6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

deodorant
post Apr 4 2018, 01:50 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Apr 4 2018, 01:18 PM)
Looking for a suggestion for dinner place around Gion/Pontocho/riverside in kyoto that is nice and not too expensive. Maybe RM80 to RM120 for 2 pax

That's ¥1650 max per person, not sure what exactly you're trying to achieve. If by "nice' you mean romantic ... a bit difficult with that budget ba. IMO just fire up tabelog, filter by price and do a map search.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Apr 4 2018, 01:53 PM
deodorant
post Apr 4 2018, 04:09 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Apr 4 2018, 02:33 PM)
nth, just normal dinner. nothing fancy.

In that case, for me tabelog is the best bet. You can filter the price by max price = ¥2000, then do a map search at Gion area (like my screenshot in previous post). At this price range, anything 3.00 and above should be quite satisfying, 3.50 and above should be really good.
deodorant
post Apr 4 2018, 09:21 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Apr 4 2018, 06:29 PM)
If there is a one must-go place in Osaka and Kyoto, indoor or outdoor, where would it be?  hmm.gif

Kansai International Airport obviously, because without landing there how would you go to either place?
deodorant
post Apr 6 2018, 12:13 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(luvjim @ Apr 6 2018, 10:46 AM)
but from your experienced, is 2GB enough use for 3 days?
What does it matter what other people's experiences are? What matters is your own data usage pattern mah. If you gonna stream 4k video for a few hours a day on the train in the daytime then go to hotel backup your entire day's raw videos and photos to the cloud at night then of course it won't be enough. If you just whatsapp and Google maps then more than enough.

Having said that, my last Japan trip I used 2.2gb in 8days (phone only).
deodorant
post Apr 6 2018, 06:14 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Apr 6 2018, 05:38 PM)
found new info after some googling here. not sure if this is accurate or not. Maybe still go chance to visit the historical fish market in full.

For all we know, Wawasan 2020 time still haven't moved lol, the move has been delayed so many times liao.

Anyway the outer market confirm remain. Whether the popularity of the market will still be there after the inner market moves ... it's anybody's guess.

Inner market the market itself will confirm move.

What doesn't seem confirmed is the row of shops in the inner market (the ones selling knives, pots n plates, etc, and the famous sushi shops). In my last trip in Feb I asked the plates and bowls shopkeeper, he mentioned that a lot of things are still not clear, that it seems like his shop will probably move but don't know move to where, etc.
deodorant
post Apr 12 2018, 03:06 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Apr 12 2018, 11:20 AM)
RM4k to spend in Japan for 2 weeks, no luxury food & shopping, enuf?
Just transport, ticket and normal food.

"Enough" is subjective. Check out this link and see ba. https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2410.html

For me rm285/day is pretty OK for food and transport assuming no long distance travel. For example if you are going to/from Tokyo and Kansai, the shinkansen alone will eat up rm1k liao.
deodorant
post Apr 16 2018, 01:28 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Apr 16 2018, 10:45 AM)
p.s: just call up ANA, yes it's not a code share but a partnership only
need to do boarding pass twice, luggage wise have to request malindo to send it all the way to Haneda airport and will collect from there directly
If interline agreement normally when you check in at KLIA, Malindo should be able to tag your luggage all the way to Tokyo.

Boarding pass wise if Malindo can't issue it in KLIA then at Changi you have to either go to the transfer desks within the airport (I'm not sure if ANA has transfer desk airside), or go out and re-check in again at the check in desks.

edit: ANA has transfer desk airside: https://www.ana.co.jp/en/sg/international/d....html#anchor003

This post has been edited by deodorant: Apr 16 2018, 01:30 PM
deodorant
post Apr 23 2018, 12:05 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Alic33 @ Apr 20 2018, 01:44 PM)
Want to ask anyone use singapore airline to tokyo before? Planning to go next april for sakura and saw singapore airline ticket around 1.5k is it consider cheap? Thanks smile.gif
SIA for rm1.5k seems really cheap. For me (I am based in SG), SQ fares to Japan very very rarely go below s$600. Normally even promo fares also $650-$680.

QUOTE(mugenz @ Apr 23 2018, 10:45 AM)
Tsukiji market is really overrated. Kuromon is better and less "cut-throat".
Up until 2016 or even 2017 I would've said "dafug are you crazy?" But this year Feb I went Tsukiji again (5th visit lol) and oh my goodness the place - especially outer market - is practically a tourist attraction nowadays. So many tourists walking around, so many shopkeepers calling out to them in English and Mandarin, I definitely prefer the place many years ago before it got so famous.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Apr 23 2018, 12:08 PM
deodorant
post Apr 23 2018, 06:10 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(monkeyboy94 @ Apr 23 2018, 04:48 PM)
Also how to book for these kind of omakase sushi?
https://s.tabelog.com/smartphone/premium/pr...=&lid=top_navi1

Use tabelog to find the best sushi places according to locals.

The very best ones are pretty much impossible for outsiders to get into (example Sushi Saito) so you can pretty much forget it.

As you go down the list then availability gets a bit easier, but by and large you can't make reservations as a gaijin.

So you have to follow what tohff7 said. Or you can use pocket conceirge, those kind of website with booking services, but note that the fee they charge isn't cheap (think ¥4000 for just the booking fee alone).
deodorant
post Apr 27 2018, 11:42 AM

5,691 posts

Fly Garuda then both ways also can see 🤣

This post has been edited by deodorant: Apr 27 2018, 11:44 AM
deodorant
post Apr 27 2018, 03:38 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 27 2018, 12:11 PM)
Nice. Guess no luck. Have not thought of flying with Garuda. How was it?
It's a skytrax 5-star airline so objectively it's pretty good.

For me based on one flight, other than the food, they are better than MAS. Attendants are friendlier in economy and more competent in business. The main problem of course is adding 3-5hours of travel time vs flying direct from KLIA, so unless the price is a lot cheaper and/or flight times more convenient, hard to recommend over flying direct.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Apr 27 2018, 05:34 PM
deodorant
post May 11 2018, 07:14 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(javeds @ May 11 2018, 04:00 AM)
Do you guys recommend to order taxi transfer online in advande in Tokyo? I am going to visit it really soon, and I don't know if it is worth it. I would appreaciate any tips on taxi services there. Thank you in advance!
Go google how much taxis cost in Tokyo then only figure out if it's worth it for you.
deodorant
post May 16 2018, 04:43 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ May 16 2018, 09:11 AM)
always go japan buy Kit Kat green tea? why don't try others taste
I'm not sure where you got the idea that we go to Japan and only buy green tea KitKat lol. I think it's the opposite: green tea KitKat is mostly already available in KL/SG so if we go Japan we surely buy other flavors.

This post has been edited by deodorant: May 17 2018, 02:21 PM
deodorant
post Jun 4 2018, 03:48 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 3 2018, 11:42 PM)
Hokkaido as your kick start.
Rest, have to do some homework  smile.gif
Hokkaido also famous for musk melon? I tot they more famous for the red/orange yubari one. Didn't know they also do the green one.
deodorant
post Jun 4 2018, 04:33 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 4 2018, 04:01 PM)
Sembikiya Fruit Parlour
Ooh, sembikiya got an outlet in takashimaya in SG, my wife and I always go and ogle. Last weekend went, got Shine Muscat grapes one bunch = s$300. And two biji of mango from don't know which prefecture = s$200.

End up we bought two biji of peach, forgot which prefecture also, s$29 for 2 biji. And one small pack of cherries, s$23.
deodorant
post Jun 6 2018, 08:21 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(weigie @ Jun 5 2018, 10:36 PM)
Anyone could advice what to visit/do in Sapporo during early April?

Here, lemme help you out: http://lmgtfy.com/?q=hokkaido+in+spring
deodorant
post Jun 14 2018, 02:11 PM

5,691 posts

The transparent tea company selling some transparent yoghurt drink flavour now too. No idea how it tastes though.
deodorant
post Jul 17 2018, 10:15 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Hevlaska @ Jul 16 2018, 11:17 PM)
really? i didnt know about that. I used airb outside tokyo all the time, last was Osaka around August i think.

The new rules went in June or July this year. Its a bit surprising that you didn't hear about it at all on any of your social media feeds, it's a huge problem with airbnb cancelling TONS of reservations for people barely 2 weeks in advance of their trip then they need to go last minute scramble find new accoms.
deodorant
post Jul 20 2018, 01:17 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Jul 20 2018, 05:44 AM)
ThanksTokyo for the last 2 days. I think 2 is enough as I'm not a huge fan or crowds
Put the crowds aside, check out what the city has to offer, and then decide what you want to do. Then you'll know whether 2 days enough or whether to extend to 3.

For me Tokyo is my favorite city in the world, I've visited 5 times liao and still haven't gotten tired of it.
deodorant
post Jul 21 2018, 10:02 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(RafaBenites @ Jul 21 2018, 11:07 AM)
So how much do u guys think i need to prepare if I were to stay around for the extra 2 days?

Nah https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2410.html

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0210sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:22 AM