Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.30, Ultrabook/Gaming Laptop

Altrius
post Aug 22 2018, 06:56 PM

286 posts

1. Budget :
Not sure at this point in time (definitely below RM5k , as low as possible)

2. Usage :
programming (student) not sure what languages or software i will use..
Movie entertainment & youtube, web browsing , not for gaming

3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) :
preferably 15.6", 14" minimum,
lightweight is more important, but hopefully big battery too (ultimately just needs it to last long).
FHD minimum. Hopefully IPS screen, but not required.
Hopefully Anti-glare screen (will work at sun-reachable areas alot).

I wanted ultrabook, but my friend said his sister's ultrabook overheat after 3-4 hours of google chrome, and the salesperson said they had a customer that sent in a "melted" fan ultrabook after a few hours of "normal usage"

This post has been edited by Altrius: Aug 22 2018, 08:35 PM
Altrius
post Aug 22 2018, 09:33 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Aug 22 2018, 08:48 PM)
Preferred max weight in kg and minimum how many hours of battery life?

Who say Ultrabook will overheat? Sounds like user fault
preferably below 2kg , hopefully 6hours of active usage? with wifi on and normal brightness, not dim the screen and stuff.

I'm not knowledgeable about ultrabook overheating, just hearsay and what I can find on google.

I also found a few laptops with i7-8750H, but I read in other threads that you said it is common in having power and temp problems?

This post has been edited by Altrius: Aug 22 2018, 09:36 PM
Altrius
post Aug 30 2018, 05:41 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(Altrius @ Aug 22 2018, 06:56 PM)
1. Budget :
Not sure at this point in time (definitely below RM5k , as low as possible)

2. Usage  :
programming (student) not sure what languages or software i will use..
Movie entertainment & youtube, web browsing , not for gaming

3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) :
preferably 15.6",  14" minimum,
lightweight is more important, but hopefully big battery too (ultimately just needs it to last long).
FHD minimum. Hopefully IPS screen, but not required.
Hopefully Anti-glare screen (will work at sun-reachable areas alot).

I wanted ultrabook, but my friend said his sister's ultrabook overheat after 3-4 hours of google chrome, and the salesperson said they had a customer that sent in a "melted" fan ultrabook after a few hours of "normal usage"
After looking around awhile, I found a few models which I would like some suggestions on.
Please note that I am considering the i5-8250U for all these models. And I am going to upgrade to 8gb ram for those 4gb models. I will also swap out HDD and insert my spare SSD.
I am mainly concern about heat (temperature issues? I scare kena overheat) , battery life, screen quality and brightness. I am ok with the weight of these models.

ASUS VivoBook S15 S530U (or UN?) - But I saw some review mention this has a very dim max brightness screen? 210nits
HP Pavilion - 14-ce0083tx
HP ENVY - 13-ah0041tx
ASUS ZenBook UX430U
Asus ZenBook UX331U (or UN?)

Originally I found HP Omen 15 (2018) which has impressive specs for the price? , but the weight is VERY heavy , so I crossed that off my list.
Altrius
post Aug 30 2018, 08:23 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Aug 30 2018, 05:58 PM)
If Omen dc is considered heavy to you then gaming laptop is a no for you

S530 still have no reviews and considering that Vivobooks aren't great for the price, I wouldn't recommend it now

Envy 13 (old model also can), UX430UN and UX331UN are good choices. But they have cooling related issue (can only handle medium load)
how does the pavilion 14 compare?
I think I am leaning towards envy 13, because it is cheaper compared to zenbook when comparing the same specs.
But I am still trying to figure the Wifi 2x2 and battery and screen comparison

1.9378sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:49 PM