DIY Oil Catch Tank, More Healthy Intake manifold

TSmicwin1437
post Apr 28 2007, 09:49 AM, updated 19y ago

1,197 posts

Why pay more when you can diy on your own.

purpose of this oct.
-to keep our intake manifold, combustion chamber and exhaust as clean as possible free from engine oil vapour which could reduce your fuel octane if mixed but i could have contamidate it since i did my oct only when my mileage is around 40000km, but it is never too late.

what you need.......
-2 radiator stopper
-3 feet of hose rm3/ft
-brass y joint rm2
-used oil separator-salvage from your friend who works in a factory that have compressor
-diy holder for the oil separator

here are some picture.....
oil vapour trap after 6 days
Hybrified
post Apr 28 2007, 10:16 AM

1,071 posts

Actually i wonder what is oil catch tank for ? unsure.gif

like some others i see is SAFC, AFR and many more ....
mcko
post Apr 28 2007, 12:19 PM

98 posts

Is the radiator stopper used to block off the breather tube?

But the t-joint part look confusing, is it spliced between the pcv valve and intake manifold?
moon*
post Apr 28 2007, 12:21 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

you u show the steps on how u DIY this man..

pretty cool n useful
TSmicwin1437
post Apr 29 2007, 08:06 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(mcko @ Apr 28 2007, 12:19 PM)
Is the radiator stopper used to block off the breather tube?

But the t-joint part look confusing, is it spliced between the pcv valve and intake manifold?
hard to say but i attached this image for you to view...

OCT DIAGRAM
xtorm
post Apr 29 2007, 08:15 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

hmmm, normally concept of OTC is to let the engine air go back into the intake manifold rite? while catching the vapour oil when it passs tro the tank...

no?
TSmicwin1437
post Apr 29 2007, 10:15 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(Hybrified @ Apr 28 2007, 10:16 AM)
Actually i wonder what is oil catch tank for ? unsure.gif

like some others i see is SAFC, AFR and many more ....
Currently all car manufacturer are required to recycled engine oil vapour into intake manifold to protect the enviroment.....but this is not healthy for our engine cause engine oil vapour will turn into sludge in the intake manifold and combustion chamber....this will inturn reduce the octane of the fuel and result in lower power output.
It might not be significant for turbo charged engine but for NA engine every hp that you can salvaged counts......

QUOTE(moon* @ Apr 28 2007, 12:21 PM)
you u show the steps on how u DIY this man..

pretty cool n useful
will try.....

QUOTE(xtorm @ Apr 29 2007, 08:15 PM)
hmmm, normally concept of OTC is to let the engine air go back into the intake manifold rite? while catching the vapour oil when it passs tro the tank...

no?
you can do this, this is wat i did for my previous car but certain percentage of oil vapour still manage to escape into the intake manifold, not 100% clean from oil vapour and for this setup you will need 2 OCT.
when you are speeding or at high rpm, the connection hose which connects from the engine to the airfilter that you see in the photo will suck in oil vapour into the intake manifold through the throttle body so that is why you need 2 OCT with this setup.
xtorm
post Apr 30 2007, 03:34 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

haha,, the 1 going to air filter i juz plug in a small filter, rm8 nia

TSmicwin1437
post Apr 30 2007, 08:50 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Apr 30 2007, 03:34 AM)
haha,, the 1 going to air filter i juz plug in a small filter, rm8 nia
i would advice you to do it to your intake manifold side also, it is more critical on that side.........

cheers.
xtorm
post Apr 30 2007, 02:07 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

nah there i got the trusty n cheap petrol filter...even cheaper, rm5...kekekeke

hmm but the pcv valve is there for a reason rite? thats y is better to route it back? no? cant realy remember wat i read
TSmicwin1437
post Apr 30 2007, 04:59 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Apr 30 2007, 02:07 PM)
nah there i got the trusty n cheap petrol filter...even cheaper, rm5...kekekeke

hmm but the pcv valve is there for a reason rite? thats y is better to route it back? no? cant realy remember wat i read
Emissions controls were first installed on passenger cars and light trucks in 1962. This first emission control, the P.C.V. valve, is still used on present production vehicles. The acronym P.C.V. stands for Positive Crankcase Ventilation. The valve of this system regulates the flow rate of crankcase blow-by gases into the intake manifold, thus burning these gases again. These gases contain large quantities of unburned hydro-carbons and some carbon monoxide. Flow rate through the valve is inverse to intake manifold vacuum. The higher the vacuum (i.e., at idle and low cruise speeds) the lower the flow rate. At wide open throttle when crankcase blow-by pressure is greatest the P.C.V. flows at the maximum rate.

B4 1962 all unburnt gases from the engine is release into the air directly......

there is no harm done if you use my setup...smile.gif

Kelvinz
post Apr 30 2007, 10:54 PM

119 posts

see like that dunno how to do... >.>

TSmicwin1437
post May 3 2007, 07:38 PM

1,197 posts

History of my OCT.... ;D
First version...cute
Second version...ugly but practical
Third version...a little too biggggggg
Current version and i'm very satisfied.....
this is after 14 days of accumulated engine oil vapour excluding those escape through the brass filter....
After cleaning....
with better looking filter(K&N looks... ;D)
rcracer
post May 3 2007, 08:01 PM

?????
3,772 posts

LOLOL, use coke bottle and gigantic water filter somemore, priceless, you really hate the oil vapours man
TSmicwin1437
post May 3 2007, 08:11 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ May 3 2007, 08:01 PM)
LOLOL, use coke bottle and gigantic water filter somemore, priceless, you really hate the oil vapours man
oil vapour is just like cigarate smoke which harms our lung, a silent killer, which will kill your engine in the long run.
hypermount
post May 4 2007, 10:03 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

hi micwin1437, what if my savvy's engine only has one hole from the crankcase and then the PCV hose branched into 2 hose through a T-joint into the intake manifold and air breather hose..is it safe to block the hole in the intake manifold? would it choke the engine? dun dare to do that I just did 2 OCT each for the intake manifold and breather hose.

Nice DIY! love that plastic water filter but doubt it would fit into my engine bay..

For proton savvy owners just an idea how to make a simple OCT using Iswara fuel filter hose..
http://www.savoc.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2733

After early one month..oil collected, not much - but it's thick and flowing slowly..

0.0164sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:30 PM