Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.30, Ultrabook/Gaming Laptop

rai_fuzz
post Feb 18 2018, 07:59 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Feb 17 2018, 11:37 PM)
Dear sifu

For office and statistical works. No games. Portability and good battery life

# New# OnlineExclusive
HP Pavilion 14-bf163TX Laptop
Online Exclusive - 8GB memory & SSD

8th Generation Intel® Core™ i5-8250U Processor
Windows 10 Home Single Language 64
14" diagonal FHD IPS BrightView WLED-backlit (1920 x 1080)
8 GB DDR4-2400 SDRAM (1 x 8 GB); 1 TB 5400 rpm SATA; 128GB SSD
NVIDIA® GeForce® 940MX (2 GB GDDR5 dedicated)
Weight 1.6kg
Dimension similar to other 13.3inch laptop

Price RM3349... with coupon become RM3148
http://h20386.www2.hp.com/MalaysiaStore/Me...01&opt=&sel=NTB
Is this worth buying?
I have similar model given by the company. Build quality wise is okay (although mine have some creaking sound). Keyboard is good. Display is good. Battery life not so good (could be due to OneDrive syncing). Take the SSD option as the normal hard drive seems to be on the slow side (in comparison to my personal laptop using SSD). The trackpad is good too. If you're using Excel a lot then perhaps check online reviews as well for better understanding. My personal use wise, it does struggle when a few Excel files are opened simultaneously but again it could be due to traditional hard drive rather than SSD.

Edit: mine is using 8th Gen Intel i7 processor

This post has been edited by rai_fuzz: Feb 18 2018, 08:02 AM
rai_fuzz
post Feb 18 2018, 03:46 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Feb 18 2018, 08:26 AM)
Thanks for the quick review. The model will have BOTH 1TB HDD and 128GB SSD.
Currently using HP Envy 13 6th Generation 15-6200U with 128 GB SSD. Will become slow with multitasking (Office app-word and excel open together, Stats app, Browser etc) recently.
HP offering 8GB RAM with 2 HDD is quite tempting.
Perhaps if the programs run from SSD it will not face any slow down. The 1TB HDD is of lower speed so you can feel the difference. I think your Envy might seem tad faster too. I was using HP ProBook 440 G2 before the motherboard gave out.
rai_fuzz
post Feb 19 2018, 05:52 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Feb 18 2018, 10:17 PM)
actually my envy 13 is a 6th generation i5 with 128gb SSD and 4GB ram... getting slower with multiple win10 updates and multiple apps (word, excel, spss, smartpls, chrome).
thinking of getting hp pavilion 14 with 8th generation i5 with both 128gb SSD and 1TB HDD and 8gb ram, hoping that new CPU will be better at multitasking.

envy 13 price bought rm2899 but suddenly increased to 3699....
pavilion 14 offered at rm3148 (after coupon)

worth to upgrade from envy 13 to pavilion 14?
Though old, Envy is different class of laptop and Pavilion, sadly is more of an entry level laptop which is why from personal usage view, I believe it underperforms. Especially when starting up. Given the price point as well, perhaps you want to compare with similar offering from Dell or Lenovo.
rai_fuzz
post Feb 19 2018, 07:33 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Feb 19 2018, 06:15 PM)
this is the spec of HP Pavilion 14

HP Pavilion 14-bf163TX Laptop
Online Exclusive - 8GB memory & SSD

8th Generation Intel® Core™ i5-8250U Processor
Windows 10 Home Single Language 64
14" diagonal FHD IPS BrightView WLED-backlit (1920 x 1080)
8 GB DDR4-2400 SDRAM (1 x 8 GB); 1 TB 5400 rpm SATA; 128GB SSD
NVIDIA® GeForce® 940MX (2 GB GDDR5 dedicated)
Weight 1.6kg
Dimension similar to other 13.3inch laptop

Price RM3349... with coupon become RM3148
http://h20386.www2.hp.com/MalaysiaStore/Me...01&opt=&sel=NTB

so far... similar Dell is Inspiron 13 2-in-1 but single HDD and onboard graphics and a bit more expensive (rm3699). Lenovo e480 is >rm4k for similar spec.

any other options?
Yeah, in the end it comes down to your personal preference + budget. As a normal work laptop, perhaps the Pavilion will serve good. The graphic cards, in my opinion, doesn't serve much purpose unless you are into gaming or do graphic intensive work, which again, might not be as superior to other higher level laptop. For normal users, onboard graphic should be sufficient.

Go with what you prefer bro thumbup.gif

0.0184sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:07 PM