10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

tohff7
post Mar 8 2018, 02:20 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 8 2018, 01:43 PM)
Regarding Kobe beef, anyone know why is dinner is so much more expensive than lunch?

Is it due to the portion or just purely because its "dinner"?
a bit of both? portion is smaller but not like a lot smaller.

it's a common business strategy to drive traffic and increase sales volume
tohff7
post Mar 9 2018, 12:06 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Mar 9 2018, 09:24 AM)
is 8-10 days enuff to do tokyo & kyoto?

and isit best to just take the shinkansen to kyoto & back? will be travelling with wife and 10yr old son.
have you booked flight tickets? first time to Japan?

1. Usually it's best to split osaka/kyoto and tokyo into different trips if you have plans to come back in the future

2. In No.1 is not the case, it's best to fly in and out of 2 different airports (Kansai and Narita/Haneda) so that you won't waste money on Shinkansen trips
tohff7
post Mar 9 2018, 12:30 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Mar 9 2018, 12:10 PM)
Havent booked. Not sure if I have plans to come back in the future, more towards best to do it at the same time. And I did check, flights out of osaka is a little bit more expensive than outta tokyo vise versa. Thats why, have to do so at the same airport.
slightly more expensive is still better than spending RM500++ for an additional one-way trip between Osaka/Kyoto and Tokyo. Also saves you time

Feel that you are not 'hardcore' fans of Japan, so doing 10 days is definitely possible if you skip things out.

Osaka- 1-2 depending whether you planning to go Universal Studio. No side trips to Kobe/Himeji
Kyoto - 3 days including maybe a half-day trip to Nara
Tokyo - 1-2 days for Disneysea and Disneyland
1-2 days for Hakone and Lake Kawaguchiko area (Mt Fuji)
2-3 days at least in Tokyo city (1 day Asakusa/Ueno/Skytree, 1 day Shinjuku/Harajuku/Shibuya, 1 day Akibahara/Ginza if you really into shopping)

This post has been edited by tohff7: Mar 9 2018, 12:33 PM
tohff7
post Mar 11 2018, 05:35 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Mar 11 2018, 05:31 PM)
for those that went to USJ :-

1. Where did you guys buy your tickets from ? (USJ JP site/ klook/ kiosk @ lawson) ?

I'm not targeting to take on all the rides maybe just a few popular ones, so I'm intending to get the VIP wristband instead of the express pass. Has anyone tried this method before ? unsure.gif
1. Last time i got it from JTB Malaysia. Open-dated ticket

2. Depending on when you are going, you might not need the express pass. Just need to strategise correctly

just want to ask

anybody did the Kurobe Alpine Route using the 9000yen Option ticket before? How's the crowd during April?
tohff7
post Mar 12 2018, 01:32 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(luvjim @ Mar 12 2018, 10:50 AM)
Hi all, can I know which airlines that you guys fly on? I'm looking for best price to travel to Tokyo end of this month. I just search on AA, MAS, Thai Airways and Jap Airline.
Last minute planning for family trip... sweat.gif
End of this month is peak season due to the start of Sakura season. So, there is no 'best' price especially since it's so last min. try check Vietnam Air (transit in Vietnam) and also ANA. AA is actually not that cheap after you factor in baggage and meal, so I suggest you go for full carrier instead.

you can also try flights for mid-April since it slightly less peak (but u'll miss full-bloom sakura)

QUOTE(mugenz @ Mar 12 2018, 12:42 PM)
Anyone can help to purchase Studio Ghilbli museum tickets via Lawson? Especially those staying in Japan.
Its all sold out via official website for out of japan purchase.

If can please drop me pm.

Luckily managed to spam F5 and get 2 tickets last Saturday.

Probably you already know, but in case you don't...this is Lawson online ticketing for Ghibli Museum in Japanese language and should correspond with the ticketing machine at Lawson stores. maybe check whether your wanted day/slot is still available or not.

http://l-tike.com/order/?gLcode=30004&gPfK...seVenueCd=30064
tohff7
post Mar 12 2018, 04:37 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Mar 12 2018, 04:22 PM)
The site u gave is still available for the date i want but i cant register to buy as i dont own JP Address. Furthermore i need claim it via machine in Lawson.

Anyone in JP that willing to help? I transfer money and payment to have it mail back to malaysia after u redeem from Lawson.
Think need a JP credit card at least.

Maybe try ask ur hotel or Airbnb host to book it for you?

Edit
I think forumer sacwoc is based in JP

This post has been edited by tohff7: Mar 12 2018, 04:42 PM
tohff7
post Mar 12 2018, 05:26 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Mar 12 2018, 04:53 PM)
I actually did ask one of my hotel to help. Email her but didn't reply me yet.

Yours is purchase via museum system?
Yes. Queued exactly at 9am on last Sat then managed to get thru the system after 30mins
tohff7
post Mar 14 2018, 12:29 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 14 2018, 12:18 PM)
course i wanna book a JR pass but they need my passport info. I can only renew next month.

I want to purchase the pass now because I'm not sure about the price by the time I renew passport. I purchase from klook though, so the price go up and down everyday
JR Pass prices are fixed. Klook price fluctuate just a bit because of the exchange rate.

you can just wait till next month to buy after you renew passport
tohff7
post Mar 15 2018, 11:03 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

sigh. although I didn't plan my trip to view sakura

further revision in opening dates - few more days earlier. https://www.japan-guide.com/sakura/
tohff7
post Mar 15 2018, 09:28 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Mar 15 2018, 08:02 PM)
My Rough Itinerary but wanted to focus more on the day 5-7

5. Hakone - Hakone Yuryo, The Pirate Ship Thingy, Sleep at airbnb
6. Fuji Five Lakes - Fuji Q and sightseeing. sleep at airbnb
7. Fuji Five Lakes to Tokyo

Possible or not lol

any other suggestions that sifus can add up?

Consider start from Fuji 5 Lakes then go Hakone? Seems better logistics wise.

Hakone Yuryo is located near the start of Hakone route. I don’t suppose you plan to enjoy onsen bath first thing when u reach there?

Which area is the best to stayin Hakone and Fuji Five Lakes?
QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 15 2018, 08:06 PM)
I recall signboards at Tokyo station lockers reminding gaijins that maximum storage is 3 days only. Don't know if it's 3 calendar days or 72hrs though.
3 days not 72 hours. By the 4th day they will clear the locker
tohff7
post Mar 16 2018, 11:10 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(~mingwei~ @ Mar 16 2018, 10:59 AM)
OK thank you, got confuse when wanna book thru exp*dia, I key in 2 adults and 1 children, result shows exceed max guest no room available, but if key in 2 adults only then room available. policy stated children below 5 stay for free. Is that mean I only need to key in 2 adult?
children also got >5 years old mah
tohff7
post Mar 16 2018, 12:13 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(~mingwei~ @ Mar 16 2018, 11:22 AM)
My daughter is only 2yo.

It's Apa Hotel Kaminarimon

I think there some error in the system for double room.

key in 2 adults - Room available

key in 2 adults + 1 children 2yo - Room exceed max guest, means no room available

but Policy stated children below 5 stay for free
don't know exactly how they configure the system. maybe expedia setting is wrong? hmm.gif

i quick-check using booking.com and it seems alright
tohff7
post Mar 19 2018, 03:41 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(luvjim @ Mar 19 2018, 10:01 AM)
morning all, any suggestion on place to stay?
1) which near to disneyland/disneysea? coz we plan to buy the 2 day pass, so i'm thinking if stay nearer will save the traveling time. then after only move back to shinjuku/shibuya. coz bringing 2 kids along, 3yo and 5yo.

List of hotels affliated with Tokyo Disney

http://www.tokyodisneyresort.jp/en/hotel/lists/

2)lake kawaguchiko, looking for the place which can have the view of the lake and the mt fuji.
i've try to look for few places, but is either near the train station which very convenient but dont have good view of the mt.fuji, and some i'm not sure whether is really can view to mt.fuji or not if based on the photo given of the airbnb/hotel. coz i just read based on the guests review. so hope if anyone been there can recommend some good ones.  notworthy.gif

To get the lake + Mt Fuji view, you need to stay at the northern side of Lake Kawaguchi. And be prepare to pay premium especially during peak period. Don't worry about distance. Usually the hotels will have their own shuttle bus to pick you up from the train station

Last time I stayed in Mizuno Hotel

i'm planning to board train to lake kawaguchiko. i found this guide is useful, would it be easier since we have 2 kids ?
http://www.chasingplaces.com/how-to-get-fr...apan-rail-pass/
This post has been edited by tohff7: Mar 19 2018, 03:42 PM
tohff7
post Mar 20 2018, 12:12 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(sugarbaby @ Mar 19 2018, 07:50 PM)
aiyo, I'm confused now..
Stay in Osaka and Kyoto is correct considering u have longer days.

Everyday going back at forth is also tiring and time consuming.
tohff7
post Mar 20 2018, 09:25 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(~mingwei~ @ Mar 20 2018, 07:40 AM)
Hi, I heard there is this Morning Skyliner train from Narita airport to Ueno Station only cost 400yen. How about Ueno to Narita? Anyone taken this ride before? My flight back to M'sia is at 11.30am. klook sell the train ticket for RM81 one way.
it's basic fare + supplement fee of 410yen. so total fare is about 1400yen compare to 2200yen for Skyliner Limited Express
tohff7
post Mar 21 2018, 02:16 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Bellariel @ Mar 20 2018, 10:20 PM)
Heyyy,
Do you guys mind suggesting any nice all-you-can-eat sushi restaurants located in Tokyo?
Preferably affordable onesss biggrin.gif

Thank you
Just go train sushi restaurant like Genki Sushi Uobei
tohff7
post Mar 21 2018, 03:20 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 21 2018, 10:59 AM)
Japan Sushi price range:

Category A: 100 - 2000 Yen are Budget
Category B: 2000 - 10000 Yen are Normal Sushi restraurant
Category C: 10000 - 20000 Yen are famous sushi chef pocket list menu (私房菜)
Category D: 20000 - 35000 Yen are Splurge, Michelin rated restaurant
25 Sushi dish with 6500 Yen price tag consider value. Because Category C sushi only get 8 - 12 dishes only
Jan & Feb are Hokkaido thicket snow season
Should be

Category D: 20000-35000 Yen are splurge, Michelin-rated restaurant but got money also need see luck cause getting a reservation is freaking hard
tohff7
post Mar 22 2018, 02:48 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(upcars @ Mar 22 2018, 02:26 PM)
thread got too much info to filter through so i hope someone can guide me.

i'll be travelling to japan for 10 days in early nov. no itenary yet. but my main reason for going to japan is to head over to disneyland.

any other kid friendly places to recommend ? regardless tokyo or kyoto or hokkaido. i have 10 days. i saw in google maps there is a sea world beside disneyland. worth going ?
There’s 2 Disney resorts in Tokyo alone. Disneyland and Disneysea

In Tokyo area, there’s also a lot of museum - Snoopy, Ghibli, Doraemon etc.

Ramen or Cup Noodle Museum in Yokohama should also be quite interesting for kids
tohff7
post Mar 23 2018, 03:00 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Mar 23 2018, 02:14 PM)
bought ticket for june to tokyo for 8 days. will leave japan via osaka kansai. Will be going with my wife. Been looking at those capsule hotel and those single room hotel. If I book those accomodations, will there be any problem if 2 person stay in those single room? Btw, first time going there for holiday.
QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Mar 23 2018, 02:19 PM)
japan acco mostly charged based on pax...not per room but i may be wrong

8 days for tokyo and osaka ?

gonna be rush
if book thru Agoda/Expedia/Booking.com should be ok if you specify 2 adults. The system will auto made adjustment to the prices based on the no. of pax as well as filter out rooms that did not meet the criteria.

If you booked directly from the hotels website, most of the time their system will display price and charge according to $$$ per guest
tohff7
post Mar 23 2018, 11:41 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 23 2018, 10:58 PM)
If I need to eliminate one from my Kyoto itinerary, which would it be?

Nijo Castle
Ginkaku-ji
Kiyamizu-dera (because refurbishment work)
Nishiki Market

I'm thinking to leave out Nishiki market, since I'll also be going to a few shopping district in Osaka (Kuromon, Tenjinbashisuji, Namba dotonbori, Kita district malls, Abeno Harukas)
Definitely Nishiki. I doubt you’ll buy the products to bring back home. The variety of food stalls are actually not much compare to Kuromon

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1629sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:15 AM