Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Should I get more ram

More ram?
 
Yes [ 43 ] ** [84.31%]
No [ 8 ] ** [15.69%]
Total Votes: 51
Guests cannot vote 
averagehumanbeing
post Jan 4 2018, 04:57 AM, updated 7 months ago

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 51

Joined: Apr 2015
From: Utah, US of A
This is my daily usage, currently have 4gb of ram installed:
user posted image
averagehumanbeing
post Jan 4 2018, 04:58 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 51

Joined: Apr 2015
From: Utah, US of A
QUOTE(teamkiller @ Jan 4 2018, 04:57 AM)
serious buyer here.
TheMrBinary
post Jan 4 2018, 05:06 AM

63 72 69 70 70 6c 69 6e 67 20 64 65 70 72 65 73 73 69 6f 6e
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,272

Joined: Dec 2011
From: 27.132481, 73.086548


4GB in 2018
Make it 8GB at least
ALeUNe
post Jan 4 2018, 06:37 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
Group Icon
Group: VIP
Posts: 9,617

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Mongrel Isle
Even my office PC has 32GB ram.
Why so cheapskate and open thread on getting more ram?
hanzyms
post Jan 4 2018, 06:39 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 51

Joined: Mar 2007


Even my phone got 6gb ram
JustcallmeLarry
post Jan 4 2018, 06:44 AM

Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 970

Joined: Jan 2010


4gb is for below average human being.
pspslim007
post Jan 4 2018, 06:48 AM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 594

Joined: Apr 2010
From: Malaysia



how dafuq still use 4gb ram in 2018 ? you living in 2010 ??
urnicksux2
post Jan 4 2018, 06:54 AM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 34

Joined: Jul 2013


more ram for what...to make/open more thred at lowyat.net at same time?
zedyll
post Jan 4 2018, 06:54 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 121

Joined: Oct 2008
From: Suq Madiq



I'm still using 4gb ram. tongue.gif
alfiejr
post Jan 4 2018, 07:05 AM

Gaming~
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,221

Joined: Feb 2012
From: Taman Rasa Sayang, Cheras


If desktop try go with 16gb. But if budget tight then 8gb is ok too.
fantasy1989
post Jan 4 2018, 07:41 AM

Microsoft LUMIA
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,884

Joined: May 2008



yes u should..

try to keep ram usage within 60% or lesser to get best user experience
khelben
post Jan 4 2018, 07:42 AM

I love my mum & dad
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 5,844

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Suldanessellar




Even 16 is not enough, if you're a kaki tumblr brows.gif
ihavenoidea
post Jan 4 2018, 07:50 AM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 495

Joined: Sep 2012
QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jan 4 2018, 06:44 AM)
4gb is for below average human being.
*
limfreelance
post Jan 4 2018, 07:59 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 281

Joined: Jul 2011
From: Land of SaberLion :3
downgrade window lah..
megahertz
post Jan 4 2018, 07:59 AM

i always smiling, problem?
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,425

Joined: Apr 2008
u still have 1 empty slot
buy 2nd hand 4GB DDR3 ram stick should be fine


Zhao
post Jan 4 2018, 08:00 AM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,237

Joined: Sep 2010



ram price up since oct/nov 17 , u shud wait awhile.
azbro
post Jan 4 2018, 08:04 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,014

Joined: Jan 2007
From: Johor Bahru


Check whats hogging it.
Zot
post Jan 4 2018, 08:06 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,964

Joined: Mar 2014

Install RAM now before it get more expensive
lowyard
post Jan 4 2018, 08:10 AM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,962

Joined: Apr 2008


QUOTE(xylophone. @ Jan 4 2018, 07:59 AM)
if you on win7 or 10, make it 8GB.

but 4gb is more than enough if you are on XP or Vista because on 32-bit architecture, only max 3GB can be fully utilized.

but be advised 8GB/16GB also is not enough if your memory is bloated with junk processes.

i work for microsoft support and trust me the number of users complaining "not enough ram" has never reduced since Window XP.
*
So you work for Microsoft support but still calling their Windows product as "Window". What happens to the "s" ?

Why Malaysians love to omit "s" ? Star wars also become star war. There are many more examples.
treepipul
post Jan 4 2018, 08:20 AM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 5

Joined: Jan 2017

Ur proc damn lousy, wat is dis? Potato?

2 Pages  1 2 >Top
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0923sec    2.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd July 2018 - 01:27 AM