> Front Car Porch Tiles Re- Coating, Coating

TSsairay
post Dec 27 2017, 11:51 AM, updated 7y ago

233 posts

Hello

I would like to know what type of coating or paint I should use to re-coat my car porch tiles. It has lost its shine and some of it are peeling off. I do not know what type of tiles is this. Therefore could some sifu here recommend me so that I can DIY.

Thank in advance.

lucifah
post Dec 27 2017, 11:57 AM

St. Fu
7,932 posts

you can use acrylic tile finish. available locally. this one from colourland

http://www.colourland.com.my/wp-content/up...Tile-Finish.pdf

shinoxun
post Dec 27 2017, 12:00 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(sairay @ Dec 27 2017, 11:51 AM)
Hello

I would like to know what type of coating or paint I should use to re-coat my car porch tiles. It has lost its shine and some of it are peeling off. I do not know what type of tiles is this. Therefore could some sifu here recommend me so that I can DIY.

Thank in advance.

wash thoroughly,and buy some acrylic paints. paint it using rollers. settle.
TSsairay
post Dec 27 2017, 12:01 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Dec 27 2017, 11:57 AM)
you can use acrylic tile finish. available locally. this one from colourland

http://www.colourland.com.my/wp-content/up...Tile-Finish.pdf
TSsairay
post Dec 27 2017, 12:05 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(shinoxun @ Dec 27 2017, 12:00 PM)
wash thoroughly,and buy some acrylic paints. paint it using rollers. settle.
Is this acrylic paint slippery?

Will check it out at my local hardware shop. Thanks all
shinoxun
post Dec 27 2017, 12:31 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(sairay @ Dec 27 2017, 12:05 PM)
Is this acrylic paint slippery?

Will check it out at my local hardware shop. Thanks all
it has gloss surface,slippery or not i think it depends on how you apply it and how many layers you apply it.

Make sure you wash the tiles nicely else it will still peel off if there is oil residue on the surface.

best way is to diluted acid to wash the tiles with broom. but be cautious.
TSsairay
post Dec 28 2017, 04:26 PM

233 posts

Just wanna update.

My local hardware shop suggested to me to use this paint below. This cost me RM95/5 litre. Have done almost 80% before I ran out of paint. Going to buy again. However, I find the paint quite pricey.

1tanmee
post Jan 12 2018, 07:49 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(shinoxun @ Dec 27 2017, 12:31 PM)
it has gloss surface,slippery or not i think it depends on how you apply it and how many layers you apply it.

Make sure you wash the tiles nicely else it will still peel off if there is oil residue on the surface.

best way is to diluted acid to wash the tiles with broom. but be cautious.
Do you spray the acid and let it stay, or immediately rinse with water? Scared put the acid too long, might cause other problem pula
shinoxun
post Jan 12 2018, 11:07 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Jan 12 2018, 07:49 PM)
Do you spray the acid and let it stay, or immediately rinse with water? Scared put the acid too long, might cause other problem pula
no need spray,just dilute the acid mildly and pour on the tiles,then scrub by hard broom and rinse. if you worry abt the acid eating in the tiles then u can do part by part. allocate certain of area that you think you can manage in your time.
1tanmee
post Feb 19 2018, 03:51 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

No time to do yet. But I think I will dilute the acid in a bucket, and use mop to clean the area. Leave it for awhile, and then spray with water

0.0138sec    0.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:05 AM