4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Direct connection to USA, by Dec 2008

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 27 2007, 10:52 PM

4,463 posts

Thx .... Sigh... i thought i'd post this first since its the big news and then someone else post the same thing after me ... *grumble grumble >-o;

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 27 2007, 10:53 PM
OKLY
post Apr 27 2007, 11:02 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Apr 27 2007, 09:05 PM)
So i heard from Buletin Utama. Keng Yaik says it will cost 1.8b Ringgit, over 20000km long, and will be completed by December next year. TM only invested 50m Ringgit in this (lol?) while the rest are covered by other companies. Good news or bad news ? hmm.gif
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Apr 27 2007, 09:44 PM)
Summary:

Asia-America Gateway (AAG) that will be finished by December 2008 will increase Malaysia's International bandwidth. So expect faster internet connection to overseas.  brows.gif

Anyway below is just some interesting stuff to read, enjoy.
Malaysia leads plan for US-region cable link
Source: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...16&sec=business
About the cables under the sea ( this is a case study about Singapore concerning international bandwidth )
Source: http://james.seng.sg/archives/2006/12/30/s...rs_in_asia.html
I recommend reading the source as it has pictures showing the cable routes. Anyway interesting stuff.
Old news about undersea cables and how earth quakes in Taiwan effect them

Source: http://www.blueline.co.id/promotions_events_news/news.html
It's quite good that Malaysia is taking the initiative here. So i'm pretty optimistic for 2008 since tmnut is partnering with Verizon to deliver our 4mb broadband, and our international link will get a huge boost in bandwidth. Not only that, but i hear that the government is looking for companys by looking at their performance to see who will be fit to bridge the last mile for fiber optics in malaysia doh.gif more news on that would be appreciated.

notworthy.gif
Before you say something, please look at the time that was posted. 39 minutes difference ?

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 27 2007, 11:18 PM

4,463 posts

I swear the thread was not there when i was posting. nm :/

Anyway.........................

Just how fast will our internet be hmm.gif

I can think of a few popular things that will be affected.

Dota ( for those of us who play on us server with original cd keys *stare )

World of Warcraft ( lots of Malaysians use the Us servers for this. I got a character over there too )

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 27 2007, 11:26 PM
Fields
post Apr 28 2007, 11:49 AM

570 posts

I read a post in the previous page saying the new connection wont affect us because of our backbone that is controlled by tmnet. Does anyone have any info about our backbone? Like who really controls it and what kind of backbone is it.
nikmuhammadhafiz
post Apr 28 2007, 12:09 PM

151 posts

next year?~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
chooncc
post Apr 28 2007, 12:28 PM

109 posts

RM1.8 billion = RM1800million=RM1,8000,000,000

and tm net just invest RM50million=RM50,000,000

so just RM50/1800=2.777777777777% bandwidth only

1.28 terabits = 1 342 177.28 megabits

if 1 user using 1 megabit on time,
so that mean 1342177.28 user for 1 megabit full speed ontime,

but we should be share will all asean country user

and malaysia user just get 2.777% only=37272.26 megabits only.

if malaysia broadband user reach 5 million=5,000,000 user
and
if malaysia broadband user 1 Million= 1,000,000 user online together

so 1 miilion user online together, 1 user can get
3272.26megabit/1,000,000=37.27kibobits only ontime

so 500,000 user online together, 1 user can get
3272.26megabit/1,000,000=75.54 kibobits only ontime

and maybe year 2008 the user will reach 1,000,000
and we said the 10 % user using broadband link to US:

if 100,000 user online together, 1 user can get
3272.26megabit/100,000=372.70 kibobits only ontime

if 10,000 user online together, 1 user can get
3272.26megabit/10,000=3727 kibobits only ontime

but we need reserve 10-30 % usage for leased line and business user,

so dont happy so early.

malaysia still no enough bandwidth when the user reach 2 million

Added on April 28, 2007, 12:30 pmso we hope not all the user using use all the bandwidth for bt downloading the movies, and reserve some of the bandwidth for online using.

This post has been edited by chooncc: Apr 28 2007, 12:30 PM
[W]HIT3_@NG3L
post Apr 28 2007, 12:34 PM

2,104 posts

good calculation you have there
why dont you submit it to their CEO or engineer smile.gif
chooncc
post Apr 28 2007, 12:38 PM

109 posts

QUOTE([W]HIT3_@NG3L @ Apr 28 2007, 12:34 PM)
good calculation you have there
why dont you submit it to their CEO or engineer smile.gif
their CEO dont know "who am i"

and maybe their engineer also knew the problem but the telekom dont want to pay more but just want the money

[W]HIT3_@NG3L
post Apr 28 2007, 12:46 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(chooncc @ Apr 28 2007, 12:38 PM)
their CEO dont know "who am i"

and maybe their engineer also knew the problem but the telekom dont want to pay more but just want the money
NO!
their engineer and specially their CEO don't know a single basic maths calculation rolleyes.gif
chooncc
post Apr 28 2007, 12:55 PM

109 posts

so, why the tm already go beyond profit also saying... ' tak untung''tak untung' 'tak untung'

hahaha
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 28 2007, 01:54 PM

4,463 posts

I hope this isn't just another Placebo effect. Think it will be good but actually isn't up to expectation >-o;
Suk
post Apr 28 2007, 05:58 PM

2,330 posts

i dont thinking this project can completed in 2008
btw, 1 year to go. then we will know what will gonna happen.

however, Most of the users facing DC quite seriously & Fiber Optic is not going to replace old copper cable, then no point for home users upgrading their service. The major problem is higher ur dl / ul speed may facing more DC / unstablability connection.

Beside than, upgrading the internetional bandwidth, i suggest they need to change all the copper cable to fibre optic.
But other isp offer in USA doesn't able to replace those old copper cable due to HIGH COST.

At last, This project is a good move for TM. nod.gif

This post has been edited by Suk: Apr 28 2007, 05:59 PM
jong52yuara
post Apr 28 2007, 06:02 PM

Forex is the best business you can do.
1,704 posts

does anyone know how many internet user in singapore? how come starhub can offer 100mb line? sweat.gif
nwk
post Apr 28 2007, 06:10 PM

256 posts

this is all talk and we all know that tmnut & lim keng yaek only know how to talk kok all the time. as far as i am concerned this is just vaporware and nothing will come out of it. when our speeds increase and our lines are stable then i will believe it. TALK IS CHEAP!
ddddashhhh
post Apr 28 2007, 06:11 PM

50 posts

So TM just pay a portion and get to own the BACKBONE of the connection....WOW........this is a TOTAL DOMINATION...good luck to other contributors....lol.

dragna
post Apr 28 2007, 07:49 PM

5,252 posts

Well out of the RM50M that TM forked out, there is still RM1.75B to be contended by the other companies.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 28 2007, 09:34 PM

4,463 posts

Why only 50 M ? all the new wimax companys they paying 300 mil each to set their stuff up doh.gif
TSJoseph Hahn
post Apr 29 2007, 12:43 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

No idea. That's what i heard on the news.

QUOTE(nwk @ Apr 28 2007, 06:10 PM)
this is all talk and we all know that tmnut & lim keng yaek only know how to talk kok all the time. as far as i am concerned this is just vaporware and nothing will come out of it. when our speeds increase and our lines are stable then i will believe it. TALK IS CHEAP!
It's not all talk. They signed the freaking agreement already. Same thing with the Verizon partnership. It will take time of course (years), Rome was not built in a day. If by Dec 2008 our speed to USA is still gay, then you can start blaming them.
Suk
post Apr 29 2007, 01:46 AM

2,330 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Apr 29 2007, 12:43 AM)
No idea. That's what i heard on the news.

It's not all talk. They signed the freaking agreement already. Same thing with the Verizon partnership. It will take time of course (years), Rome was not built in a day. If by Dec 2008 our speed to USA is still gay, then you can start blaming them.
Malaysian always can not finish the projects on time.
So hope for Dec 2009 la
HiT-AbLe
post Apr 29 2007, 06:06 AM

866 posts

I think it'll lower the ping time to US, good for MMOers.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0199sec    0.88    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:03 PM