Earning Salary More than RM 5K, Those below 28, share ur tips here!!

deodorant
post Jan 3 2010, 06:53 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Speaking of rm10 wan tan mee, what I take offense most is the abominable price of drinks in restaurants. Paying extra for food is sometimes justifiable, for example, if you are a steak lover you will know that you can't get good steak for cheap.

But what I can't understand is the rationale behind swanky restaurants charging rm 8 for a glass of coke. Do you brew the damn coke yourself??!?

Ranting aside, I'm 29, exactly 4yrs 7mths into my career and have just hit 70k p.a. in base pay (with typically 10-30k in annual bonuses). I'll say that you do need a combination of luck, diligence (i.e. you need to be capable in the first place), and a good working relationship with your boss, and/or your bosses' boss, and/or *some person* who can directly influence your career (read: promote).
kotmj
post Jan 4 2010, 12:41 AM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 3 2010, 06:53 PM)
Speaking of rm10 wan tan mee, what I take offense most is the abominable price of drinks in restaurants. Paying extra for food is sometimes justifiable, for example, if you are a steak lover you will know that you can't get good steak for cheap.

But what I can't understand is the rationale behind swanky restaurants charging rm 8 for a glass of coke. Do you brew the damn coke yourself??!?

Ranting aside, I'm 29, exactly 4yrs 7mths into my career and have just hit 70k p.a. in base pay (with typically 10-30k in annual bonuses). I'll say that you do need a combination of luck, diligence (i.e. you need to be capable in the first place), and a good working relationship with your boss, and/or your bosses' boss, and/or *some person* who can directly influence your career (read: promote).
Give me some idea of the industry you're in and the type of company (CNM/MNC).
tishaban
post Jan 4 2010, 01:16 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 3 2010, 06:53 PM)

OT but I agree with you 100%. It's idiotic that I go to TGIF/Chillis with the family and pay maybe RM50-60 for food and RM30-40 for drinks. So I stopped buying drinks and bring my own juice in a bottle biggrin.gif

Vinci777
post Jan 4 2010, 01:24 AM

No Title
1,616 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 4 2010, 01:16 AM)
OT but I agree with you 100%. It's idiotic that I go to TGIF/Chillis with the family and pay maybe RM50-60 for food and RM30-40 for drinks. So I stopped buying drinks and bring my own juice in a bottle biggrin.gif
Yeah. I take plain water in TGI/chilis. Is so not worth it to pay for drinks. Rather save 2 drinks and get another main course instead. biggrin.gif
wu_shi_han
post Jan 4 2010, 09:38 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(Hartge @ Jan 3 2010, 12:04 AM)
Who said malaysian engineer are not working hard enough ? And who are you to judge. This kinda post is really  mad.gif

No passion in engineering ? perhaps you are the rotten apple who doesnt have the passion of enginnering , thus not working hard enough and lamented in the forum. Or perhaps you're not experience enough in the workforce to understand anything.

Most high paying executives are in fact doing nothing , what they do is they " DELEGATE " the jobs , thats why they are called " MANAGEMENT " . or perhaps you wont understand the importance of management in a successful business.
Hahaha.. dun b so angry. I just voice out what I observed so far in malaysia. I din attack any particular person, u dun have to attack me. I only say many engineers that I observed are not passion and competence.

Who am I to judge? anyone can judge! as long as he observed something. I have said millions times, do u have to b a prof to tell if someone is not doing good academically? I have spent almost 10yrs career as an engineers in malaysia and I have heard from hundreds of engineers in different companies, different field telling me that
1) they hate their job
2) they dun know why they r in engineering
3) they regret they studied engineering
4) many even switch field to other field such as selling shampoo
5) they spent more time on their MLM business
6) they r still engineers becoz they dun have better place to go
7) they think no future for engineering career
Don't deny first, go ask around and see how many actually fall in one of the category above.... When compare to other countries, like the one I m working at, if the ppl dun like engineering, they dun study or become an engineer at all... here, the ppl know engineering pay is lower so they dun go into engineering in the first place. this is acceptable.
dun b naive, and argue about this. U can disagree wif me but definately I can judge!
DarReNz
post Jan 4 2010, 10:45 AM

7,496 posts

i think it also depends on your first job which determines your path, experience, salary and so on

This post has been edited by DarReNz: Jan 4 2010, 10:59 AM
siberfriend
post Jan 5 2010, 01:23 PM

190 posts

choose those non-popular field... and u will get high pay.. something like this:-

source: http://my.jobstreet.com/jobs/2009/12/defau...954039.htm?fr=J

CMOS Sr Specialist - Systems Engineer
(Selangor)

Responsibilities:

Role Summary

In a CMOS server environment, performs installation, customization and maintenance of the operating system and system software products in support of business processing requirements. Performs system software installations, system software maintenance and product upgrades. Tests software updates and patches. Monitors and tunes the system to achieve optimum performance levels. Conducts system analysis, configuration management and develops improvements for system software performance. Designs, develops or recommends new or revised system software and utilities as necessary. Provides in-depth diagnosis for operating systems software/hardware failures and develops solutions. Ensures server data integrity by evaluating, implementing and managing appropriate software and hardware solutions. Prescribes system backup / disaster recovery procedures and directs recovery operations in the event of destruction of all or part of the operating system or other system components. Provides technical assistance for system users on system functions and in their use including application of system features.

Profile Level

Typically, the Sr. Specialist level is a subject matter expert in the design, architecture and deployment of new systems to keep the mainframe environment stable and interruptions to a minimum. Conducts project management activities for new system requirements on various projects for deployment of business functions on new servers. Transfers knowledge and provides leadership support to Analysts and Specialists in the implementation of new hardware, operating systems and other required software on the systems. The Sr. Specialist is expected to conduct system analysis and development to keep systems current with changing technologies and work with other professional technical staff in evaluating current systems and making decisions on future development. As new technologies emerge that impact current systems, the Sr. Specialist is expected to pro-actively learn these technologies very quickly and resolve any problems involved in integrating new technologies with our current systems. Provides advise, training, and 24x7 technical support to customers, users and programmers.

Requirements:

Requires 10+ years experience / proficiency with a variety of CMOS systems software
Common Skills
Comprehensive SMP/E skills
Outstanding written and verbal communication skills
Significant project management experience and leadership skills
Requires proficiency in one or more of the following core CMOS disciplines
Operating System support: JES2, RACF, Server Pac installation, system exits and usermods
Interactive Systems support for CICS / TS, DB2, QMF, SQL, IMS, MQ Series: Installation, customization, system exits,
Network Software support for VTAM, TCP/IP, NCP, Network Pathing, system exits
Diagnostic Skills
IPCS, CTRACE, GTF, Trace / Dump analysis,
Advanced problem determination skills
In depth knowledge of systems architecture, internal processes and interdependencies
Certifications
Perot Systems Project Manager Performer Lever Certification
ITIL Foundation Certification

Desired Skills

Assembler Language coding
Application level design and coding
Professional Certifications
Good customer facing skills
Candidate must possess at least a Bachelor's Degree, Post Graduate Diploma, Professional Degree, Engineering (Computer/Telecommunication), Computer Science/Information Technology or equivalent.
Required language(s): English
At least 10 year(s) of working experience in the related field is required for this position.
Preferably Senior Executives specializing in IT/Computer - Network/System/Database Admin or equivalent.
20 Full-Time positions available.

Permanent Positions (Malaysians Only)
Salary range: RM8,000 - RM18,000/month
Contractual Bonus: 1 month

GI Jane
post Jan 6 2010, 10:58 AM

36 posts

I am not sure if the above is considered as a non-popular field, but choosing a non-popular field also means job opportunities for your area of expertise will be very sparse. What are the odds that an RM8k-18k job awaits you upon graduation..? wink.gif

wu_shi_han
post Jan 6 2010, 11:41 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(GI Jane @ Jan 6 2010, 10:58 AM)

I am not sure if the above is considered as a non-popular field, but choosing a non-popular field also means job opportunities for your area of expertise will be very sparse. What are the odds that an RM8k-18k job awaits you upon graduation..?  wink.gif
For those who haven't got 5k yet, and those who tried very hard to get 5k,now u have to sell ur time and youth.. (5k is equilvalent to 31.25 per hour, assume u work 8 hours and 20 days a month)

here is a song for u and me...

邊一個發明了返工 (who invented jobs)
我要給佢米田共
邊一個發明了返工
返到我愈o黎愈窮

為了薪金一萬元
令每天都沒了沒完
一萬元一萬元一萬元
靈魂賣給了大財團

邊一個發明了返工
以為自己好有用
邊一個發明了返工
阻礙我藝術發展重重

到了薪金兩萬元
我的青春就快用完
兩萬元兩萬元兩萬元
我有更多事沒法做完

我渴望有一個平原
沒有政府沒有治權
這平原這平原這平原
有好多個美女舞蹈團

邊一個發明了返工
唔係八婆就係八公
邊一個發明了返工
返工o係度玩接龍

到了薪金三萬元
我o地都應該唔會有三萬元
三萬元三萬元三萬元
三萬元o的人通常都有o的串

我渴望這一個平原
畢業之後o的同學見唔完
見面唔會講買股票 買車
結婚 生仔 買樓 買船

hope this song will cheer everyone up, smile! after the song, we still go back to work and expecting the 5k every month... cheers, u r not alone... the price to pay for us to become more advance nation.
oyst3rman
post Jan 7 2010, 08:34 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(siberfriend @ Jan 5 2010, 01:23 PM)
choose those non-popular field... and u will get high pay.. something like this:-

source: http://my.jobstreet.com/jobs/2009/12/defau...954039.htm?fr=J

CMOS Sr Specialist - Systems Engineer
(Selangor)

Responsibilities:

Role Summary

In a CMOS server environment, performs installation, customization and maintenance of the operating system and system software products in support of business processing requirements. Performs system software installations, system software maintenance and product upgrades. Tests software updates and patches. Monitors and tunes the system to achieve optimum performance levels. Conducts system analysis, configuration management and develops improvements for system software performance. Designs, develops or recommends new or revised system software and utilities as necessary. Provides in-depth diagnosis for operating systems software/hardware failures and develops solutions. Ensures server data integrity by evaluating, implementing and managing appropriate software and hardware solutions. Prescribes system backup / disaster recovery procedures and directs recovery operations in the event of destruction of all or part of the operating system or other system components. Provides technical assistance for system users on system functions and in their use including application of system features.
Profile Level

Typically, the Sr. Specialist level is a subject matter expert in the design, architecture and deployment of new systems to keep the mainframe environment stable and interruptions to a minimum. Conducts project management activities for new system requirements on various projects for deployment of business functions on new servers. Transfers knowledge and provides leadership support to Analysts and Specialists in the implementation of new hardware, operating systems and other required software on the systems. The Sr. Specialist is expected to conduct system analysis and development to keep systems current with changing technologies and work with other professional technical staff in evaluating current systems and making decisions on future development. As new technologies emerge that impact current systems, the Sr. Specialist is expected to pro-actively learn these technologies very quickly and resolve any problems involved in integrating new technologies with our current systems. Provides advise, training, and 24x7 technical support to customers, users and programmers.
Requirements:
Requires 10+ years experience / proficiency with a variety of CMOS systems software
Common Skills
Comprehensive SMP/E skills
Outstanding written and verbal communication skills
Significant project management experience and leadership skills
Requires proficiency in one or more of the following core CMOS disciplines
Operating System support:  JES2, RACF, Server Pac installation, system exits and usermods
Interactive Systems support for CICS / TS, DB2, QMF, SQL,  IMS, MQ Series: Installation, customization,  system exits,
Network Software support for VTAM, TCP/IP, NCP, Network Pathing, system exits
Diagnostic Skills
IPCS, CTRACE, GTF, Trace / Dump analysis,
Advanced problem determination skills
In depth knowledge of systems architecture, internal processes and interdependencies
Certifications
Perot Systems Project Manager Performer Lever Certification
ITIL Foundation Certification

Desired Skills

Assembler Language coding
Application level design and coding
Professional Certifications
Good customer facing skills
Candidate must possess at least a Bachelor's Degree, Post Graduate Diploma, Professional Degree, Engineering (Computer/Telecommunication), Computer Science/Information Technology or equivalent.
Required language(s): English
At least 10 year(s) of working experience in the related field is required for this position.
Preferably Senior Executives specializing in IT/Computer - Network/System/Database Admin or equivalent.
20 Full-Time positions available.
Permanent Positions (Malaysians Only)
Salary range: RM8,000 - RM18,000/month
Contractual Bonus: 1 month
after 10 years.... the min requirement for the job.. read again.. tongue.gif
zeist
post Jan 7 2010, 08:42 AM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Some jobs they pay high incentive and high OT. Easily can reach there.

Incentive = RM1,000 - RM2,000

OT 2 hours = RM20 - RM50

Btw, not doing sales. biggrin.gif
frequency
post Apr 11 2010, 07:15 PM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

=( jst 29.....

failed ur below 28 age requirement
but luckily is > 5k soon....

but watever it is..I believe that we shall not become so calculative on this... Uncle Lim also din't build Genting @ 28 year old ma...
Chopin-Lover
post Apr 11 2010, 08:32 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Jan 4 2010, 01:24 AM)
Yeah. I take plain water in TGI/chilis. Is so not worth it to pay for drinks. Rather save 2 drinks and get another main course instead. biggrin.gif
I'm fine with TGIF because they serve plain water. I think it's unacceptable for restaurants to charge for plain water (this happens in a lot of restaurants).
am_7riel
post Apr 12 2010, 06:41 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ May 4 2007, 11:53 AM)
In IT industry is it even possible to earn more than 5k before 28 years?
yes u can
depends what you have in your background and what u did recently
if u have professional cert
then,ur pay wud be higher if u were working in mnc
usually they have incentives to staff who has proff certs
if u have varied experiences in hardcore network,wintel system admin or unix based experienced
then it will well sought later
Garmin_GPS
post Apr 12 2010, 09:31 PM

588 posts

anyone here doing E-commerce maintain more than 5k average mthly income?
clsiluf
post Apr 13 2010, 09:26 AM

2,058 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Apr 11 2010, 07:15 PM)
=( jst 29.....

failed ur below 28 age requirement
but luckily is > 5k soon....

but watever it is..I believe that we shall not become so calculative on this... Uncle Lim also din't build Genting @ 28 year old ma...
But uncle lim build a school at the age of 19 laugh.gif
Garmin_GPS
post Apr 13 2010, 09:35 AM

588 posts

QUOTE(clsiluf @ Apr 13 2010, 09:26 AM)
But uncle lim build a school at the age of 19  laugh.gif
uncle 前世有修
dis life just enjoy the prosperous life tongue.gif
Tfazuin
post Apr 13 2010, 09:58 AM

54 posts

I guess going by that 28 rule I failed miserably. You shouldn't set benchmarks like that unless you plan to get somewhere and really quick. If you do then you have to come up with a grand plan where u want to be. Its not enough having a great brain, you also need, good contacts and a great personality and you need got to be on your good side.
robertngo
post Apr 13 2010, 12:09 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(Tfazuin @ Apr 13 2010, 09:58 AM)
I guess going by that 28 rule I failed miserably. You shouldn't set benchmarks like that unless you plan to get somewhere and really quick. If you do then you have to come up with a grand plan where u want to be. Its not enough having a great brain, you also need, good contacts and a great personality and you need got to be on your good side.
for someone with great brain and good contact he will be making much more than 5k at age of 28 already.
clsiluf
post Apr 13 2010, 03:12 PM

2,058 posts

QUOTE(Garmin_GPS @ Apr 13 2010, 09:35 AM)
uncle 前世有修
dis life just enjoy the prosperous life tongue.gif
he put in 100% effort to build genting ... thats why his return is triple and more ...

he teachs us if want to gain something, must work extra hard for it ... not wait people give ...

100 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 >Top

0.0250sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:41 AM