Mac RAM, noob

suiryuu
post Oct 1 2007, 10:31 PM

333 posts

can i know how much is a 2GB and 4GB ram in ringgit for macbook pro 2.16GHz ?
mrbadrul
post Oct 2 2007, 02:56 AM

140 posts

just upgrade my MB to 2GB, bought 1GB KVR 667 hynex chip cost me RM105 each. super duper deal....
clawhammer
post Oct 2 2007, 12:00 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(mrbadrul @ Oct 2 2007, 02:56 AM)
just upgrade my MB to 2GB, bought 1GB KVR 667 hynex chip cost me RM105 each. super duper deal....
Do you have to return to Apple service centre to do it? How much do they charge?
mrbadrul
post Oct 3 2007, 10:55 PM

140 posts

i did it myself...got this idea and how to do it in the MB user manual guide
suiryuu
post Oct 6 2007, 06:28 PM

333 posts

well, is it? if the ram for mb is about RM105. so how about mbp ? same ? i bought my mbp since last year and wish to add 2GB into it, so i phone macstudio, but they said RM8++ for 2GB leh. Then i ask again about the 4GB. the guy on the phone said double it.

Strange......... can i know where u get the mb ram with RM105 ?

this is what i know from apple
http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebO...D?nclm=75B462BE
http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebO...D?nclm=F295A333
kwekeugene
post Oct 6 2007, 11:53 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(suiryuu @ Oct 6 2007, 06:28 PM)
well, is it? if the ram for mb is about RM105. so how about mbp ? same ? i bought my mbp since last year and wish to add 2GB into it, so i phone macstudio, but they said RM8++ for 2GB leh. Then i ask again about the 4GB. the guy on the phone said double it.

Strange......... can i know where u get the mb ram with RM105 ?
this is what i know from apple
http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebO...D?nclm=75B462BE
http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebO...D?nclm=F295A333
There is 2 types of RAM

(a) Apple Certified RAM
(b) Value RAM

The price you got quoted is for the certified RAM. The RM105 price is for the value RAM.

I use value RAM for my Macbook and I have no problems so far...

clawhammer
post Oct 8 2007, 12:05 AM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Oct 6 2007, 11:53 PM)
There is 2 types of RAM

(a) Apple Certified RAM
(b) Value RAM

The price you got quoted is for the certified RAM. The RM105 price is for the value RAM.

I use value RAM for my Macbook and I have no problems so far...
Value RAM = Kingston?
ed0gawa
post Oct 8 2007, 12:13 AM

coconut
4,398 posts

Value Ram = any value ram aka non high performance built for gaming or watever crap aka normal ram out there selling in the shops....

I bought my 1GB too .. sometime during March/April at C Zone for RM130 liddat... and have the shop assistant to install it for me .. tested it on the spot that my MB works ....

then ciao biggrin.gif
suiryuu
post Oct 8 2007, 05:41 AM

333 posts

oic there is 2 type or ram for mbp, so can i know actually i want to upgrade my mbp is because of i'm also using Parallels Desktop to boot my Window OS. i just want to speed up my mbp. so and recommended to use which type or ram is better ? according to the (a) Apple Certified RAM and (b) Value RAM, which one more suit for me. And i'm a photographer also. I'm using Aperture. It seems to slow if i use Parallels Desktop and Aperture in the same time. Any Value RAM that up to 4GB then ? can i get Value RAM 2GB or 4GB at lowyat or KLCC ? cause i'm going to KL after my exam...... hehe oh ya and can tell me about the warranty about the RAM and if the new RAM goes wrong and affect my mbp will Apple still consider my case to fix for me ?

This post has been edited by suiryuu: Oct 8 2007, 05:44 AM
ed0gawa
post Oct 8 2007, 06:45 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

Actually, the certified Apple ram means tat the ram will run flawlessly and the rams are certified by Apple Inc.

While those "value ram", they MIGHT run flawlessly, they MIGHT NOT. But i think i never saw any complain in LYN regarding their value ram screwing up.

As for ram size, i have no idea.. decided to say goodbye with all the hardware updates as it is killing my pocket.
mrbadrul
post Oct 9 2007, 06:31 AM

140 posts

As per my understanding, my own survey from Apple Store (here in Malaysia) and little Googling, here were my outcome before decided to buy my RAM

There are 2 types of RAM, we take the famous brand Kingston in my case. Even the AS also selling Kingston brand. The 2 types are:
1. KTA type - don't know what it stand for
Recommended by almost all AS as they said this is Apple Certified and compatible with our Mac machine. It cost around 350-500RM per 1GB.
2. KVR type - I think it's stand for Kingston Value RAM
Not so recommended by AS, but, BUT 2-3 tehnician from the AS when the BOSSes gone will suggest me to go with this. Reason, cheaper, much cheaper and actually it shouldn't have any problem with our Mac, proven by their own experienced. It cost around 105RM per 1GB.

When the moment come, I decided to buy myself a KVR type, I also been advised by one of my trusted Gadget friend in LYP to find KVR with 'Hynix' chip. There is another type of KVR chip but couldnt remember the name. Managed to get myself a KVR with Hynix chip, cost 105RM each and I bought 2 pieaces, after 8 shops I asked in LYP. Not many of the shops selling Hynix. You can see Hynix word printed on the RAM.

Grab myself a Philip screwdriver and went down to Starbuck to operate my machine straight away. Can't wait!!. The process to change the RAM as simple as cake, you can find it in your MB User Manual.

Surprisingly, magnificently, proudly when I took out the original 512MB RAM from my machine, the RAM type was exactly the same KVR type with Hynix chipset!! So, from my humble experience, I hope this will benefits to some people, and easier for some people to decide. Thanks.
ifer
post Oct 9 2007, 11:06 AM

4,637 posts

wow cool...
hynix chip. first time i heard about this. all this while, people have been saying KVR only.

now, do they have 2gb RAM piece? got to go ask...

mrbadrul, which shop did you go to to get the hynix chip, if you dont mind me asking. thanks
mrbadrul
post Oct 9 2007, 08:03 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Oct 9 2007, 11:06 AM)
wow cool...
hynix chip. first time i heard about this. all this while, people have been saying KVR only.

now, do they have 2gb RAM piece? got to go ask...

mrbadrul, which shop did you go to to get the hynix chip, if you dont mind me asking. thanks
About 2GB RAM, I should asked around that time. But I think it will not be cheap, please let me know if you guys know how much it is ok. Because our MacBook actually can support up to 3GB Memory, require 2 x 2GB RAM. Maybe in future...

Which shop eh..hmm
I forgot the shop name, but you know All IT Hypermart at Level 3 or 4 (I'm not sure)? From there you have to go another level up, use escalator, you will find the shop right infront of you when you reach that level. Big shop aka hypermart kind of shop. Good luck! And don't forget to tell us how much 2GB RAM ok.

ZhaoYun
post Oct 11 2007, 09:16 PM

A Mac Convert
1,029 posts

I bought the Mushkin 2GB 1 stick for RM 400. Apple Center wanted RM 350 for 1GB 1 stick.

0.0192sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:45 PM