Rays TE37 & CE30, Where to buy? Ori vs replica price?

TSGive_me_5ive
post Jan 7 2018, 12:30 PM, updated 8y ago

Dear sifus, I gonna collect my civic x soon and planning to change rim immediately. Any place or contact to find rays rim with good price? M looking for 18’ inch. Pro and con ori vs replica rim?
6UE5T
post Jan 7 2018, 10:45 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Give_me_5ive @ Jan 7 2018, 12:30 PM)
Dear sifus, I gonna collect my civic x soon and planning to change rim immediately. Any place or contact to find rays rim with good price? M looking for 18’ inch. Pro and con ori vs replica rim?
If cannot afford the ori then just don't! Just buy cheaper rims but not replica/fakes coz the fakes are an unknown to what standards they're made. That's why they're very cheap.
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jan 8 2018, 09:31 AM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

if can go for ori.

if cannot afford just use stock.

fake or replica don't have standard. if anything happen you die, others innocent people also can die. better take care of you and others.

in my opinion nowadays stock rim already good looking and size nicely done.

why you want go 18? rim also want ciplak, tyre u also sure choose lauya one. more danger.

pls pls pls
TSGive_me_5ive
post Jan 8 2018, 10:29 AM

Thanks for the advice!
leehernandez
post Jan 8 2018, 01:00 PM

QUOTE(Give_me_5ive @ Jan 7 2018, 12:30 PM)
first is the price.price different is high.for ori at least 7k above(once i check the 17inch 9j spec rm7.5k for used one,new is difficult to get).those immitation in market around rm1.5k++
second is the quality.quality is for ori rim of course better.those rays are forged rim.so it is obvious stronger.but they even can break.i visited the half cut place,i saw broken ori rims including rays.maybe they use it for racing purpose..car went into collision.im not sure.so for immitation u can imagine the quality yourself.by the way,for daily use i don't think it is pretty bad.most of my car club friend use immitation.no big issue for fast driving/forced handling etc
just my opinion.
mcliong1
post Jan 10 2018, 10:40 AM

90 posts

First of all the price. ori might more then 8k while copy are around 1.6k to 2.2k if 18". Second is the quality because the ori 1 they made it with quality material that can withstand torture, while copy not sure what material they used... but is up to you to use copy or ori...
6UE5T
post Jan 10 2018, 04:50 PM

1,704 posts

Besides price and strength, it's also the weight. Original TE37 is a forged rim, well known to be very lightweight yet stronger. The original one can weigh 2-3kg lighter/pc for the same size than the fakes and that's a noticeable difference in car performance (accelerating, braking, even handling), and fuel consumption.

Anyway just avoid fakes la, no good one. There are already cases of fake rims easily bent, even cracked. I saw myself also a fake 15' CE28, the lip dented in 2 places despite still using big thick profile tires. Just imagine if using 18' with thin profile tires, might have cracked. If not much budget, then just buy original Taiwan rims like Advanti or Enkei Tuning, those are still decent quality made and some models are even pretty lightweight too. No point showing off with fake Rays or whatever. People who know rims also will be able to tell so what's the point?
wkc5657
post Jan 10 2018, 04:57 PM

564 posts

Can't afford rays volk racing range, at least can have a look at the gramlight series. Or look around mudah.my website for 2nd hand units.

Anyway, no hurry la....just use the stock one for the time being. From what you wrote, you're upsizing, meaning you'll need to factor in the cost of new set of tyres also (at least another 2000 on top of the rims).
6UE5T
post Jan 10 2018, 05:09 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jan 10 2018, 04:57 PM)
Can't afford rays volk racing range, at least can have a look at the gramlight series. Or look around mudah.my website for 2nd hand units.

Anyway, no hurry la....just use the stock one for the time being. From what you wrote, you're upsizing, meaning you'll need to factor in the cost of new set of tyres also (at least another 2000 on top of the rims).
Gramlights also not cheap, some even try to sell almost like Volk Racing forged line up just because it's also made by Rays.

Yup, no point showing off with big rims (fake some more!) then use shit China or whatever unknown tires to save cost! Too many examples like this already on the road, just dumb! doh.gif
McFD2R
post Jan 11 2018, 08:54 AM

1,074 posts

My TE37 Diamond Black 18/8.5/52+ took 3 months to arrive after order. Cost me RM13.5k back about 4-5 years ago. Took many abuses at Sepang and our local shitty roads. From FD2R to 2015 WRX STI. Now will migrate to my Forestor once it has passed 10,000 km on my odo. Generic sizes and color for TE37 will be cheaper than mine since my size wasn't widely used, hence the price factor and delivery time.

Go for original or quality cheaper brands. Don't be an Ah Beng going for all show but no go.
6UE5T
post Jan 12 2018, 10:40 AM

1,704 posts

Just buy some used original ones like examples below, good enough rather than buy new but fakes.

https://www.mudah.my/Work+emotion+cr+18x8+5...ms-61806103.htm

https://www.mudah.my/SSR+GT7+18x8+5j+off35+...AN-57721925.htm
wkc5657
post Jan 12 2018, 11:02 AM

564 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 12 2018, 10:40 AM)
Just buy some used original ones like examples below, good enough rather than buy new but fakes.

https://www.mudah.my/Work+emotion+cr+18x8+5...ms-61806103.htm

https://www.mudah.my/SSR+GT7+18x8+5j+off35+...AN-57721925.htm
Not sure about the SSR but the work emotion wheels quite berat wor....may not have much or any weight advantage compared to stock. Well, at least looks more aggressive.

The inset profile maybe a little too much poke considering the width.
6UE5T
post Jan 12 2018, 01:11 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jan 12 2018, 11:02 AM)
Not sure about the SSR but the work emotion wheels quite berat wor....may not have much or any weight advantage compared to stock. Well, at least looks more aggressive.

The inset profile maybe a little too much poke considering the width.
Work Emotion has 2 types, the Emotion CR Kai which is normal cast and heavy, and the Emotion CR only (without Kai) which is forged lightweight type. That one I posted seems to be the lighter type but not 100% sure though. The size is nice for big RWD cars.
wkc5657
post Jan 12 2018, 02:32 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 12 2018, 01:11 PM)
The size is nice for big RWD cars.
TS will be fitting it on the new civic. And judging by what my neighbour did with a set of gramlights, 18 x 8 (40ish inset) doesn't leave much space in the wheel well (although still not fully flush). 8.5 with 37 inset will likely poke out of the wheel well, especially the front.
6UE5T
post Jan 12 2018, 02:40 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jan 12 2018, 02:32 PM)
TS will be fitting it on the new civic. And judging by what my neighbour did with a set of gramlights, 18 x 8 (40ish inset) doesn't leave much space in the wheel well (although still not fully flush). 8.5 with 37 inset will likely poke out of the wheel well, especially the front.
Oh ya, on a Civic those Work will be too wide then especially the rears. FWD also better just use square fitment/not staggered. Anyway just giving some examples, maybe can look for something else narrower sizes, maybe 18x7.5 or 8jj would be best fitment.
wkc5657
post Jan 12 2018, 04:15 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 12 2018, 02:40 PM)
Oh ya, on a Civic those Work will be too wide then especially the rears. FWD also better just use square fitment/not staggered. Anyway just giving some examples, maybe can look for something else narrower sizes, maybe 18x7.5 or 8jj would be best fitment.
The wheels in the add seems more for EVO/lancer fitment.
6UE5T
post Jan 12 2018, 04:18 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jan 12 2018, 04:15 PM)
The wheels in the add seems more for EVO/lancer fitment.

Evo is AWD so should not use staggered fitment coz might impact their AWD system. It needs to use the same rims on all 4 so the load are equal for the AWD system. This staggered size is for RWD cars like mine.
jackbanner
post Jan 13 2018, 08:41 PM

660 posts

What is the effect of using staggered rims but with similar size tires to a fwd car?

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 12 2018, 02:40 PM)
6UE5T
post Jan 13 2018, 10:33 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(jackbanner @ Jan 13 2018, 08:41 PM)
What is the effect of using staggered rims but with similar size tires to a fwd car?
No effect, just no purpose either other than pretending like RWD car I suppose! laugh.gif Just make sure the tire is wide enough for the rear (so not to be like those dumb asses who do stance/stretch fitment) and not too wide for the front too.
fix24311
post Mar 2 2018, 07:37 AM

139 posts

Hi all,

as you mentioned the ori TE37 will cost around RM 8k.

But i found a website selling car parts from Japan, selling original for around RM 2000 (base price only, not include shipping and custom + duties).

the website seems legit with good reviews. so i suppose my question is how come its freaking expensive in our local market?

EDIT:

Sorry. My mistake. The website said it is for one piece. Not one set tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fix24311: Mar 2 2018, 12:11 PM

0.0197sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:41 PM