5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

mugenz
post Apr 24 2018, 11:22 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Do consider to get one. I was playing their demo unit while waiting for wife to do shopping. Not too bad for casual gaming.
mugenz
post Apr 24 2018, 10:39 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(zest168 @ Apr 24 2018, 02:40 PM)
Hi any shopping outlets in OSAKA like our Mitsui Outlet?
Rinku outlet. Within the airport transfer route as well. Good to kill time before going back kansai airport
mugenz
post Apr 25 2018, 10:48 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Apr 25 2018, 10:23 AM)
Thanks! points taken. smile.gif
Yeah, I'm thinking the same way as well. Just that I have to pay more. haha.
How much to courier it to hotel from Narita? Bus tickets already paid?

Otherwise can consider rent coin locker at shinjuku station then take bus from there to kawaguchiko
But i doubt travel from Narita to Shinjuku is cheap.

Just a suggestion,
mugenz
post Apr 25 2018, 11:20 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 25 2018, 10:54 AM)
Hmmm but I think I've seen Japanese girls with short pants in temples. Is it frowned upon? And I thought there's no restriction in terms of this. Eg. Thailand is very strict and you'll have to wear a sarung or something to cover legs if one wears anything above the knee.
I may have missed but you're going to Kawaguchikp straight from Narita? 2 bags... if 2nd bag is a hand carry bag, you can put the hand carry inside the suitcase and just bring '1 luggage'.

Optionally what I plan to do, which will cost a lot, is to drop my baggage in Yamato counter in Yokohama and get to them deliver it to Shinjuku station. Planning to contact the baggage storage counter in Shinjuku to arrange for them to receive and store my luggage until I arrive to collect it 1 day later.
Just saw this. Tour as in you followed tour? That's nice, then it's easy to move around. I'll be going Fuji 5 Lakes alone and I think I'll only be able to make it to Lake Yamanaka and Kawaguchi. I have done Owakudani, Hakone Shrine and Cruise in one of my previous trip. No to Gotemba coz we're not really keen on shopping hmm.gif

Out of the list, the one I really want to do is bike around Kawaguchiko. I'll figure how to do that as 1 of our friend can't cycle laugh.gif we can't leave her though. Hopefully they have the bike for 2 people. Doesn't seem possible to do Oshino Hakkai coz it seems out of the way. Didn't you do Shibazakura?? Since you're there.
Shibazakura only go into full bloom in Early to Middle of May (Depending on overall weather), when i was there in 16 April its only 20% bloomed. When purchase bus ticket to shibazakura, you can ask them how's the moss blooming.

QUOTE(qse150 @ Apr 25 2018, 11:15 AM)
itinery still in planning. just wondering is it feasible to take the train (using JR PASS) from kyoto( planning to stay in kyoto) to osaka in the afternoon and come back to kyoto at night? i checked google map and its says it take 1hour29min per trip but here i see some people mention it only takes 30minutes.
Rapid Express and local express

Rapid = only few stops

Local = Stops all local stations.

They have shinkansen (bullet train hence faster)
mugenz
post Apr 25 2018, 11:52 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 25 2018, 11:41 AM)
Wait since we're on the topic of Shibazakura. The ticket get at Kawaguchiko station?
I saw that they have 2,000 yen pass which includes the return bus ride and entrance ticket. However I also read on their site that if the bloom almost end, the entry fee might be waived off.

I'm going 3rd week of May, so hopefully it's still good.
Yes. once go in the kawaguchiko station , left side is the ticketing counter with english speaking guide.
The 2,000 yen pass is return ticket with entrance ticket. No other lines (Red,blue,Green bus) will reach the festival. Hence really no choice but to buy the return ticket package.

mugenz
post Apr 25 2018, 12:07 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 25 2018, 12:00 PM)
Ahhhh 21st could be early. I think early May will be just nice, since sakura was an early bloom. But I wanted to avoid crowd and peak (if anything, big crowds of people irk me the most) so opted for non-peak.

Dang it's a 3D 2N trip doh.gif rain all 3 days but seems light.
Indeed, it did say they purposely have a bus to cater for the festival. One more thing, they said there are coin lockers in the Kawaguchiko station, however another person said the lockers are full and it's so bad that sometimes people just dump the bags on top of the lockers and go off. When they come back, the bags are still there. No doubt, usually nobody will take. But did you see this situation at the station?
Yes, the station is like pasar malam. Its super cold not just luggage were left on top but humans all over flocking inside. Right outside of the station they have per hour charge luggage drop center but i think its cut throat rate.

So encourage to store your luggage in train station. If you coming from shinjuku via bus and planning to store luggage at coin locker. Please store at shinjuku JR station. The rate is 700 yen for L for one day rate and the one in shinjuku bus station is per hourly rate.

*For the rain part, when i was in Osaka the weather all nice but one day happens to rain almost full night and day. Then when i was in kawaguchiko, it rained for 2 days straight, yeah i didnt managed to see mt. fuji but its all right we still managed to see sakura blooming there as well as enjoy nice and peaceful retreat.

This post has been edited by mugenz: Apr 25 2018, 12:09 PM
mugenz
post Apr 25 2018, 03:25 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Apr 25 2018, 03:05 PM)
cool. thanks for the info. yes yes. i am planning to visit  during evening / night - Namba, Dotonbori, Shisaibashi,  Famous Crab Restaurant [かに道楽 道頓堀 本店] . - copy this from some of the itinery here.  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif

meaning its doable. plan to stay in kyoto and commute to osaka via train that way. Dont really enjoy switching hotel all the time.
Yes its doable. Just need make sure the train schedule is right if not you will be wasting time taking non-rapid which will take longer time to reach kyoto.
If you wish to wish those mentioned names at night in Osaka, please take note the shops especially shopping closes very early. Eg, Shinsaibashi at 9pm, 65% of the shops already closing. Departmental shops like takashimaya close at 8pm

mugenz
post Apr 25 2018, 03:54 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Apr 25 2018, 03:39 PM)
thanks for the heads up. If like dat meaning we might be ending our daily tour early and sleep early? what about night life? anyway, suits me and me wife since we're both early bird type. But trains runs until midnight right? As long as we try to catch the train around 9pm or 10pm back to kyoto should be safe already then?
Me and my wife also just like you guys but after 3rd day, we rather go back earlier to rest our pitiful legs from the walking doh.gif
Night life = if into clubs and all, there are lots of em. I noticed that Japan where i go and stay there will be a red light district.

Either end ur kyoto tour around 3pm and come back to Osaka around 4pm. Rest and come out for shopping 5pm to 9pm then take late dinner or only allocate half a day for kyoto come back Osaka rest then allocate evening for shopping

Just fyi
1. Fushimi inari shrine complete route = 2 to 3hours (walk right up till the end and come down)

2. Arashiyama - with train rides, bamboo forest with lunch might take more than half a day as well.

This post has been edited by mugenz: Apr 25 2018, 03:56 PM
mugenz
post Apr 25 2018, 04:28 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Apr 25 2018, 04:12 PM)
not yet complete. but this is the my current list. yes. i place fushimi inari and arashiyama both early morning trips so we're fresh and strong. walking wise, not a problem for me but me wife not as tough as me. haha. so i rather we take these 2 place slowly early in the morning. And still having headache where to slot in himeji. First time to japan. so quite worried about the train schedule. what if its not avaiable.

Tokyo
5th June 2018 Tuesday (1st day)
Morning - Tsukiji Fish Market
Afternoon  - Odaiba, Diver City Tokyo, Akihabara, Gundam Cafe, M, Kanda Myojin Temple.
Evening/Night - Shibuya crossing, Hachiko Statue, Hachiko exit,Center Gai, Nonbei Yokocho
conveyor belt sushi in Shibuya, there is one inside Seibu on the top floor called Midori Sushi

6th June 2018 Wednesday (2nd day)
Morning  - Asakusa, Kaminarimon, Nakamise District, Sensoji Temple
Afternoon  - Meiji Jingu - Harajuku Shopping Street
Evening  -  Shinjuku - Omoide Yokocho,Golden Gai,Keio,Lumine,Kabukicho,Ikebukuro

Tokyo - Shirakawa (3rd day)
7th June 2018  Thursday - Shirakawago no Yu Hotel (booked for one night)

Early morning, goto Tokyo Station, take Hokuriku Shinkansen to Toyama Station. From Toyama Station take bus to Shirakawago (must catch the 1200pm or 1205pm bus depending on that month’s schedule latest).
Should buy the bus ticket online or buy on the spot???
Overnight in Shirakawa.

Shirakawa - Kyoto(4th day)
8th June 2018 Friday
Morning - Shirakawa
Afternoon - Depart for Kyoto ( Take bus from shirakawa to kanazawa, then take the train from kanazawa to kyoto) - 4hr++
Evening / Night time Gion Corner

Kyoto (5th day)
9th June 2018 Saturday
Morning - Arashiyama & Sagano
Afternoon - Kyoto Craft Centre
Take train from kyoto to osaka
Evening / Night - Namba, Dotonbori, Shisaibashi,  Famous Crab Restaurant [かに道楽 道頓堀 本店]

Kyoto  (6th day)
10th June 2018  Sunday
Morning - Fushimi -> Inari -> Taisha
Afternoon - Nishiki Market
Evening / Night - undecided.

Osaka (7th day)
11th June 2018 Monday
Kyoto - Osaka by train
Morning - Osaka - osaka castle - Osakajo
Afternoon - Walk from Osakajo to Kuromon

12th
Morning - Hotel check out.
Yet to plan for what to do. Maybe Himeji. Then back to osaka.
Head for Osaka airport (10pm flight black to malaysia)

With this kinda planinng, JR PASS is more suitable right?
1. For train schedule - can refer to hyperdia website for the schedule and come with Fees as well then put them into spreadsheet see whether how much u will spend on JR line and other subway line and see worth to buy the pass. My trip is similar with you but i never travel between osaka and kyoto. I didnt get any pass just ICOCA.

2. Try to schedule Shinjuku, shibuya, harajuku and meiji shrine in one day as they are the same area. If your shopperholic dont think can be done in single day. So much to see and buy! Adidas original ! BAPE! BIC Cameras!

3. If you are into anime/electronics/manga, u wont be able to schedule akihabara together with Odaiba. I m not otaku but i spent almost 1 day there just playing ufo catcher, checking out huge electric stores for cheap stuff like gshock, nintendo switch etc.. Maybe you can plan Tsukiji in the morning then Asakusa then evening in akibahara.

mugenz
post Apr 26 2018, 11:05 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Apr 25 2018, 08:43 PM)
haha. kinda worried also about our leg power. Basically we place our main objectives early in the morning like Tsukiji / Asakusa / Arashiyama / Fushimi Inari so we can have ample of times to enjoy it. The rest of the day might even adjust according to our stamina level.  tongue.gif

Initially plan to book our hotel in kyoto but after reading here, i think its more feasible to stay in osaka. Still need to slot in himeji-jo
Planning to book our hotel in shibuya so it will be more convenient. Not really tat shopaholic.
blink.gif  Lucky you got mention. Noted about osaka-jo to kuromon. Ota Road ....  wub.gif  but but got bring home minister how????  bangwall.gif 

Umeda will be in my list then.  blush.gif 
Yes yes we fly in Tokyo and out Osaka. Booked it before I had a chance to come here have a look see. Shirakawago i already booked hotel at Shirakawago-yu already.

Thanks for the grouping area tips in tokyo. Its just that we would like to concentrate on the place we want to go first - Tsukiji / Asakusa / Arashiyama / Fushimi Inari. And after that only go for other places. 

JapanBusOnline. Just wondering will be difficult to book the ticket on site? Anyone with experience here?
Hokuriku Arch Pass - noted. thanks for the tips .  notworthy.gif 

Really appreciate the inputs. I will need to adjust my itinery. Thanks.
Bring minister go for sake buffet then sneak out. Like I say everywhere I go there seems to have red light district nearby hahaha.

I think you need worry about ur minister. I see so many for female clubs. Some of them even giving out flyers at the road. But they don’t disturb foreigners this is what I noticed. Even I stand right in front of the place they don’t dare offer anything.

Tsukiji can go around 8am till 10am then go sennoji around 10am should still be fine.
mugenz
post Apr 26 2018, 03:55 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(FOnte @ Apr 26 2018, 03:20 PM)
hi, just wanna ask some opinion, plan to go japan, but for first time should i go tokyo or kyoto+ osaka or hokkaido ?
Use Japan Guide as platform for research see the overall spots that you are interested to go. List them down and see which one have the most interested place then go for that!

mugenz
post Apr 26 2018, 04:15 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Apr 26 2018, 03:25 PM)
Is this good rate?
Mine was RM3.65 per 100 yen, 2weeks ago

Btw where is this?

This post has been edited by mugenz: Apr 26 2018, 04:17 PM
mugenz
post Apr 27 2018, 02:03 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Just noticed that i didn't refund my ICOCA card. Checked the back but its in Japanese but dont see any dates. Wondering is there any expiration for the card? Not sure when will i go back to Kansai.
mugenz
post Apr 27 2018, 02:40 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Apr 27 2018, 02:36 PM)
why dont you just keep it as a momento?  tongue.gif
i got 2. So keeping one. If got short expiry then i might sell or give away.
Astroboy version! its also kansai pass can get discount for entrance fees and discounts
mugenz
post Apr 27 2018, 02:49 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Apr 27 2018, 02:43 PM)
oh the ICOCA can keep 10 years? dang... should have kept it.

When return for refund you'll get charged certain amount as service/processing fee. then the next time get another card will get charge another time.
U mean next time if buy another card i will get charged?
Or you mean when refund they charge processing fee minus from the 500 yen deposit

But when i refund the ugly suica i get 1000 yen (500 x 2 cards) didnt charge anything.
mugenz
post Apr 28 2018, 09:25 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Apr 27 2018, 05:35 PM)
Yeah haha. That's what I did in 2015. Got the regular ICOCA back then and used it up to minimise the handling charge. This time round I bought the Astroboy ICOCA so I kept the card.
that explains when i refund my suica card and they gave me back 500 yen.
mugenz
post May 2 2018, 02:09 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ May 2 2018, 11:54 AM)
Uniqlo Japan - 50th Jump Magazine T-Shirt
dragon ball, one piece, naruto

http://www.uniqlo.com/jp/store/search?qtex...mer_search=true
yeap. But nice designs not available. I bought some DBZ for my nephew.
For adults i cant find the kakashi tshirt cry.gif
mugenz
post May 2 2018, 02:20 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ May 2 2018, 02:11 PM)
yes, need to go out of town, tourist place selling fast
prolly, we searched 3 uniqlos around shinjuku/shibuya then give up

Its 800 yen for kids.
mugenz
post May 2 2018, 05:41 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Walao, I don’t understand the logic, in Japan the size range can go up to XXL but malaysia only till L

I see Japanese so petite. Tbh I find uniqlo Malaysia cutting too small. Sometimes XL like L
mugenz
post May 2 2018, 10:41 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 2 2018, 05:53 PM)
Thanks, that's 1 thing solved. At least can get my Gon shirt there.
Any idea how long do they keep for you?
Wait, really?  I think men's size is a bit bigger right? Coz I thought of ordering XS since it's unisex. Guess I should change to S size ohmy.gif
I thought the sizes are consistent, didn't notice this part.
Just what I noticed la..

Actually the difference is when America vs Asian clothing
Since uniqlo Asia brand hence the cutting should be smaller but it will be same as Malaysia.

Better check size chart for measurement smile.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0290sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:21 AM