Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

maxxxxx0123
post Sep 25 2018, 07:42 PM

92 posts

Guys, which will be better for 1st timer

Plan A
4 night at Yokohama
1 night at Onsen in Izu
4 night at Tokyo
1 night at Narita

Plan B
4 night at Kyoto
4 night at Osaka
4 night at Tokyo
1 night at Narita

Will plan B a bit too rush? Which you think will be cheaper (for Hotel + transport in japan)
maxxxxx0123
post Sep 25 2018, 09:25 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 25 2018, 07:52 PM)
There's nothing much in Yokohama. What are your plans/ places to visit that you're staying there for 4 nights?

Either plan is fine; B allows you more stay. I'll say Kyoto probably max 2 nights and you give Tokyo 6 nights.
well, most likely to cheap out on my credit card, 4 nights at a city to maximize the benefit lol
maxxxxx0123
post Sep 26 2018, 04:07 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 26 2018, 10:01 AM)
Seriously, you can cover Yokohama in 1-2 days hahahaha. You can get to Kamakura for a day trip, it's near to Yokohama - probably 30min train ride. If you wanna save your pocket, might as well stay in in either Tokyo or Kansai and reduce the number of days in your trip.
yea...yokohama seems nothing much, but might make day trip to hakone

but now seems i might go to osaka, kyoto and tokyo more. seems more thing but just worry need travel too much

shinkansen is not cheap too. round trip cost almost 2.5k d for 2 pax
maxxxxx0123
post Sep 27 2018, 12:56 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(cc980024 @ Sep 27 2018, 08:08 AM)
Yes, Shinkansen indeed pricey. Unless is a must for you to try Shinkansen, otherwise you can take flight. I get my ANA domestic flight from Tokyo -> Hokkaido; then Hokkaido -> Osaka. It only cost me about 2.5K for 3pax. In average about RM400/trip/pax. I heard there are much cheaper budget airline, which too bad.. I not aware before this.
I tried to see jetstar. without luggage then confirm flight cheaper by 9k yen. after add luggage (they don't have 20kg option, only 10kg check in and carry on), only less than 1k yen cheaper.

so now seems that shinkansen better option?

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Sep 27 2018, 08:24 AM)
that's why ideally you don't do round trip, if planned properly. fly in Osaka, fly out Tokyo (or vice versa) and only need 1-trip of Shinkansen/domestic airline.

of course the most ideal is to just focus on the different regions (Kansai, Tokyo, Hokkaido) in separate trips rather than crammed them all together
I check JAL. KL macam no direct flight to osaka. If fly in KLIA-Osaka, then Narita-KLIA, extra rm2k compare to KLIA-Tokyo return for premium economy

btw, should i buy my train ticket online? i kinda worry if flight delay, will burnt my ticket. or shud i reach only buy?

PS: I forget to add in the cost of narita express (from narita to tokyo to take shinkansen)

So now it boils down to 2 option

A) Shinkansen
Arrive Narita 6.45am. Take Narita Express at 8am. take shinkansen at 10am. arrive osaka at 12.30pm.
Total Cost 33240 yen (6000 yen for Narita express, 27240 for Shinkansen)

B) Flight
Arrive Narita 6.45am. Take Jetstar at 9.40am. Arrive Kansai at 11.10am. Arrive Osaka at 1pm
Total Cost - 28180 yen (8900yen*2+8000yen for luggage+2380yen for kansai airport to osaka)

which will be a better option eh?

This post has been edited by maxxxxx0123: Sep 27 2018, 01:24 PM
maxxxxx0123
post Sep 27 2018, 03:14 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(cc980024 @ Sep 27 2018, 02:01 PM)
Both JAL & ANA have this kind of Experience Japan Fare/Pass. I have just checked, it still have this Pass that I bought few months back for my coming Dec trip. Go check it out. Is about 10Kyen per trip. When I bought that time .. after convert is RM400+. Just now I try out simply throw a date in year end.. current rate will be bout RM576. Luggage for domestic ANA is 23kg (1 pcs baggage), but there is a clause mentioned that if you can produce your international travel ticket (means your flight ticket in/out Japan).. deem you as international tourist, then international flight baggage apply. If not mistaken, is bout 23kg x 2pc baggage.

By the way, when are you going? I maybe wrong if your travel date is next year.

Have you get your flight ticket to/fr Japan? If not, maybe can wait a bit for promo. I flying by MAS. KLIA - Narita; then Osaka - KLIA. It cost me only bout RM1548 roughly. When I booked that time, if I choose Return ticket from same city.. only different RM200.
I just booked the ticket today. Haha

ANA mostly from Haneda, the 2 from Narita is also evening time d. Am checking JAL now. Wonder why just now i check only 1 flight, but now got a lot hmm.gif hmm.gif

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Sep 27 2018, 02:09 PM)
I think both JAL and ANA don't have direct flights between KL-Osaka. Maybe you would have to use other airlines for KL-Osaka, but I'm not sure how much are the fares. You definitely can do return trips with AirAsia though. But considering you willing to spend for premium economy, I think budget is not really a problem for you biggrin.gif

I would have prefer spending a bit more for the convenience
yea. Don't really want AA. But already bought the tickets this morning haha.

for the bolded part yea, definitely. the difference of train and plane doesn't look big, so would like to know which is more convenient

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 27 2018, 02:18 PM)

I will choose Train to Osaka. You can enjoy view and bento inside train
Japan domestic flight are super boring, No IFE, A magazine full of Japanese wording, one cup of Juice (cannot refill).
Hm, i will definitely take shinkansen from kyoto to tokyo. haha
maxxxxx0123
post Sep 27 2018, 03:36 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 27 2018, 03:20 PM)
Tokyo to Osaka by flight, make sure you know where you landed. Most properly are Osaka Itami Airport
yeap it's Itami
maxxxxx0123
post Sep 27 2018, 03:43 PM

92 posts

sigh. memang got 1 flight only from narita to osaka.

most of it all is haneda
maxxxxx0123
post Sep 27 2018, 04:44 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Sep 27 2018, 04:36 PM)
i heard Expedia even funnier,
the more u search the more cheaper u get.
mean the system is tracking ur behavior...

but if u bought single flight, then ur return flights is in danger
what? isn't supposed to be more search more expansive so u faster book? lol
maxxxxx0123
post Sep 28 2018, 10:33 AM

92 posts

btw, tsukiji market close on october is only the tuna auction part right?

all the restaurants/street food outside it still available on end november? or also will move?
maxxxxx0123
post Oct 4 2018, 09:57 AM

92 posts

Guys, for USS osaka, I am thinking to buy both the ticket and express pass at Klook.

Anyone use that before? Is it reliable?

Or are there any way to get the USS express ticket earlier before I go into Japan?
maxxxxx0123
post Oct 4 2018, 04:46 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(yoonyin @ Oct 4 2018, 04:45 PM)
100% reliable, even their customer support at livechat give quick response and helpful. I used the Klook app in mobile phone to book the Entrance, 4 Ride Express & Japan Cool Ticket + Express on April 2018. The ticket will be instantly showing in your apps once you paid. You can download the ticket from the app itself in pdf format into your phone storage just in case you don't have any internet connection in Japan.

Just let the staff scan the QR code in your app then you gain access into the park or using the specific Express Pass Ride (timeslot based)
Great. Thanks smile.gif
maxxxxx0123
post Oct 8 2018, 07:23 PM

92 posts

Guys, my itinerary is as below. Care to help see and any suggestion that I can add on?

Day 1 - Arrive Narita early morning. Take train to Kyoto
Walk around and visit kyoto tower
Day 2 - Arashiyama
Day 3 - Walk around gion area, Kiyomizu those
Day 4 - Fushimi Inari-taisha, Sanjūsangen-dō, Tofukuji Temple
Day 5 - Go to Osaka. Walk around Tennoji, Abeno Harukas, Abeno Q'sMall, Dōtonbori area
Day 6 - USJ
Day 7 - Kuromon Ichiba, Osaka Castle, Umeda Sky Building
Day 8 - Tsutenkaku tower, Dōtonbori, Shinsaibashi area
Day 9 - Go to Tokyo. Akibahara & Shinjuku walk around
Day 10 - Tsukiji outer market, Tokyo Tower. Ginza area
Day 11 - Shibuya area & Meiji Shrine
Day 12 - Hakone
Day 13 - Sky tree area. Travel to Narita and overnight there at late evening
Day 14 - Back

This post has been edited by maxxxxx0123: Oct 9 2018, 10:17 AM
maxxxxx0123
post Oct 9 2018, 10:17 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Oct 9 2018, 09:29 AM)
Only can comment on your Tokyo itinerary.

Day 9 - Are you anime fan? As one can easily spend 3-4 hours at Akihabara. If not can opt to Shinjuku early as I think Biqclo offers better rate. However Shinjuku not much of scenery, except for the night life.
Day 10 - Ginza is too premium for me, so I didn't spend much time there. Probably you can consider slotting in other itinerary with Ginza as I don't think you'll need a day in Ginza.
Day 11 - That's about right. Few attraction in Shinbuya can easily take up half day. Day 11 seem right to me. Can consider Harajuku as well.
Day 12 - I went to Kawaguchi instead, can't comment much
Day 13 - Sky tree and Senso-ji together
Thanks for the comments. And yea...harajuku, forgotten about it.

For Ginza, I forget to add that i will go Tsukiji and tokyo tower for the 1st part of the day. Tsukiji is mainly for the outer market for food.

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Oct 9 2018, 09:36 AM)
Day 10 - Ginza. WOnder what you want to do there for a full day. If you need to go, try going on a weekend. After 12pm, they will close the main road for people to walk. They also have a few nice tea shop where you can enjoy a cuppa. Use to go there often during the weekend to sit down and enjoy the crowd.
I can't go on weekend, as my days in tokyo are on weekdays haha.

1st half of ginza day include tokyo tower and food in Tsukiji. Forget to add that.

QUOTE(r2t2 @ Oct 9 2018, 10:01 AM)

Just nick-picking ... heheh ... USS? Universal Studio Singapore?
I know I know, just a small mistake ... USJ.  laugh.gif

Day 9 - Akihabara in the east, Shinjuku in the west ... not the best combination kua?  Aki maybe can combine with Ginza, or Asakusa.

From Uncharted Tokyo guide:-
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1wjqJKYE...LbKY/edit?pli=1
Use this as a rough guide of what’s near each other to maximize your time in one area of Tokyo ... (edited a bit)

Northeast Southwest West Central-west Central Southeast
Asakusa, Ueno, Tokyo Sky Tree, Akihabara Shibuya, Meiji Jingu, Harajuku Shinjuku, Nakano, Ikebukuro Roppongi Tokyo Station, Ginza Odaiba, Tsukiji
Ahh.....yea for the USS part. Hahah. Thanks for the Shinjuku and Aki part too. and also the guide smile.gif

maxxxxx0123
post Oct 17 2018, 08:05 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(yoonyin @ Oct 17 2018, 04:43 PM)
1. You can purchase online (via Klook) and pick up the ticket at KIX or OSAKA. But if you want to experience Unique Open Air Coach "The Rich" (Coach No.5) which is the best, tickets are only available as a same-day ticket in Sagano-line Station booth. You need to specifically tell the staff you want Coach Number 5, otherwise, they will give you normal coach which is windowed. Suggest you do the Sagano Train in the morning from Kameoka torokko station backward to Arashiyama torokko station. Take JR line to Umahori Station, then walk to Kameoka torokko Station. Be there 30 minutes or earlier to secure the ticket. The ticket counter open 8.50am at Kameoka torokko station and depend on the crowd in the station, if like 20++people already queue up, they will open 5-10 minutes more earlier to ease up the crowd.

2. Gion area. Gion area got more beautiful scenery to take photo, all the way from Gion to Kiyomizu Temple.

3. Not sure, but I booked my hotel room at https://www.japanican.com/en/ Found out this site very good, because last time sakura season most of the room was fully book at agoda, but i search at japanica still have some rooms left on same hotel, same date and more cheaper!
I read that some ppl suggest too. I am doing that too, but may I know the reason behind? Is it because at Umahori will got lesser crowd as most people will take the train from bottom instead there?
maxxxxx0123
post Oct 18 2018, 10:16 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(yoonyin @ Oct 18 2018, 09:57 AM)
620Yen Adult. 310Yen Child. Yes, was enjoying the scenic route all the way.
Yes, less crowd compare to Saga. Well, is personal preference. But for me, the main reason is you don't need to take the Sagano Train ride twice from Saga to Kameoka torokko and return again. Take the first ride in the morning, enjoy the fresh air along the route, chilling weather until you reach Arashiyama and walk through the bamboo grove >Tenryuji Temple > Togetsukyo Bridge and have your brunch around that area, then take the Randen Arashiyama train back to city central.
I see. Thanks. Really hope I can get the earliest train or else it gona mess up my food hunting there lol
maxxxxx0123
post Oct 30 2018, 11:55 AM

92 posts

anyone here use tablelog to make reservation before?
maxxxxx0123
post Oct 30 2018, 05:48 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Oct 30 2018, 02:35 PM)
i see.. hope to hear some comment on this from our dear friends here...

mid - end of Nov would be a peak season in Japan already right? will the accommodation there be very pricy ? hmm..
i am going mid - end of nov. accommodation for kyoto will be crazy crazy crazy high

my initial plan is go at mid october to end of october (i research during end of september). then I thought, so near only book maybe hotel price mahal, so i change to go at mid to and of november. That time i just check hotel in tokyo at end of november is much cheper than in end of october, so i straight book my flight ticket

then when i start to find hotel, to my horror, hotel in kyoto is crazy crazy high compare to mid ocotber. it's getting worse from mid november to end november. And worse case, i don't have much choice as most are fully book.

but if you are looking for 2019, then you should still got plenty of choice.
maxxxxx0123
post Nov 25 2018, 07:11 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(simcity9 @ Nov 23 2018, 01:18 PM)
Need help here. I just purchase Klook buy 2 free 2 Universal Studio Ticket . However just discover the valid date until 9/1/19.

I am willing to dispose my 4 tickets at my purchase original price . Interested party pls pm me . Can whatapps me at 012-5589902 Lee here .
If u just purchase it, maybe can try ask them for refund

I purchase my hakone free pass twice wrongly and they refund 2 for me

So maybe you can try that way too

maxxxxx0123
post Dec 1 2018, 11:12 PM

92 posts

Just back from japan. am happy that I can see mt Fuji in Shinkansen (Osaka to Tokyo), Tokyo sky tree and even flight back to malaysia

And a huge welcome to malaysia with taxi that doesn’t want to use meter + dirty toilet

0.0249sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:50 PM