Jan 13 2018, 09:23 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
623 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jan 13 2018, 07:14 AM) Original: How to achieve the ori image, more 6k or 4k lights needed+Warmer: +More warmer: Anyway, you can mix 6500k light and 4000k light to get the effect you want, not necessary have to use one type of colour temperature. For me, I use 4000k for most of my house lighting, good for your eyes and have relaxing effect. |
Jan 13 2018, 09:25 AM
Show posts by this member only | Post
2,948 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
if you have few light switch you can have 2 different color sets.
if you only have 1, you can install E27 downlight casing and use Philip sceneswitch which has 2 colors in 1 bulb when you want to change color just flip the lights off and on again. but next time you turn off it will reset to default color. so maybe abit troublesome. Sceneswitch also has another bulb that has 3 levels of brightness. i think daylight is more of a balance for you. |
Jan 13 2018, 05:42 PM
11,308 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
4000K has been perfect for me. Not too yellow, not too white. It’s bright too
Jan 14 2018, 07:30 PM
2,140 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 13 2018, 05:42 PM) Ditto. Perfect working light esp in kitchens, laundry yard.QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 13 2018, 09:25 AM) if you have few light switch you can have 2 different color sets. Good to know.if you only have 1, you can install E27 downlight casing and use Philip sceneswitch which has 2 colors in 1 bulb when you want to change color just flip the lights off and on again. but next time you turn off it will reset to default color. so maybe abit troublesome. Sceneswitch also has another bulb that has 3 levels of brightness. i think daylight is more of a balance for you. This post has been edited by halcyon27: Jan 14 2018, 07:31 PM |
Jan 16 2018, 11:14 AM
10,510 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Atlanta |
QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Jan 13 2018, 02:06 AM) Hi guys, this is the lighting feel i would like to get for my living room. what color temperature should i choose? Thanks to all sifu in advance. Base on your picture itself, you would need more 4000k bulb.Note, adjustment of white balance in your picture play a big role to compare what you expect in actual. |
Jan 16 2018, 11:18 AM
1,420 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
do not put 3000k in your living room, it will make your house very dull and making you tired easier. but best install in bedroom.
recommend 4000k for your living room/study room. best for eyes and comfort optimum. mine, i put mix of 6000k and 4000k in my living room. |
Jan 16 2018, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jan 16 2018, 11:18 AM) do not put 3000k in your living room, it will make your house very dull and making you tired easier. but best install in bedroom. <=3000K actually healthy in the sense that we go to sleep easier. It's the overly blue that keeps us awake past the sleeping time. recommend 4000k for your living room/study room. best for eyes and comfort optimum. mine, i put mix of 6000k and 4000k in my living room. Working area or kitchen should use 4000K. >=4000K for drive way, porch, balcony, dry yard, etc. Off topic but related to lighting, try to use f.lux on Pcs/Mac. It will adjust the ambient screen lighting better to induce a good night's sleep. There's an option to pair it with Philips Hue lights and or Philips ColorKinetics Intelliwhite fixtures on your home network. Color temp ranges (can be expanded to 9300K by tweaking options) This is what it's set as of 9:25pm: This post has been edited by halcyon27: Jan 16 2018, 09:31 PM |
Jan 16 2018, 12:04 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
17,021 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Jan 16 2018, 11:39 AM) <=3000K actually healthy in the sense that we go to sleep easier. It's the overly blue that keeps us awake past the sleeping time. It is not for sleep easier. More important is on your eye when you get old.Working area or kitchen should use 4000K. >=4000K for drive way, porch, balcony, dry yard, etc. Off topic but related to lighting, try to use f.lux on Pcs/Mac. It will adjust the ambient screen lighting better to induce a good night's sleep. If you expose long in high brightness like over 5k or crazy 6.5k, you will have problem with seeing at dark when you get old. It will be too late when you knew it. Your eye is already long enough to expose daylight uv for 12hr. Don't get another 6hr at night for crazy brightness. |
Jan 16 2018, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 16 2018, 12:04 PM) It is not for sleep easier. More important is on your eye when you get old. True true. Prevent macular damage.If you expose long in high brightness like over 5k or crazy 6.5k, you will have problem with seeing at dark when you get old. It will be too late when you knew it. Your eye is already long enough to expose daylight uv for 12hr. Don't get another 6hr at night for crazy brightness. |
Jan 16 2018, 12:13 PM
9,336 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Whiter light will be more tiring for your eyes.
Warmer tones (cutting out the blue) will be easier on your eyes. It also depends overall on your room's colour scheme, furniture colours etc. As it will effect how "nice" it looks... some colours just doesnt match the lighting. |
| Change to: | 0.0183sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:37 AM |