Best PSU For Overclocker V2, Which One Is The Best? ^^
exhauster
Aug 17 2011, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(efilah @ Aug 15 2011, 04:21 PM) Not only that, he's using water cooler and an overclocked i7 2500k.  2600k  QUOTE(SteamieHP @ Aug 17 2011, 01:48 PM) Hmm. okay. if 750 seems to be enough. here, i wanna ask something for confirmation. if i were to use this setup:
1. Intel Core i 7 2600k OC to 4.0 Ghz 2. ASUS Maximus IV Gene-z 3. GA GTX 460 1 GB OC Version 4. 8GB DDR 3 1600 Mushkin 5. Cooler Master V6GT 6. 2 HDD 7200 RPMwould 550 watt be enough for the system? Helped a fren setup 2600k OC to 4.5ghz, GTX 560 TI, 8GB Corsair, V6GT, 3 HDD, Silverstone 500w only.. 550w is ENUF Provided a good psu with high A at 12v+ rail. Dun grab CM GX series.. Not recommended This post has been edited by exhauster: Aug 17 2011, 03:13 PM
exhauster
Aug 17 2011, 05:00 PM
CM GX series have quite high ripple in their rail which is dangerous and damage your hardware if serious ( it might not be happen too, depends luck ) From all the review read, it have slightly more than others brand.. Hmm.. I would recommend silverstone and seasonic, exact model might nid to look around 1st
exhauster
Aug 18 2011, 02:03 PM
yesh.. no problem as long as you don't fully load the psu for long time.. the ripple only occur if high load on psu..
Corsair psu is a good quality psu. AFAIK, most of the corsair psu is seasonic PSU, they just rebrand it as Corsair. How good are they is depend which model and wattage you are taking.
exhauster
Aug 18 2011, 05:26 PM
For GX 550, the +12v Rail is providing 44A with 528w On load which mean the computer is using 528w -/ 20w, in short : 500w ~ 528w
but for your rig, it wouldn't be possible u use 100% usage from ur cpu + 100% of gpu for 24/7 except folding / stressing hardware
Conclusion: You still can use it until ur next upgrade.
exhauster
Sep 1 2011, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(SteamieHP @ Aug 19 2011, 01:11 PM) Thank you so much buddy. You have been most helpful in answering my questions. Now I have my confidence to upgrade my PC. There are so many questions linger in my head before this as myself is actually very new in PC upgrades. I have my own target budget and I really hope I don't have to pay more for extra hardware to match the upgraded system's requirement. So i need to plan earlier. Btw, you are from KK too? Nice. Thanks bro for your suggestion.  I already set my target for corsair ATX series for my future upgrade.  np.. yea from KK too but now KL  lots of us always miscalculate the psu budget when upgrading spec. In fact, it is the most important things just like human heart