Genting Highlands, Staff quarters environment & workings

dodo g
post Feb 28 2009, 02:29 PM

21 posts

Basically for genting staff, if they want access internet, they will go to the mcd, kfc, starbuck,... to surf net. Some will apply streamxy connection at their room. Staff are allow to do it since the room hv phoone cable.

Beside that some hv broadband connection from maxis,.... so not problem to access internet.

If u r not work 4 long time at there, u better go to ourside surf free wifi. If u planning want work for long period, then can apply the streamxy.

For senior executive above they staf at RSC 8 who got free wifi connection, then no problem 4 u, if u stay at thr.

dodo g
post Feb 28 2009, 04:46 PM

21 posts

Actually work at GHR quite fun if u know how to enjoy.

The benefit genting offer quite good. They provide accomodation, meal package/meal elaun.

For accomodation. They got many RSC at thr, for temporary staff usually will be place at RSC 1 n apartment (sorry i forgot the 2 apartment name). Environment at RSC 1 quite ok. there got family quarter (the lower level). Upper level not so good, i heard have to share with many ppl. If in family quater, in side got 2 room. Big room 4 ppl, small room 2 ppl. Inside got living room, kitchen area (can't cook), 1 toilet.

Anyway, is oso depend on u stay v who. Is u r a person who like clean, then u roomate/housemate not care any, wat can u do? Ai..... js do wat u can do, u satisfied ur requirement then ok loh. happy.gif

For executive, they mostly stay at RSC 4,5,6. Executive usually is 2 person per room. Toilet share with 2 room.

For meal, staff usually have 1 meal package. for casino staff they take the free meal at staff canteen. For outlet staff they take at the outlet. For executive above the hv around 980 meal allowance for them to eat at the genting outlet (exclude kfc, mcd- 3rd party). So actually can save $$$ for meal. Beside that in RSC oso hv staff canteen. The price is reasonable. But dun take so much, a lot of msg. happy.gif

Working environment. Is depend on your working place. Casino staff work at casino, shift schedule. Got smoke free area, is better 4 coupier since is non smoke area. Some customer smoke very strong. so sometime can't tahan. so more is shift work, so you will go through un-normal time ( night work, day sleep). Anyway day n night oso same, cause oso dark if ur room can't get sun light.

Working at outlet, wah very tough! Shift shedule or certain outlet got break shift. work at oulet need to serve customer directly, so can't do chin chai. some customer very nice, if u serve them very good, they will give ur some coupon, price....If u didn't do properly, teruk, kena supervisor scold.

Work at hotel (counter-FOA), hv the policy to go through. need to help customer about the room problem. Oso in shift schedule. Certain time very buzy. Especially holiday (no only malaysia), a lot of tourist. Then tat time u know lah, every where oso got ppl. wan to eat at outlet oso hard to find place.

dodo g
post Mar 4 2009, 12:52 AM

21 posts

U right, if not plan to stay long period at thr, better js suft net at wifi outlet.
i dun think thr got tmnet agent. so u better apply at kl.

dodo g
post Mar 9 2009, 11:15 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(cyyl @ Mar 7 2009, 02:10 AM)
Well..The question how is IT ppls work in genting quite subjective.
Some ppl might find it fun to work thr some might not.
Typically, most of the IT ppls will have to support 24 x 7 with carry a pager.
User will call you even midnite if they face problem.

For IT at genting highland, there is no development team which develop application.
But there do has application support teams like Casino application support team and Hotel team.
The IT department in genting highland r divide into 2 portion (eGenting and IT planning n service).

For eGenting portion
- mostly are provide application support
- then they try to solve the problem. If can't solve, they will escalate the incident to 2nd level in genting highland.
-eGenting as 2nd level support.
- Wisma genting is the 1st level support. User (from genting highland) will call the hotline number and the IT staff at wisma genting will pickup the call and get to know the problem face by user.
- divide to several team (POS team, Theme Park team, server team, casino team, hotel team,backup team, desktop team,...)
- so different team support different application in different area. Eg: Theme Park team support application use in theme park, desktop team support the office application (os, software, hardware...).
- certain team hv shift schedule. But mostly they provide 24x7 support.
- the work scope js in genting highland only, not include wisma genting.
- sometimes need to standby for certain purpose, so need to back to office at midnight until morning (not fix)

For IT planning n service portion
- this team doing the planning part
- do approvation task 4 certain application

* both portion office is different

Added on March 9, 2009, 11:26 pm
QUOTE(Rocan @ Mar 8 2009, 12:16 AM)
I'm not quite sure but I heard of it before. They will place you at various department like FO, F&B, Sales & Marketing, Casinos, and will let you try a few department as a rank and file staff. Then after like a few month, you will be doing management task.
The best thing of this programe is although you are working as FOA or coupier, you are enjoying management salary and entitlement.
As i know management trainee (MT) program in genting quite good. as reply by rocan, MT will go to many deparment. They need to do report about wat they get from each department. the program is around 1 or 2 year period. after the program, based on the performance they will place u at most suitable department. but mostly is at outlet, casino n hotel. then MT will becum assistance manager (AM) or manager, so in executive position in office environment. If in outlet, casino n hotel is more on management environment.

This post has been edited by dodo g: Mar 9 2009, 11:26 PM
dodo g
post Mar 11 2009, 10:26 PM

21 posts

Hihi happy.gif, last time i do my practical training at thr. so i js share wat i know. hope can help.

For your question, genting staff of course can dye hair. but dun to over, i means dye blue, pink, green,...... see like 'gengster' look. sometime maybe ur supervisor or superior may dun like it, especially those who need to deal v customer like FOA, application support staff,...so is depends. If dye normal colour like red brown, brown..i think is ok. most of the staff at her also dye their hair.
dodo g
post Mar 14 2009, 12:40 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(Rocan @ Mar 11 2009, 11:56 PM)
Thats good...but another question...
I heard that in genting, most of their high management staff are old till most of them spent more then 10 years over there...which means if they still remains there, the lower management staff would not get the opportunity to be promote until the day the high management leaves...
Is that ture and any idea on the prospect over there?
if u think u r more capable that the old management staff (usually v call senior staff), then u think u can be promoted?

if u do more than others, u do the best, u performance good, good attitude, i believe someone will hv a look on u and u will get wat u want.

i know if senior staff c u better than them, they may boikot u or give u trouble, u think others company no this kind of situation? office politic any company oso hv, include the gov agency.

u need to set u target, try to achieve ur target in good way (not back door). i know sometimes others will say u pretend be friend v them, when get will u want u will leave them. so, u need to build good relationship v every level of ppl (not 'cha hai' lah), js be nice v other, be sincere. thumbup.gif

dodo g
post Mar 14 2009, 04:30 PM

21 posts

in my view if u really can contribute to the company, the big boss will remember u, they will promote u to becum higher n higher. they can warn the senior staff to becum more competent if not, their place will be replace by the more capable staff.

a company wouldn't give all high position to the old staff (age >40), they will give chance to young generaton, cause both hv diff view, young one will want to hv changes on current workflow, but old generation they prefer maintain current workflow, cause changes is a hard step to do.

if realy u boikoting by others senior staff, n wat u did taken by the senior staff as their own, so u can think to change job. if u r a capable person, do u worry others company wouldn't accept u? u worry ur pay will lower than current???

be open minded, do the best in good way. thumbup.gif

0.0153sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:05 PM