Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! Ver. 2.

bladegirl
post Jun 17 2007, 05:52 PM

112 posts

Hello. I'm looking to buy a new laptop soon and would like some recommendations.

My preferences:

Processor: C2D
Screen: 15"++ (17" widescreen preferred)
O/S: Windows XP
Memory: 2Gb DDRII
HDD: 80Gb++
Other requirements: good gfx card, at least 4 USB2.0 ports, wifi, ethernet
Optional: Firewire and bluetooth would be nice ^^ and maybe a good sound card

Purpose: PC gaming (~high end) and multimedia editing. Weight is not a big issue, neither is battery life - and I would like the laptop to NOT overheat too often.

Budget: RM 3000 - 5000

I don't expect the specs to fit exactly smile.gif so if you know anything similar to what I want, please suggest also.

Hope to hear a reply from here soon!! Thanks!!
bladegirl
post Jun 18 2007, 02:57 PM

112 posts

Thanks alot for the recommendations. I've changed my mind about not getting Vista. The ACER 5920G seems to have just about everything I want - although the usability of the laptop is questionable and I can only get 1280x800 resolution (but not a big deal).

Any idea how much it's selling for currently?

Also, let's say between ASUS G1S and ACER 5920G which one is more worth the price? (yes, I know.. I've raised my budget to < 7k)

Some say ACER has better performance, and others tell me that ACER has many problems. Not too sure who is right or wrong sad.gif
bladegirl
post Jun 18 2007, 03:56 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ Jun 18 2007, 03:34 PM)
G1s is more worth to take  ^ ^
more better quality ^ ^
Can you please explain further? smile.gif What do you mean by better quality? The performance is better quality or the laptop material is better quality? Any overheating problems?
bladegirl
post Jun 18 2007, 04:48 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ Jun 18 2007, 04:36 PM)
wht i mean here is the built quality is more better ...
thn the warranty also more longer ...
n less complaint ^ ^
heat issue ... nv heard b4 ^ ^
Awesome. Has the price for it dropped yet? tongue.gif I also heard that ASUS G1's sound card is not that good. Any complaints about that so far?
bladegirl
post Jun 18 2007, 08:48 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 18 2007, 06:36 PM)
Sound card is comparable in most laptops (most of it use integrated, motherboard mounted sound chips), but it's the speakers that are the problem... Just use externals, built in speakers on laptops are bound to be crap anyway (even though the dolby thingies on the Gemstone looks interesting, even if it's only a gimmick... I mean just how many watts can you stuff into a such a small, build in sub-woofer?)... icon_rolleyes.gif

And if you care to wait, you'll soon have a competitor to the Acer in the sub RM6k catagory... The new upcoming 15 inch Dell Inspiron replacement model... 8600GT for cheap + the best warranty in the business... icon_rolleyes.gif

The design's a bit bleh to most people though, even if it looks ok to me... thumbup.gif
LOL. At this rate I'm so going to end up waiting a lifetime to get my laptop since they keep coming up with newer and better stuff. The Dell one (I assume it's the Dell Inspiron 1520?) looks interesting - but nobody seems to know yet whether or not it will be released in Malaysia.
bladegirl
post Jun 19 2007, 10:02 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 19 2007, 12:17 AM)
It's an Inspiron 6400 replacement model, confirm released in Malaysia (the Dell factory is over here, isn't it?)... The only caveat is when... sweat.gif

But IMHO, the best thing about Dells is it's warranty... If you KNOW you can take care of your computers during and after the end of the warranty period (2 years for Asus), take the G1S... It's got superior build quality... icon_rolleyes.gif
Dell factory is in Malaysia and yet they don't release all their models here.. shouldn't we be the first to get the new models since they're being manufactured here? tongue.gif

Anyway, yep. Warranties are not really a big concern for me. 2 years warranty is more than enough thumbup.gif although if Dell's new inspiron > G1s then I might consider it. However the current Dell inspirons are just.. not very inspiring tongue.gif

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ Jun 19 2007, 12:40 AM)
yeah ^ ^ G1s rockz ,
if u hv higher budget .. maybe a G2s will do ^ ^
G2s has 17" screen - looks yummy. But what's the current price difference between G1s and G2s? I can push my budget - but then I'll have to save an extra month's salary before buying it sad.gif

Right now quite keen on the G1s.
bladegirl
post Jun 19 2007, 11:33 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 19 2007, 10:55 AM)
U keep mentioning 17" screen. I assume u need the mobility feature of laptop but u wouldnt mind to have a desktop replacement that sits on desk or sumthing like that most of the time. FYI, 17 incher lappy is considered "heavy" for u to move it like every 10-15 minutes but "light" enough to carry with u for a LAN party or "balek kampung" compared to a desktop. So think about it..

I myself impressed with Asus G1s/G2s. Among those 2, it is between weight and screen (monitor). I however, have chosen screen as I prefer a larger display for my work and gaming purposes.
You're absolutely right smile.gif The laptop I'm getting WILL be sitting on a desk most of the time - but there are times when I need to carry it with me for work/LAN party/out-of-town purposes.

I haven't yet seen many people owning a G2s so I'm not too sure about it. I also can't seem to find a price list for the G2s? And how is the graphics quality? Some say it is slightly lower than the G1s (Nvidia Geforce vs ATI Radeon?) but if there isn't much of a difference then perhaps.
bladegirl
post Jun 19 2007, 12:13 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 19 2007, 11:44 AM)
I thot the new one have 8600M GT ? isnt it? Thats what it says in their website. It depends on specific card if ur comparing Nvidia's with ATi's. Some ATi's surprisingly do better than Nvidia in both XP and Vista. Let me know what's the cards are and we could discuss more about that.

Dont get me wrong i dont own a G2s. I was mentioning about 17 incher lappy. That is what I own. Not a G2s, just to make things clear here.
Ah. I got confused tongue.gif thought you meant you owned a G2s. Dang!

And you're right - the new one has 8600M GT. I was looking at an old spec rclxub.gif

The one I saw had an ATI Mobility Radeon X1700 >.<
bladegirl
post Jun 19 2007, 12:49 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 19 2007, 12:39 PM)
ah its ok, so is G1s also has 8600M GT too? If that's the case, like i said, it is between weight and screen.

I own something else. Its on my siggy. Much much more sweeter than G1s/G2s if u asked me. However, like i said, Asus impressed me. I might go for Asus for my next mobile system (that would be like 3-4 years from now).

John Jay, reserve a G10s for me in 4 years to come tongue.gif .
shocking.gif Alienware >.> My budget can't go that high unfortunately lol - otherwise have to eat plain bread for the next 6 months.

But yea if anybody finds out the current price for G1s and G2s, please let me know smile.gif I have no idea if G2s even fits into my budget blink.gif
bladegirl
post Jun 19 2007, 02:01 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 19 2007, 01:02 PM)
If u asked me, its really isnt the cost of the AW lappy that holds a Malaysian to get an Alienware, but instead its support and warranty do (including shipping,handling, and taxes that need to be settled from here).

I configure a nice setup that is slightly has lower spec from mine (I include SLi) basically i can get everything including shipping and taxes for just RM7251.30 according to today's rate. I could have RM6906.00 setup without SLi but with better proc and RAM. That isnt that bad right? The problems are (i actually have discussed this alot in other threads) shipping and handling, government import taxes, and warranty & services. I think we could only wish Alienware reaches our shore so some of us could experience SLi in a laptop.

ADDED: note that the shipping and taxes is applied for local (United States). Even if u r an american, it would cost u about RM350-RM400 just for the shipping, and that exludes the taxes charge. With taxes, it will cost you about RM500-RM600 just for shipping and taxes even if u lived beside the Alienware HQ. The only way to buy an AW system is to buy it online or by phone. U cant get it from retail for a brand new system. So my point is, the cost i mentioned above includes the shipping and taxes (for the U.S), so for an SLi notebooks that costs around RM7000-RM8000 isnt that bad if u asked me. Too bad for Malaysians we have to deal with other things such as import taxes, international shipping, and unacceptable warranty policy.
Dell bought over Alienware didn't they? There's still hope! RM7251 is pretty decent though. I saw the 19" laptop on their site and I nearly died tongue.gif but it's all good. I think 19" is too much for my blood LOL.

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ Jun 19 2007, 01:29 PM)
G2s is selling RM 7988 ^ ^

Added on June 19, 2007, 1:41 pm

if i not mistake ..
both G1s n G2s is the same specs oni the size diff ^ ^ isn't it ?

Added on June 19, 2007, 1:42 pm

haha take note already tongue.gif
Thanks. Just re-confirming that I will get the following specs for that price? Any chance I can drop by to have a look at the G1s and G2s models in person? smile.gif

ASUS G2s (RM 7988)

ASUS G1s (RM 6988)

bladegirl
post Jun 19 2007, 03:34 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 19 2007, 02:13 PM)
lol yeah. That one costs alot ! The 19" could reach like RM12,000++. It's the ALX. That one is unnecessary bcoz the extra thousand dollars u pay is actually for the first-class support and services plus the accessories that they throw-in with the ALX. That is absolutely unnecessary if u asked me.

yup RM7251 is not that bad isnt?, especially for an SLi notebook. That one is for the much humbler m9700. (I checked dictionary and there is a word "humbler"..)
LOL I can't believe you checked the dictionary. Made me laugh - in a good way tongue.gif

I'm getting hyped up about getting an ASUS now. Thanks again everyone for the recommendations biggrin.gif
bladegirl
post Jun 20 2007, 11:54 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(nice3z @ Jun 20 2007, 09:59 AM)
- G1s is too heavy, for a girl
That's what boyfriends are for whistling.gif

I myself am planning to get a G1s or G2s (hopefully a G2s lol). Although if I wanted a 14" screen I would've gone for the Benq S41. Have heard alot of good reviews about it - but 14" is just not as fun as a 17" tongue.gif

The Acer Gemstone aka Aspire 5920G caught my eye as well but more people seem to vote for the ASUS G1s in terms of laptop quality.
bladegirl
post Jul 6 2007, 10:40 AM

112 posts

Anybody knows if and when the Toshiba X205 notebook will be available in Malaysia?

Specs: Toshiba X205
bladegirl
post Jul 6 2007, 11:32 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jul 6 2007, 11:18 AM)
@bladegirl,

i thot u were thinking G2s? owh cmon i need another fren for a 17incher. There are not much of 17incher fans out there. In fact, G2s is in red, i like red. Thats why my nick is der | red (its actually a mirror).

uh look at that G2s, very cool design...

Added on July 6, 2007, 11:19 amOk my bad i dont see the 8700M GT, ill pick toshiba then. I think i have seen one of those at Best Buy,          la tapi....
good config; quite pricey. And heavy too.
LOL. I WAS thinking G2s. In fact I was going to go buy it on Monday LOL. But then I saw the 8700M GT and was wondering whether I should wait tongue.gif Furthermore, the Toshiba X205 is also 17" shocking.gif
bladegirl
post Jul 6 2007, 12:46 PM

112 posts

bladegirl
post Aug 6 2007, 10:19 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Aug 6 2007, 02:59 AM)
Asus G1 - RM6999
Asus G2 - RM7999

if i din rmb wrong thats the price for that 2 gaming laptop. looks cool when i saw it in PC fair.
That sounds correct. And before you ask what the extra RM1000 for G2 is for, here is the answer. It has a bigger screen, windows ultimate, and nicer red design. Lol. That's it.

It's entirely up to you whether or not you want to spend that extra $$ solely for those features.

0.0490sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:29 AM