Quadcore QX6700 Thread, OC and Benchmark

kevyeoh
post Apr 30 2007, 06:21 PM

4,714 posts

whoaa...nice to see this thread...i'm also using qx670 and DS3...

well...currently my system is very stable at 3.2Ghz...prime95 run for 8hrs no problem...

when i tried pushing up to 3.4Ghz or 3.3Ghz..i think prime95 can't maintain stable...after a while of stress, one of the core will fail prime...

so guys...did you just bump up the freq and superpi it? or you run prime as well also?

what's the temperature reading using TAT?
kevyeoh
post May 1 2007, 12:27 AM

4,714 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Apr 30 2007, 10:32 PM)

Just bump the speed and super pi. can u give ur result? I'll post it in the first post. smile.gif Thanks for contributing.

well, i've posted my result at the other thread C2D OC database i think...anyway, here you go... i think it's 16s for Superpi only at 3.2Ghz....

kevyeoh
post May 1 2007, 11:24 AM

4,714 posts

Bro,

I can reach 3.6Ghz when i tried just now. Just need to up the Vcore more...my current Vcore setting is 1.55V ...it's very high...i'm gonna push it back down after this...hehehe...

3.6Ghz superpi result not so much difference compare to yours...just little better...
i'm getting about 14.5seconds....

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

kevyeoh
post May 2 2007, 06:54 AM

4,714 posts

they are beta unit... sort of like loan unit by intel...
wink.gif

kevyeoh
post May 3 2007, 10:36 AM

4,714 posts

my quad core at 3.6Ghz is getting about 14.5s for 1M superpi calculation...
if you have c2d, can you confirm this?

What i know is... should be the same...if both speed the same...

because superpi does not utilize the extra cores....
so 2 or 4 cores, it's useless...it's all down to raw speed power...hehe....

QUOTE(AceCombat @ May 2 2007, 12:46 PM)
is it ah?come,i also wanna loan one unit,then oc it kaw kaw....
btw,quad core bandwidth is bigger than c2d....
so even same speed (c2d 3.4ghz,quad 3.4ghz),i think c2d is faster than quad in superpi right?
correct me if i'm wrong.
kevyeoh
post May 4 2007, 10:50 AM

4,714 posts

3.0Ghz should be no problem at all la...
i'm running at 3.2Ghz and it's very very stable... no problem at all...
kevyeoh
post May 5 2007, 12:19 AM

4,714 posts

no...voltage is at 1.4V i think... default is 1.35V...can't really remember if it runs well at 1.35V but i just put voltage higher for stability purpose...

kevyeoh
post May 6 2007, 12:43 PM

4,714 posts

yes.... well... so far stable is 400Mhz for me...
i think 450Mhz is not stable already for me...but it could be due to RAM and not the fsb issue...

no time to try... prefer to play and enjoy my current rig first... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(baok @ May 5 2007, 07:40 PM)
yo... have u ever try lower the multi to get max fsb for kentsfield for DS-3 mobo?.. can it reach 450++ fsb??..

thanks..
kevyeoh
post May 7 2007, 11:44 PM

4,714 posts

mine is rev 3.3

i think no problem running 3Ghz @ 1.35V and this should be the stock voltage leh... cannot be lower... your 1.275V is including vdroop already is it?

i'm running 400Mhz very stable now... maybe it's not the rev la...what bios you using?
if you're using DS3 motherboard, try using F9 bios or F10 which i'm using right now...

This post has been edited by kevyeoh: May 7 2007, 11:45 PM
kevyeoh
post May 8 2007, 05:19 PM

4,714 posts

if anyone tried liquid cooling already, let me know...
i think with liquid cooling...can go higher speed.... 4Ghz?
kevyeoh
post Jun 19 2007, 08:52 PM

4,714 posts

whoa bro...cool it there man... 120deg Celcius on all cores?
either your software is getting the wrong temperature or you screwed up the thermal diode already...

you should not reach 120'C bro... by that temperature, your CPU should have been dead/shut down already...

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 12 2007, 09:17 AM)
this would solely be dependant on your applications/programs that you are using whether they are ultilizing the 4 cores or not.

anyways, had some stress test done, and its still a failure cuz i left my comp on for 3ish days and stress it after that... 120 degrees celcius on all cores and after 20-30mins pc auto shutdown... prolly to prevent thermal death  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

just let it cool down for the day and will stress it again when i get back.

anyways im settling for a 3.1ghz speed, 345 FSB x9 multiplier. 1.45 vcore and 1.4 vFSB

letme know if these settings are good or need changes (so far stress tests are promissing and my 4th core isnt really throwing a fit. only thing left is thermal shutdowns) basically wanna maintain around the 3ghz mark, and around 1.4ghz FSB clocks.

once CPU done, onwards to rams!!!  drool.gif
kevyeoh
post Jun 23 2007, 11:49 AM

4,714 posts

ok ok...

my idle temp usually around 59'C to 62'C depending on my room temperature...

so it's about right if compare your chillin and my chillin' temp...hehehe...

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 19 2007, 09:10 PM)
yea dude, not shittin ye. thermal shutdown only occured around close to 140 celcius... lol

i dunno, only happens on orthos stress on all 4 cores (4 orthos instances)
other than that, its chillin at 50-60 celcius. darn wierd :/
kevyeoh
post Jun 25 2007, 10:36 PM

4,714 posts

my temp all based on TAT...

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 23 2007, 11:53 AM)
core temp or using other temp monitoring software? core temp is showing 30% to twice my temp reading from asus pc probe

Added on June 25, 2007, 10:41 pmwell...for my case...core temp is consistently giving about 3'C lower compare to TAT readings...so both of them should be giving about right temp...since no big difference....

This post has been edited by kevyeoh: Jun 25 2007, 10:41 PM
kevyeoh
post Jun 27 2007, 11:21 PM

4,714 posts

yup... super stable...not a single issue after about 3 months of using...

put it this way, i think you won't find any normal application that will push all 4 cores to 100% all the time....so actually your CPU won't heat up that much at normal application use....

that's my take la... maybe i'm not using any CPU intensive application...

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 26 2007, 10:12 AM)
Kevyeoh, now ur QX6700 @ 3.2GHz used for 24/7 operation? Any stability problem?
kevyeoh
post Jul 6 2007, 12:00 AM

4,714 posts

bro...i guess you haven't played around with the BIOS yet...i got the same result as you when i first plug in my QX6700... i don't know why the default speed is 1.6Ghz... but no problem la..just increase ur multiplier will do... for this proc, the stock speed should be 2.66Ghz...

QUOTE(fookeatmin89 @ Jun 29 2007, 12:07 AM)
I'm new about overclocking.
this is my humble 1 month old pc....
specs are below

Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700(beta unit)
1024MB Micron 667MHZ DDR2 RAM
MSI nForce650SLI P6NSLI mobo
Leadtek GeForce 8600GT
PSU:PowerLogic 250W
Liteon DVDRW
Maxtor 150GB SATA2 HDD
cooling:Coolermaster processor slot cooling only

hope some comment and any tips on oc it...hehe..
kevyeoh
post Jul 8 2007, 10:56 PM

4,714 posts

anyone here using water cooling on the QX6700 already?
wanna know how much improvement... and also i dunno what water cooling set to buy yet at this moment...

This post has been edited by kevyeoh: Jul 8 2007, 10:57 PM

0.0257sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:41 PM