Protein Intake

TSBdeee
post Dec 28 2017, 06:31 PM, updated 8y ago

20 posts

Dear sifus,

I'm new to bodybuilding and since I couldn't get the amount of proteins I need from natural food source my buddy advised me to get whey protein. I did my research and most sources tells me that I need about 180g grams of protein( 1g per pound of bodymass ). Right now i'm consuming 2 scoops in the morning and 1.5 scoops in the night. Each scoops has 28g of protein so i get about 100g from it. My question is whether I'm depending too much on the whey powder and if its going to screw my kidneys up or if its perfectly safe for me to consume them. I workout 6 days in a week if that helps

This post has been edited by Bdeee: Dec 28 2017, 06:35 PM
TSBdeee
post Dec 28 2017, 06:33 PM

20 posts

Typo

This post has been edited by Bdeee: Dec 28 2017, 06:34 PM
internaldisputes
post Dec 29 2017, 10:34 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

your friend is right but it's advisable to diversify your protein sources because at the moment relying more than half of your daily protein intake on whey sounds unsustainable. i don't know about kidneys but most people have problems with whey because it has lactose. if you're not lactose-intolerant then you're good.

in bodybuilding everyone obsesses over proteins but actually you need to focus on other nutrients as well (dubbed the "macros"), primarily fats and carbs. the recommended ratio would be carbohydrates: 45-65% of calories, fat: 20-35% of calories, protein: 10-35% of calories. so i hope you don't neglect this.
lingleeyen
post Dec 29 2017, 01:34 PM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Dec 29 2017, 10:34 AM)
your friend is right but it's advisable to diversify your protein sources because at the moment relying more than half of your daily protein intake on whey sounds unsustainable. i don't know about kidneys but most people have problems with whey because it has lactose. if you're not lactose-intolerant then you're good.

in bodybuilding everyone obsesses over proteins but actually you need to focus on other nutrients as well (dubbed the "macros"), primarily fats and carbs. the recommended ratio would be carbohydrates: 45-65% of calories, fat: 20-35% of calories, protein: 10-35% of calories. so i hope you don't neglect this.
Also, every individual is different. Some reacts bad to carbs. I feel sluggish with carbs. Fats are no no for me hours before training. So go look for the suitable combo for yourself.
TSBdeee
post Dec 29 2017, 10:08 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Dec 29 2017, 10:34 AM)

I don't think I'm lactose intolerant since I don't really notice anything different. I'll begin calculating my macros and micros I guess but protein diversification is still a problem to me

This post has been edited by Bdeee: Dec 29 2017, 10:09 PM
TSBdeee
post Dec 29 2017, 10:17 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Dec 29 2017, 01:34 PM)
Also, every individual is different. Some reacts bad to carbs. I feel sluggish with carbs. Fats are no no for me hours before training. So go look for the suitable combo for yourself.
I can't eat anything before working out if not I'll feel unproductive as well so I'll take either Milo or a banana before hitting the gym. I can't really cook so I'm gonna start preparing small meals like sandwiches and depend on outside meal for the rest of the day.Atleast for now
The_Rock
post Jan 2 2018, 01:00 PM

451 posts

take more natural protein.
calapia
post Jan 2 2018, 03:08 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Bdeee @ Dec 29 2017, 10:17 PM)
I can't eat anything before working out if not I'll feel unproductive as well so I'll take either Milo or a banana before hitting the gym. I can't really cook so I'm gonna start preparing small meals like sandwiches and depend on outside meal for the rest of the day.Atleast for now
hm... for me. i ll just take a scoop of whey or half scoop of whey with eggs + banana before hitting gym. then normal meal to try hit the macros... means getting chic + egg from chicken rice shop or mixed rice. at nite same. else just drink another scoop of whey during tea time. usually my bulking phase, i add in between main meal like bread..milk... yogurt...
just protein is not sustainable unless u on keto.... at least for me.. :-P i need carb

TSBdeee
post Jan 2 2018, 03:47 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(calapia @ Jan 2 2018, 03:08 PM)
hm... for me. i ll just take a scoop of whey or half scoop of whey with eggs + banana before hitting gym. then normal meal to try hit the macros... means getting chic + egg from chicken rice shop or mixed rice. at nite same. else just drink another scoop of whey during tea time. usually my bulking phase, i add in between main meal like bread..milk... yogurt... 
just protein is not sustainable unless u on keto.... at least for me.. :-P i need carb
decided to ditch whey protein and go real food
ah_suknat
post Jan 3 2018, 01:17 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

Since you just started,

If you just want to get a "better" body than your current body, just eat better and natural foods, and see how long you can dicipline yourself to training in the gym.

If you want to wear underwear and pose on the stage, than only think about getting supplements.

DeAct
post Jan 16 2018, 12:43 PM

281 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by DeAct: Apr 9 2024, 11:28 PM
Yagami5159
post Jan 16 2018, 04:14 PM

I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS SHIT
1,120 posts

QUOTE(DeAct @ Jan 16 2018, 12:43 PM)
Hmm, since this is a related topic, I might as well ask.

What's the appropriate amount of protein for a bodybuilder/strength athlete ? I know that the golden rule is 1g of protein/lbs of bw (2.2g/kg) but I've also read contradictory statements saying that 0.8-1.4 g/kg is adequate.

I personally take 1.2g/kg and I'm asking because I found out that my body does not do well on high protein diets. I normally get stomach aches (I found out it was due to indigestion for eating too much protein too quick). It helps though if I chew more/space out my meals. Should I suck it up and eat 1g/lbs by spacing my protein intake ?

I also noticed that 1g/lbs basically applies to both beginners and advanced trainers. I fail to understand this because given the same weight, they should be quite different in terms of body composition/training intensity, no?
Cheers,
DeAct
From what I heard, 1g of protein per lbs bw is for maintaining current shape for bodybuilders, of course one does not actually chug down daily amount of protein in one go as your body couldn't process it all in one go, not to mention you're risking yourself for kidney failure. Divide it among meals or between meals is the best way to do it.

As for how much you really need to take daily? it depends, taken for my case that I need to increase my muscle mass I need to rack up my daily protein intake up to 1.4g / 1lbs (Of course, I need to work my ass off). But I would agree on 1g per BW is the basics for beginners, go for it. Happy Gaining.
Lionel90
post Jan 17 2018, 03:18 PM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ Jan 16 2018, 04:14 PM)
From what I heard, 1g of protein per lbs bw is for maintaining current shape for bodybuilders, of course one does not actually chug down daily amount of protein in one go as your body couldn't process it all in one go, not to mention you're risking yourself for kidney failure. Divide it among meals or between meals is the best way to do it.

As for how much you really need to take daily? it depends, taken for my case that I need to increase my muscle mass I need to rack up my daily protein intake up to 1.4g / 1lbs (Of course, I need to work my ass off). But I would agree on 1g per BW is the basics for beginners, go for it. Happy Gaining.
I thought those 2 are myths?
Yagami5159
post Jan 18 2018, 07:56 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(Lionel90 @ Jan 17 2018, 03:18 PM)
I thought those 2 are myths?
Am used to have kidney issues back when I'm in college, back then I was taking too much eggs per meal and my body couldn't cope with the drastic protein intakes. These problems subside when I cut down it to a minimum and gradually increasing it at a very slow pace.

Edit:
There's a reason why they measure protein contents in your pee when you're doing medical checkups.

This post has been edited by Yagami5159: Jan 18 2018, 07:58 AM
darklight79
post Jan 18 2018, 09:28 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

You don't need more than 0.85g per lb bodyweight.
Lionel90
post Jan 18 2018, 09:56 AM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ Jan 18 2018, 07:56 AM)
Am used to have kidney issues back when I'm in college, back then I was taking too much eggs per meal and my body couldn't cope with the drastic protein intakes. These problems subside when I cut down it to a minimum and gradually increasing it at a very slow pace.

Edit:
There's a reason why they measure protein contents in your pee when you're doing medical checkups.
I think your kidney problem could be attributed to other factors rather than or on top of too much eggs? College, stress, sleeping late, maybe? The general consensus seems to be that if u already have kidney problem, high protein diet (not too much protein in one meal) might deteriorate it; otherwise good to go.
And about body couldnt absorb too much protein in one go, there are studies that agree and dont. I just dont think it makes sense. Those Bodybuilders that practice IF can be the living proofs I guess...
Yagami5159
post Jan 18 2018, 01:56 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(Lionel90 @ Jan 18 2018, 09:56 AM)
I think your kidney problem could be attributed to other factors rather than or on top of too much eggs? College, stress, sleeping late, maybe? The general consensus seems to be that if u already have kidney problem, high protein diet (not too much protein in one meal) might deteriorate it; otherwise good to go.
And about body couldnt absorb too much protein in one go, there are studies that agree and dont. I just dont think it makes sense. Those Bodybuilders that practice IF can be the living proofs I guess...
Most probably it's both, but I got the feeling that most probably it's too much protein, anyway these were the doctor's note, so I'll just go with it.
As for proteins intake per meal, I know it's okay go high protein with each meal, but we're talking about having your daily amount of protein in one meal. I don't think our body is manage to absorbs that much (at least for me).

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jan 18 2018, 09:28 AM)
You don't need more than 0.85g per lb bodyweight.
Some say more, some otherwise.
darklight79
post Jan 20 2018, 11:59 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ Jan 18 2018, 01:56 PM)
Some say more, some otherwise.
So go and listen to whoever you want then.

0.0168sec    1.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:24 PM