QUOTE(gacktleong @ Oct 4 2018, 11:47 AM)
some sellers will try to sell u the cheaper A5 or Q30 or Q5pro.imo, Q10pro is well worth the extra rm100 or so.
Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review
Oct 4 2018, 12:03 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,453 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Oct 4 2018, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(Harddisk @ Oct 4 2018, 04:40 PM) What I meant was, if I were to use an Android box, with SB connected to box and when I watch Youtube using box (cause I don't wanna use too many remotes), I can't off SB cause will become no sound. for youtube and netflix, u r much better off using the TV.Unless I switch to using TV's Youtube, which I need to whip out TV's remote. becos few boxes come with netflix 4k hdr. and u need to get the right versions of youtube for box to do 4k. QUOTE(Harddisk @ Oct 4 2018, 04:42 PM) yes, that's what i do all the time.how do u find the sony androidtv? i do not understand why some people say they hate it... shud be the same as the sharp androditv. i gotta get my hands on somebody's sony androidtv and check it out. just about ALL TV's come with shitty players for playback. becos TV makers are supposed to make good displays, they dun spend research/money to make good players - and rightly so - that's somebody else's biz. just that i think i am failing to convince u to forget using it. u know... it does a lot of injustice to the thousands of rm u already spent on the TV and soundbar! |
Oct 4 2018, 07:19 PM
Oct 4 2018, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(mahadi82 @ Oct 4 2018, 10:34 PM) I never used one, dun really know.Can read, ask: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4513032/+300 |
Oct 5 2018, 03:57 PM
i spent a bit more time playing around with the android8 update.
i conclude there is definitely a problem with the detection of NTFS drives with androidtv's android8. the same kind of problem has been reported in Mibox and Nvidia shield which also use androidtv months ago but have largely been resolved, i believe. there's a youtube video where a mibox user says removal of es file explorer does the job - maybe for mibox, but not for this tv. there is no reliable way to playback using the TV except the tv native player (which can't do dts). i had tried... several file managers - es file explorer, es file exp pro, X-plore. tried several player apps - vlc, mx, mx pro, kodi, Xplayer. none of them did a proper job... es file exp + vlc or kodi or xplayer can play somewhat but inconsistent. so, we wait... i wud think another update shud be coming soon. ____ minor stuff but FYI, with android8 update: .. if u can't bring up the virtual keyboard when using playstore, install google indic keyboard, set it as default. .. latest unifi playtv 7.8.19 tablet version works fine, all smooth. .. latest astrogo 8.2.4 works smoother with this update than last one. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 5 2018, 04:56 PM |
Oct 5 2018, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(chonglol @ Oct 5 2018, 06:05 PM) Thanks for verifying that its a problem with the update. i sure hope a new update/patch will come soon.I've been going crazy trying to play my movies with VLC. Super disappointed that it stopped working. Along with the keyboard, i cant type anything anymore and using the phone app doesn't work either. Can't access display settings or any other advanced setting page anymore either. Hopefully Sharp fixes the problems with an update quick. Does anyone know an email or feedback we can all use so we can escalate the problem to sharp? Btw, anyone know any good apps for watching Hk/china movie/tv shows? preferably easy to use one for my mom Thanks horrible for those who rely on TV for playback. as for china/hk mov/tv... u can use the icdrama rss apk as suggested by jerrymy or this one: http://www.mediafire.com/file/885170z6yvrs...V_100.apk/file# they are from the same owner/source, only this one works with both tv remote and mouse. i hv been using icdrama for at least 3 years - this is the champion of them all for such videos. and... if u haven't, try REDBOX 1.2. have to put up with the ads (adfree version can't be installed on this tv). but i assure u u will like the malaysian section. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 5 2018, 07:34 PM |
Oct 6 2018, 01:35 AM
Oct 6 2018, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(chonglol @ Oct 6 2018, 10:27 AM) on screen keyboard, keeps prompting me to use my phone to type, but when i use the app on my phone, the text doesnt come up on the TV, so i couldnt search or fill anything. i think u mean using phone app, paired with TV?I saw one of your posts to use google keyboard indi and that works for now for virtual keyboard, install INDIC, it will come up. i also use an airmouse w/keyboard, works fine too (even w/o INDIC). |
Oct 6 2018, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(chonglol @ Oct 6 2018, 10:40 AM) Phone app or using the remote, both wouldnt work, on screen keyboard wont come up i think explanation is after update, default keyboard is no longer leanback but gboard.Yep, using google Indic keyboard for now need indic. maybe this was done to push people to use voice. |
Oct 6 2018, 11:16 AM
Oct 6 2018, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(jerrymy @ Oct 5 2018, 06:23 PM) For a more easy to use one, you can install the aDrama that you can find in the Android TV's play store. It is much easier to use but don't have the latest dramas (The ones showing now in Astro) didn't know it exists on androidtv... thanks for heads up! this adrama androidtv+icdrama rss androidtv give enough... all u wanna watch... china-hk-taiwan-korea movies+tv shows. not the best quality... mostly 480-576-720p... but very stable, good enough. |
Oct 9 2018, 11:17 AM
Oct 9 2018, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(gacktleong @ Oct 9 2018, 11:45 AM) sure u can with keyboard, wireless mouse, airmouse with RF - transmitter and receiver.BT shud work too if yr device has it. but take note TV's BT is "one-way" - it takes input but does not give output. e.g. it can take tablet video and audio and play on tv, tv speakers. BUT cannot output TV's android audio to headphones or AVR. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 9 2018, 02:24 PM |
Oct 9 2018, 04:20 PM
Oct 9 2018, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(gacktleong @ Oct 9 2018, 05:33 PM) u r welcome.the main thing is not be bogged down by issues/problems but make full use of the androidtv... u paid for it! there are quite a few more apps/methods to get other good stuff. but may be too complicated or too time consuming for most users. maybe... one day, i will write another section on these. |
Oct 10 2018, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(coconutzz @ Oct 10 2018, 09:44 AM) Hi wanted to ask for some reviews if anyone used the following ? both TV's are 40" fullHD, probably <rm1k.Sharp 40" LC40SA5100M or Toshiba 40" 40L3750M ? Just wanted to know if we watch sports channels like football, is it clear or it does have "shadow?" thanks u will need to ask in "Full HD TV" threads. currently there is a lot more interest in UHD 4K HDR tv's, like this thread. |
Oct 11 2018, 07:26 PM
Oct 12 2018, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(nesh04 @ Oct 12 2018, 12:48 PM) androidtv apps incl kodi work as good and as fast as any decent android box.but i can understand sometimes it gets sluggish due to junk or bad sideloaded apps... and user does not know how to reset the android which is simple enough. |
Oct 19 2018, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(alamdamai1 @ Oct 18 2018, 04:29 PM) so sorry to hijack this thread as there is no topic for Sharp model UA6500X.. can't tell u the specifics of the panel but u can compare the 2 side by side for other features:may i kindly enquire does anyone knows whether the panel for 6800X are the same as the 6500X? reason being i don't need an Android OS...many thanks for your guys advised... https://my.sharp/compare/product small price diff, i think. QUOTE(shlimsk @ Oct 19 2018, 06:26 AM) You guys are awesome!! 6800x has been in the shops since early 2018, i think.Must better than most of the saleperson in the shops! You guys drilled in every single piece of this tv I am planning to buy either 50" or 60"....prefer 50" if fit in nicely to my living room so can save some penny:) Notice the price has been dropped since last year until now and usually new model is releasing during year end. But not sure how end it is. Eg. 60" LC60UA6800X cost rm 3300 cheapest i saw online recently. All sifus that follow the market trend closely. Should i wait until Dec18 only buy it or now is the right moment because price already adjusted for stock clearing for new model? Thanks in advanced. yes, prices have come down as they always do. current... this 50" is the cheapest i hv noticed: https://www.lazada.com.my/products/sharp-50...JziOPJ&search=1 new model may not be coming so soon becos 6800x is <1 yr old, just got android8.0. besides, older 630x still selling, not removed yet.. so, i dun expect new model for 2019. will price go down further... who knows...? This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 19 2018, 10:39 AM |
Oct 20 2018, 12:40 AM
| Change to: | 0.0787sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:01 PM |