Official TP-Link C1200 V1(EU) Firmware is out, Hidden WDS functionality works!, Page 29

Garena
post Apr 18 2020, 02:16 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Oct 1 2019, 07:27 PM)
hi, does the new revision of TP-Link Archer C1200 with new TP-Link Logo and new unifi Logo instead of TM Logo still suffer from random reboot, auto restart, or any other common C1200 issue?

it's still the same version of Archer C1200 v1.0 , came with 1.0.0 Build 20180403 rel.22124 (EU) firmware preinstalled out of box.

thx in adv.

[attachmentid=10324411]
TP-Link Archer C1200 with the latest firmware (seems like the final firmware) for TM unifi (16-5-2018) and for TIME (02-05-2018) with or without the TM logo still suffer from the same random reboot problem. If you flash the TIME firmware also can't fix the problem but you can still use it for unifi internet over PPPoE and you can change your SSID as you like it without the hardcoded username@unifi https://www.tp-link.com/my/support/download...00/v1/#Firmware

Another critical problem is the Wi-Fi is unstable + low bandwidth issue when you're initially connect to the wireless router after you've turned off Wi-Fi previously. If you're using iPhone or iPad, you can solve it by turning off and on the Wi-Fi in Control Center (swipe up from the bottom for iPhone 8 and below, swipe down from the top right corner for iPhone X and above), don't do it in Settings -> Wi-Fi [On/Off] as it will not solve the problem.

TP-Link doesn't disappoint customers in releasing crap + trash wireless router. I'm amazed by the TP-Link fanboys or they just don't know there are better routers out there for the same or lower price.

On the side note if you want a rock solid router or wireless router, go for MikroTik. 6 months uptime also no problem, you can bet your money on it.

This post has been edited by Garena: Apr 18 2020, 08:45 AM
Garena
post Apr 18 2020, 11:54 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Apr 18 2020, 03:52 AM)
Can recommend better router in the same or similar price range? Tenda? How about D-Link, would you say they're better than TPLink? I see some D-Link haters around the net, too.

I'll look up Mikrotik. Are they compatible with Unifi & HyppTV?
You can consider MikroTik hAP ac2 for home use, it's suitable for 500 Mbps unifi subscription plan. Based on the technical specifications hAP ac2 is a 2x2 spatial stream wireless router. For a 2x2 wireless router the maximum theoretical bandwidth you can get is 866.7 Mbps if your device is also a 2x2 spatial stream wireless device then in real world performance you'll get around 650 Mbps in an open air and close to the router condition considering if the CPU is powerful enough. But the hAP ac2 CPU is not powerful enough to achieve that kind of wireless speed so you'll only able to get around 400 Mbps even though with established 866.7 Mbps link speed.

If your unifi subscription plan is 800 Mbps then probably you should consider MikroTik RB4011iGS+RM. This quad-core router is powerful enough to handle unifi 800 Mbps or TIME 1 Gbps at the same time can future-proof your home network or office network for the coming 5 or maybe 10 years if in the future your internet plan is upgraded to 2 Gbps or 4 Gbps, but then is "if" only lah laugh.gif. But the thing is you have to add your own access point though because it's not a wireless router. For that you can consider MikroTik cAP ac or access points from vendors like Ubiquiti Networks for home use or Aruba Networks for enterprise use if your clients are a lot, like 100 to 200 concurrent clients connect to one single access point. The superiority of the Wi-Fi radios inside the access point matters especially when you want to fully utilize the subscribed bandwidth over Wi-Fi.

This post has been edited by Garena: Apr 19 2020, 04:44 PM
Garena
post Apr 23 2020, 12:22 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Apr 18 2020, 09:23 PM)
Thanks for the info & recommendation. From the little googling that I've done on the hAP AC2, the price is reasonable although not strictly cheap. Also, I noticed the router's UI looks a bit...dated? It's bereft of all the nice UI elements from the mainstream router brands. I have no doubt it's very powerful though. Is the barebones UI found on all Mikrotik routers?
What's your internet subscription plan? 100 Mbps, 300 Mbps, 500 Mbps or 800 Mbps?

Which UI are you talking about? The winbox UI or the web UI? For me UI ugly doesn't matter, what matters is the efficiency and stability. In fact if you're using winbox the network information you can get is incredible.

0.0510sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:47 AM