Xiaomi Xiaomi Mi A1 - A Pure Stock Android Experience V2, Discussion & Opinion - ANDROID PIE?

imbibug
post Apr 30 2018, 09:30 AM

1,670 posts

Any particular issues with imported sets instead of official Msian ones? Do they come with global rom?

imbibug
post Apr 30 2018, 05:25 PM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(cbmasin @ Apr 30 2018, 01:22 PM)
any 1 tryed to plug a 'usb type C to hdmi' b4?
does it work?
i wan to mirror my phone to tv via  cable...
It depends on your tv. If its MHL ready, then a passive converter cable wwill do. Otherwise you need an active converter which is more expensive.
imbibug
post May 1 2018, 10:10 AM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(nasrulafiq93 @ Apr 30 2018, 10:22 AM)
This is already a very good price for a 64GB Malaysia set.

I got mine (same set and capacity) two months ago for RM739 with Lazada coupons.

You better pull the trigger fast. Rumour has it Xiaomi stopped production for Mi A1 already to make way for its rather unimpressive successor Mi A2. So in these few upcoming weeks stocks will be running out fast and increased in pricing.
Directd having labour day sales, so I bought the AP set for RM670. The sale price for original MY 4/64 set for 5+ is RM800 by comparison, no AP set for 5+.

Mi A2 unimpressive? The camera and cpu are upgraded, cpu is 660 faster than the 636 of the RN5 and the screen size also increase while keeping the weight almost the same. The downside for me is the height increase, since I feel the Mi A1 is already plenty big.
imbibug
post May 28 2018, 08:40 AM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ May 27 2018, 09:35 PM)
As of yet, There is no Mi A2. It's all 100% speculation. Just because the A1 was based in the 5X that doesn't mean there will be an A2 based on the 6X. It's just journalists' speculation
No its not empty speculation. Its almost a certainty that the Mi 6x will be rebranded as Mi A2 under the androidone program.
The Mi A2 codename follows what happened with the earlier Mi 5x/A1 rumours. In fact, there will be 2 new androidone phones so there will be an A2 lite.

This post has been edited by imbibug: May 28 2018, 08:44 AM
imbibug
post May 30 2018, 05:52 PM

1,670 posts

How is the May update behaving? Battery life ok?

imbibug
post May 31 2018, 09:59 AM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(soultaker @ May 30 2018, 09:37 PM)
Yup, battery drain very fast on the first May update. SOT 3-4 hours with only 20% remaining. I have updated the second May patch and currently charging it to full. Will have to wait until tomorrow for the outcome.
A factory reset and checking some backup/sync settings night help.
It seemed to work for me after the April update. I usually turn off auto google backup for photos, location updates, etc.
imbibug
post Jun 1 2018, 10:06 AM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Jun 1 2018, 08:44 AM)
RM599 A1 @Lazada, though only 32GB ROM is really good price.
But sister in-law mentioned that the Stock Android does not allow Dual-App. Can I confirm this?

I need two WhatsApp.
He did mention that can use other "3rd Party WhatsApp"
Just use whatsapp business, its free and works well on dual sim phones.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...om.whatsapp.w4b

Its better than apps like parallel space where you have no way of knowing whether they will honor any promises to protect your privacy.

Or you can create another user profile and install whatsapp in that account, android lollipop and above supports multiple accounts.

This post has been edited by imbibug: Jun 1 2018, 10:10 AM
imbibug
post Jun 6 2018, 01:07 PM

1,670 posts

The rom version 9.5.11 which is available from the miui download webpage is buggy - wifi not working. Its better to use the April rom before OTA updating to the latest May version.
imbibug
post Jun 6 2018, 06:47 PM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(myself379 @ Jun 6 2018, 01:48 PM)
I feel goos ady with stock rom. The best pure android experience.

Plus it has Xiaomi Remote IR blaster, which is the only mod app in the pure Android.

Any good advantage on MIUI ROM 9.5.11?
I already said that 9.5.11 is to be avoided. Don't download it, don't flash hit.
imbibug
post Jun 8 2018, 03:24 PM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(applefreak @ Jun 7 2018, 07:40 PM)
Anyone know which shop selling tempered glass for this phone? Prefer to let them apply instead of myself lol
The cheap non-full screen ones (~RM11 for 2 online not incl shipping) was too short for the phone and had a halo around the sides because of the curved sides. But the screen sensitivity was fine, no problems there. I replaced with a cheap set of 2 full screen glue screen protector (think it was ~rm20)and although it didn't have the halo, and was very very easy to apply, the extreme corners of the screen loses some sensitivity. I notice it most on the keyboard enter button because it is on the very bottom right, not very bad but sometimes I have to repeat press.

imbibug
post Jun 8 2018, 03:40 PM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jun 6 2018, 09:00 PM)
First thing to do is to unlock boot loader if plan to root right? Nowadays if root can still OTA or not? If yes does it stick or have to reroot?
If not unroot is does not wipe any data right
There is a easy method to root with magisk and not lose OTA and still keep root. And it works.
The important thing is that the system and vendor partitions have to be completely untouched, so install magisk without installing TWRP.
You'll probably have to reflash once to obtain the patched boot image from magisk.
https://github.com/topjohnwu/Magisk/blob/master/docs/tips.md

If you have unlocked your bootloader, keep it unlocked because locking or unlocking it will erase all the data on the phone on the latest rom version
imbibug
post Jun 11 2018, 09:57 AM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Jun 10 2018, 11:08 AM)
I no longer play with Magisk and Xposed already, last time using Magisk was because of GCam. But now we can use adb shell persist method, I keep my phone as stock as possible to avoid any OTA issue. What kind of Magisk module you use?
Do you experience a lag when starting the stock/gcam? I thought a magisk module to fix the lag was necessary. Or maybe the lag only happens when phones are rooted - I'm not sure now.
imbibug
post Jun 13 2018, 10:26 AM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(ALBK @ Jun 12 2018, 01:04 PM)
Hi. I'm considering this phone vs Redmi note 5. I've been using mi phone since mi3,  so muiu not a big problem for me. I'll prefer to have a better camera quality.  Please share your opinions &  suggestions. Thks
RN5 has good cameras but its bulkier and heavier. Redmi S2 has an OIS back camera about the same size as RN5 but lighter, and cheaper. Asus M1 pro has ok dual cameras and 5000mAh battery. I chose the MiA1 because its lighter, slimmer and has a better headphone amp.
imbibug
post Jun 13 2018, 10:31 AM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(00king00 @ Jun 11 2018, 10:41 AM)
Didn't experience any lag in using the adb shell persist method, quite smooth, just a bit slow processing if using HDR+ enhanced.
Ok I think the magisk lag fix is only necessary for rooted phones then. I use Magisk for xprivacylua, possibly an adblocker later on.

Which gcam mod do you use?

This post has been edited by imbibug: Jun 13 2018, 10:31 AM
imbibug
post Jun 19 2018, 10:20 AM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Jun 16 2018, 09:56 AM)
"As for what we can expect from the device, fans of the line know that it is just a rebranded Mi 6X. And the Mi 6X has some very powerful specs for a mid-ranger. In fact, the Mi A2 is not one bit different from the Mi 6X"

imbibug
post Jun 22 2018, 11:41 AM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(enduser @ Jun 19 2018, 10:06 PM)
Mi A2 dun have sd card slot, a bit disappointed la.
Nearly all the Mi series phones don't have sdcard slot support except for the A1 and Mi Max series.
imbibug
post Jun 23 2018, 09:51 PM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(Marcian @ Jun 22 2018, 12:32 PM)
Don't for get the Redmi series.
I said "Mi" not "Redmi".
QUOTE(HMMaster @ Jun 22 2018, 01:39 PM)
For me, internal storage > microsd. You can install app on internal storage and more reliable than microsd. I hope they'll release a 128GB and above version for A2...
Absolutely which is why top brands like Samsung even dropped sdcard support at one point (S5) because of reliability/performance concerns. As a compromise, some manufacturers support sdcards but not adoptable storage.

This post has been edited by imbibug: Jun 23 2018, 09:52 PM
imbibug
post Jun 26 2018, 05:58 PM

1,670 posts

Does VOLTE work on the MiA1?. I haven't got a Digi sim to test.
imbibug
post Jul 10 2018, 04:59 PM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(Khazs @ Jul 9 2018, 07:35 PM)
So far, no update yet on 'new' 8.1..
I already updated & love it.. 😊
What do you like about the new update?

This post has been edited by imbibug: Jul 10 2018, 04:59 PM
imbibug
post Jul 16 2018, 08:36 PM

1,670 posts

QUOTE(maelzx @ Jul 16 2018, 02:52 PM)
The sim on standby will be able to get maximum 3g only.

Not an issues for most of telcos, but unifi mobile / webe really sometime only have 4g in particular area, so when it goes on standy it wont be able to get any signal at all.
Is the Mi A1 capable of of being active with 4G + 3G or 4G + 2G?

0.0169sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:42 PM