5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Petrol type, What kind/brand of petrol is the best?

TSElijah Michaelson
post Jan 16 2018, 10:40 AM, updated 7y ago

Hi guys, i've seen quite a lot of fuel advertisement (petronas/petron/shell/ caltex). i got confused, which one is the best actually?
jimmybcmy
post Jan 16 2018, 10:47 AM

395 posts

shell v power
GOPI56
post Jan 16 2018, 10:49 AM

1,396 posts

Petronas Primax Ron95 and Ron97
TSElijah Michaelson
post Jan 16 2018, 11:36 AM

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 16 2018, 10:49 AM)
Petronas Primax Ron95 and Ron97
But i heard petronas has more air than fuel. some also say their fuel is dirty than other brands. hmm
TSElijah Michaelson
post Jan 16 2018, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(jimmybcmy @ Jan 16 2018, 10:47 AM)
shell v power
i've heard its good also.
Chrix
post Jan 16 2018, 05:30 PM

1,082 posts

tried all the brands with all kinds of cars... not difference. Instead of those hearsay, better they provide proof & evidence if one is better/worse than the other.

i just go with bhp as RM1 = 1point to redeem items from the store..

6UE5T
post Jan 16 2018, 07:01 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Jan 16 2018, 05:30 PM)
tried all the brands with all kinds of cars... not difference. Instead of those hearsay, better they provide proof & evidence if one is better/worse than the other.

i just go with bhp as RM1 = 1point to redeem items from the store..
Yah same as this! Tried all brands and no difference whatsoever for my car. So for me I just fill up Petron coz it's the one that gave rm45 free fuel after 3000pts.
Maybe if you use high performance cars then might feel the difference but for normal cars, naah (unless your butt is as sensitive as a dyno machine!).
axsatr
post Jan 16 2018, 07:18 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 16 2018, 07:01 PM)
Yah same as this! Tried all brands and no difference whatsoever for my car. So for me I just fill up Petron coz it's the one that gave rm45 free fuel after 3000pts.
Maybe if you use high performance cars then might feel the difference but for normal cars, naah (unless your butt is as sensitive as a dyno machine!).
+1
Ron 95 and Ron 97 works the exact same in my car
And different fuel brands doesn't really contribute to power or efficiency since I track my FC in Fuelly for each fuel up.
ktek
post Jan 16 2018, 08:36 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,549 posts

all kind axt the same except shell 95 sux
alphaz
post Jan 16 2018, 09:57 PM

406 posts

Can't remember the last time I pumped Shell, too far from my usual routes.

Most of the time I prefer Petron for the points, sometimes I pump Caltex and BHP. Petron and Caltex give me best mileage, BHP seems more pickup. Rarely I pump Petronas because for some reason my mileage decreased by about 0.5-1 km/l when using Petronas, and also lose pickup.

This post has been edited by alphaz: Jan 16 2018, 09:57 PM
Lion Cut
post Jan 16 2018, 10:09 PM

192 posts

the one running contest....got chance to win
otherwise, all same
rcracer
post Jan 16 2018, 10:56 PM

?????
3,743 posts

Petronas diesel euro 5 with pro drive is superb
wkc5657
post Jan 16 2018, 11:03 PM

513 posts

That's a lot of rebates! Combined with those credit card that give cashback, even more money back into own pocket.
DigitalMop
post Jan 17 2018, 08:37 AM

60 posts

i tried bhp shell n petron, end up goin shell. coz more power and can 1 full tank can tahan 450km
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Jan 17 2018, 10:13 AM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,380 posts

BHP RON 97 smile.gif
unitron
post Jan 17 2018, 11:25 AM

W1(R)3d
2,719 posts

QUOTE(Elijah Michaelson @ Jan 16 2018, 10:40 AM)
Hi guys, i've seen quite a lot of fuel advertisement (petronas/petron/shell/ caltex). i got confused, which one is the best actually?
My thought as below... I tried all brands and no difference in any of my 3 cars
I go with Petron also for the free fuel after 3k pts

coolstore
post Jan 17 2018, 11:52 AM

1,522 posts

try and find which one better suit your car engine, no so-called 'best fuel:

for my case:
a) caltex: powerful and finish fast - but got problem idle with aircond on engine like want mati
b) bhp: ok also, same got problem idle with aircond on engine like want mati
c) petronas: less power, make starting like old engine. but when idle with aircond on no engine struggling matter like (a) & (b).
d) now on petron: initially dare not try as also "heard" no good, but now on - not powerful as caltex, but more power than petronas and no idle aircond struggling matter, also quite save fuel...

just not yet try shell 95, as also "heard" some foreman said shell 95 do no good to engine..

another way is go to petrol station to observe, while a lot of a same car model keep going to a brand petrol must got its reason
alphaz
post Jan 17 2018, 12:53 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Jan 17 2018, 11:52 AM)
try and find which one better suit your car engine, no so-called 'best fuel:

for my case:
a) caltex: powerful and finish fast - but got problem idle with aircond on engine like want mati
b) bhp: ok also, same got problem idle with aircond on engine like want mati
c) petronas: less power, make starting like old engine. but when idle with aircond on no engine struggling matter like (a) & (b).
d) now on petron: initially dare not try as also "heard" no good, but now on - not powerful as caltex, but more power than petronas and no idle aircond struggling matter, also quite save fuel...

just not yet try shell 95, as also "heard" some foreman said shell 95 do no good to engine..

another way is go to petrol station to observe, while a lot of a same car model keep going to a brand petrol must got its reason
fix your compressor la haha
jamespaul
post Jan 17 2018, 01:36 PM

211 posts

all fuels (within the same grade, ie. ron) are 99% the same.

Anyone telling you otherwise either like a particular brand or reject another brand.

That said, Shell is the only Top Tier fuel in Malaysia. and BHP is the only imported fuel in Malaysia.

zeng
post Jan 17 2018, 02:21 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(jamespaul @ Jan 17 2018, 01:36 PM)
all fuels (within the same grade, ie. ron) are 99% the same.

Anyone telling you otherwise either like a particular brand or reject another brand.

That said, Shell is the only Top Tier fuel in Malaysia. and BHP is the only imported fuel in Malaysia.
That's not true.
Fuel Sulphur content may differ.
Fuel additives may differ.
Actual RON reading may differ.

It's akin to saying, all Malaysians are the same.

This post has been edited by zeng: Jan 17 2018, 02:22 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:47 PM