Carousell Scam

TScornerpoint
post Dec 30 2017, 01:47 PM, updated 7y ago

15 posts

I am in the process of a transaction in Carousell. I was selling an item for 50rm and the buyer transferred 500RM. Now, she wants me to transfer first the difference of the amount and the email received says it's on hold. That i need to transfer the difference first. And now the buyer is saying that legal actions will be taken if this is not done.

Anyone here experienced this? This looks like a scam. Just would like to confirm.
kutitata
post Dec 30 2017, 01:49 PM

322 posts

SCAM x 999999

kutitata
post Dec 30 2017, 01:50 PM

322 posts

post the details here so we all can laugh

check your bank if the money is in....

where can hold until you send the difference...

this is a very typical scam!
TScornerpoint
post Dec 30 2017, 01:55 PM

15 posts

No money went in to the account. The lady is so adamant that I transfer it fast.lol

I told her to get the reference number and call her bank to reverse it. I know that there are no banks who holds a transfer and let the receiver send the difference.
wailam
post Dec 30 2017, 01:56 PM

Apa benda ini?
950 posts

are the RM500 in your account now or what?
If its still on hold then its obviously a scam as she can claim it back with your RM450.
She won RM950.
If she still wanna say take legal action then let her be, if money not in your account then how you wanna give her back.

*If she wanted you to transfer the difference to another than the sender account then its KOLANFIRM she already scam people RM500 and using you as scapegoat.
Odinn
post Dec 30 2017, 02:04 PM

Say what?!?&!%@
1,141 posts

QUOTE(cornerpoint @ Dec 30 2017, 01:47 PM)

I am in the process of a transaction in Carousell. I was selling an item for 50rm and the buyer transferred 500RM. Now, she wants me to transfer first the difference of the amount and the email received says it's on hold. That i need to transfer the difference first. And now the buyer is saying that legal actions will be taken if this is not done.

Anyone here experienced this? This looks like a scam. Just would like to confirm.
One simple rule: do not give back what you didn't receive in the first place.

If you don't have the money in your account, there is nothing further to worry about.

Yes looks like a scam. VERY LIKELY IS. But if you think logically and apply some reasoning, you'll see through these things.
TScornerpoint
post Dec 30 2017, 02:07 PM

15 posts

thanks for the quick responses folks
bluepenguinKills
post Dec 30 2017, 02:09 PM

82 posts

Still got scammer like this. Sigh..
Kravo
post Dec 30 2017, 03:35 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(bluepenguinKills @ Dec 30 2017, 02:09 PM)
Still got scammer like this. Sigh..
Still got ppl like this, $ not in ask other ppl should reimburse. Sigh
Alert_RaZO
post Dec 30 2017, 04:01 PM

572 posts

No money transferred to you account then no talk.
Ask her to report police if she doesn't satisfy
Plus report it to corousell ban her.
megahertz
post Dec 30 2017, 04:06 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,843 posts

its a scam. but u can try play around, mybe can get some her information
netmatrix
post Dec 31 2017, 10:51 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,491 posts

You know why scam like this happen? Because many people report con man took money and not reply their msg later. So they "act" the victim card and reverse the scam on to you.
pisces88
post Dec 31 2017, 03:53 PM

3,711 posts

Pandai la u know how to post here

Scam
beeMay
post Jan 1 2018, 01:10 AM

Dr
647 posts

hello!

I actually had the exact same case.

so this one user is actually a scammer. she is actually selling iphone to a guy and that guy will transfer you the money cause she gives your bank acc number.

Lets say she sold the iphone 500 ringgit, RM50 is like "your comission" for accomodating her evil work.

That time the person who kena scam (the one who bought the iphone from her) messaged me on facebook and told the whole thing. This is dangerous as this is an untraceable crime to her. Anything, any report will be reported unto you cause the RM500 went to your account!

My advice, report to the police. Check the name o the sender in your bank statement.
if you can kinda trace from the acc name, do it and see what happens. If cannot, report to the police. At least you have made a move to report and they will advice you what to do next
Lyu
post Jan 1 2018, 12:20 PM

772 posts

Y ts not posting the scammer details?

U wanna potek privacy of the scammer?

Share so everyone will be cautious about the scammer
monara
post Jan 1 2018, 10:56 PM

Enthusiast?
1,008 posts

Ts, u sure its a she, instead of he 😄
mingfei2u
post Jan 3 2018, 01:12 PM

91 posts

super SCAMMMM deyyyyy
subaru555
post Jan 3 2018, 08:31 PM

102 posts

Ask for the receipt
conxtion
post Jan 3 2018, 10:06 PM

207 posts

Very likely the scammer is Nigerian guy, not a girl.

0.0143sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:19 PM