197 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

wkwong91
post Mar 27 2018, 05:00 PM

NeneBubu
1,171 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Mar 27 2018, 04:33 PM)
japan is 100V, need make sure your hair curler adapter input voltage can support in 100V
Ahh okay. Noted. Thanks biggrin.gif
fun_feng
post Mar 27 2018, 05:01 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

Hi guys, if I have the JR pass already, for the shinkansen trip from Tokyo to Kyoto and back, should I buy beforehand the tickets? Or I can just buy on the spot...?
I will be using it early to mid April
deodorant
post Mar 27 2018, 05:08 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(lazarus7247 @ Mar 27 2018, 04:39 PM)
Will probably skip hokkaido and do Nagano + Tohoku. Skiing is definitely my main focus but the snow monkeys and foxes were also part of my plan.

Nozawa onsen video

The main issue is transport cost maybe (if you wanna do both areas) cos as you know, Nagano and Yamagata are on different shinkansen lines and different JR east passes. Also, the JR East Tohoku pass does cover Yamagata plus Miyagi prefectures but they split really far south - Fukushima.

Other than that the villages are small and cozy and don't have much nightlife. Nozawa onsen still better, at least there's a small shotengai and lots of eateries around town, Zao onsen really super dead at night.

Also note that although there are many public baths around both villages, getting around outdoors in wintertime can be ... logistically challenging, so you could consider checking in to a slightly more upmarket ryokan with it's own onsen (so that you can just bathe in the hotel if you're lazy to walk out).

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 27 2018, 05:09 PM
VinceLee
post Mar 27 2018, 05:30 PM

189 posts

Hi all,

I wanna ask if my schedule using Fuji Hakone Pass workable
My schedule as following:
1st Day:-
7:05am Arrive at Narita Airport
10:00am Buy Fuji Hakone Pass at Shinjuku
11.45am Take Bus to Kawaguchiko Lake
2:00pm Arakurayama Sengen Park
5:00pm Check in Hostel
6:30pm Dinner Udon
8:30pm Walk Around

2nd Day:-
6:00am Watch Sunrise
7:30am Breakfast
8:30am Check out
9:30am Oshino Hakkai Spring
12:00pm Gotemba Premium Outlet
2:30pm Hakone Sightseeing Cruise
4:00pm Hakone Shrine
6:00pm Check in Hotel@Hakone Yumoto
6:30pm Dinner Soba

3rd Day:-
8:30am Check Out
10:00am Owakudani
12:00pm Lunch
2:30pm Owadara Castle
4:00pm Take Train to Shinjuku
6:00pm Dinner

tohff7
post Mar 27 2018, 06:06 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(VinceLee @ Mar 27 2018, 05:30 PM)
Hi all,

1st Day:-
7:05am Arrive at Narita Airport
10:00am Buy Fuji Hakone Pass at Shinjuku
11.45am Take Bus to Kawaguchiko Lake
2:00pm Arakurayama Sengen Park
5:00pm Check in Hostel
6:30pm Dinner Udon
8:30pm Walk Around

2nd Day:-
6:00am Watch Sunrise
8:30am Check out
9:30am Oshino Hakkai Spring
12:00pm Gotemba Premium Outlet
2:30pm Hakone Sightseeing Cruise
4:00pm Hakone Shrine
6:00pm Check in Hotel@Hakone Yumoto
6:30pm Dinner Soba

3rd Day:-
8:30am Check Out
10:00am Owakudani
12:00pm Lunch
2:30pm Owadara Castle
4:00pm Take Train to Shinjuku
6:00pm Dinner
Looks fine to me. You can actually make reservation for the bus trip (Shinjuku-Kawaguchiko) earlier online if you wish (not need CC or pay first).

For the Hakone-Shinjuku train part, you can pay slightly extra to take the faster Odakyu Romancecar

EDIT
You might want to check how are you going to Odawara? Don’t think the pass cover it

This post has been edited by tohff7: Mar 27 2018, 06:14 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 27 2018, 06:36 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(VinceLee @ Mar 27 2018, 05:30 PM)
Hi all,

If i'm not mistaken, the pass is for 3 days. So for 3 days the transport and some attractions are covered, so doesn't matter how you go about it. However rides like the cruise (in Hakone), you can only ride it once and you'll still need to pay to go in Museums but with a discounted rate with the pass.
yanniieee
post Mar 27 2018, 08:35 PM

Starsss!
564 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 26 2018, 02:07 PM)
1) If you fly in Osaka and fly out from Tokyo, you actually not need 7-day JR Pass because you only travel one way via Shinkansen. For Osaka/Kyoto-Tokyo, you need to at least have a return Shinkansen trip to make your JR pass worthwihile

2) JR Pass mostly covers Shinkansen and JR railways. It doesn't cover private railways, subways or metrolines.

3) Plan your route first before deciding to get any special pass and see whether is there any savings. For travel around the Kansai area, I find that you generally don't need to buy special passes because the saving is not much, if any.
Thankyou! now i''m looking around collecting which place i would like to visit then only decide the train line.

QUOTE(mugenz @ Mar 26 2018, 02:24 PM)
No need to so fast decide which pass yet. Just plan ur itinerary first then count the transportation expenses and see if worth the money.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 26 2018, 04:41 PM)
finalize where you really wanna go first. if you get jr pass just to move from city to city, why not take the domestic flight? it could be cheaper than buyer pass for the shinkasen. pass is usually only recommended if you travel to a place far from city and not accessible by airport
checked on the domestic flight, it will cost 900RM from osaka to tokyo on november rclxub.gif

QUOTE(mugenz @ Mar 26 2018, 05:04 PM)
tbh, not all places is only JR.

1. I can go Kobe with Hanshin line just 400 yen
2. Go Kyoto also with 400 yen without using JR.
3. Osaka subway can goto almost all attractions.
4. Airport Express by Nankai is just 1000 yen to Namba but if you take JR Haruka to Osaka station but stay Namba u need pay subway fees.

So really depends on where you stay. JR =/= Cover all destination.

JR pass is only worth when you taking JR line from Tokyo to Kansai and back*
But do consider flying from KIX to Tokyo its only RM150++ per pax. Still cheaper than buying 7 days JR pass.
Yes, noted on your comment, i'll study more on rail way line. but i couldn't find RM150+ flight ticket tho, only found 900+
lyc1982
post Mar 27 2018, 10:02 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Mar 27 2018, 08:35 PM)
Thankyou! now i''m looking around collecting which place i would like to visit then only decide the train line.
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
checked on the domestic flight, it will cost 900RM from osaka to tokyo on november  rclxub.gif
Yes, noted on your comment, i'll study more on rail way line. but i couldn't find RM150+ flight ticket tho, only found 900+
i thought jetstar and some budget airlines offer rm150+ one way from kix to narita and vice versa in oct / nov ?

Hollow21
post Mar 27 2018, 10:44 PM

661 posts

Just got back from Kansai, did Kyoto Osaka and Nara.

For local travel around these cities, my partner and I just got the ICOCA card which is like our Touch and Go. Basically ICOCA can use anywhere subway and buses except for limited express lines like the Nankai and Haruka which you need to buy physical ticket. Any other subway or railway you can use. No need for special pass and it works well to get to all the places. Easy to top up at any MRT station.

You can get ICOCA at the KIX as soon as you exit the main entrance. You can also prebook which saves processing time. When you leave KIX you can surrender the card and get a refund of balance minus processing fees.
VinceLee
post Mar 27 2018, 11:42 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 27 2018, 06:06 PM)
Looks fine to me. You can actually make reservation for the bus trip (Shinjuku-Kawaguchiko) earlier online if you wish (not need CC or pay first).

For the Hakone-Shinjuku train part, you can pay slightly extra to take the faster Odakyu Romancecar

EDIT
You might want to check how are you going to Odawara? Don’t think the pass cover it
Thanks for your feedback, i have already reserve the bus seat, just want to assure the schedule is fine
I think i will take limited express instead of Romancecar as only 15 minutes faster & need to pay extra 890yen per person
For going Odawara, I have checked the map at Odakyu website, i can take Hakone Tozan Train going there

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Mar 27 2018, 06:36 PM)
If i'm not mistaken, the pass is for 3 days. So for 3 days the transport and some attractions are covered, so doesn't matter how you go about it. However rides like the cruise (in Hakone), you can only ride it once and you'll still need to pay to go in Museums but with a discounted rate with the pass.
Thanks for your feedback too, 3 days are quite limited, need to choose which attractions you want or skip
what i am worrying now on the bus schedule on Fuji & Hakone, seems take quite some time to travel around

yanniieee
post Mar 28 2018, 12:07 AM

Starsss!
564 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Mar 27 2018, 10:02 PM)
i thought jetstar and some budget airlines offer rm150+ one way from kix to narita and vice versa in oct / nov ?
Found 900+ available on the date. Actually the whole November is around 900+

Fyonne
post Mar 28 2018, 08:54 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Mar 27 2018, 05:01 PM)
Hi guys, if I have the JR pass already, for the shinkansen trip from Tokyo to Kyoto and back, should I buy beforehand the tickets? Or I can just buy on the spot...?
I will be using it early to mid April
u can book em early or even when u trying to exchange ur JR pass on Japan itself.
it doesnt matter if the date u choose to active is not on current date. as long u r travelling within the active date, u can book it 1st.
just book it n secure a better seat, window seat facing Mt Fuji.

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Mar 28 2018, 12:07 AM)
some flight only manage til 6 months prior, hence u cant certain cheap flight on it for now. u can try search it again when its within that date n see.

u can try switch around date n u will notice some flight company wont show up on later date.
lyc1982
post Mar 28 2018, 09:13 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

these are not budget airlines...

i guess jetstar and peach / vanilla air still unable to book in advance of 6 months ahead

i am also searching for domestic flights between kix to narita/haneda in oct / nov

QUOTE(Hollow21 @ Mar 27 2018, 10:44 PM)
Just got back from Kansai, did Kyoto Osaka and Nara.

For local travel around these cities, my partner and I just got the ICOCA card which is like our Touch and Go.  Basically ICOCA can use anywhere subway and buses except for limited express lines like the Nankai and Haruka which you need to buy physical ticket. Any other subway or railway you can use.  No need for special pass and it works well to get to all the places.  Easy to top up at any MRT station.

You can get ICOCA at the KIX as soon as you exit the main entrance.  You can also prebook which saves processing time.  When you leave KIX you can surrender the card and get a refund of balance minus processing fees.
icocoa / pasmo / suica is indeed very flexible..not tied to certain train companies

if you plan your itinerary carefully (not 100% flexibility)...jr pass or any passes can save some money
Chaud
post Mar 28 2018, 09:19 AM

1,119 posts

what you found is international flights...those are korean airline that make you transit in Incheon before taking you to NRT.

for domestic flight usually its available on a closer date. Maybe you can try search again when its about 2-3 months of your departure date?

This post has been edited by Chaud: Mar 28 2018, 09:26 AM
tohff7
post Mar 28 2018, 10:00 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(VinceLee @ Mar 27 2018, 11:42 PM)
what i am worrying now on the bus schedule on Fuji & Hakone, seems take quite some time to travel around
Last time I think I left my onsen in Gora around 10am and reach Kawaguchiko bus station by 5pm, including 2 hrs spent at Gotemba Premium Outlet

If you are a Initial D fan, you'll find the first half journey quite familiar biggrin.gif . It's basically the mountain road for the 2nd last team battle (Team Spiral) and the Ryusuke-Rin Hyojo deathmatch dogfight
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 28 2018, 10:16 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(VinceLee @ Mar 27 2018, 11:42 PM)
Thanks for your feedback too, 3 days are quite limited, need to choose which attractions you want or skip
No problem, I know what you mean. I'm having the same dilemma but friends and I have agreed to do Fuji-Q Highland, so there's even less time for us to go around sweat.gif

Additionally, if the ryokan/ hotel you're staying doesn't have an onsen, you can go to a bath house for a visit (whichever near your accommodation). Just pay a fee, go in and enjoy onsen for an hour or two (with Mt Fuji view) and then balik. This was recommended by another Mod, after I told him my Hotel/ inn's onsen doesn't have Mt Fuji view. The one he went was Yurari, but from where I stay, Benifuji is nearer so I'll go to that one instead.
https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e6902.html
mugenz
post Mar 28 2018, 10:26 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Mar 27 2018, 08:35 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
checked on the domestic flight, it will cost 900RM from osaka to tokyo on november  rclxub.gif
As about the flight from KIX to Tokyo, did you try finding low cost carriers like Peach or Jetstar.

Normally i use https://www.skyscanner.com.my/ to scan all flights.
swn525
post Mar 28 2018, 10:28 AM

877 posts

maybe jetstar promotion ticket no yet release.
train is a option to you, not doubt flight sure cheaper than train
but.......just for your info

for flight
4000 flight + 1200 luggage = 5200 (80mins)
osaka town to kix airport = 1200 (70mins)
narita to tokyo town = 1400 (90mins)

total for flight at least 7800 yen, 240mins exclude waiting time, pros is cheap, cons is need drag your luggage here and there, long travel time

for train is 14650 yen, 153mins, pros fast and convenient, train station is in the town, cons is price high

mugenz
post Mar 28 2018, 10:28 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 28 2018, 10:00 AM)
Last time I think I left my onsen in Gora around 10am and reach Kawaguchiko bus station by 5pm, including 2 hrs spent at Gotemba Premium Outlet

If you are a Initial D fan, you'll find the first half journey quite familiar  biggrin.gif . It's basically the mountain road for the 2nd last team battle (Team Spiral) and the Ryusuke-Rin Hyojo deathmatch dogfight
no way~ that episode about Ryusuke and the long hair guy in Skyline about the ex-gf or something.
RegentCid
post Mar 28 2018, 10:29 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Take Willy Night Bus

Cheap & extremely comfort. Save Hotel money too

197 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0411sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:14 PM