321 posts

Nice photos notworthy.gif

Using kitlens?
Aurora Boreali
post Apr 30 2007, 08:20 PM

470 posts

I like your bokeh, the colours are so vivid too!

notworthy.gif to DSLR and the photographer behind.
cityfish
post Apr 30 2007, 08:50 PM

666 posts

Another macro lover.... rclxms.gif
g88
post Apr 30 2007, 09:01 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ Apr 30 2007, 08:03 PM)

Using kitlens?
I don't think so..look at the DOP.
chrisoys
post Apr 30 2007, 09:09 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 30 2007, 09:01 PM)
Very sharp & rich in color pics!!!
vivre
post Apr 30 2007, 09:46 PM

No need to look at these stars ....
826 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ Apr 30 2007, 08:03 PM)

Using kitlens?
Yeap, were u using kitlens ? If yes, mind sharing the setting that u used ? Since, they look great =)

Keep on shooting and sharing =D

TSjian.see
post Apr 30 2007, 11:38 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ Apr 30 2007, 09:03 PM)

Using kitlens?
thanks...i'm using kitlens smile.gif

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Apr 30 2007, 09:20 PM)
I like your bokeh, the colours are so vivid too!

notworthy.gif to DSLR and the photographer behind.
thanks to u too.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(cityfish @ Apr 30 2007, 09:50 PM)
Another macro lover.... rclxms.gif
i actually love potrait too...but have to find ppl...hahaha biggrin.gif

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 30 2007, 10:01 PM)
i'm using kitlens actually thumbup.gif

QUOTE(chrisoys @ Apr 30 2007, 10:09 PM)
Very sharp & rich in color pics!!!
thanks to u too smile.gif

QUOTE(vivre @ Apr 30 2007, 10:46 PM)
Yeap, were u using kitlens ? If yes, mind sharing the setting that u used ? Since, they look great =)

Keep on shooting and sharing =D
ya..using kit lens...all the pics above are using M mode. the first 2 pics are ISO 100, while others will be ISO 200 or ISO 400 depends on the lighthing. for the aperture, all are f5.6 cos i'm using 50mm tongue.gif
djdevan
post Apr 30 2007, 11:48 PM

438 posts

looks great lar bro...smile.gif
TSjian.see
post May 1 2007, 03:03 PM

69 posts

didnt go out anywhere...so hv to take flower pic in my house again sweat.gif

C&C pls tongue.gif
chrisoys
post May 1 2007, 08:14 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ May 1 2007, 03:03 PM)
didnt go out anywhere...so hv to take flower pic in my house again sweat.gif

C&C pls tongue.gif
Can kitlens take so sharp & vivid pics???

Did you do any editing???

This post has been edited by chrisoys: May 1 2007, 08:15 PM
TSjian.see
post May 2 2007, 08:05 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ May 1 2007, 09:14 PM)

yupe.

i just do a bit of color level and contrast...if u want, i can post the original without editing here. smile.gif
cityfish
post May 2 2007, 08:37 AM

666 posts

Hey man, its time to go out and shoot.... your new lens need some fresh air. tongue.gif
simmytan
post May 2 2007, 09:07 AM

115 posts

Hey there, can i know which DSLR you are using?

Added on May 2, 2007, 9:07 amBtw i think you did a great job shooting and editing the pictures, it's not too much, very natural

This post has been edited by simmytan: May 2 2007, 09:07 AM
TSjian.see
post May 2 2007, 09:12 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(cityfish @ May 2 2007, 09:37 AM)
Hey man, its time to go out and shoot.... your new lens need some fresh air. tongue.gif
ya..waiting for this coming weekend icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(simmytan @ May 2 2007, 10:07 AM)
Hey there, can i know which DSLR you are using?

Added on May 2, 2007, 9:07 amBtw i think you did a great job shooting and editing the pictures, it's not too much, very natural
thanks, i'm using 400D. smile.gif

simmytan
post May 2 2007, 09:16 AM

115 posts

For the macro shots, since you weren't using any macro lens, did you reverse the lens before shooting them?

TSjian.see
post May 2 2007, 10:10 AM

69 posts

wait...i dont even know how to reverse the lens...and what is the meaning of reverse the lens...care to explain more...sorry cos i'm a noob biggrin.gif
chrisoys
post May 2 2007, 11:56 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ May 2 2007, 08:05 AM)
yupe.

i just do a bit of color level and contrast...if u want, i can post the original without editing here.  smile.gif
Its best learn to take good pics rather than using software editing. Using software editing the pics you will not learn or improve using DSLR, then why get DSLR better get PNS camera right.

I feel that now a day many photographers using heavy editing on the pics. Its not skills using DSLR but they become a grafik designers liao cry.gif

No offence ya. Me also not pro in photography but feel this is not the way to learn taking nice pics.

Anyway, all your pics are nicely taken thumbup.gif

Added on May 2, 2007, 11:57 am
QUOTE(simmytan @ May 2 2007, 09:16 AM)
For the macro shots, since you weren't using any macro lens, did you reverse the lens before shooting them?
Reverse the lens???

How??? Never heard of it before hmm.gif

This post has been edited by chrisoys: May 2 2007, 11:57 AM
g88
post May 2 2007, 02:01 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 30 2007, 11:38 PM)

ya..using kit lens...all the pics above are using M mode. the first 2 pics are ISO 100, while others will be ISO 200 or ISO 400 depends on the lighthing. for the aperture, all are f5.6 cos i'm using 50mm  tongue.gif
U using 50mm prime lens izzit ?? sweat.gif

TSjian.see
post May 2 2007, 02:14 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ May 2 2007, 03:01 PM)
U using 50mm prime lens izzit ?? sweat.gif
sorry...i means 18-50mm kit lens...but most of the pic i took zoom till 50mm blush.gif

Added on May 2, 2007, 2:23 pm
QUOTE(chrisoys @ May 2 2007, 12:56 PM)
Its best learn to take good pics rather than using software editing. Using software editing the pics you will not learn or improve using DSLR, then why get DSLR better get PNS camera right.

I feel that now a day many photographers using heavy editing on the pics. Its not skills using DSLR but they become a grafik designers liao cry.gif

No offence ya. Me also not pro in photography but feel this is not the way to learn taking nice pics.

Anyway, all your pics are nicely taken thumbup.gif
it is very common for a digital photographer to edit the pic, no matter using DSLR or PNS...and i think it become a must, since a DSLR cannot produce nice color like the film SLR has produced no matter how hard u try to take or using high-end lens... this is also why the DLSR or PNS keep upgrading, to have a better sensor and etc

a graphic designer is not editing pic like the way the normal photographer did. And as long as the photographer didnt over edit the pic...i think it is accepted. But of course learn to take nice pic so important, but it must cum with a little bit of editing skill.

anyway i'll post my original pic here when i go back smile.gif

This post has been edited by jian.see: May 2 2007, 02:23 PM
Gadget_Freak
post May 2 2007, 02:29 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ May 2 2007, 11:56 AM)

What's wrong with photo editting? DSLR is meant for editting, that's why RAW come to place.

If u wan nice JPEG output without editting, PnS and prosumer is sufficient.

No matter how u change, composition is still there, so i dun see why by editting pics cannot improve ur skills.

Levels, curves, color balance and etc. just a method to bring out the color. Even photo printing shop also doing that before they print ur photo and u thought the photo from the film is not editted?

Just my 2 cents.

Nice pics anyway.
simmytan
post May 2 2007, 04:53 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ May 2 2007, 10:10 AM)
wait...i dont even know how to reverse the lens...and what is the meaning of reverse the lens...care to explain more...sorry cos i'm a noob biggrin.gif
QUOTE(chrisoys @ May 2 2007, 11:56 AM)
Reverse the lens???

How??? Never heard of it before hmm.gif
There's a reverse lens tutorial for Canon cameras about how you turn your kit lens into a macro lens without having to spend money on macro lens, the tutorial is here (original from larajade.com)

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i16/simmy-tan/lara.jpg

This post has been edited by simmytan: May 2 2007, 04:53 PM
TSjian.see
post May 2 2007, 06:41 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(simmytan @ May 2 2007, 05:53 PM)
There's a reverse lens tutorial for Canon cameras about how you turn your kit lens into a macro lens without having to spend money on macro lens, the tutorial is here (original from larajade.com)

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i16/simmy-tan/lara.jpg
thanks for the link, and thanks for the explanation...will try it out...but i wonder will my lens ''hurt'' if i do like this blush.gif

Added on May 2, 2007, 6:43 pmfor chrisoys
this is one of the original pic (without editing or resize, i just upload it originally)among the pics that i have posted above...

http://www.flickr.com/photo_zoom.gne?id=481181765&size=l

This post has been edited by jian.see: May 2 2007, 06:44 PM
chrisoys
post May 2 2007, 08:08 PM

321 posts

Jien don't get offenced OK.

I just expressing my opinion when I look at the pics

From the pics I got to see some editing was done that why to double comfirm I ask you whether got or not loh. I was right about it & the pics are not the ori taken from the camera.

No need to show or proof me about pics. Cool bro sweat.gif

Added on May 2, 2007, 8:13 pm
QUOTE(Gadget_Freak @ May 2 2007, 02:29 PM)
What's wrong with photo editting? DSLR is meant for editting, that's why RAW come to place.
DSRL meant for editing??? You must be kidding me rclxub.gif

It show, you not really know how to use your DSLR.

Hmmm......then I think I need to spend more time on PC editing my pics to be nice, dumb dumb me blink.gif got get DSLR wasted my money icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by chrisoys: May 2 2007, 08:14 PM
[ - i l l u s i o n s - ]
post May 2 2007, 08:16 PM

Photography Addict
744 posts

hei jian.
Thanks for sharing some shots with the 400D.
Been eyeing that model for quite sometime but I have not seen its product yet. =)
Gadget_Freak
post May 2 2007, 09:50 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ May 2 2007, 08:08 PM)
DSRL meant for editing??? You must be kidding me rclxub.gif
Yes, and if not what the purpose of RAW? Purposely like the file big?

Well, my words on DSLR might be wrong there.

It show, you not really know how to use your DSLR.
O'RLY? How u came to this conclusion?

Hmmm......then I think I need to spend more time on PC editing my pics to be nice, dumb dumb me blink.gif  got get DSLR wasted my money icon_rolleyes.gif
Nobody ask u to spend 90% of your time in editting and 10% in photo shooting.
U still need to get right composition and exposure before u edit it to bring out color.

Try to get an over/under exposure pic and see how u gonna edit it.

This isn't meant every ppl also need to edit but that photography editting in today world is very common and won't block u to improve or cheat ppl watever..

Sorry for TS for disturbing ur thread notworthy.gif
goldfries
post May 2 2007, 09:55 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Gadget_Freak @ May 2 2007, 09:50 PM)
Yes, and if not what the purpose of RAW? Purposely like the file big?

the thing is you and chris are arguing without common agreement on what's the basis of this editing.

IMO it's perfectly fine to edit. cameras have limitations, so do we. RAW gives you more flexibility when it comes to editing.

BUT if people spend too much time to edit, or trying to make shit into gold - then what's the point?

the point of photography is to take as nice a shot as possible, with only minor to NO editing at all.
TSjian.see
post May 2 2007, 09:57 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ May 2 2007, 09:08 PM)
Jien don't get offenced OK.

I just expressing my opinion when I look at the pics

From the pics I got to see some editing was done that why to double comfirm I ask you whether got or not loh. I was right about it & the pics are not the ori taken from the camera.

No need to show or proof me about pics. Cool bro sweat.gif

lol...dont worry chrisoys... smile.gif

i know u r not offencing me....the reason i put the original pic here is to show u, i got no other meaning too tongue.gif just want to show u that i actually didnt edit much on the pic. icon_idea.gif

Added on May 2, 2007, 10:14 pm
QUOTE([ - i l l u s i o n s - ] @ May 2 2007, 09:16 PM)
hei jian.
Thanks for sharing some shots with the 400D.
Been eyeing that model for quite sometime but I have not seen its product yet. =)
well..it is a nice model. and i didnt regret to get it... tongue.gif

but i can c some of the forumers here take nice pic with a D40 or using slightly lower standard DSLR compare to 400D...but of course, some of them own it, but the pic is not that stuning...so my conclusion is, it actually depends on the photographer. and get the DSLR that u think u want the most tongue.gif

i get 400D cos it give me almost everything that i need ( none of the DSLR is perfect IMO ). i dont like D40 or D40X as we need to buy the lens which come with autofocus, and i think is a bit troubelsome for me, i didnt chose 350D as it is just a few hundred cheaper than 400D...so i go for 400D which can serve me better smile.gif .i didnt get the DSLR which has higher standard than 400D as they are out of my budget doh.gif ..hehehehe

This post has been edited by jian.see: May 2 2007, 10:14 PM
goldfries
post May 2 2007, 10:20 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ May 1 2007, 08:14 PM)

my shots on KLCC Petronas Twin Tower were taken with kit lens too. smile.gif

yes, they can take nice pictures.
TSjian.see
post May 2 2007, 10:34 PM

69 posts

frankly speaking...

i have a kit lens, and a L lens 17-40mm (not mine), but i can use this L lens for few months, as the owner do not need it at the moment. I try both of the lens taking the same shot...suprisingly, kit lens perform very well..almost has the same details that capture by L lens. I actually cant c much different, seriously.

the conclusion is, never under estimate the kit lens, although i know that alot of ppl claim that kit lens is nothing, and many of them sold it out.

oh ya..all the pics that i posted above taken by me are using kit lens NOT L lens, although i hv L lens at the moment smile.gif

cityfish
post May 3 2007, 01:26 AM

666 posts

some people think that they are so high class that look down on photo editing, it is so pity to hear that.

Yes, taking photo you need to have good basic skills, you need to have good composition, framing, setting....there is no doubt, if you take picture with wrong exposure, the whole pic gone, might be too dark or pic comes out blur, so no matter how good your photoshop editing skills, still dead...

when you can get do good framing and know better how to take pictures, why not learn up some editing skills? like a pretty girl also need to make up right?

when you holding a Digital Camera, no matter compact or DSLR, you are doing photoshop, believe? when your camera outputing jpeg for you, it already done "saturation, contrast, sharpness..." where you set in your camera, and somemore noise reduction on long exposure....haha, if only you are using film camera, you can say you are clean from editing.

taking pictures is something that delight you, as long as it gives you the feel, why not? why we want to frame ourself inside the small pond?
chrisoys
post May 3 2007, 08:36 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(cityfish @ May 3 2007, 01:26 AM)
when you holding a Digital Camera, no matter compact or DSLR, you are doing photoshop, believe? when your camera outputing jpeg for you, it already done "saturation, contrast, sharpness..." where you set in your camera, and somemore noise reduction on long exposure....haha, if only you are using film camera, you can say you are clean from editing.
No one here are looking down on ppls that do photo editing.

Just giving opinion about it not to do photo editing & concentrate more on how to take nice pics. If everyone can rely on photo editing than I am sure everyone here can become a pro photographers rclxm9.gif

You can set the saturation, contrast, sharpness & color tone in your DSLR & also custom the WB before you take a pic. This required knowledge, experience & skill in using it.

diwant
post May 3 2007, 12:48 PM

295 posts

some people think that they are so high class that look down on photo editing, it is so pity to hear that.

Yes, taking photo you need to have good basic skills, you need to have good composition, framing, setting....there is no doubt, if you take picture with wrong exposure, the whole pic gone, might be too dark or pic comes out blur, so no matter how good your photoshop editing skills, still dead...

when you can get do good framing and know better how to take pictures, why not learn up some editing skills? like a pretty girl also need to make up right?

taking pictures is something that delight you, as long as it gives you the feel, why not? why we want to frame ourself inside the small pond?
Well i belive u made the point there..

simmytan
post May 3 2007, 05:21 PM

115 posts

i couldn't agree more with cityfish, i dont know why ppl makes such a big deal about retouching photographs, we just have to move on,

like most photographers/photo manipulators said, 80% from original photographs, that includes lighting and composition, 20% would be retouching the imprefection
TSjian.see
post May 3 2007, 09:11 PM

69 posts

A model shoot...and i only has 1, others, turn out not nice. i actually didnt plan to have model shoot in KLCC...i accidentally met this fashion show, and try to have some shoot..then have to rush back to Penang on the same day biggrin.gif..will try to shoot more, if penang has any fashion show lol...

C&C pls..first time have this kind of shoot..hehehe

Added on May 3, 2007, 9:18 pmBut b4 i manage to catch the bus back to Penang...i have this shoot...without tripod so, have to use ISO 1600 sweat.gif anyway, a bit senget doh.gif

Added on May 5, 2007, 1:26 pmwindow pic biggrin.gif

C&C pls smile.gif

This post has been edited by jian.see: May 5 2007, 01:26 PM
William_Yeo
post May 6 2007, 01:00 PM

1,524 posts

wow ~ really nice ! mind to share out the ISO, aperture for the photo ? eheh laugh.gif
ac98
post May 6 2007, 01:46 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

I more pity on those that knows photo editting and little else.

Then you should belong to the 'high class' group then, you mentioned it yourself on the first statement. Know photo editting but lousy photography, am I right?

As time goes buy, as you pick up your photographic skill, you will need less time on the computer fiddling with your editting software, different from make-up. As time goes by, girls will turn into old women and gradually depend more and more on make-up in order to conceal what TIME and AGE is slowly doing to her. Dun compare make-up with photo editting, it's two different world.

Brother, there are still manupulations that can be done on FILM i.e exposure compensation, ISO pushes, etc. Digital photography is digital photography, Photoshp belongs to Adobe, dun mix everything together and confuse others especially newbies. Please dun mention all this in photo forums or else you will become a laughing stock, the more you say the more WRONG you're becoming. Please stick to digital photography where you're picking up on. Take it easy.

You are a goldfish ... you can never survive the sea tongue.gif notworthy.gif
clemong_888
post May 6 2007, 02:12 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

@cityfish

there are various manipulation techniques in film photography from what ac said to darkroom techniques. exposure,highlights,contrast,etc can be manipulated in the darkroom though not as easy and convenient.

@ac

i really dont believe they'll be less editing the more u shoot. i guess it all depends on a photographer's workflow. ansel adams is a legend but he spent plenty of time in his darkroom. camera's have limitations and editing is needed i guess. my camera is crappy with it's red rendition, always oversaturating it no matter how much i fiddle with the settings, so editing later saves me time in some ways .

of course, photography basics are needed.

p.s:goldfish is pretty funny tongue.gif

Added on May 6, 2007, 2:14 pm@jian

i like your style. keep it up. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by clemong_888: May 6 2007, 02:14 PM
cityfish
post May 6 2007, 07:42 PM

666 posts

firstly, i want to apologize to Jian.See that i am using here to express personal thought.... my reply to ac98 will goes to my folder.

Jian. See, i like your fashion series, looked sharp and good lighting.

the windows do give me feel, and here shows the good things on editing(i should not call Photoshop as people might sensitive. tongue.gif )
with the little wordings, the picture comes out with different feel. Jian see maybe you can put the original pic here to show how is the difference.

And the wordings really shows the match!! thumbup.gif
the 1st window with no bar, the word says "lost of the time"
when the second one with the bar on, "can the time be hold?"

Very good! if can, maybe you can think to put 2 windows on the same row on the same layer, might be a good contrast! just my suggestion, i am not "high class", i am also learning....
TSjian.see
post May 7 2007, 08:40 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(William_Yeo @ May 6 2007, 02:00 PM)
wow ~ really nice ! mind to share out the ISO, aperture for the photo ? eheh laugh.gif
thanks...

just like normal

for the windows shoot

ISO 100
f5.6
1/125s
and i adjust all the contrast and saturation to the highest point to get more vivid color biggrin.gif

Added on May 7, 2007, 8:54 pm
QUOTE(cityfish @ May 6 2007, 08:42 PM)
firstly, i want to apologize to Jian.See that i am using here to express personal thought.... my reply to ac98 will goes to my folder.

Jian. See, i like your fashion series, looked sharp and good lighting.

the windows do give me feel, and here shows the good things on editing(i should not call Photoshop as people might sensitive. tongue.gif )
with the little wordings, the picture comes out with different feel. Jian see maybe you can put the original pic here to show how is the difference.

And the wordings really shows the match!! thumbup.gif
the 1st window with no bar, the word says "lost of the time"
when the second one with the bar on, "can the time be hold?"

Very good! if can, maybe you can think to put 2 windows on the same row on the same layer, might be a good contrast! just my suggestion, i am not "high class", i am also learning....
thanks, but i'm not going to post the original pic over here, cos i think the forumers here maybe a bit sensitive... smile.gif well...i have to admit that the window series i add more green to the first pic and more red to the second pic to get different feeling ( while for other pics that i have posted here, i didnt do that)...it is impossible for me to try very hard to adjust the histogram in my digicam, as i just walk past and so happen with the camera on my hand, so i just snap. Dont ask me to stand under the hot sun for more than 15 mins..and adjust this and adjust that to get the right color that i want (except for the aperture, ISO and speed ). I'll only do that, when i'm well prepare, and i arrange my time, purposely go for photo hunting for the certain hours or day.

but, i really dont understand y alot of the forumers here are so sensitive on editing hmm.gif .....they should have take note on the situation of the photographer icon_idea.gif

oh ya citifish...i'm neither attacking u nor make comment judging from yr post....i just tumpang, and add some of my personal view when i post this to thank you for making comment on my pic:)

This post has been edited by jian.see: May 7 2007, 08:56 PM
Aurora Boreali
post May 7 2007, 11:27 PM

470 posts

I like your captions. From the flowers to the windows, your captions really give a different feel to your pictures biggrin.gif

Hope to see more from you!
William_Yeo
post May 8 2007, 11:23 AM

1,524 posts

Jian's u really got art talent !!! really salute u ..... laugh.gif
TSjian.see
post May 10 2007, 06:56 PM

69 posts

thanks guy...

another series biggrin.gif:D...comments pls wink.gif

very very hard to take these kind of pics sad.gif and i dont really like them, will try again next time..and pks teach me how to take this kind of pic, very hard to focus la...

milky
post May 10 2007, 07:14 PM

- King -
4,743 posts

jian....
the 1st one the ring of the water blur abit... the 2nd one nicer.. keep it up.. hehe icon_rolleyes.gif

EDIT: u using macro lens?

This post has been edited by milky: May 10 2007, 07:16 PM
ac98
post May 10 2007, 07:49 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

The bottom of the container is too shallow-lar ... deeper abit baru shiok brows.gif tongue.gif
diwant
post May 10 2007, 08:14 PM

295 posts

Hehe.. no choice, have to use manual focus. be patience and u'll get the desired results!!
TSjian.see
post May 11 2007, 06:07 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(diwant @ May 10 2007, 09:14 PM)
Hehe.. no choice, have to use manual focus. be patience and u'll get the desired results!!
oh use manual focus...i use auto focus blush.gif
clemong_888
post May 11 2007, 06:56 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

faster shutter speed as well.. preferably, use alot of lighting
turbovtec
post May 11 2007, 07:20 AM

35 posts

yes, use manual focus. lock on the subjects. wait for the water. open fire. hahaha...400D got 3fps . but it good enough
simmytan
post May 11 2007, 02:10 PM

115 posts

jian, thou you are just starting but you got talent, and you have very nice artistic sense, some photographers are seriously lacking those. really can't wait to see more pictures from you. Yours gallery offer something different than what i normally see here. wink.gif

andrewng88
post May 11 2007, 03:48 PM

Delighting You Always
805 posts

i like your window shots ! great stuffs !
TSjian.see
post May 11 2007, 06:33 PM

69 posts

milky
post May 11 2007, 07:30 PM

- King -
4,743 posts

@jian
u doin tis water drop @ basin is it?

This post has been edited by milky: May 11 2007, 07:30 PM
TSjian.see
post May 11 2007, 07:41 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(milky @ May 11 2007, 08:30 PM)
@jian
u doin tis water drop @ basin is it? wat is the setting u make on ur camera? coz i also wanted to test it myself too.. tq
yupe..i use f1.8 iso 800 or 400, and the shutter speed around 1/200 and the thungsten light, cos i want it to be blue hehehe....they say must use manual focus so i'll try next time..i'm not satisfy with the result that i have posted above blush.gif

This post has been edited by jian.see: May 11 2007, 07:47 PM
diwant
post May 11 2007, 11:41 PM

295 posts

yes, use manual focus easier to lock the splash point, since u can 'agak-agak' where the splash point will be after a few drops... if u use built-in flash, ur manual metering will set at 1/200 max, with ISO400, then try play with f4 to f8 for personal preference..
TSjian.see
post May 12 2007, 03:44 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(diwant @ May 12 2007, 12:41 AM)
yes, use manual focus easier to lock the splash point, since u can 'agak-agak' where the splash point will be after a few drops... if u use built-in flash, ur manual metering will set at 1/200 max, with ISO400, then try play with f4 to f8 for personal preference..
thanks for the guide smile.gif
TSjian.see
post May 12 2007, 04:05 PM

69 posts

i try more shoot today, with deeper water...but still...haiz..hard to take nice pic sad.gif

do i improve from the first version?? pls say yes blush.gif

This post has been edited by jian.see: May 12 2007, 07:21 PM
Aurora Boreali
post May 12 2007, 06:05 PM

470 posts

Nice shots! Keep the photos coming!

Btw, I think you used the wrong word for you caption... You meant 纯 right?
TSjian.see
post May 12 2007, 07:23 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ May 12 2007, 07:05 PM)
Nice shots! Keep the photos coming!

Btw, I think you used the wrong word for you caption... You meant 纯 right?
is it..paiseh...my chinese not good laugh.gif
cityfish
post May 13 2007, 10:43 AM

666 posts

The second droplets series looked nicer and sharper thumbup.gif

You may want to invest on macro lens if you like this theme... tongue.gif
TSjian.see
post May 16 2007, 12:21 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(cityfish @ May 13 2007, 11:43 AM)
The second droplets series looked nicer and sharper thumbup.gif

You may want to invest on macro lens if you like this theme... tongue.gif
thanks smile.gif

do u think by using the macro filter will do??
g88
post May 16 2007, 12:42 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ May 16 2007, 12:21 AM)
thanks smile.gif

hahaha so fast kena poison by close up filter whistling.gif ...

Ps : it's not call macro filter..since it's only closer not macro... sweat.gif
cityfish
post May 16 2007, 12:44 AM

666 posts

thanks smile.gif

Yes. A cheap solution for macro shots, you may check on my gallery with a +4 Close Up. But...hehehe to be frank, there is no way to come close to the macro lens, you may check on Ahleong gallery on that. sweat.gif
kjin
post May 16 2007, 01:07 AM

227 posts

thanks smile.gif

QUOTE(cityfish @ May 16 2007, 12:44 AM)
Yes. A cheap solution for macro shots, you may check on my gallery with a +4 Close Up. But...hehehe to be frank, there is no way to come close to the macro lens, you may check on Ahleong gallery on that. sweat.gif
there is a way brows.gif to get nicer "macro shots" if you don't have a macro lens without spending anything. i've tried with my 50mm and the result is in my thread smile.gif
simmytan
post May 16 2007, 03:25 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(kjin @ May 16 2007, 01:07 AM)
there is a way  brows.gif  to get nicer "macro shots" if you don't have a macro lens without spending anything. i've tried with my 50mm and the result is in my thread smile.gif
did you mean lens reversing? or is there any other method? Mind sharing?

kjin
post May 16 2007, 05:26 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(simmytan @ May 16 2007, 03:25 PM)
did you mean lens reversing? or is there any other method? Mind sharing?
yeps as discussed in another thread as well brows.gif
TSjian.see
post May 20 2007, 08:07 PM

69 posts

Ok...Langkawi trip now...

sadly....it was raining everyday...no beach pic sad.gif.....

but this is the only 1, actually it was dizziling when i take this pic laugh.gif

porto malai...the only pic with nice sky , take in the early morining b4 it start to rain again

pregnant lake...
[/img]http://farm1.static.flickr.com/204/504288337_c184f7e359_o.jpg[/img]

[/img]http://farm1.static.flickr.com/204/504286895_1b517791e2_o.jpg[/img]

This post has been edited by jian.see: May 20 2007, 08:09 PM
how to save a life
post May 20 2007, 08:09 PM

nayeon ♥♥♥♥♥
830 posts

nice..shot
TSjian.see
post May 20 2007, 08:14 PM

69 posts

round sand biggrin.gif
cityfish
post May 20 2007, 08:17 PM

666 posts

The color a bit.... too saturate....
ora-ito
post May 20 2007, 10:13 PM

176 posts

thanks smile.gif

hi jian.see,
there are few was to take "macro" shots
first using a close up filter, they come in diff flavours +1, +2, +3, +4,.. +10
if u have a 50mm lens, u can invert the lens and it becomes a magnifier... although it works, but metering, etc hav to be set manually
u might wanna check out extension tubes by kenko. the lower ur lens mm, the better the magnification effect

my method of taking macro shots is by using my tele with a +4 filter and hitting it 200mm u can check out some samples i took on my thread.
TSjian.see
post May 21 2007, 07:28 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(ora-ito @ May 20 2007, 11:13 PM)
hi jian.see,
there are few was to take "macro" shots
first using a close up filter, they come in diff flavours +1, +2, +3, +4,.. +10
if u have a 50mm lens, u can invert the lens and it becomes a magnifier... although it works, but metering, etc hav to be set manually
u might wanna check out extension tubes by kenko. the lower ur lens mm, the better the magnification effect

my method of taking macro shots is by using my tele with a +4 filter and hitting it 200mm u can check out some samples i took on my thread.
thanks for yr info. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jian.see: May 24 2007, 08:08 PM
TSjian.see
post May 24 2007, 08:08 PM

69 posts

c&c pls

lvyk
post May 24 2007, 10:36 PM

144 posts

Nice... Interesting words and pictures... rclxms.gif
Like can put in Student Magazine to teach student... nod.gif
Andy0625
post May 24 2007, 10:43 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

What editting software you use yeah ?
Nice pic
TSjian.see
post May 25 2007, 07:07 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ May 24 2007, 11:43 PM)
What editting software you use yeah ?
Nice pic
adobe photoshop smile.gif

This post has been edited by jian.see: May 25 2007, 07:07 AM
leetplayer
post May 25 2007, 12:38 PM

O'le
984 posts

Love your pictures..very colour saturated biggrin.gif
the round sand is made by crabs right? tongue.gif
cityfish
post May 26 2007, 01:24 AM

666 posts

The leave series very nice color and good composition...

the 1st pic, flash too strong...
simmytan
post May 26 2007, 11:20 AM

115 posts

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/216/5042553...ca2d2116f_o.jpg

i like this one the most, love the composition and the contrast between the orange and the overall blue background
TSjian.see
post May 29 2007, 07:57 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(leetplayer @ May 25 2007, 01:38 PM)
Love your pictures..very colour saturated biggrin.gif
the round sand is made by crabs right? tongue.gif
yupe it is due to the crab wink.gif

QUOTE(cityfish @ May 26 2007, 02:24 AM)
The leave series very nice color and good composition...

the 1st pic, flash too strong...
errmm..i didnt use flash for the first pic smile.gif

TSjian.see
post May 29 2007, 07:58 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(simmytan @ May 26 2007, 12:20 PM)
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/216/5042553...ca2d2116f_o.jpg

i like this one the most, love the composition and the contrast between the orange and the overall blue background
thanks, will post more pics soon tongue.gif
cityfish
post May 29 2007, 08:15 AM

666 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ May 29 2007, 07:57 AM)
errmm..i didnt use flash for the first pic smile.gif
Oppss... sorry, since i saw reflections on the leaves so i tot it was being flashed... notworthy.gif
TSjian.see
post May 30 2007, 06:58 PM

69 posts

RED Series...biggrin.gif:D..C&C are most welcome
all the pics are taken with the kit lens or the 50mm f1.8

CompMac
post May 30 2007, 07:19 PM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

Some of the pictures look a bit underexposed. Cactus field is nice.
afs
post May 30 2007, 07:35 PM

294 posts

I like the one with the insect. How close was the camera?
ora-ito
post May 30 2007, 11:46 PM

176 posts

wah... the pics very very warm...
something dosen't feel that rite IMHO
Aurora Boreali
post May 31 2007, 12:04 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(ora-ito @ May 30 2007, 11:46 PM)
wah... the pics very very warm...
something dosen't feel that rite IMHO
It's personal preference, I like it biggrin.gif
TSjian.see
post Jun 1 2007, 02:01 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(afs @ May 30 2007, 08:35 PM)
I like the one with the insect. How close was the camera?
how close... dunno wo...the closet i can get by kit lens and the 50mm prime lens blush.gif
VincC454
post Jun 1 2007, 04:00 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

too red until cannot see the petals already..
scotty
post Jun 1 2007, 05:44 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

wah. all very nice. nicely captured rclxms.gif
kevinyong84
post Jun 1 2007, 05:58 PM

777 posts

haha~ goot title which draw me in ! red red ya ~ i tot what red wor....

very RED !!!!
gold3knight
post Jun 1 2007, 11:37 PM

1,672 posts

tooooo saturated for your red series until details have been lost.
cityfish
post Jun 2 2007, 03:24 PM

666 posts

I can feel like CNY coming.... rclxm9.gif
TSjian.see
post Jun 10 2007, 09:38 AM

69 posts

Thanks for the comment guys...will try harder next time..hehehe.

recently i take some potrait pic..will post it here later biggrin.gif
diwant
post Jun 10 2007, 10:21 AM

295 posts

the composition are good on all the pictures, very well done dude.. only the red are too red.. hehe

0.0361sec    1.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:16 PM