Macbook Retina Screen how to take care, Reason of retina coating failes

TSshyan90's
post Dec 29 2017, 02:27 AM, updated 8y ago

To Be Old and Wise You Must First be Young and Stupid
1,204 posts

Hi, just bought myself an used mid 2014 macbook retina..
I found there is alot of user report they have retina coating issue but in malaysia seems not that common..
Can share the tips how to take care this retina screen? As i know replace a retina screen not cheap and cost thousand plus!
dino89
post Dec 29 2017, 11:02 AM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Dec 29 2017, 02:27 AM)
Hi, just bought myself an used mid 2014 macbook retina..
I found there is alot of user report they have retina coating issue but in malaysia seems not that common..
Can share the tips how to take care this retina screen? As i know replace a retina screen not cheap and cost thousand plus!
Erm the coating issues will come regardless of how you "take care" of the screen
My rMBP only sits at home on the desk, I rarely touch the screen at all and yet I replaced the screen twice due to this issue.
TSshyan90's
post Dec 29 2017, 06:15 PM

1,204 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Dec 29 2017, 11:02 AM)
Erm the coating issues will come regardless of how you "take care" of the screen
My rMBP only sits at home on the desk, I rarely touch the screen at all and yet I replaced the screen twice due to this issue.
I heard some fella saids that can just replace the glass instead the screen. is it valid?
So it really depends luck?
dino89
post Dec 29 2017, 06:45 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Dec 29 2017, 06:15 PM)
I heard some fella saids that can just replace the glass instead the screen. is it valid?
So it really depends luck?
Not sure about that
What i know is that they covered warranty claims up to 3 years from my date of purchase, so they replaced the screen for me 2 times even though out of warranty. You need to check with the authorised service centres for more info on this
wei
post Dec 29 2017, 08:28 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

If you really want to avoid it. Get a good screen protector and apply it well
TSshyan90's
post Dec 30 2017, 01:11 AM

1,204 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Dec 29 2017, 08:28 PM)
If you really want to avoid it. Get a good screen protector and apply it well
It did help? You got sell? tongue.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif If yes please recommend abit smile.gif

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Dec 30 2017, 01:15 AM
TSshyan90's
post Dec 30 2017, 01:14 AM

1,204 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Dec 29 2017, 06:45 PM)
Not sure about that
What i know is that they covered warranty claims up to 3 years from my date of purchase, so they replaced the screen for me 2 times even though out of warranty. You need to check with the authorised service centres for more info on this
Ok noted bro..If any issue will contact apple then.. Luckily I purchase local unit not oversea unit..Finger cross hope this issue would not happen...Yours is Mid 2014 too?
dino89
post Dec 30 2017, 09:53 AM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Dec 30 2017, 01:14 AM)
Ok noted bro..If any issue will contact apple then.. Luckily I purchase local unit not oversea unit..Finger cross hope this issue would not happen...Yours is Mid 2014 too?
Yeap, mine is the rMBP Mid 2014, bought in 2015 nod.gif
TSshyan90's
post Dec 30 2017, 11:46 AM

1,204 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Dec 30 2017, 09:53 AM)
Oic..cant trace back when the previous owner bought this Macbook.. However i think will take suggestion as apply screen protector 1st b4 anything bad goes to it.
andrewtho
post Jan 1 2018, 01:54 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Dec 30 2017, 09:53 AM)
Do you know the price to replace the screen?

I have one unit of 2014 rMBP, the screen seems to be dead (not functioning) already.
dino89
post Jan 1 2018, 03:07 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Jan 1 2018, 01:54 PM)
Do you know the price to replace the screen?

I have one unit of 2014 rMBP, the screen seems to be dead (not functioning) already.
Er i dont know the price for replacing screen sweat.gif
raining again
post Jan 17 2018, 11:06 PM

It's raining again, again ... and again
895 posts

I have the screen problem too on my macbook retina. Made a video about it, check it out!
TSshyan90's
post Jan 18 2018, 10:14 AM

1,204 posts

QUOTE(raining again @ Jan 17 2018, 11:06 PM)
Great. Has installed mine but privacy type looks not really good
skyuo23
post Jan 24 2018, 11:41 AM

54 posts

Is it true Apple replaces your screen for free?
raining again
post Jan 24 2018, 08:28 PM

It's raining again, again ... and again
895 posts

@skyuo23. Yap, got replaced at 1 Utama Mac Service Centre. Last time i got a macbook 2009 white battery problem and the side of the plastic keyboard cracked too. Out of warranty but they still replace it as faulty design on their part.
MyPIA
post Jan 25 2018, 12:58 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Dec 29 2017, 11:02 AM)
Bro do you mind letting me know which place did you do the replacement from ? Have same issue sad.gif
Nagashiro
post Feb 20 2018, 11:33 AM

401 posts

So did Apple MY does help to replace staingate issue rMBP ?

I have 4 unit here all having the same problem. Wiped using Alcohol and screen cleaning solution only.
TSshyan90's
post Feb 20 2018, 11:57 AM

1,204 posts

Applied Screen protector can prevent i think.
ultra_nyamuk
post Feb 26 2018, 06:27 PM

1,833 posts

Thinking of getting mpb retina. What issue is this? No coating means screen spoiled? Do you mean coating like oleophobic coating on phones? Because the phone still works well ...without coating.
Benefon
post Feb 26 2018, 06:34 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Feb 26 2018, 06:27 PM)
Thinking of getting mpb retina. What issue is this? No coating means screen spoiled? Do you mean coating like oleophobic coating on phones? Because the phone still works well ...without coating.
Can buy screen protector or use micro fiber cloth with minium water for clean out only.

Do not use any liquid or alcohol for cleaning out.

This is optional
XSKN for TouchBar Macbook 13 HD Bubble Free Screen Protector Anti-Glare Easy Install High Definition Clear Screen Protector Film
http://s.aliexpress.com/VBJJRjyE?fromSns=Copy to Clipboard
(from AliExpress Android)

I just bought this and awaiting to arrive 2 weeks time.

0.0221sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:11 AM