SSD Upgrade Problem!, Macbook Pro Mid 2012

TSTechnicalGuy
post Jan 12 2018, 01:04 PM, updated 8y ago

Hello all,

Recently I bought a Samsung EVO 850 SSD to upgrade my Macbook Pro Mid 2012 default HDD (running 10.10 Yosemite).

#1. So i open the backcover and change the SSD. then install fresh OS Sierra 10.12 using bootable USB and restore backup from my Time Machine after that.

#2. Everything works perfectly for the first day. On the second day, when I open my VMware fusion, my mac hang, beachball spinning and kernel panic crashed, auto restart went into recovery. No choice, so i reformat the SSD, reinstall fresh OS and restore backup from Time Machine again. i thought the culprit was the VMware fusion so i reinstall the latest version VMware fusion. Everything works perfectly fine for 2 weeks.

#3. After 2 weeks, out of sudden the Acrobat Reader prompt me to update. So I click "yes" as usual to update. then suddenly my Mac acting very slow... then the beach ball keep spinning, my CPU temp getting high to to 80c++. i waited for 15mins its still same. I unable to shut down my mac normally. so i force close my Mac by pressing the physical power button. When I try to turn on the PC again. I got a Prohibited/No Entry sign.

#4. Since i have my backup, so i went into recovery mode and format the SSD again, but it have some error saying that I can't format my SSD. So I take out my SSD and put back my default HDD, everything run perfectly. So i put the SSD into external enclosure and verify & repair the SSD using disk utilities. Having some hiccups but was able to format it into Mac OS Extended (Journaled) , GUID, .

#5. So this time I using Carbon Copy Cloner app to clone my default HDD to the SSD. After completed, I shut down my Mac and replace the SSD to the internal SATA drive. My Mac able to turn on normally, so i was happily using as usual. But I realised alot of the app is not functioning, like my Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Excel etc.. So i reinstall a fresh copy of Chrome, it works perfectly after that.

#6. So i reinstall my app one by one. Then I realised the App Store is not working too, so i tried to search is there any link in Apple website i can download and Reinstall App Store, the answer is NO! Then out of sudden without doing anything, the colorful beachball is spinning (same as #2, #3) my CPU temp getting high to to 80c++. i waited for 20 mins its still same. I unable to shut down my mac normally. so i force close my Mac by pressing the physical power button. When I try to turn on the PC again. I got a Folder with (?) Question Mark.

Now I put back my default HDD and everything working perfectly fine as usual... really tired of trying and changing to SSD

Can anyone advise/ pin point what could be the issue? Did i do anything wrong? notworthy.gif

Thanks for your time for reading.

Sifu wei Mac Man @ LYF can help me on this please? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by TechnicalGuy: Jan 12 2018, 02:16 PM
ufaiq
post Jan 12 2018, 01:14 PM

117 posts

Try launching cmd, adjust the time of the mac before installing OS. Just a guess
orangutan
post Jan 13 2018, 04:30 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(TechnicalGuy @ Jan 12 2018, 01:04 PM)
Hello all,

Recently I bought a Samsung EVO 850 SSD to upgrade my Macbook Pro Mid 2012 default HDD (running 10.10 Yosemite).

#1. So i open the backcover and change the SSD. then install fresh OS Sierra 10.12 using bootable USB and restore backup from my Time Machine after that.

#2. Everything works perfectly for the first day. On the second day, when I open my VMware fusion, my mac hang, beachball spinning and kernel panic crashed, auto restart went into recovery. No choice, so i reformat the SSD, reinstall fresh OS and restore backup from Time Machine again.  i thought the culprit was the VMware fusion so i reinstall the latest version VMware fusion. Everything works perfectly fine for 2 weeks.

#3. After 2 weeks, out of sudden the Acrobat Reader prompt me to update. So I click "yes" as usual to update. then suddenly my Mac acting very slow... then the beach ball keep spinning, my CPU temp getting high to to 80c++. i waited for 15mins its still same. I unable to shut down my mac normally. so i force close my Mac by pressing the physical power button. When I try to turn on the PC again. I got a Prohibited/No Entry sign.

#4.  Since i have my backup, so i went into recovery mode and format the SSD again, but it have some error saying that I can't format my SSD. So I take out my SSD and put back my default HDD, everything run perfectly. So i put the SSD into external enclosure and verify & repair the SSD using disk utilities. Having some hiccups but was able to format it into Mac OS Extended (Journaled) , GUID, .

#5. So this time I using Carbon Copy Cloner app to clone my default HDD to the SSD. After completed, I shut down my Mac and replace the SSD to the internal SATA drive. My Mac able to turn on normally, so i was happily using as usual. But I realised alot of the app is not functioning, like my Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Excel etc.. So i reinstall a fresh copy of Chrome, it works perfectly after that.

#6. So i reinstall my app one by one. Then I realised the App Store is not working too, so i tried to search is there any link in Apple website i can download and Reinstall App Store, the answer is NO! Then out of sudden without doing anything, the colorful beachball is spinning (same as #2, #3) my CPU temp getting high to to 80c++. i waited for 20 mins its still same. I unable to shut down my mac normally. so i force close my Mac by pressing the physical power button. When I try to turn on the PC again. I got a Folder with (?) Question Mark.
Now I put back my default HDD and everything working perfectly fine as usual... really tired of trying and changing to SSD

Can anyone advise/ pin point what could be the issue? Did i do anything wrong? notworthy.gif

Thanks for your time for reading.

Sifu wei Mac Man @ LYF can help me on this please?  notworthy.gif
It could be your ssd. Call Samsung and ask them to check your ssd serial number.

acbc
post Jan 13 2018, 04:33 PM

9,050 posts

Don't restore from backup especially system and user apps. Data ok.
wei
post Jan 13 2018, 08:30 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Send it over if you want to get it fixed. This is nothing we can solve over the forum. Clearly this is not just software issue.
TSTechnicalGuy
post Jan 13 2018, 11:58 PM

QUOTE(orangutan @ Jan 13 2018, 04:30 PM)
It could be your ssd. Call Samsung and ask them to check your ssd serial number.
Will try with other brand SSD see how

QUOTE(acbc @ Jan 13 2018, 04:33 PM)
Don't restore from backup especially system and user apps. Data ok.
I restore from TimeMachine. Can select restore Data only? hmm.gif

QUOTE(wei @ Jan 13 2018, 08:30 PM)
Send it over if you want to get it fixed. This is nothing we can solve over the forum. Clearly this is not just software issue.
ok bro. thanks for your reply! Will PM if im going over. icon_rolleyes.gif
acbc
post Jan 14 2018, 12:08 AM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(TechnicalGuy @ Jan 13 2018, 11:58 PM)
Will try with other brand SSD see how
I restore from TimeMachine. Can select restore Data only?  hmm.gif
ok bro. thanks for your reply! Will PM if im going over.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Not sure because I don't use TM. I usually will backup only data manually to an external hard drive. Once done, will wipe internal drive clean and reinstall. I'm guessing TM backed up entire drive when still on HDD. Now with SSD, hardware is different.

On Windows, there's something called UID is very unique to each machine. Any changes to hardware will also change the UID. On the Mac, same. Which is why u shouldn't restore from image backup like TM.

0.0155sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:03 AM