Nvidia Shield TV 2017

sonypshomer
post Sep 2 2018, 07:15 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 2 2018, 12:28 PM)
If it is not preinstalled and i think it is not, not in playstore... u get from pc, sideload it.

A browser is required to complete astrogo installation such that it remembers your id and pw - log in just once.

And... if u still get a portrait and not landscape UI, u won't be able to allow phone access which is also required.

In that case, u go to settings, apps, astrogo app, permissiins, give it.

also, as astrogo is not an androidtv approved app, it does not appear at the home UI after installation.

you need to manually find it in settings, apps, open it from there.

or u install from playstore a sideload launcher; with this app, all other apps can be found and opened.
This astrogo app is troublesome for many boxes, won't work at all for some.

It is not like that but just the usual simple installation for boxes that have compatible firmware.
Ok successfully login but still portrait.
sonypshomer
post Sep 2 2018, 07:54 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Sep 2 2018, 07:34 PM)
u need to sideload 'Set Orientation' app >> https://set-orientation.en.aptoide.com
then set it to 'Landscape'
TQ. i can safely uninstall aptoide right.
sonypshomer
post Sep 2 2018, 10:19 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Sep 2 2018, 08:15 PM)
yes..or u can keep it for future use..
Fuh all the steps are really cumbersome, I changed the keyboard back to leanback, boom astrogo crashed. Cant even start. There's another alternative keyboard built in that can be used. Gbord also works.

anyways

Lol cannot even use remote to ON the unit after you off it, and the OFF button doest exist has to go through menu and its hidden in ABOUT. bangwall.gif

So much for world best android box. mad.gif tongue.gif
sonypshomer
post Sep 3 2018, 09:46 AM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 3 2018, 09:42 AM)
You should thanks Nvidia Shield give you power off function.

They is no power off function in my 2 TV Box - Mi Box and Apple TV 4K.

Wonder whose idea TV Box should be always on and in standby mode when not watching.
I prefer power off when not using, what for standby it.

I never let any of my Electrical devices in standby mode (except fridge), I always off it when not using.
I prefer On / Off with remote like my Apple TV

or my MXPro 4K that uses TV usb port to power up. OFF the TV the box will be power Off too.
sonypshomer
post Sep 3 2018, 11:43 AM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 3 2018, 10:26 AM)
Apple TV remote is not on off, it is on and standby. It never actual off the Apple TV.

Mi Box also can on and standby using remote just same as Apple TV but not actual off it also.

Both device is only On and Standby and no way to proper off it.

Now I Standby it and later switch off the power but I doubt this is proper off.
That's not the point, my point is 1st time i encounter an instruction for consumer product that you have to unplug the cable to off and plug it again to ON.

sonypshomer
post Sep 3 2018, 12:45 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 3 2018, 12:35 PM)
I know this, is another person sonypshomer confuse on this.

sonypshomer go deep inside the system and choose power off and assume later can power on back by remote control. This definitely cannot because it is totally turn of the devices. When using remote to power off, it actually send standby signal to the device ask for sleep instead of completely turn off the device.

I know sonypshomer confuse the differences of actual power off and power off by remote because sonypshomer said later can turn back the Apple TV after "power off" from Apple TV Remote. This can because it is "power off" to standby mode not completely turn off the device.
Im not confused, i just said this is the first time i encounter an instruction that ask you to ON/OFF by plugin / out cable for consumer product.

Do you understand or not?
sonypshomer
post Sep 25 2018, 03:36 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(van_dyke @ Sep 12 2018, 11:44 PM)
i noticed that my shield remote is abit off, as in there is a significant delay. (sometimes) on and off.
it's weird, because if i walk closer to the shield, it's better.
It's not infrared, so distance doesn't make a difference, wonder if anyone experienced this?
controller is perfect
I cant control the volume by swiping up and down the remote anymore. What happen?
sonypshomer
post Nov 19 2018, 04:43 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Nov 17 2018, 10:28 PM)
Finally bought my Shield TV.

USD149 after tax at Best Buy in Florida for the unit with remote. Don’t need gamepad.

Can’t wait to bring it back home next week.
Good price.
sonypshomer
post Dec 13 2018, 06:16 PM

1,594 posts

Youtube surround !!

Assassin Creed Odyssey!

sonypshomer
post Feb 3 2019, 11:50 AM

1,594 posts

Stupid Shield upgrade Kodi 18 and ruin my beautiful fuse neue setup.

Since fuse neue only compatible to Kodi17.6, shield will automatically upgrade back to Kodi 18 even after you delete kodi and install the old kodi. mad.gif

Using rapier skin now, i only like rapier due its ability to flag media format properly where fuse neue lacks.

Now Dolby Atmos & DTS-X can be displayed.

Series

But other area like Home, music are still ugly AF.
Im still playing with the settings to get the best interface.

If you have any better skin for kodi 18 please suggest, but make sure it can display atmos and DTS-x

TQ
sonypshomer
post Feb 4 2019, 10:42 AM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 3 2019, 11:36 PM)
I actually prefer manually accepting to update apps even those from the Play Store.. Specifically for such reasons. .I only update "critical" apps if i'm sure the update won't break the current setup and or it's a forced update.. Which if not done, can't use the app at all.. Been doing this for years, on mobile devices, PC, etc.. Disabling auto-updating is one of the first things I do after a factory reset or re-flash..
Which setting in google store to disable?
sonypshomer
post Feb 5 2019, 08:18 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Feb 4 2019, 05:50 PM)
Did u try tweaking the fuse skin's Addon.xml and DialogAddonSettings.xml files to make it compatible with Leia?

U can try this edited version >> https://gofile.io/?c=EAwCag
Alternative u can try Aura skin.

p/s: those skin that shows dolby atmos and dts-x flags are based on the media filename.
Refer here >> https://github.com/jurialmunkey/skin.aura/issues/12
You could have saved me hours of settings up if u replied earlier. Due to the fact I deleted the backup folder of the old setup inside kodi folder when i deleted kodi, i have to redo everything from scratch.

I'll try that leia version fuse nueu in Xbox instead.

sonypshomer
post Feb 16 2019, 02:02 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Feb 15 2019, 02:55 PM)
Ringgit in 1995 cry.gif

sonypshomer
post Feb 16 2019, 08:59 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Feb 4 2019, 05:50 PM)
Did u try tweaking the fuse skin's Addon.xml and DialogAddonSettings.xml files to make it compatible with Leia?

U can try this edited version >> https://gofile.io/?c=EAwCag
Alternative u can try Aura skin.

p/s: those skin that shows dolby atmos and dts-x flags are based on the media filename.
Refer here >> https://github.com/jurialmunkey/skin.aura/issues/12
I successfully installed fuse neue Leia you provided on the shield, it works great but the Atmos & DTS-X flag still not appearing. When i checked the zip file, Atmos & DTS-X icons already been provided in the package:-

What are the files related to display these icon flags? maybe i can mod them. Jurialmunkey did implement DTSX and Atmos in his other skin like aura but not for fuse neue even though the icons are provided in fuse neue 17.6 package
sonypshomer
post Feb 18 2019, 05:47 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Feb 17 2019, 10:27 PM)
When Jurialmunkey created fuse skin, he maybe assume that kodi will auto detect the audio codec which later was informed by Kodi dev that there is some ffmpeg limitations..
>> https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=30...3718#pid2613718
For Aura skin, he added the flags after convinced by gsantosoliver..
>> https://github.com/jurialmunkey/skin.aura/issues/12

Here is the edited skin with Atmos, DTS-X and HDR flags:-
https://gofile.io/?c=8MbrNC
*Related file: 'skin.fuse.neue-master/1080i/Includes_Object.xml'
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif rclxms.gif Thank you sifu. You're great!

sonypshomer
post Mar 6 2019, 01:10 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 5 2019, 12:46 PM)
I'm using the Synology 918, DS video is nice, but I have encounter 2 issues, sometimes I have difficulties logging in (diff network, away from home) , which I suspect is the internet issue from the login side, wifi cannot log in, but telco data can log in

another issue is if you want to play bluray ISO, u can't, u can only choose the m2ts file, if you not into this, the DS video is pretty nifty, access anytime anywhere
Only Kodi can play all sort of files. My Syno 418 specs is lower than yours.
sonypshomer
post Mar 7 2019, 01:07 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 7 2019, 10:59 AM)
do u use the DS video app itself ?

I have no idea how to access to my Synology with a different network on a media player

u got any idea how?
i have DS video & DS audio on my iphone, but only use the latter because it generates lyrics

To access u need login with quickconnect.

Of coz u need to setup quickconnect.

sonypshomer
post Jul 31 2019, 01:17 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(Dannyoski @ Jul 31 2019, 01:06 PM)
I installed Kodi 18.3 and failed to output Atmos to my Samsung soundbar.any advice?
I replied your PM
sonypshomer
post Aug 1 2019, 04:17 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(kopiride @ Aug 1 2019, 12:30 PM)
What's the solution in your PM to him? Can share it here?
better apply the latest FW.
sonypshomer
post Jun 3 2022, 10:34 AM

1,594 posts

i was looking and testing few ads free and premium apk to replace the stock youtube which unwatchable already with so many annoying ads all over the video. People recommended vanced but that not really work on the shield (the navigation is clusterfuck) and you cant even add on the menu.

until i found SmartTubeNext https://smartyoutubetv.github.io/

Flawless, it not just work but show itself with recommended on homescreen reel, and you could activate your personal google account and all your favorite channels will be there. it's like the stock with "youtube.com/activate" with code on the screen

Try it and disable that stupid ads infested stock youtube apps.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0228sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:55 PM