Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

hh_yeap
post Jan 16 2018, 04:38 PM

142 posts

hi, can anybody share their experience of process time of immigration and baggage claim in Haneda Airport ? My ETA is 10.30pm. I am not worried about catching the train of Keikyu Line but I am worried I might missed the Toei Line (Shinjuku to Nishi Shinjuku).

Is the process of exiting the Airport fast ? can be done under 40 minutes ?
hh_yeap
post Jan 17 2018, 03:22 PM

142 posts

thanks for the reply guys.. hopefully there will be no delay in the flight. My flight is tomorrow. smile.gif
hh_yeap
post Jan 29 2018, 11:33 AM

142 posts

Summary of Japan Trip :

- AA flight reach earlier thn ETA by 15 minutes. Bundle of time to get luggage, purchase 48 hour Metro pass and hop on to the train.

- first 2 days explored around Roppongi (Snoopy Museum) and Tsukiji Market. Fish Market is crowded as always. Advice to get there early.

Tsukiji Market:
I reached there at 8am and the crowd was acceptable. Not much of queue. 10am onwards is crowded and each food stall needs 15 minutes queue at least. Had the amazing waghyu beef at 1 of the shops there. It was superbly delicious. thumbup.gif

- 3 days at places around Mt. Fuji (Hakone, Kawakuchiko)

Hakone area:
Owakudani crowded as usual. Nothing special at that area. The black egg was just normal egg inside. Outer shell is black in color. But I enjoyed reading the history of the geographical area.
Hakone was good. Pirate ship was nice for sight seeing. But cold AF due to winter season. Onsen at the hotel during the night was nice as been out in the cold for whole day.

Chereito Pagoda :
awesome view of Mt Fuji. Climbing the 400 stairs is a challenge for those who did not exercise regularly. Plus the snow makes the ascending and descending process challenging. It was slippery. Fell twice as did not have the proper snow shoes. Lucky no major harm during fall. the thick layer of snow break my fall.

Gotemba Premium Outlet:
Lots of stuff to shop for. Huge discounts available for lots of brands.
Unfortunately we met on with the heavy snow session that day. Lots of bus schedule was cancelled due to heavy snow. Our plan to go Lake Kawakuchiko was interrupted. Road closure for lots of its main road. Spent the night at Gotemba with last minute booking of hotel.

Lake Kawakuchiko:
after math of the heavy snow storm, plan was interrupted. Only visit 2 places to have pictures. Weather was freezing. 0 celcius with real feeling of -4... sweat.gif

-final 3 days at shinjuku, asakusa, akihabara

shinjuku:
exploring the places like golden gai, kabuchiko was cool. can see their night life. those who wants to whistling.gif whistling.gif can try enter 1 of the shop and experience the service there. I just walk pass by each place and see see.
Golden gai just enter randomly into any shop and have a feel of the small, cramped seats. 1000 yen per entry with few yakitori to sample on.

Asakusa:
Sensoji temple and Nakamise street macam china town.. crowded AF. Went to snap pictures, had some snacks thn move on to Tokyo tower to take pictures liao

Akihabara:
Shopped for gadgets at Yodobashi Akiba. That 1 building itself took me 4 hours plus coz alot of stuff to check out and buy. Prices are cheaper thn malaysia although the exchange rate i changed was quite high (37.50 = 1000 yen).

during the final day at Tokyo, stored out luggage at those coin locker and went explore around places that we wanted to visit again. Coin lockers charged for per day at around 700-800 yen for big luggage, 500-600 yen for hand carry size luggage, smallest at around 300-500 yen. The Tokyo Metro pass could be purchased at Airport or Shinjuku station. Worth the money and save the hassle of purchasing tickets or charging up the Suica/Pasmo cards.

Tokyo was fun..!! thumbup.gif

hh_yeap
post Jan 29 2018, 05:59 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jan 29 2018, 03:36 PM)
The Chureito Pagoda sounds good, will consider a visit there in my next trip. Which onsen did you go in Hakone? Or was it an onsen in the ryokan?
Which place did you visit in Kawaguchiko?

Hahahaha did you go to Ni-Chome (新宿二丁目)?

The Metro pass can also be purchased in BIC if I'm not mistaken. Yes convenient to use and saves a lot, but need to plan the route alittle more extensively since you can't ride JR line with it.
the onsen i went was together with the hotel that i lodged in. i totally forgotten the name of station and name of hotel i stayed. But it was just 2 stops away from Gora station.
I didnt visit Ni-Chome. I spend most of my time at nishi-shinjuku gochome and kabukuchiko area as both my lodging is at the area.

about credit cards :
Most of the major shopping area accept credit cards. and the credit card rate that i was charged was lower thn what i change for cash. MYR decided to strengthen 1 week after i changed all my cash. Foods usually i will prefer just pay with cash. Lesser hassle.

0.0178sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:35 AM