Best PSU For Overclocker V2, Which One Is The Best? ^^

SteamieHP
post Aug 12 2011, 10:27 AM

113 posts

Guys, i have a situation. Im planning to overclock my PC in the future, can some one suggest to me whats the best watt for my future system.

-Core i7 2600k
-p8z68-v pro
-SLI GTX 460 1 GB
-CM V6GT
-2 HDD 7200 RPM

is 750 w enough? Planning to get CM GX 750w.
SteamieHP
post Aug 12 2011, 11:55 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Aug 12 2011, 11:26 AM)
Don't forget to give SilverStone ST750-FP a try.
So ur implying 750w is enough? smile.gif

SteamieHP
post Aug 12 2011, 07:45 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Aug 12 2011, 04:07 PM)

See clawhammer's PC specs with the PSU he is using
Lol. i wonder who clawhammer is. Luckily his last post is in the previous thread page. and wow. gtx 580 SLI and still able to use 750w PSU.
I have now regain my confidence. cool2.gif thanks for the heads up bro!
SteamieHP
post Aug 17 2011, 01:48 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(efilah @ Aug 15 2011, 04:21 PM)
Not only that, he's using water cooler and an overclocked i7 2500k.  flex.gif
Hmm. okay. if 750 seems to be enough. here, i wanna ask something for confirmation. if i were to use this setup:

1. Intel Core i 7 2600k OC to 4.0 Ghz
2. ASUS Maximus IV Gene-z
3. GA GTX 460 1 GB OC Version
4. 8GB DDR 3 1600 Mushkin
5. Cooler Master V6GT
6. 2 HDD 7200 RPM

would 550 watt be enough for the system?
SteamieHP
post Aug 17 2011, 03:41 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(exhauster @ Aug 17 2011, 03:12 PM)
Helped a fren setup 2600k OC to 4.5ghz, GTX 560 TI, 8GB Corsair, V6GT, 3 HDD, Silverstone 500w only..
550w is ENUF Provided a good psu with high A at 12v+ rail. Dun grab CM GX series.. Not recommended  blush.gif
Thank you very much for the clarification bro! notworthy.gif

btw, you were saying GX series are not recommended. So what PSU would you recommend to me? I'm looking for the GX series because its the cheapest alternative that I can find. Do you know any good and cheap PSU that I might utilised? and given I have rm 400 for PSU, what would you recommend? smile.gif

Added on August 17, 2011, 3:50 pmand BTW, can you guys point out why Cooler Master GX series are not a good choice? :/

This post has been edited by SteamieHP: Aug 17 2011, 03:50 PM
SteamieHP
post Aug 18 2011, 08:42 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(exhauster @ Aug 17 2011, 05:00 PM)
CM GX series have quite high ripple in their rail which is dangerous and damage your hardware if serious ( it might not be happen too, depends luck ) From all the review read, it have slightly more than others brand..
Hmm.. I would recommend silverstone and seasonic, exact model might nid to look around 1st biggrin.gif
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Aug 17 2011, 05:04 PM)
Also Cooler Master GX550W is known for High RMA Rate
I would much rather go for Corsair CX500W or Silverstone Strider Essential 500W laugh.gif
Czone carry some nice Seasonic 500W for RM200 or so,i think that would be best choice tongue.gif
Wow. but if i use the GX series for several months should be ok right? need more time to build up budget for a better PSU.
I have checked silverstone and seasonic as you guys suggested. but I also have my interest with CORSAIR PSU. Im interested with CORSAIR ATX series. Is there any problems with the PSU based from what you guys know? smile.gif
SteamieHP
post Aug 18 2011, 02:30 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(exhauster @ Aug 18 2011, 02:03 PM)
yesh.. no problem as long as you don't fully load the psu for long time.. the ripple only occur if high load on psu..
Mmm. refering to this setup:

1. Intel Core i 7 2600k OC to 4.0 Ghz
2. ASUS Maximus IV Gene-z
3. GA GTX 460 1 GB OC Version
4. 8GB DDR 3 1600 Mushkin
5. Cooler Master V6GT
6. 2 HDD 7200 RPM
Would it fully load the PSU if I were to use CM GX550? and what do you mean by fully load PSU for long time. Long time as if hours per usage or per months of usage? unsure.gif sorry for asking too many questions. I'm new to this. And this is my first setup. sweat.gif Before this I bought OEM PC. sweat.gif

QUOTE(exhauster @ Aug 18 2011, 02:03 PM)
Corsair psu is a good quality psu. AFAIK, most of the corsair psu is seasonic PSU, they just rebrand it as Corsair. How good are they is depend which model and wattage you are taking.
I see. Thanks for the heads up regarding this. smile.gif Part of my early plan for future upgrades.

SteamieHP
post Aug 19 2011, 01:11 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(exhauster @ Aug 18 2011, 05:26 PM)
For GX 550, the +12v Rail is providing 44A with 528w
On load which mean the computer is using 528w -/ 20w, in short : 500w ~ 528w

but for your rig, it wouldn't be possible u use 100% usage from ur cpu + 100% of gpu for 24/7 except folding / stressing hardware

Conclusion: You still can use it until ur next upgrade.

Thank you so much buddy. You have been most helpful in answering my questions. Now I have my confidence to upgrade my PC. There are so many questions linger in my head before this as myself is actually very new in PC upgrades. I have my own target budget and I really hope I don't have to pay more for extra hardware to match the upgraded system's requirement. So i need to plan earlier. sweat.gif

Btw, you are from KK too? Nice. smile.gif

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Aug 18 2011, 06:56 PM)
Get a Corsair or Seasonic
The Seasonic 500W that Compuzone carry is good for its price and work good enough for your setup biggrin.gif
Thanks bro for your suggestion. nod.gif I already set my target for corsair ATX series for my future upgrade. smile.gif

0.0488sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:16 PM