Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

yhtan
post Aug 16 2018, 05:39 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Aug 15 2018, 05:53 PM)
That's mean not advisable to buy iPhone in Japan? Since it is 15% cheaper I think it is a good deal
not recommending u to buy iPhone from Japan, my friend bought it and enjoy 10% discount.

End up he realize he take photo in silent mode also got sound laugh.gif

Probably to curb the stalker from taking private photo laugh.gif
yhtan
post Aug 16 2018, 11:56 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Aug 16 2018, 11:53 PM)
Yeah heard about this as well. But some say if you use Non-Japanese SIM in it there no more shuttering sound. But another Malaysian forumer said there is still shuttering sound when using Malaysian SIM card in Malaysia. Anyone can confirm?
U use Malaysia SIM also useless, u need to jailbreak the iPhone only can change this setting laugh.gif

My friend bought it and try to snap photo in silent mode, all of sudden the shutter sound is on, apparently it is the default setting for Japan iPhone.
yhtan
post Aug 28 2018, 02:51 PM

8,651 posts

I browse throught the first page on the simcard and saw https://hello1010.my/japan-docomo-7gb-sim offer

Is this the best deal or better to rent one pocket wifi? hmm.gif
yhtan
post Sep 1 2018, 03:59 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 31 2018, 11:11 AM)
Finally... I'm glad to hear that people do read/ check info on Page 1.

Anyway yes, the Hello1010 SIM is really not bad. I buy from them every time each time I go Japan. The connection is good, there had been no issue so far. Whether it's SIM or Router, it depends on how many people are going. If you have 3-4 people, renting a pocket wifi will be cheaper. However you won't be able to separate from the group with pocket wifi.

I read some of the pages to get information but the thread is just too big to follow laugh.gif

Well i appreciate the effort done by your, at least informative and well updated there thumbup.gif

I did asked one of my friend who travel frequent to Japan for business, he recommend me to use this https://www.samuraiwifi.com.my/
RM20 per day and it does have the translator machine for rent as well.
yhtan
post Sep 4 2018, 05:55 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(FreedomSeeker @ Sep 4 2018, 05:46 PM)
Kansai airport runway flooded already. Hope no one travel to osaka now. Or back from osaka.
i'm not sure lucky or unlucky for me, going there on this friday night, landed kansai on saturday morning sweat.gif
yhtan
post Sep 4 2018, 11:35 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 4 2018, 06:12 PM)
Japan react very fast so if the typhoon stopped, some areas may be restored by then. Check the news regularly, make sure you have travel insurance and bring more food just in case.
Yes i believe so, read the news stated thousands were stranded at airport. I hope the public transport by then

QUOTE(FreedomSeeker @ Sep 4 2018, 06:14 PM)
Should be ok gua... Now at there calm down a lot d. I believe Japan very fast to make it back to normal. Is one of the busiest airport. Must back to normal asap.
Now is just some minor rain and hopefully by 48 hrs the whole city able to restore.
yhtan
post Sep 5 2018, 02:29 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(FreedomSeeker @ Sep 5 2018, 02:39 AM)
There may be disruption of flight from 4 Sept till 9 Sept. And also do take note that the bridge linking airport and city also damage. Train not working but not sure car can or not. Bro... I think better keep checking your flight n status there more frequently. Hope everything will be ok for u. Got buy insurance hor?
I do bought travel insurance and i need to check the compensation for postpone the trip.

the flight for tonight has been cancelled, i need to re-check by tomorrow. Road access to airport still available, there is boat transport to Kobe if not mistaken.

yhtan
post Sep 5 2018, 05:44 PM

8,651 posts

It seem kansai airport not functionable at the moment, look like i have to find alternative option by tomorrow sweat.gif
yhtan
post Sep 6 2018, 12:40 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(bug_vengeance @ Sep 6 2018, 11:37 AM)
my MAS flight to osaka would be on 10th sept at nite time

im following up closely with the latest developmet bout the kansai airport

last nite talked to MAS hotline,so far they have no plan to cancel my flight becos they were told that airport should be open back by 7th Sept.

any new development they will contact me back

worst come to worse,the option is either they refund me or reroute me to Narita in tokyo
10th should be safe. mine on 7th sept and i have re-schedule to tokyo on the 9th (transit at KK airport).

To be honest i can't risk anymore because MAS also cannot confirm by now, this time the typhoon has hit the airport really hard.

yhtan
post Sep 6 2018, 02:12 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(Kimki @ Sep 6 2018, 01:37 PM)
What u mean? Klang fly to kk than Tokyo?
KLIA > KK > Tokyo

QUOTE(bug_vengeance @ Sep 6 2018, 02:09 PM)
so u take the decision to reroute ur destination,did MAS charge you for that ?
The only earliest choice i have on 9th, else i have to wait until 11th. The rest period flight has been fully booked. No charges require, i don't dare to risk it anymore, since now Kansai airport still partially function for domestic flight only.

Btw the re-schedule only applicable for kansai flight on 6-9th Sept.
yhtan
post Sep 6 2018, 03:11 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Sep 6 2018, 02:56 PM)
Not only fully booked, they'd actually overbooked.

A friend was told his flight to Narita was overbooked this morning, counter staff asked him to take the next flight.

After making really lots & lots of noise, somehow they can 'squeeze' 1 seat for him to board.
Because not allow to change to any code-share flight like JAL

yhtan
post Sep 7 2018, 10:15 AM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 7 2018, 06:41 AM)
I also bought insurance but my flight is today 2pm which is cancelled by Airasia. I receive SMS and email yesterday. I opt for refund but do I get any compensation for this from the insurance?
Yeap, I am the lucky one. Schedule for today 2pm. Shockingly received SMS and email yesterday. I think they tried to call me at 2am this morning but I was sleeping so didn't pick up.
Omg why nobody tell me that. I thought summer can see many stuff. More lively. Last time I went to New York in January and it was cold like shit until cannot go outside.
What you did? I opt for refund.
Check with your own insurance company, normally cover for hotel cancellation etc.

I opt for reschedule to Tokyo, no point going osaka/kyoto at the moment after the jebi typhoon, majority shrine/temple is close at the moment
yhtan
post Sep 7 2018, 12:25 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(bug_vengeance @ Sep 7 2018, 10:50 AM)
yesterday evening i got the email from MAS regarding my flight,they will reroute me to Narita Tokyo

now most possibly i will change my vacation to tokyo instead,so i got around 3 days to make a new itinerary  cry.gif

i dont see myself spending rm500 to 1k to just make a trip to osaka/kyoto by shikansen and fulfill our previously planned itinerary  bye.gif
but my wife still fond about the trip to osaka/kyoto  confused.gif

can we find a way for MAS or the travel insurance to pay for my shinkansen ticket ?  laugh.gif
is it true bro ? temples & shrines are closed in osaka & kyoto ?
If u re-route, the next available flight is on tuesday.

Go read up the news, mostly has been destroy by typhoon and what is the point going to kyoto at this hour. I have reschedule and spend a night at yokohama instead.
yhtan
post Sep 7 2018, 11:27 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(fappucino @ Sep 7 2018, 06:48 PM)
Hi guys, juz wanna opinion from u guys.
I edi bought flight tickets to via AA.
Currently return tickets from tokyo is out of my budget.
Shud i wait another AA promo? Or buy now?
Thnks in advance!
why didn't buy the return ticket in one shot? I'm sure u going to pay a lot more for your tokyo-KL flight as it will charge based on Yen.

yhtan
post Sep 8 2018, 11:00 AM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(bug_vengeance @ Sep 8 2018, 10:22 AM)
guys,
hows the condition in osaka?
i mean all the attractions in osaka & kyoto is fully operational again?

im thinking of to stick with my earlier plan to have my vacation in osaka instead of changing to tokyo.

but i need to push my depature date to 13sept,becos MAS said that is their first flight to osaka after the typhoon.
City still need some time to clear up the mess and damage, electricity/water supply available in city area, shrine/temple majority is close.

Why risk yourself going on 13th? The problem with Kansai airport is not yet ready to fully operate sweat.gif
yhtan
post Sep 18 2018, 11:46 AM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Sep 18 2018, 08:10 AM)
Hmm still thinking

11 days trip to Japan with my wife (her first time there)

1) Land in Tokyo using ANA and then buy jr pass

pros: use ana, shinkansen to kyoto
cons: expensive

2) Land in Kansai go back through SIA or Air Asia

pros: SIA, willer express to kl, cheap
cons: lazy to transit at Singapore

3) Land in Tokyo using ANA, use willer express both ways to Osaka and Tokyo

pros: very cheap, save on accomodation
cons: slow, a bit tiring

which one should I use :/ dont really wanna spend a lot on jr pass tbh but if terpaksa what to dooo
JR pass would cost around 27k Yen while one way ticket for shinkansen kyoto-japan would cost around 10-12k Yen.
yhtan
post Sep 21 2018, 05:55 PM

8,651 posts

Just to share some info for those sports car rental, u can refer link below

https://www.omoren.com/en/

Rented one WRX STI at 16k for 9 hrs period, i took route from Nobu (Tokyo) to Gunma to experience initial D route laugh.gif

I would say the car rental is quite reasonable but the killer is the petrol cost and toll rate, 159 Yen for high octane and on top of that need to pay 8% GST, cost me 5800 Yen for the petrol alone. Normal petrol cost around 150 Yen.

Toll rate is another issue, if u use cash then u have to pay extra, try opt for Tocco and every car will have ETC in it.
yhtan
post Sep 21 2018, 08:46 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 21 2018, 06:23 PM)
Yeah. That's why airbnb is preferred. But seems like there are still issues with their licensing and apparently many owners are still reluctant to apply for that license making it illegal to let and to rent. Thoughts on this?
Wow.. this is nice. Will include this in the itinerary. Thanks.

How was the drive to Gumma Prefecture btw?
The ride at Gunma is fine but prior that the highway was very congested, took us about 3-4 hrs for 150km journey, it is our mistake for not estimate more time for it, we rent it for 9 hrs and clearly the traffic condition has eaten up most of the time.

I would suggest u spend a night there and explore around mount haruna and the road around there icon_rolleyes.gif
yhtan
post Sep 24 2018, 12:11 AM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 23 2018, 09:21 PM)
I don't intend to make hours long calls actually.

I just want to be prepared in case of the rented car breaks down especially in the outskirt areas of Furano, Biei, Asahidake and Sounkyo and I can make immediate emergency call to the car agency.
Just use the sim card as per recommendation on the first page, it does provide 20min talk time as well (to japan number)
yhtan
post Oct 3 2018, 03:27 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 3 2018, 01:52 PM)
apelah u... do u know nihon jin goto hakone becoz of onsen 😤

if u wan out of Tokyo, you can u can try somewhere nearer like yokohama??
I remember first time went Hokkaido also feel paiseh, but the onsen in the hotel will open for 23 hrs (3-4am close for maintenance and cleaning). What i did was sneak in at 4-5am because woke up early.

After that experience no need feel shy to enter, japanese won't look at u also, u do your own things and they enjoy on their own.

0.0276sec    0.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:01 PM