126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Collectibles Japanese Vinyl and Figures! (v2.8), See us at CF'07 this Dec, and welcome v3

LilKeV84
post Jul 16 2007, 08:55 PM

QUOTE(whoami123 @ Jul 16 2007, 08:47 PM)
You don't really need a big megapixel & big macro digicam to shoot a nice macro picture
I've found out this "trick" by doing few experiments:
1) If your camera is over 4mp, just shoot the picture with zoom a bit further until you get a clear picture
2) Use software such as Photoshop, ACDSee to crop the excess empty spaces that you don't need to show
3) Resize the picture to a smaller size

Normally doing that will allow you have a clear close up picture
if you resize your picture to 640x480 or 480x640
it's actually 0.3mp resolution only
haha, yea thought of doing that
problem is, my current camera is quite bad that if i do that, there's a lot of noise -.-
1 example is the brows.gif shot tongue.gif
so if i'm gonna invest in a new camera, might as well get a good semi-slr laugh.gif
or i should go to ikea and get a good lamp biggrin.gif
Foxngn
post Jul 16 2007, 09:16 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

btw....the leading pisa tower case for figure.. is it if u dun expose the figure in sun-light then it won't be bend ?
does it will occur indoor in a no sun-light expose room?
LilKeV84
post Jul 16 2007, 09:20 PM

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Jul 16 2007, 09:16 PM)
btw....the leading pisa tower case for figure.. is it if u dun expose the figure in sun-light then it won't be bend ?
sunlight is 1 thing, UV degrades pvc, but i think heat is a bigger factor smile.gif
also include factor of the quality of pvc used and the balancing of the figure

since collecting figures, i've kept my curtains closed especially in the afternoon tongue.gif just to be sure lah
but my room gets damn hot & stuffy in the afternoon, that's y i keep them in display cabinet, so that the hot air gets to it slower tongue.gif dunno it helps or not oso
Foxngn
post Jul 16 2007, 09:30 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(LilKeV84 @ Jul 16 2007, 09:20 PM)
sunlight is 1 thing, UV degrades pvc, but i think heat is a bigger factor smile.gif
also include factor of the quality of pvc used and the balancing of the figure

since collecting figures, i've kept my curtains closed especially in the afternoon tongue.gif just to be sure lah
but my room gets damn hot & stuffy in the afternoon, that's y i keep them in display cabinet, so that the hot air gets to it slower tongue.gif dunno it helps or not oso
Oic...
last time i got 1 figure, when i bought it, it oredi got a bit bend, last years i check it, it bend a bit more again.
But the room i put my figure doesn't got any sunlight expose, & the figure i was kept inside my glass cabinet too..dunno why, my another figure dunhav this kind of problem currently..hopefully not in future too.

btw, does those 1 leg standing figure got a big chances of get bending? I tot of getting the GSC Mao Shinjoji by the end of month.
LilKeV84
post Jul 16 2007, 09:48 PM

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Jul 16 2007, 09:30 PM)
Oic...
last time i got 1 figure, when i bought it, it oredi got a bit bend, last years i check it, it bend a bit more again.
But the room i put my figure doesn't got any sunlight expose,  & the figure i was kept inside my glass cabinet too..dunno why, my another figure dunhav this kind of problem currently..hopefully not in future too.

btw, does those 1 leg standing figure got a big chances of get bending? I tot of getting the GSC Mao Shinjoji by the end of month.
haha, thats y balancing has a factor too mar smile.gif
1 legged ones, as long as its balanced, or the leg part's pvc is good or better yet made of abs, and it should be fine
my koto saber, and tsukimiya ayu, so far no prbs.....i hope tongue.gif

mao still available??? where??? ohmy.gif
Foxngn
post Jul 16 2007, 10:32 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(LilKeV84 @ Jul 16 2007, 09:48 PM)
haha, thats y balancing has a factor too mar smile.gif
1 legged ones, as long as its balanced, or the leg part's pvc is good or better yet made of abs, and it should be fine
my koto saber, and tsukimiya ayu, so far no prbs.....i hope tongue.gif

mao still available??? where??? ohmy.gif
Haha...
I dun think currently got mao lor..just try my luck at the end of month. urs mao also out of stock ah?
no idea when its re-issue?
LilKeV84
post Jul 16 2007, 10:37 PM

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Jul 16 2007, 10:32 PM)
Haha...
I dun think currently got mao lor..just try my luck at the end of month. urs mao also out of stock ah?
no idea when its re-issue?
i doubt there'll be re-issue tongue.gif coz kasugano haruna is coming out laugh.gif
Foxngn
post Jul 16 2007, 10:56 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(LilKeV84 @ Jul 16 2007, 10:37 PM)
i doubt there'll be re-issue tongue.gif coz kasugano haruna is coming out laugh.gif
aiyo... although kasugano haruna is also nice, but i'll prefer mao...regret last time didnt buy
dishwasher
post Jul 16 2007, 11:06 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Kureha > all other shining series characters. The pose, the expression, the OMFGWTHBBQ costume... Nuff said.

[Embarassing Edit] OMG wrong Mao. I assumed the shining tears catgirl Mao.

This post has been edited by dishwasher: Jul 16 2007, 11:07 PM
soft as hours
post Jul 16 2007, 11:08 PM

QUOTE(LilKeV84 @ Jul 16 2007, 08:20 PM)
hoho...nice!
metamo was actually crafted quite nicely compared to many other bunny haruhi, and cheap too laugh.gif

Thanks, and yes, she's value for money - I like that the face is very true to her anime likeness =) The colour-changing gimmick is a plus too, although I've not bothered putting her in the fridge to test if mine works or not - so she's been white all the while in our hot Msian climate tongue.gif

QUOTE(whoami123 @ Jul 16 2007, 08:47 PM)
You don't really need a big megapixel & big macro digicam to shoot a nice macro picture
I've found out this "trick" by doing few experiments:
1) If your camera is over 4mp, just shoot the picture with zoom a bit further until you get a clear picture
2) Use software such as Photoshop, ACDSee to crop the excess empty spaces that you don't need to show
3) Resize the picture to a smaller size

Normally doing that will allow you have a clear close up picture
if you resize your picture to 640x480 or 480x640
it's actually 0.3mp resolution only

This is true - I'm working with a 4MP camera that's a few years old, so I've got to work around its limitations by figuring out the right amount of zoom. Good lighting helps as well, but I've been sloppy in that department - just working with the table lamp I have atm, but plan to go get a proper lighting rig eventually. Most of my pics are enhanced with colour correction and what-not with Photoshop - takes quite a bit of work, but beats spending thousands on a new camera I don't quite need =)

LilKeV84
post Jul 16 2007, 11:12 PM

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Jul 16 2007, 10:56 PM)
aiyo... although kasugano haruna is also nice, but i'll prefer mao...regret last time didnt buy
if u really want it, FYI hlj still carries it tongue.gif

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jul 16 2007, 11:06 PM)
Kureha > all other shining series characters. The pose, the expression, the OMFGWTHBBQ costume... Nuff said.

[Embarassing Edit] OMG wrong Mao. I assumed the shining tears catgirl Mao.
sweat.gif
but yes, i love kureha among all the figures laugh.gif

QUOTE(soft as hours @ Jul 16 2007, 11:08 PM)
Thanks, and yes, she's value for money - I like that the face is very true to her anime likeness =) The colour-changing gimmick is a plus too, although I've not bothered putting her in the fridge to test if mine works or not - so she's been white all the while in our hot Msian climate tongue.gif
are u sure the thing is even working? laugh.gif
soft as hours
post Jul 16 2007, 11:17 PM

QUOTE(LilKeV84 @ Jul 16 2007, 11:12 PM)
are u sure the thing is even working? laugh.gif

Seriously no idea, even if she doesn't work it's not like I'd be bothered to return her XD Plus my flatmates will probably start questioning my sanity if they see me putting a figure into a fridge sweat.gif

dishwasher
post Jul 16 2007, 11:24 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Take out and ice cube and rub it on her! You can even make her bunny costume something unique looking by 'drawing' with the ice cube.
soft as hours
post Jul 16 2007, 11:34 PM

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jul 16 2007, 11:24 PM)
Take out and ice cube and rub it on her! You can even make her bunny costume something unique looking by 'drawing' with the ice cube.

That's a good idea actually! XD That will have to wait till I get back to my apartment at the end of the week though, but at least I get to find out if her suit actually changes~
LilKeV84
post Jul 16 2007, 11:57 PM

QUOTE(soft as hours @ Jul 16 2007, 11:34 PM)
That's a good idea actually! XD That will have to wait till I get back to my apartment at the end of the week though, but at least I get to find out if her suit actually changes~
omg, i can't beliv u are going along wif it laugh.gif
well, pvc ain't gonna desolve in water, so i guess its fine biggrin.gif take a video of the change if u can tongue.gif
valho
post Jul 17 2007, 12:11 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(Demon_Eyes_Kyo @ Jul 16 2007, 11:21 AM)
Yo valho, lai lai, post saber alter pics tongue.gif

Me no cash for pvc, play revoltech sabers nia, wondering whether saber alter is worth getting or not...
QUOTE(soft as hours @ Jul 16 2007, 07:27 PM)
I got my Revoltech Dark Saber recently too, but I'm back in my family home which is like 300+km away from KL XD Looking forward to valho's pics.

Sneak preview of the last figure I shot, the Metamo Haruhi:
Still too lazy to sort out the entire batch of pics ^^;; (I really love the Yuki in that Figumate series, but it's not worth buying the entire set for unfortunately.)
aiks hehe, my photo always a bit slow one loh blush.gif

the metamo is quite nice, but I would really like to get one of haruhi in bunny suit with guitar, Atelier Sai have one i think, but dun think can find anymore though

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Jul 16 2007, 09:16 PM)
not only direct sunlight but also the condition of the room, the heat, the dust, yup dust trap heat so make sure you clean your figure yeah smile.gif. direct sunlight cause discoloration as well to your figure. beside that, also make sure the place you put your figure on is perfectly level and not tilted, as this might cause your figure to lean as well since the weight of the figure will not be distributed evenly.
LilKeV84
post Jul 17 2007, 12:15 AM

QUOTE(valho @ Jul 17 2007, 12:11 AM)
the metamo is quite nice, but I would really like to get one of haruhi in bunny suit with guitar, Atelier Sai have one i think, but dun think can find anymore though
i like the toranoana fine scenary one better tongue.gif but i dunno how good are their built quality though hmm.gif
dishwasher
post Jul 17 2007, 12:52 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Jul 17 2007, 12:11 AM)
The AtSai Bunny Haruhi is very well made, I can vouch for that, being the first figure I ever got. The finescenery haruhi is based on a garage kit from one of the WHFs I think. I don't really like the face on that sculpt, doesn't really look like haruhi.

Extra benefit of AtSai Haruhi: Its 1/6, its big!
valho
post Jul 17 2007, 01:00 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(LilKeV84 @ Jul 17 2007, 12:15 AM)
i like the toranoana fine scenary one better tongue.gif but i dunno how good are their built quality though hmm.gif
the fine scenery one head looks kinda big though hehe

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jul 17 2007, 12:52 AM)
The AtSai Bunny Haruhi is very well made, I can vouch for that, being the first figure I ever got. The finescenery haruhi is based on a garage kit from one of the WHFs I think. I don't really like the face on that sculpt, doesn't really look like haruhi.

Extra benefit of AtSai Haruhi: Its 1/6, its big!
ya AtSai one looks quite good, haha big is not really a benefit loh, takes space mah hahah biggrin.gif

now this two Natsuki very nice, really want to get them but both are garage kit though sad.gif, i wonder how much it will cost if commision someone to built it

dishwasher
post Jul 17 2007, 01:24 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

If you check e2046, they offer prepainting services for some of their kits, but at a whooping cost. I checked out one figure and it was USD54.54 unasembled, and USD140 completed. Not cheap! Resin kits require alot of work (cleaning flash, sanding, puttying, pinning... list goes on) but USD90 for commision? Wah...

126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0740sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:09 PM