way before 28.

0.0491sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:27 AM